Rain in the Richtersveld and refloating the SAS Wildehond

:ROFLMAO: Should you survive, please make careful notes so that I may replicate your audacious move.
Still loving the RR! I survived the ordeal and she wasnโ€™t even upset about it๐Ÿ˜‚

I was at a braai with all my adventure riding buddies the night before I told her so she just said โ€œI guess after last night you miss going on adventure tripsโ€

Still loving the RR! I survived the ordeal and she wasnโ€™t even upset about it๐Ÿ˜‚

I was at a braai with all my adventure riding buddies the night before I told her so she just said โ€œI guess after last night you miss going on adventure tripsโ€
WOW! I now hold you in even higher standing!

Sections like these put a smile squarely back on my dial.

1696357884018.png

Complete with appropriate celebration.

1696357939715.png

Some live action courtesy of Gus

The gates out of torment! Made it!

1696434654652.png

All good things must come to an end. Hmmm .. . . .lekker windgat now that it's done. I dropped my bike A LOT. And being a stubborn bliksem, I picked it up a lot, and then not so much,. . . . . . and then not at all!

I just could not lift it further than an inch. Dropped it back down and then promptly sat on my poor bike lying in the sand until help came.

1696434681945.png

I am sure Lohan was most relieved as we neared the end and Gus was within walking distance to help me resurrect my bike. I was properly broken.

Thank you Lohan, Gus and Jarod for your help.

Holgat river done, it took us 2 hours and 6 minutes from dropping into the river bed to this point.

1696436647220.png

1696436710102.png

I can't remember ever having been so pleased to see tar.

The quest Gollum had set for us was complete. Despite being a few steps from requiring medical resuscitation, I would have done it again the next day.

We jumped onto the tar all the way to Port Nolloth. Found the hotel, checked in and looked around for the rest of the team.

They were nowhere to be seen. The lady at reception hadn't seen them. Now what?

A summit conference was held on the balcony outside our rooms, plans were being hatched. But where to start looking?

Gus had been fastidious in his planning, we had a satellite phone, we had 2x Garmin Montana's with inReach subscriptions - just a slight hiccup - our group had them all.

1696440862803.png

1696441011657.png

Whose your Daddy!? The Don - Gus

After an hour and a bit at 16h54 we get this

1696441260169.png

Our stalwart Henry sent a WhatsApp of his GPS with two waypoints on it. They did not make for comforting reading...

The guys are now around 5 hours late versus their expected time of arrival, a waypoint labelled "Help" is not particularly encouraging, and another "Pikkie Hut", surely our technopeasant had made a spelling mistake, and it should have read "Pikkie Hurt".

S*&t!

Our merry men set off on their way to hot showers, food, drink, potentially wine women and song.

1696442773825.jpeg

Things were looking good for our guys. Nice tweespoor pad, pretty scenery, cool weather, and a smidging of sand.