Playing at the R300 Brackenfell

So this was destined to be just a stress buster, after a hectic 4 days work (yeppers, one trade was 4 days long tbat was animated with stress). I said to my business partner and riding partner and friend and BMW riding instructor friend Leon, lets go for a ride. But only after getting into another trade. Sweet.

True as nuts the trade turns into a reversal, which I am still in... what a kak week of trading. Anyhow, as soon as I was in the reversal, I google talked my mate, and said, lets fork off. So circa 1840pm, we met just up the road.

This is just a greenbelt area that people use to walk their dogs and its the area that is the junction of the R300 in Bellville area. Nothing too scenic, nothing too hectic, just a dirt road and imagination. Nothing like taking a few ramps and jumps to relieve the stress!

Now, I have to be an apologist and say two things: 1) My ankle aint right yet, and is still swollen. I had a 2 hour physio session before going on the bike :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: and 2) I aint really used to the thing yet, like I was my Dakar.

Anyway, power slides were the order of the day.

Here ya go.

This is the most sideways that I could manage on the Katoom, its a full handlebar lock (and adjusted to make the steering max turnable)

54938142-M.jpg

Turning around and revving her up for more skidding

54938146-M.jpg

Missed a transition point :D

54938152-M.jpg

See how awkward my body is still. Not yet at peace with the bike

54938154-M.jpg

AT one stage though i was gong to wack the photographer

54938156-M.jpg

Swop the slide round. Rememebr these are only snappies and you know how hard it is to get the best part of the slide on cammy.

54938157-M.jpg

My mate - doesnt a GS always look so awesome?

54938160-M.jpg

Missed the slide too - too fast!

54938158-M.jpg

54938164-M.jpg

Accelerating away, this is the split second he starts

54938166-M.jpg

Note body position

54938167-M.jpg

This was a little turn left from the approach side which doesnt have runup and had some of our famous Cape sand in it but finer, and then this little bump. I didnt feel comfortable making her WOT over the bump yet cos it hurts the ankle on landing.

54938169-M.jpg

another

54938171-M.jpg

really good focus here.

54938172-M.jpg

going up one of those rock covered with wire water traps thingies

54938170-M.jpg

taken my Leons 10year old son, I think he did well to capture the moment of a lil ramp

54938175-M.jpg

the Katoom. Note the fork compression...

54938176-M.jpg

cheers R300

54938173-M.jpg

I will also put up a few videos on putfile for the hill me and my mate did in the grass. Grass even when dry is slippery as you know, and when you go up a steep gradient, even more so. And there wasnt much runup for sure.

check in a bit for those links.

cool pics! late sunset always something to cherish in ct (close to my home in kriver :( )

actually lekker pics...
do you have those sliders on video too?
would love to see them...
i just cant gauge what speed you are doing - esp the first pic :shock:

Would you hear a healthy "clunk" as the GS goes over that little bump?
Or is that not telelever testing area just yet?

Nah, the GS did fine... its how you hit it that counts :p

https://media.putfile.com/KTM-Small-Ramp

https://media.putfile.com/GS-Uphill

https://media.putfile.com/GS-Uphill-Photoshop

https://media.putfile.com/GS-Sliding

Maccie, I dont have vids of my slide, but Leon junior took some of his papa and his exploits, so I will gooi them here. I feel quite skaam over my attempts at the jump as I am lank skeered still... I will only attempt full stuff when I git my boots.

Here ya go - my bike sounds nice though huh? :D

ps: i call this last one photoshop cos Leon junior held the camera at an extra pitch and made it look a bit more grensvegter than what it was. However, it was still steep and the worst bit is that dusty dry grass is pretty slippery. Second worst thing is that the grass conceals holes in the ground. I nearly lost my bike in one! (thank goodness didnt give my ankle a twisting again)

ps: EDITED: files loaded, again

Lekker Lito. That's close to where I live too. Thanks for showing us the place (and your cute style, of course). :wink:

YW boet. Remember the discussions on powersliding we had? well, I went to learn more about that :D It was fun. Ready to powerslide tomorrow?

I just realisd that the photos might be taken wrong after your comment. This wasnt a showoff session - I have TOO far to go to a level where I can. This was learning for us BOOBS, and thats really it.

Hope this gave a visual on what to look for, good and bad. U can see I have yet a lot to learn on this bike....

first vid clip is great.... had to smile as he stopped and leaned the wrong way - almost falling over

second one is bombing me out of firefox (i think its the clip)
busy now with the 4th

nope, 2 3 and 4 are bombing my firefox.....

dunno why, coz putfiles usually work :roll:

LiveInTheOutdoors said:
I just realisd that the photos might be taken wrong after your comment. .

No man, that was just a silly Friday afternoon comment. Not lus for work. KLR can't powerslide cause you have to have power. We'll have fun tomorrow!

Sotkop said:
LiveInTheOutdoors said:
I just realisd that the photos might be taken wrong after your comment. .

No man, that was just a silly Friday afternoon comment. Not lus for work. KLR can't powerslide cause you have to have power. We'll have fun tomorrow!

Cos you can powerslide... KLR is a great bike.

Maccie, dude, dont know what to say, I used Firefox to load em up...

Sorry man, if anyone else has hassles, let me know, k?

Tx

michnus said:
Must say, the GS handled that jump way better than the Ketiem. :director:

Kakbakker...... :la: :argue: :eek:gre: :pain10: :angel5: :angel7: :angel8: :angel9: :angel10: :angel11: :angel12: :angel13: :angel4: :boxing: :bs: :bs: :bs:

ps: will let leon know about that little comment of yours... hehe