Solo for the spirit and the soul - my 4 day Easter biking, hiking and wild camping adventure

Most of us get so used to simply riding and aiming for a destination that we forget to explore, stop for a coffee or a snack or just to sit and look and listen - which is a surefire way to miss a lot of worthwhile things
Point in case - I wonder who has seen this place, but have ridden past there many times without knowing about it?
Just before the T junction where you turn left from Tankwa Padstal to Ouberg you cross a solid rock low level crossing. I duly stopped to take some pics and explore a bit, and lo and behold, a large pool down below πŸ˜€πŸ˜Ž. Who would have thought that would be there, surrounded by rocks, dry bushes and sand?
I really wanted to jump in from the top, about 6-7m high, with the water looking deep enough, but sanity prevailed so I stripped down and clambered down to check 1st. Good thing too, because at approx 1.8m it is probably just shy of being deep enough for a jump from that height, even though the bottom is smooth.
Anyway, at least I managed to prop up the phone for some video proof and had a lekker swim 😁
Drying off in my undies back up top the people in the 2 bakkies that came past probably thought me mad and just laughed at me when I told them they should come for a swim πŸ˜‚
IMG_20220415_124141_compress24.jpg
Screenshot_20220419_063131_compress86.jpg
IMG_20220415_193051_compress39.jpg

Last edited:
After my refreshing swim it was time to hit Ouberg Pass - always a highlight of any trip due to the length, height and road itself, but this time the road was a bit more washed out, with more loose stones/rocks than previously - which meant it was even better, which meant I was having lots of fun with rocks being ejected backwards as from a machine gun πŸ˜πŸ˜€
Ok, to be honest I did topple Bliksem over when I came around a switchback too slowly, popped the clutch a bit too quickly and had him stall on me. With him lying top side down I had to drag him around in order to be able to pick him up again, but oh well, battle scars I suppose... Here again Badger wouldve been a breeze to lift...
At the lookout point I took the obligatory pics of the amazing vista and to prove that Ive taken Bliksem there as well, then decided it was about time for some coffee and a snack.
So out came my little gas stove and coffee, hot cross buns, cheese wedges, apple and chocolate and I proceeded to enjoy a leisurely lunch, tucked out of the wind just below the lookout level

This was also the perfect place for me to reflect on the ultimate sacrifice Jesus made on the cross for us, on "Good Friday" so long ago - there's just something with me and God and mountains πŸ™ŒπŸ»

IMG_20220415_131820_compress53.jpg
IMG_20220418_204736_compress33.jpg
IMG_20220418_210623_compress50.jpg
IMG_20220418_210756_compress35.jpg
IMG_20220415_140645_compress25.jpg

By this time it was past 2pm already and after packing up, and picking up some discarded beer cans and motorcycle oil overflow pipe 😑 I hightailed it up to the top and around to Sutherland, probably setting a new personal record in the process πŸ˜„
Bliksem's thirst was satisfied before the last 56km to my cousin's farm was also covered speedily, but not recklessly.
Must say that some parts on the way are incredibly lush and green at the moment.

Disclaimer: No meerkat was Bliksem'ed to death during this trip, contrary to what the photos might suggest 😎. That thing is a conniving little fu... bugger, which will do anything to get attention. Proudly Meerkat? I think not!!!
The ride down Karelskraal Pass to my camping spot was also more fun than usual, with the road/track similarly loose and washed out in many places - the grin factor was high 😁😁. And that view I will never get tired of.

Down below I quickly gathered some firewood, got the fire going and set up camp before quickly having a look at the fountain and river bed (stream?) a stones throw away - beautiful as always, but just much much more with all the rain theyve had the last few months

IMG_20220415_162503_compress35.jpg
IMG_20220415_174508_compress13.jpg
IMG_20220415_175307_compress31.jpg
IMG_20220415_180657_compress33.jpg
IMG_20220421_203526_compress70.jpg

I enjoy eating well, and thus do not adhere to the the typical hiking/camping/bike trip wisdom of packing light and living on rations. Plus, my metabolism is so high that my stomach will simply start chewing on my liver or heart or lungs were I to deprive it even a little πŸ‘€πŸ˜‚
So, as far as possible I take the food Id like to eat, obviously being slightly limited by food that might go green, grow hair and make me terribly sick.
And thus dinner was a decent braai with pork chops (frozen before and insulated as best possible with a packet of wors for another day), some of the cheese grillers I never made for lunch that day, some small sweet potatoes, 2 of those ready made braai broodjies, and then to top it off, my regular desert of tinned fruit and custard. Oh, and finally a coffee, seeing as it was a bit chilly outside.
Yes, thÑt is how I roll 😎
Needless to say I was stuffed after all that, but at least my liver and the rest was safe for the night 😁
After spending 20min earlier gathering firewood (without breaking off branches and leaving ugly scarred trees where anyone will have to see it later on) I had myself a proper fire to accompany my coffee, with some soft worship music coming from my bluetooth speaker in the background (I alternate between enjoying the complete silence and some music as I feel like it)

I dont go over the top with gear at all, to the contrary, I am a self confessed dirtbag when it comes to spending money on unnecessary stuff - but I also want to be as comfortable as possible on a longer trip, so a proper tent, sleeping bag, chair, gas stove, etc is not negotiable for me.
The weather prediction for Sutherland and the farm for Sat early morning was 3 degrees, so I was wearing my thermal bib and denim, warm socks, top and jacket, and beanie when I crawled into my sleeping bag eventually.
More on gear a bit later...

IMG_20220415_190044_compress58.jpg
IMG_20220415_183348_compress60.jpg

Last edited:
Remember me saying that I aaaalmost remembered everything...? It turns out that I left my cellphone charger cable rolled up neatly on the couch at home πŸ€¦β€β™‚οΈ
Which was generally fine, except it meant not being able to take photos, which was a disaster considering I was planning a sleepover hike down the canyon and I cannot recall seeing it looking as beautiful as it is currently πŸ‘€
Fingers crossed I popped up to Bennie's place to face that rabid meerkat again, with the hope that he'd have that specific cable for me - which he did πŸ™ŒπŸ»
On the way though, I had to go up Karelskraal Pass and die Staweldraai (eintlik Stapeldraai - so genoem omdat wieookal die pad gebou het rotse en klippe moes stapel om n pad moontlik te maak). As a side note, just above the Staweldraai sits the ruin of one of the English blockhouses/forts they built during the Anglo Boer War to guard the road up the mountain and because it offered a clear view of a large piece of country down below.
Last time I took my dad and a few friends over there we had 4 bike drops I think, and this time the road was much worse as mentioned before - loose babyheads at the bottom, loose shale in the middle, loose rocks and stones toward the top - and I was kinda expecting to drop Bliksem somewhere. But obviously my skills have improved a bit over time and with a fair bit of body english and flying rocks and stones I made it up, feeling very much like Chris Birch πŸ˜‚
The sandy jeep track section along the flat to the farmhouse had me all over the place though.

IMG_20220416_132502_compress51.jpg
IMG_20220416_133242_compress4.jpg
IMG_20220416_115528_resized_20220422_073539414 (ed).jpg

I enjoy eating well, and thus do not adhere to the the typical hiking/camping/bike trip wisdom of packing light and living on rations. Plus, my metabolism is so high that my stomach will simply start chewing on my liver or heart or lungs were I to deprive it even a little πŸ‘€πŸ˜‚
View attachment 769005
WOW!! Yum

You don't kid around 😏

After a lekker visit at my cousin while charging the phone I rode back down, saw a few blou ape that never used to occur in that area and had a look at the fountain - so lush at the moment, with wild mint leaving an amazing aroma as you walk through.
Then it was time to pack for the hike and sleepover quickly. Amazing what one can fit into and onto a small 20L backpack...
Sleeping bag, blow up mattress, blow up pillow, 2L water in the bladder, another 500ml water bottle, small bag with my stove, pot, insulated mug, utensils, and small odds and ends, thermal bib, beanie, warm top and jacket, warm socks again, snacks and leftover chop and cheese grillers, hot cross buns, coffee stuff, headlight and a chocolate. And probably a few other things as well
I had no idea how far I had to go, and seeing that I only left camp at 2pm I set off at a brisk pace, only stopping for hundreds of photos - Hi, my name is Andre, and I am a photoholic πŸ˜‚
Anyway the 1st 2kms or so was via the 1st piece of road up the mountain and then along a jeep track following the contour. From there the trail was wherever I wanted to go, but in the general direction of the farm's border fence.
IMG_20220416_131509_compress66.jpg
IMG_20220416_134423_compress39.jpg
IMG_20220416_135805_compress99.jpg
IMG_20220416_142729_compress54.jpg
IMG_20220416_142814_compress25.jpg

About 6.5km later I reached the fence, and scrambled down into the kloof, or the Dwyka canyon to be precise, and spent the next 5.5km in amazement at what I was seeing πŸ‘€πŸ™ŒπŸ»πŸ™ŒπŸ»
Water everywhere, reeds, grass that reached almost right up to my 1.89m height, green trees and bushes all along the river bed, in stark contrast with the grey and brown rocks and cliffs around me.
I have earnestly prayed for rain here many many times and could not do anything other than give Him thanks and glory for the beauty and abundant life I was witnessing, with dead and dry bossies transformed into life-giving food. And He promptly reminded me of several scriptures He had given me personally recently about His Son, Jesus, being the Way and the Truth and the Life, how He came to give us life, and life in abundance, how I will be like a tree planted by the water that never wilts and guves its fruit in and out of season if I trusted Him, how I will never thirst again when I satisfy myself with Him as the living water, how He can make a way where there seems to be no way. And I can go on and on πŸ™ŒπŸ»
I was, and will always be, deeply thankful and in awe for the privilege of being able to call Him God, King, Father, Saviour, Friend, and hearing Him speak to me in so many ways. I went to seek Him and He remained true to His word, as always, revealing Himself to me so vividly that I had to stop walking at times, because I was stumbling over the rocks, eyes too blurry to see properly. He loves us as only our Creator-Lover-Father-God can, and with so much grace, mercy and good will that it is impossible to comprehend with my mind - and once long ago when I asked Him He poured His love out over me so intensely that I felt as if I would explode into pieces with wonder and emotion.

Anyway, the 1st proper deep pool I got to was one about 4. 5m x 3m, and probably about 2m deep, gouged into smooth solid rock over He-knows-how-long.

IMG_20220418_221209_compress83.jpg
IMG_20220416_150715_compress33.jpg
IMG_20220416_151524_compress23.jpg
IMG_20220416_152543_compress33.jpg

The next 2 pools are truly spectacular! Large, clear and deep, and very inviting to jump into - but it was getting late, it was a bit chilly and the wind was blowing a fair bit, so I passed them by and believe I will get to enjoy them another day.
IMG_20220422_163048.jpg
IMG_20220422_163111.jpg
IMG_20220422_163135.jpg
IMG_20220418_220052_compress27.jpg
IMG_20220418_215834_compress87.jpg

Bennie leaves a nice rooster tied to a tree there, so no, I did not bring that one πŸ˜€
When you're making coffee anyway the quickest way to get a fire going is to blast some sticks with the gas stove 😎
Not wanting to waste good food I brought the leftover pork chop and cheese grillers with me to heat up, and enjoyed them with a few more hotcross buns with cheese wedges, followed by some chocolate and more coffee. Then it was time to build up the fire again (I did 3 trips to bring firewood, and eventually left about half behind for Bennie to use next time) and settle into my sleeping bag, watching the full moon creep over the horizon.

I must say, there's just something about being alone in the middle of nowhere (almost), at night 🀩. Most people will probably find it quite unnerving, being alone, alone with their own thoughts, no tv, no facebook, whatsapp, whatever. It does take some getting used to, and I like it from time to time

IMG_20220416_173643_compress17.jpg
IMG_20220416_174804_compress89.jpg
IMG_20220416_191748_compress18.jpg
earlier

I must admit that I did not sleep like a baby that night. Well, maybe like a colicky baby πŸ˜„. The sound of the water falling into the pool echoed loudly around the cave (next time I'll take my No Noise earplugs) and my inflatable mattress is reasonable but not really nice - time to start looking for one of those 50mm self inflating ones with the pockets...

I was awake around 7, but had a lazy coffee/breakfast morning (think I had 4 rusks πŸ€”) and only started my hike at 9am.
Saturday's hike ended up being just over 11km, which took me 3h20 to do - had I not walked with such serious intent, stopped for coffee and rest, a swim and just relaxing along the way this wouldve probably easily taken around 5hrs.
Sunday would end up being around 6km, with some proper scrambling on all fours and rock climbing on the route I chose to take out of the canyon. Falling and seriously injuring myself there would not be good, even though Bennie knew I was somewhere around there.

They breed them big in the Karoo it seems... That crab mustve been a monster, and the print left behind by a rooikat definitely did not belong to a kitten either πŸ‘ŠπŸΌ
IMG_20220419_145458_compress3.jpg
IMG_20220417_095106_compress64.jpg
IMG_20220417_095855_compress99.jpg
IMG_20220419_145442_compress35.jpg
IMG_20220419_145420_compress1.jpg
IMG_20220418_200719_compress0.jpg

Last edited: