The comeback ride RR - Complete - via the Old Postal Route in the Cederburg

This was my first trip with Wild Dog Forum, and also a first multi-day ‘gravel travel’ trip for Mrs Pluto on her Honda CRF 230.  Our little ‘sub’ groeppie  for Friday's 'pre trip ride', comprised me, Mrs P, Nicky and Hugo – all  plastic bike owners, left Cape Town early, got to Citrusdal by cage towing a trailer, where we met up with Kubus and Theo, on their adventure bikes. 

Shortly before lunchtime, we unloaded our bikes, and started riding where the black stuff finished; about 8 kays north of the dorp.  Someone had to drive the cage, and that was me. 
We had a great trip to Oasis, going via Algeria, Cedarberg Wines (where we stopped for a picnic), and Sanddrif. 

This being our first trip to Oasis, we were all pleasantly surprised with the set up, and certainly weren’t disappointed with the house speciality – spare ribs!  We had a great evening meeting the rest of the riding party.

On Sat morning Mrs P was a tad nervous.  I know she wasn't the only one.  Little did we know, but our group was in for an interesting Saturday adventure.  Elsewhere pictures will tell the story, but for the main, there was an accident, some punctures, getting lost, some offs, a bike that kept on jumping off the trailer, some more punctures, some super soft sand for coming off, some more getting lost, some water crossings, and opening/closing of fences. 

Our Saturday night destination was Stonehenge, and it must have mystical magnetic forces, cause all the lost and unlost people arrived at the venue within 15 minutes of one another.  Missing from Stonehenge is the colour green.

The first part of its name tells you what is in abundance on the farm, and the second part aptly describes the architecture (henge = prehistoric structure).  It is an out-worldly place, after-the-apocalypse, recycled, home-made, and a visual, if not bizarre delight.  Dark-can’t-see-in-the-pub, big sky, lunar landscape, quirky sculptures haphazardly scattered here and there, and a wind of Biblical gusto and proportion. 

The wind and accompanying dust storm was completely in keeping with the place; if it weren't that, then a massive conflagration, oppressive heat, volcano, tsunami, earthquake, aurora borealis, parting of the waters, or similar natural phenomena would not be out of place.   

Inside the ‘lounge’ , there was only a little less dust and wind; the fact there was no grit in the chops and wors (braaied outside by Mr Malawi), is more proof of Stonehenge’s mystical properties. This force must have aligned the planets perfectly over the braai, and send anti-matter to ward grit off the meat.  There can be no other explanation; it is impossible for mere mortals to braai at all in a dust storm of such magnitude. 

After an excellent meal and post dinner drinks, most guests were blown away to their place of sleep.  Somewhere near our tent there was a pole attached to a flap, and this flap-pole-thing went wadda-wadda-wadda –wadda-wadda in the wind all night long.  It didn't sound much different from the badda-babba-babba-badda of bike engines all day long, so it was easy to fall asleep. 

At dawn the next morning, I awoke to that famous Simon and Garfunkel song,  ‘sounds of silence’  - yay the wind had died down!  During the night, some planets must have been blown off course a bit, because mystical forces dealt us some slow punctures to fix. 

Due to all the stones everywhere, as in E-V-E-R-Y-W-H-E-R-E, Stonehenge has a commercial puncture repair workshop.  In an emergency, I can wrestle a tire off a rim to get to the tube, and put it all together again.  But if I don’t have to break into a sweat by breakfast, skin all my knuckles, and break my fingernails, I would rather pay someone else do the job – that’s why I go to work Monday to Friday. 

Last night’s Mr Malawi the mystical braai master, and this morning’s fried egg flipper at breakfast, also happened to be the one and only tire mechanic.  My bike had a flat back, ditto Shaun, and Russell’s backup bakkie’s back right tire was sporting a massive bee sting-wart-type of bubble coming out the tread. 

Immediately after the last egg was flipped, Mr Malawi downed his kitchen tools, strode off to workshop, with us three pap wielle in tow.  The ‘workshop’ was a container around the corner from the kitchen, disguised on one side with some falling down latte.  Inside the container, it was just chaos, as if the container and its contents had just fallen off the back of a truck, rolled down a steep bank, and landed ajar at Stonehenge (those planets again!).  Massive pile of tubes in one corner, steel cabinet with rickety shelving; shelving piled higgledy-piggledy with cardboard boxes, a compressor in the way, pipes on the floor, toolbox with tools spilling out. 

Mr Malawi entered the container, and stepping gingerly, as if crossing a minefield, somehow got to the generator without tripping over anything, and fired it up. 

Among the din and smoke coming from a loud petrol generator in the confined container, and a Malawian who can’t speak English, it was a waste of time explaining to him about the back wheel rim lock. 

I shouted, ‘do you know about rim locks?’  He nodded and carried on with the tire irons.  He didn't know, and soon I realized this repair was sizing up to be a wrestling match; Mr Malawi versus Rim Lock’ . 

Over the noise and smoke, and in international sign language I motioned that he should undo the Rim Lock bolt, and then with more sign language approximating shoving an onion into a chicken carcass before you put it on the Weber, he should push the Rim Lock towards the tire tread.   

As Mr Malawi was grunting and groaning with the tire irons, Russell back-up bakkie appeared,  needing an angle grinder.  He’d lost the key to the padlock chaining up his spare wheel, and the only solution was to cut the lock off.  An extension lead was plugged into the generator, same lead draped over Mr Malawi, and Russell slithered under his bakkie to add to the bedlam and noise, with that aggressive angle grinder cutting away at the lock amidst a shower of sparks.  (Did I tell you the spare wheel is about 1 meter away from the bakkie’s fuel tank?).

I watched Mr Malawi work with interest.  He was quite happy working on an old wooden pallet, in an uncomfortable bending over position, rather than at a work table.  Each time he put a tool down, he had to do so with great care, lest the tool fall though the gaps in the pallet.  It was inevitable, as he stood up to scratch around for a tool just outside his reach, he bumped the tire irons and they fell through the pallet.  This continual picking up of tools from underneath the pallet and bent over working seemed so illogical, and well stupid; why make it harder than it already is? 

Mr Malawi showed his finesse and experience when it came to spooning the tire onto the rim.  With the greatest and utmost care, like laying down a sleeping baby in a crib, Mr Malawi gently, gently worked the tire onto the rim without pinching the tube.  Not even Russell tapping him on the shoulder, ‘have you got a jack?’  put Mr Malawi off his task. 

With a satisfying ‘ schluurp’ the tire was on. 

In the meantime another 3 adventure bikers had arrived at the workshop with a tire problem.  Unfazed with the pressure mounting, Mr Malawi went about his work, with breath-taking efficiency; he knew exactly where everything was, and (bar the rim lock) had seen it all before. 

In a 1980’s book by Robert Pruzzig entitled, Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance  the author describes this exact scenario.  He says there are two types of mechanics; those like Mr Malawi who seem to operate well with tools and parts and stuff scattered about haphazardly, and the other type who is the exact opposite.  This mechanic; Mr Order, can’t operate in chaos.  Indeed these mechanics have their tools hanging up on a wall, each one silhouetted, everything neat and tidy.   

This book is an inquiry into quality values.  If, in the mechanic scenario, say both mechanics had to fix a flat, and if Mr Malawi fixed it properly his way in a chaotic workshop, and Mr Order fixed it properly in his way in his neat and tidy workshop, who is to say is the better mechanic?  The book asks if there difference in quality between the two different mechanic styles?

The difference between the two styles is due to a personal data storing method.  Mr Malawi stores data (in this case, where is my 13 spanner?) by associating its position relative to the generator, and/or some other object.  His data storage is pattern orientated, among this landscape of seeming chaos, the position of everything is related, and he knows where everything is.

On the other hand, Mr Order has to have a specific place for a specific thing.  His style is boxing and labelling all data, without which, he cannot operate. 

Thanks to Mr Chaos Malawi, we all departed Stonhenge happy campers, and onwards to our next leg of the journey to Tanwka Padstal.  Again, pictures will tell the story.  The short one in words goes like this;  opening and closing of gates, oaks almost seeing their gats on one particular sharp corner, some going to some dam, others not, others going this way, others that-a-way, another puncture, adventure bike on the trailer, fix puncture at burnt down padstal.  All leave en mass; some going this-a-way to Cape Town, others that-a-way.

What a great trip!  Well done to Brett and the back-up drivers.  Truly amazing! 

Good Lord Murray, you have me in absolute tears, I haven't laughed this much in ages, people in this open plan office must think I've lost my mind  :imaposer: :imaposer: :imaposer:

Next trip you are designated official trip report writer  ;D

Gees, have to wipe my tears!!!!! Funny as ****

Don't know what is the best, the trip or your report. Wish I can ride  as smoothly as you wrote this report!

I see this picture in my head with our Malawi Guy.

Remember, he is mechanic, barman, dishwasher, chef, toilet cleaner  all in one and pretty good at all of them, Africa style!
the organized mechanic is a mechanic only!
. Give that bloke a bells!

So much has been written already I will just add my pics bit by bit.  I will say it again.  There is nothing extremely difficult in terms of obstacles on this route, but rather the cumulative effect of continuously having to negotiate some or other obstacle ranging from heat, rocks, sand, river beds, more sand etc.  I have not taken many pics along the Wupperthal road since I have ridden that many times.  The Old Postal route has been on my bucket list for a long time so when the opportunity came along I put my name on the list.  I will not recommend that you attempt this route without a GPS and tyre fixing equipment.  One thing that stood out for me of the bunch was a particular humbleness and willingness to help. 

Vlam took a tumble and he made the right decision to rather return to civilisation. 

By chance I took the right hand side track on the tweespoor which turned out to be much better than the left hand side where there was some erosion.

Stopping at Albie's farm

Did I mention the sand?  This was the first time we went down in a right hander going rather slow.  The outside bank got hold of the front wheel and wouldn't let go.  The pig went down to a 45 degree angle only.  My 7 year old son did not even realise what happened.  I told him to get off as I needed to pick the bike up.  In the pic I am looking back and you can see where it went wrong.

Take notice of the angle of the handle bar!  Going a bit faster this time...

We had some airtime and was lucky enough to land in soft sand and brush.  We had a good laugh about it.

Once again wrestling with the handlebar, this time saving it just in time to avoid that bush on the left.  Both tyres on 2 bar, but I still struggled for control.  Can't really go softer due to the rocky sections.  Also not wanting to go too fast as I worried about my son coming off in such a remote area at speed.  

Kaspaas fixing his front wheel in a flash

Entering the Tra Tra riverbed

Al weer gansdans tyd!!

So this was the third time going down with Kaspaas stopping just in time not to ride over my son's head as I tried to avoid a thorn tree and my front wheel not want to turn that sharp in the sand.  Luckily we were going slow and he saw it all unfold in front of him.  I was getting a bit annoyed with myself for going down yet again.  

I was rather disappointed to hear afterwards that we missed the major crossing of the Doringriver, but this crossing provided plenty entertainment.  I was first and told my son to get off after hitting the bashplate upon initial entry.  The water was a bit deeper than I thought and those rocks slippery as can be.

Kaspaas to the rescue!

My son really liked the way the 640 came out of the water with that rear wheel churning the water up.

Nice one DikZol!
Take my hat of, doing it with pilion and on a 1200 :thumleft:

But what I can say, would not do it on any other bike, I like my S10. She did well.
Only off I had was the left route I took, while u took the right hand one ;)
Then managed to berry her. Took a while to get her out with some help from Buff and GJ. Who took her to the harder ground.

Stonehenge.  The wind was howling.  We decided to take a quick ride to capture some pics in the last light.  This place is surreal.

Not sure how strong these structures are...  Kept the helmet on to avoid get dust blown into our eyes.

Sies man!

With the Provence game the previous evening and my air mattress literally letting me down from 01:00 that morning I was not moving very fast on the Sunday morning.  There was just no speed in getting packed up.  I told Buff that they should leave without me and that I will go home via the R355.  Turns out him, Kaspaas and Yami Super 10 were waiting for me at the gate.  Buff returned once more as I finished strapping everything together and we managed to join them.  

At some point Yami Super 10 was leading us and we hit quite a long patch of messed up black sand.  I was in third opening up the throttle and noticing Yami was goose stepping already.  Still on the throttle I also got a tank slapper and just to add to the troubles also had to negotiate a left turn still in heavy sand.  The outside of the corner was approaching fast and I somehow managed to keep it more or less together.  Yami actually went off the track on the outside but kept the throttle open and made it back to the track.  We all slowed down considerably for a few minutes...I guess just to process what just happened!

Kaspaas once again proving how quickly he can fix a puncture.  I think he is the organised mechanic type.  He just opens the tool bag and has everything at hand, even a lappie to wipe sand etc. off.  

Buff riding back and forth to the dam to go and look for the others.  We seemed to have missed a turnoff or something.

Shaun having another flat

Arriving at the Tankwa Padstal.  These people are just plain awesome.  Their attitude is just so positive.

This pool was just heavenly!

"As iemand nou met 'n kamera in die hand staan gaan ek hom in die water gooi!" said Yami ...so I took a picture!  Dissie sommer net vir gooi nie!

On our way home via the R355.

Stop, stop...ek is 'n spietkop...ek skryf jou naam op...want ek het somehow my lisensie by die huis vergeet!!!  He was nice enough to let me go with only writing down my ID number.  Does that mean he is going to post it to me???

Kaspaas lead us through Bainskloof pass where we really enjoyed the corners a bit.  We had a near miss with a breakdown vehicle and long flatbed trailer reversing in our direction as we came out of a corner.  Kaspaas locked up the rear and I easily avoided them going to the left.  Just a reminder to concentrate on the tar!!!

Last photo before we parted ways.

Sounds like you guys had a good time, I am sorry that I missed out.

Great pics! Wide variety of bikes!! Enduro bikes are cheating  :biggrin: :biggrin: :biggrin:

Thks for the great RR.Those punctures looked a little tiresome!

thks

PART 2

So from the Tra-Tra River its a few more kays of shale riding before you get to the big crossing at the Doring River. Here things get a bit confusing, especially reading a small GPS screen as there’s a myriad of roads teeing off in different directions.

The road we planned to take forked to the left, but the leading group forgot to wait for the second group and they took the fork to the right. Both roads eventually head towards the R355 and Stonehenge but the uncertainty after a long hot day in the saddle had me a little concerned. Well that and the fact that one of the group was my wife and she had ridden all the way from Wuppertal on a single tank of fuel in her CRF150, which holds a mighty 5.7l  :eek: I knew it would be running on fumes by that stage and the backup bakkie with extra juice was with us.
The only consolation was that she was riding with Dikzol & Kaspaas on their fuel tankers so I figured she’d be able to bum some juice if push came to shove  ;)

GJ did around 15km’s extra looking for them and found where they had crossed further upstream. We figured they be okay so with “pushed” on… literally.

Yami staying in the sandy 2 spoor and myself taking the road less travelled, I might explain the benefit of it to him sometime  ;)

kELgJK.jpg

The Dorings sand was just insane, it was soft and deep and the heat made it even worse. First man down was Shaun on his Transalp followed by Yami with and specular dismount and ostrich impersonation into the bushes  :imaposer:

En daar le die ding

9NP5GW.jpg

We helped Yami pick up the big Super Tenere and he took off in a sand cloud only to be stopped 20m further, buried up to his belly plate. Shaun had another go and suffered the same fate, buried up to the rear axle. It was freaking hot and we were sweating like pigs in our kit just trying to lift the bikes and walk them through. In all fairness, I thought they were both doing very well under those circumstances on the big bikes, it couldn’t have been easy.

Around this time GJ came tearing past us, jumping two small dune humps, crossing the deep 2 spoor track, popping a wheelie over a broken telephone pole lying sideways in the bush and disappeared in a sand cloud. We just stood there looking at each other and shaking our heads… a true WTF moment  ::)

The S10 taking a break

93C89g.jpg

After helping Shaun walk his bike out, the 3 of us tried lifting the S10 numerous times but it was going nowhere. Then I tried handling the throttle while Yami controlled the clutch, nada, it just spun in the soft sand. 200m from the welcoming cool waters of the Doring River and here we were in a sand suffer fest.
GJ returned for a laugh and after seeing us suffering sufficiently, offered to ride the S10 out. He dumped it into 2nd, dropped the clutch and disappeared in literally the biggest sand storm I have ever seen; you couldn’t even see him and the bike through the haze… die man mag maar !!!

We finally reached the river and it was like an island retreat, the rest of the group had been swimming and chilling out waiting for us.

GJ even provided a water fountain for our entertainment  :thumleft:

6HLcmt.jpg

I watched Yami successfully ride his S10 through but after seeing him slip and slide, I decided discretion is the better part of valour and opted to walk my bike through rather than fall on my recovering leg (which I already did earlier in the day). Even that was challenging on the slippery rocks so I negotiated a fee with the river Taliban called Socket and he kindly rode my bike over for me.

5qGlPE.jpg

jlZECv.jpg

Our backup team crossing the Doring, they did a wonderful job of taking care of our needs  :thumleft:

Ni9Pfp.jpg

While we going through this, the splinter cell were having their own adventure further down the river. Here’s Kaspaas helping take Cats bike through their crossing, which was considerable smaller than ours.

T2lZKk.jpg

After regrouping and enjoying a cold drink and some shade we tackled the last few kilometres to Stonehenge, which were mostly flat and fast. Most were keen to get off the saddle and into the bar to watch the rugby.

Stonehenge was awesome as usual. They’ve done quite a lot of work there since my last visit. Most of the riders upgraded to their tented accommodation asap as they were all too buggered to pitch camp. GJ & 2StrokeDan said their goodbyes and headed back to the Cape while the rest of us spent a great evening reminiscing about the day, having a good laugh and then watching the WP klap the Lion’s.
This was followed by a lekka braai with chilly pap laid on by the staff of Stonehenge. Surprisingly enough it was an early night for everyone, the long day had clearly taken its toll.

Some remains from Africa Burn

5q3h00.jpg

Kaspaas starring in a snuff movie. Diksol tried it later as well and got to try out my awesome eye drops after taking his snuff through his tear ducts  :eek: :imaposer:

Wpj7XJ.jpg

Some kids never have enough of biking. Renier had a great ride on his new KTM200

8KcdZl.jpg

GJ & 2SD

M4WKM2.jpg

As knackered as I was, I had a restless night, the wind was howling and slapping the tent so hard it sounded like two okes beating each other to death with a pair of plakkies. By morning it had fortunately let up somewhat and I was up early to enjoy the sunrise.

I tried my hand at getting creative with my iphone’s timer and an old bicycle

t6yBqp.jpg

While Cats found the perfect bike for the Argus next year

wdd5QF.jpg

Getting the group going after breakfast was a mission and a half. We discovered chaos happened while we were sleeping, from Cats bike spewing oil to punctures on bikes & backup vehicles. It all needed attending for we could get going and instead of the planned 9am start, we only left at around 10:30am. Thank goodness for the Malawian Tire Changing service.

4idbOu.jpg

Only to find out at the first gate that we had left Dikzol & Mark behind so I had to go back and fetch them.

The lonely GS & rider we left behind  :(

Km9pbU.jpg

Enter the 2nd splinter group scenario. The front group were unaware of me having to go back and where following Bring It On’s original GPS route. I on the other hand had modified the route to detour via the Oubaskraal dam. So while some went right and straight on to Tankwa Padstal, a few of us headed towards the dam in search of them… eish !!

Yami Super10

hD4Vak.jpg

Kaspaas was bitten in the *** when he failed to change his puncture in camp and hoped tire weld would do the trick, no such luck.

UE3l1O.jpg

While he changed it I went in search of the dam and eventually found it. Quite amazing to find an expanse of water this size in such an arid area.

AsE6UU.jpg

You’re able to ride around two sides of the dam wall until you get to this little sign.

z4RNxV.jpg

The route we wanted to follow is clearly visible on the other side of the little donga. Being good boys we decided to head back and follow the route the splinter cell took, just in case someone needed the backup vehicle as it was with us. After slabbing it across kilos & kilos of open gravel road we came across the lonely figure of Shaun, stranded with a rear wheel puncture. Rather than fix it in the blazing sun, we took Worth-Its bike off the trailer and replaced it with Shaun’s and the two of them swopped rolls, with Shaun driving the bakkie.

Dikzol considering trading his GS on a Honda

agHkmk.jpg

We continued on toward the Tankwa Padstal and not long after turning left onto the R355, we came across Renier & Buffs Cat standing on the side of the road without petrol in the KTM200. After a quick top-up we finally reached the Padstal and were very grateful to see them up and trading already. Cold drinks and burgers were enjoyed by all, while few cooled off in the cement pool.

Buffs Cat

3a6RDn.jpg

Dikzol

P5sC3y.jpg

This little oke was the hero of the trip. 7yr old Mark rode behind his dad (Dikzol) the whole trip and I never heard him complain once, even after dad put the GS down for a rest and he was forced to abandon ship  :)

Vy04HV.jpg

Zs22Ko.jpg

The brains trust trying to sort out Shaun’s tire after he made use of a spare E09 dumped at the padstal as his tire was torn too badly.

Km3alq.jpg

After an extended stay at the Padstal, some of the group said their goodbyes to it the road home while the rest of us headed for Kattebakkies Pass.

Buff climbing out of the Karoo

JiCjC3.jpg

Looking down from the top of Kattebakkies Pass

eqJkaI.jpg

The ride almost ended on a bad note when Renier put his 200 down on the last pass before the t-junction to Oasis but fortunately, he was okay. His bike not so much, it picked up some experience damage.

At the split to Oasis most of us said our sad goodbyes and headed home while some went on to Oasis to collect their trailers and vehicles.
So ended a trip that will certainly go down in my highlights reel. Cats and I had such an awesome time with some of the nicest people you’ll ever meet. Many riders believe the bike makes a trip. Maybe when you’re travelling solo, but when you’re in a group, it’s the people that make the trip. It never mattered if it broke, fell or punctured, there was always someone there to help you pick it up, push it or fix it and get going again.

Thank you to all who joined us on this ride, it was great riding with you and I’d do it all again at the drop of Liewe Heksie’s hat (aka Socket)

SdUicJ.jpg

Thanks to all who shared their experience of the weekend of this route.

I need to do this one while I still have my 650.

I will definitely knock on a few of your doors to get the exact route planned for when it's my turn.

Once again.... thanks a lot for all the Fantastic photos & Most enjoyable "written reports" by all.

@ this point I am even more sorry & heart broken that I had to miss out on this Epic Adventure. Really hoping that my luck will work out more in my favour next time round. I know for sure that I truly missed out BIG time.

Lem said:
Thanks to all who shared their experience of the weekend of this route.

I need to do this one while I still have my 650.

I will definitely knock on a few of your doors to get the exact route planned for when it's my turn.

Judging by the amount of keen interest in this AWESOME Gem of a Route...... I can definitely see another trip being planned somewhere in the near future. Really hoping to be a part of it.