Round the World - Do you have beer we are coming to visit?

It takes a certain personality to be able to do the idyllic lifestyle thing, I know a Dutch guy and a Brit who each bought a dive resort not too far from each other on a tropical island in the Philippines, both couldn't wait for retirement to their little pieces of paradise.

The Brit lasted less than a year before he was driven crazy with boredom, the Dutch guy is still hanging in there but by all accounts he's also starting to miss the corporate life. According to him, the challenges of running a people business like a resort is also a pretty stressful in a different kind of way, complaints about staff, service, food, etc.,etc. tends to take the enjoyment out of it pretty smartly.

I'm not saying I couldn't live like that or at least give a damn good go but it's definitely not for everyone.

Michnus, just another question, what's the best time of year to visit the lake, weather wise.

Agree, lodge or camp site living is not for everybody. There's other stuff to do, engineering shops, building trade, whatever. It's a laid back country with warm friendly people.

They do have a bit of a dumb-*** government, but nothing worse than in SA. Though they wanted to ban farting in public a while ago..yes ban farting :D

Nicest time is during the dry season from May to mid-November. From May to July the landscape is attractive and vegetation green and lush, and temperatures cooler. We were there in Dec -Jan and it was still great.

Thanks Mich, great stuff - my hart vreet kak van jaloesie!!!!

michnus said:
Come on boys, surely there's some of you that's going to do this in the future, ask more question, what can I tell that might get you interested in doing something like this?  :mwink:

I would love to do a trip like this...!  :drif:
...me thinks one of the BIGGEST problems is being desk-bound...

I wouldn't say getting leave for 2 or 3 weeks is the problem(although 3 might be pushing it!), more like all your riding buddy/ies getting 2 or 3 weeks leave at the same time...!  :(

I know most of your tour group are self-employed but that only made it a bit easier, if at all.
With arranging someone to look after you business and all that...

Now, if I was retired right now.... :ricky:

I think they should force the retiring age right down to 35...or 40....!  :thumleft:

Great RR Michnus!  Very inspiring like all your other RR's! 
Thanks for sharing...again!  ;D

I'm interested to know what the costs are - camping fees in particular? - next to fuel I reckon camping fees are the next most expensive part? What I mean is - lets say you are doing a month long trip - how much should you budget for camping - is it about R200 per day on average? Does this change if there are 1 or 2 of you?

It is understandable some jobs and family commitments are always the biggest issues, it's just the way the cookie crumble. That said, and to be blunt about it, if you really, really are besotted about travelling there is ways of doing this.

Most of the travelers we met up with all sacrificed pretty dearly to embark on trips like this. It is a once off for some or a continuum type expedition for others, some quit their jobs, some sold their companies, others had their kids with them in 30 year old converted army trucks, but yes, no two ways about it, you have to sacrifice to be able to venture on such a trip. I am de moer in with myself I did not start doing this 20 years ago.

We have heard all the excuses why people can not do trips, but in the end it's only excuses people offer as reasons to themselves because they are not motivated enough to start it. For sure we had it easier, because we do not have kids, and our businesses.

Mark Twain pretty much summed it up:
Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn't do than by the ones you did.
So throw off the bowlines.
Sail away from the safe harbor.
Catch the trade winds in your sails.
Explore. Dream. Discover.
~ Mark Twain ~

With some off our close friends we do not share foto's and our experiences as they just are not travelers and get bored quickly with our ramblings. Not all are the same, some just love reading about other peoples travels, we also do it for them in a sense.

On our trip as we met up with travelers you fast come to realize that you do not need to finish a trip in one sitting.You are not winning anything, you're not more of man in the eyes of your friends. That is about the biggest mistake people make when planning trips like this.

Honestly to jaag up through Africa in less than 4-6 months is a absolute waste of money and time. I am horrified and it's soul destroying to me when I ask people so did you visit this place or that place or did you eat Njira at that cafe and they say no we had to make up time. It is the same as going from Cape town to JHB and back 14 times. Also true some people just do not have the time and 3 weeks is better than nothing, and hopefully they will do it again in the future.

You experience and see very little. It's the same with people going to Moz, Mal, Zam, Bots, SA in two weeks and 5000km, you see nothing but tar. Rather spend time around one country and see what they have to offer. Look at our ride reports on the site, even in and around SA it's always the same routes, not many venture into new places and explore new routes.

I can tell you the secret, and it's actually not that difficult.  :mwink:

If you only have two or three weeks at a time, do one country a year. As you head up north store your bike with backpackers or lodges, most offer those services. Obviously if you have more time you can do more distance before storing your bike. People do not charge a lot of money for storage.

If you have a family buy a old Toyota 4x4 double cab or station wagon, parts are cheap and you DO NO NEED all the **** South Africans drag with them. It's a African joke that South Africans carry anything plus the kitchen zink, spot lights on the roof, trailers and Old Man Emu suspension which by the way you can't get anywhere except SA. You take the family with and store the car and fly back home. Air fairs into Africa are not that expensive if you doing it once a year or every two years you have time to save up and quit the cigarettes. If we had to do it in a car we would still only have the 50kg luggage we shared between us.

We met up with 55 year old woman travelling alone in a Tazz she bought in Uganda, we met up with a 80 year old couple driving a old ambulance that they used for the last 15 years and already done Aus and other countries. Back packing if you do not have a car is as cheap as **** to go around in Africa and actually quit a lekker adventure.

With regards to camping and expenses Teejay. South Africa and Namibia are the most expensive countries to tour. Once you hit Zambia, Malawi and up camping pretty much fall to R50-R80 per campsite and most of the times we camped in the field. If you eat from cafes or restaurants next to the road, you can get away with R80-R100 per person per day for food. If you stick to self made food, tomatoes, pasta and so on you can even go cheaper.

Beers are R8 and soft drink R4. You don't need water purifiers and that ****, there's bottled water everywhere in Africa and a few tablets will sort out the gremlins if you have to drink water from a river.

We dropped our speed to 80-90km/h and we increased our fuel consumption with 30%. If you take the main road up through Africa only doing 400km per day you will cover the 14000km to Cairo in around 35 days. We were in Addis and ended there on 19000km.

It is cheaper to travel than to sit at home, fact!

Using Smugmug.com it might take a few seconds to load.

i-TmDsJQB-M.jpg

BOAT RIDE AROUND THE CORNER FROM FAT MONKEY'S WE SPEND A DAY SNORKELING AND HANGING AROUND THE ROCKY OUTCROPS WITH SMALL COLOURFUL TROPICAL FISH NIBBLING AT YOUR FEET.

i-gD5M3RT-M.jpg

SOME OF THE BEST SUN-DOWNERS YOU WILL EVER ENJOY IN YOUR LIFE

i-tJWS8rt-M.jpg

i-886SxX6-M.jpg

i-3772pQ7-M.jpg

MAGIC OF LAKE MALAWI, TROPICAL FISH AND CRYSTAL CLEAR WATER.

i-DwzfnZ4-M.jpg

i-BxS5MM8-M.jpg

i-mJNJbv4-M.jpg

HOME BASE FOR NEARLY 18DAYS, BOUGHT BEERS AND SODA'S IN CASE LOAD AS IT'S MUCH CHEAPER

i-GMfvp4R-M.jpg

BEERS ARE CHEAP AND BREAKFAST AROUND R12-00

i-5F7GTCH-S.jpg
i-hFk6svC-S.jpg

PLENTY OF YOUNG BACKPACKERS

i-LqWrHhQ-M.jpg

CAPENTA'S FOR LUNCH, NOT BAD WITH COOKED PUMPING LEAFS

i-45WPbq6-M.jpg

LIVE IS TOUGH, THIS IS A LOCAL TRAVELLING SALESMAN WITH HS HOMEMADE DISPLAY CARTON BOX, SKIPPER OF THE BOAT GAVE HIM A LIFT BACK HOME

i-Q3fhG4s-M.jpg

Thanks Michnus - noted your comments on camp fees and food etc.

Looking forward to the next episode  :3some:

plonker said:
Mich,where's the rest of the report or is that it for the time being.Charl said he saw your bikes somewhere up north in storage.

I saw Michnus's bikes plus a few scooters from SA in Addis. Here is a pic I took. I had been following Michnus's blog before I left and was aware his bikes would be around 9 degrees North of the Equator. Sniffed them out at Wim's spot.

• P1040453.JPG
    P1040453.JPG
    47.6 KB
I enjoy your comments and insight on what traveling is all about.  Lake Malawi; backpacked there in’86, some 10 years later did a 4x4 trip there and back.  Both trips where great, it does not matter how you get to the Lake, you will have fun; it is serious chill out place!  As you pointed out, it is also very affordable; riding/driving time, and for those of us with limited ime, it is only a bit more than two days drive.... 1800 km

I really like the spirit of this trip and report. :ricky:
Wish I had the people skills.
Africa is not for me unfortunately. Few times I was there I was just overwhelmed by the corruption (borderposts)
The leeches that seems to materialise from everywhere etc.
I admire you okes that can just talk their way through all and laugh it of as part of the experience.
Unfortunately my personality keeps me imprisoned in my comfortzone south africa and will I have to stick to it's backroads.
Great RR  :thumleft:

Plenty of “GP” plates around here in Malawi, Last week 4 bikes came thru, whoever the guy’s were they seemed a bit rude, passed them and stopped, waited for them, they just drove past without as much as a wave. They were not dogs and no markings on the bikes.

Three weeks ago ran into some guy’s from Cape Town. Nice people hope to see them back here again

buzzlightyear said:
I love the scooter with the GP plate in the background, left.

Those guys are doing the same as us. Go as fat as time permit and store the bikes. The problem though with such small bikes are that they mostly stick to tar and miss some of the really nice places.

But that said it cost them f-all and if they have to abandon the bikes it won't bankrupt them