Round the World - Do you have beer we are coming to visit?

Keep it coming I am loving this.It makes me so liss.

Murphy se moer Part2

It was just after Christmas and Cha Cha Backpackers was overflowing with an unsavory dodgy bunch of Indian travelers, coughing, belching and convulsing to such an extend that the entire camp were up early at 4am. Harold as the passive one nearly got physical with one of them just before sunrise. It was the funniest thing to see this normally calm pacifist lose his temper that bad. He eventually also had to crack a smile at the situation.
There are better places to stay in Lusaka, we just had to stay there due to the spares we were waiting for.

The owner of the backpackers maybe didn't know what backpackers meant when he allowed an entire village with kids and elders to move in.  In any case so you learn.

We set out of Lusaka for the nearly 800km trip to Monkey Bay hopeful that the bikes are sorted and we will be able to hit the sandy beaches in two days’ time.

i-8HKQpNH-M.jpg

CROSSING THE LUANGWA RIVER BRIDGE

Unfortunately the basted Murphy had other ideas for us. I was still riding with the smell of fresh rain when my bike suddenly over heated and dumped hot radiator water all over my left leg. This is not the kind of engine trouble I was hoping we would have to deal with on this trip, and especially this early into the trip. Shocks, tyres, chains, but not over heating engines or similar problems that can potentiality stop a trip. Fuuuuck!!

i-b5WG762-M.jpg

BOYS SCOUT PEDDLING AFRICA TOP TO BOTTOM, THEY CONSUME BAGS OF RICE AND PAP TO KEEP THEM GOING.

i-32hG5dq-M.jpg

WE OFTEN MADE BEER STOP, THE HEAT AND HUMIDITY DRAIN FLUIDS QUITE QUICK.

As a troubleshooting exercise we took out the thermostat, rode it and the red light came on, next swop out the heat sensors, nope, not that, red light comes one after 2km. Then only option that was left was to check the water pump, but for that we had to get to a place to stay. We had no choice but to tow the bike to the nearest town.  Just before Nyimbi we came past a motel that looked like a ghost place, hotel Baghdad came to mind.

i-jxZvXdc-L.jpg

MURPHY THE EVIL ******* HAD TO PLAY A TRICK ON US AGAIN

Hotel Kacholola’ owner George and his grandson Richard were so helpful. We were very great full for the cold beers, in a Paraffin fridge, and the clean rooms even without running water.  The place is run down but you will go far to get a more friendlier and helpful host.

i-2HTzMNX-M.jpg

HAVING ICE COLD BEERS IN A GHOST HOTEL, BROKEN BIKE CAN WAIT.

i-Bqgrp8r-M.jpg

VIEW FROM OUR ROOMS
The next morning Harold and myself got the surgery underway. I called Adventurer, and his advice was a easy check, take the pump cover off and see if the impeller spin by hand, if so the waterpump gears are moer toe.

i-DQRKzLK-M.jpg

ZAMBIA BIKE WORKSHOP.
i-g5xN7vd-M.jpg

The only clean place we could found was this dilapidated grass thatch that were used to be part of a veranda. The view over the mountains from there is just jaw drop beautiful.
It took us a bit of time to figure out what's what, eventually we got the clutch cover off and all the other bits. Our worst fear came true the waterpump gears were moer toe.

At this point, I was really a bit down and out on the bikes. The Dakar's are suppose to be bullet proof bikes, I made sure the last few years that I got to know everything about the bikes and what needs to be looked at. It took me 3 weeks to prepare the bikes before the trip and make sure everything was looked after. My bike was on 40000km and never gave one problem.
How I could have missed the the fact that the waterpump gears could fail was a mystery to me. Only now after the fact and lots of research the problem is more related to 2004 and 2005 year models and later.

i-zQTsW8C-M.jpg

CANDLE LIGHT DINNER AT HOTEL KACHOLOLA
i-N62n3Jz-M.jpg

i-JPX6Bpk-S.jpg

ABOUT THE ONLY THING A GAS CANISTER IS USEFUL FOR

What to do next? We had no spare gears, we had a waterpump kit but no gears. It was around 500km back to Lusaka, but we cant tow that far it will take us forever, and then we miss the Malawi new years party. We decided to try and get the bike to the border where Metaljockey can come and fetch us.

i-Jp9M26P-M.jpg

THESE WOMAN OVER CHARGED US!

i-gJGCt45-M.jpg

GETTING MY *** KICKED BY A BOY.

We spend the rest of the day trying to find transport for the bike to the border, washing and cleaning stuff. We had a great time with all the locals, playing chess and just sit drinking beers. These rural towns are small gems, we left everything on the bikes at night, nothing gets lost or stolen.

i-t3nVj9j-M.jpg

i-2ckVs6h-M.jpg

i-VSh8KTx-M.jpg

i-W9x787m-M.jpg

FIVE STAR LIVING, NO REALLY THIS IS FUN

It’s good to have good friends around. Metaljockey and Plottie convinced another South African man, Sarel to borrow them his brand new VW Transporter to come and fetch us in Zambia. If not for that we would not be able to get there in time for New Year’s, and both Plottie and Erik made considerable effort meeting us there.

i-q62vkLk-M.jpg

FIRST TRY TO GET TO THE BORDER. LUCKILY METALJOCKEY MADE IT.
We tried from our side to arrange a truck or van to get the bike to the border and have Metaljockey only drive to the border. As things go in Zambia it’s African time, and as the day pasted all prospects that we tried to arrange turned to nothing.
At last after 5pm a local teacher arrived with his borrowed Chinese van we started loading the bike. As luck would have it, as we set off to get to the border which would have taken us till after nine that evening, Metaljockey called and said he has just cleared the border and will see us later the evening. We can then leave the next morning early for Malawi.

With all the trouble our stay turned out to be an enjoyable time, we had a great experience with the locals and their heartwarming helpfulness.

Malawi here we come!!!!!

i-KgvmF6s-L.jpg

Must say I guess these things are all part of the trip however irritating at the time.But add up to the overall experience.I am really enjoying this Michnus don't stop.

Eish !!!!!!!! en ek dink daar aan om my 1150Gs Adv te verkoop en weer `n Dakar te kry omdat ek so min ry  ???
Afgesien van jou teespoed is dit `n moerse nice trip en foto`s, eendag as ek groot is........... :thumleft:

Valiant omtrent enige bike kan dit doen, dis meer die wil om dit te doen wat mense terug hou.  ;)

As jy n bucket list het, sit die trip by.

Dit was nou wragtag lekker leesstof om die middag om te kry .................  :mwink:

Lekker report en mooi fotos Michnus .......................  :thumleft: :thumleft:

Man that guy Murphy sure can cause problems....Buuut means you get more drinking time :thumleft: Lekker report Michnus!

img_2632-2XL.jpg

ek kannie help om te lag as ek hierdie pad sien nie... ek en my pa het mekaar so hier en daar verloor tussen die bosse en dongas deur. dis ongelooflik om te dink die ding hou vir honderde kilometers lank so aan.

michnus... hopelik hang ons gou weer saam uit... julle is awesome.

Bessie is nogal n rubbish pad om te ry. Ons het mense gevra hoekom hulle nou nie net die stuk nie klaar maak nie, en al wat hulle se dis politiek.

I would not want to do trucking into Africa, the truckers at the border post told us some horror stories how they often have to sit there for weeks and because of stupid reason like a spare tyre weren't listed on some document.

Great RR

in 2008 i did cape to Cairo ( Landcruiser) , this brings back some great memories,next time im def taking my bike.

Now i cant wait for your next post,especially Malawi,What a country  :thumleft: :thumleft:

Wow another Roll of Hounor RR thanx for doing this love the report keep going

MALAWI'S "NEVER LEAVE DISEASE"

i-DN9qzXj-L.jpg

i-hkrX9H2-M.jpg

In short, Malawi turned out to be this warm exotic paradise people told us about. Golden sandy beaches with clean water, super friendly people, cheap beer and food, and the best snorkelling. It's easy to understand why so many people get a serious infection of Bongi fever. The local term when referring to over landers or travellers that get stuck in Malawi and just never leave.

i-X53hwbK-M.jpg

i-56vZxNj-M.jpg

FAT MONKEYS, MONKEY BAY

Lake Malawi is not your average dirty smelly dam, the water is crystal clear, it's clean and the most beautiful coloured tropical fish swim around the rocks in the shallow water. Why Lake Malawi is this way I don't know. It's not a typical lake  as with Kariba for example.

i-xDSmGQT-M.jpg

It's a small country with not much industry other than tourism, and some tobacco exports. Their money is not worth much and you look like a drug dealing gangster with all the cash you have to draw at ATM's. Driving around Malawi is slow as most people live next to the road nothing more than 80 is about the max for safe driving.

i-NsZV6Dj-M.jpg

DRYING RACKS FOR KAPENTA FISH

i-dnJrShp-M.jpg

DUGOUTS, BOAT CAN LAST FOR AROUND 10 YEARS.

i-nfpM6PF-M.jpg

The land is cultivated and worked by old people the hard way. For the rest it's a dirt poor place. South Africans have made this a popular holiday destination and some locals can utter a few funny sounding Afrikaans words.

i-XJDLNS3-M.jpg

i-Zhd38vz-M.jpg

ANY TOY WILL DO

i-mPLfKxD-S.jpg
i-39mQt6Q-S.jpg

THEY ARE WORKING COPIES, THE DETAIL IS AWESOME. ROAD SIDE SHOP IS CALLED TOYS'R'US

As we drove into Fat Monkeys in Monkey Bay Cape Mclear, Plottie as appointed head of the local welcoming committee promptly shoved some beers into our hands as we climbed out of the Kombi. Elsebie rode her bike from Zambia as the Kombi could only take the one Dakar. Unceremoniously we parked the broken Dakar under the Mango tree to be fix after the new year and we wasted no time setting up camp. Linda and Harold have decided to stay over in Lilongwe for a few days before meeting up with us again.

i-43WQhHW-S.jpg
i-nnTgKCX-S.jpg

i-Wj2mfDg-S.jpg

DRUG DEALER AMOUNT OF PAPER ONLY PAID FOR FEW BURGERS

There is no other place near the Southern side of Malawi with the same island style feeling. Loads of young people from all over the world frolic around on the beach with golden brown tanned bodies. It's hot and humid, even at night it's hot and the mosquito's are the kind that can drag a small kid out of it's bed by the legs.

i-ffHLV4F-M.jpg

FAT MONKEYS BAR, GIN AND TONIC'S AND BEERS, FOR THE REST READ THE DAYS AWAY.

The water is a comfortable 25"degrees and perfect for sitting around at the shore with friends consuming copious amounts of beers. The clean water had the kids spend their days in the lake. It's a very cheap holiday, camping cost around R50 per stand per day. Breakfast at the lodge cost around R80 for two people. Beers go for R8 and soft drink cost cheaper. 

i-JjDfXHJ-M.jpg

SHA NANA
The first thing the next day was to go swim at a secluded beach not far from the lodge. The boat's name is Sha nana and it's skipper is Jumbo, a super friendly chap with a huge white smile. The man and his crew got this cool laid back attitude to them. Noooothing is a problem.

i-L85z9hd-M.jpg

i-TTLqb9r-M.jpg

i-8DSdTTP-M.jpg

Just after Christmas many of the South Africans that holidayed their left to spend New Year in South Africa. The next day the camp was empty and only Metaljokey and family stayed over to enjoy the New Years party. Around the same time two bikers riding from the UK to CP arrived.

i-bQtZCJN-M.jpg

HAROLD AND LINDA TRYING TO GET RID OF BONGI FEWER WITH WATER MEDITATION THERAPY

It's really great meeting up with people doing the same kind of trips, exchange ideas, news, places to stay and avoid. We still had the difficult part in front of us and they are on the holiday side of things going down to SA.

i-jfzL5NV-L.jpg

i-zPTPNGv-M.jpg

SUN DOWNERS AND SUNSETS 

Wheelman some people get it bad and the thing is once you have it pills don't work any more. People try beers but that makes it worse.  :biggrin:

michnus said:
Wheelman some people get it bad and the thing is once you have it pills don't work any more. People try beers but that makes it worse.  :biggrin:

This bongi fever sounds like a good fever.Guess depends on what's in the bong when you smoke it :mwink: