The Free State Bash, Meiringskloof 2009 report

Bakkie said:
awesome pictures Misty  :thumleft:

Damn that's some nice views

Thanks Bakkie - it was, and I'm glad we sticked with our plan to go see Katse Dam - was well worth it!!

Some scenery pics from the Leon/Gunda ride...

• 100_2526.jpg
    100_2526.jpg
    158.7 KB
  • 100_2530.jpg
    100_2530.jpg
    156.1 KB
  • 100_2533.jpg
    100_2533.jpg
    179.7 KB
  • 100_2534.jpg
    100_2534.jpg
    148.4 KB
  • 100_2536.jpg
    100_2536.jpg
    196 KB
Got a PM for the track of the Leon Demon Killing / Lesotho group

Attached, cleaned and filtered a little.

• PostTripTrack_Filtered_Post.gpx
    81.2 KB
Oh Man,

I look at the pics posted here, and although I have just got back, I just want to go out and ride it  again.

When is the next Free State bash ? Hope it is at the same place !

Thanks people.

:) Gunda - you not the only one - I was just telling Dee that at 4pm yesterday I just wanted to get home - but now being stuck at work again and looking at this RR I just want to be back on those gravel roads!!

Ok so here are the main prize winners and thanks again to the sponsors of the products, BMW Hochland Auto, Karcher SA(Blaine), Henry from Bloemfontein Bikes Shop and Hentie from Fully Loaded bike shope and assesories.
Winner of the Karcher - CropSprang
FreeStateBash2009193.jpg

Winner of the BMW jacket
JustBiking
FreeStateBash2009195.jpg

Winner of the 2nd jacket
Shakes
FreeStateBash2009194.jpg

Winner of the pants from Henry is
Blondie, wow you move fast little lady, the scream that came out "Is it me , is it me", and the giggles was fun :thumleft:
FreeStateBash2009177.jpg

Thanks to Marike and Malibu who gave out the prizes with a smile ;D

Aggg no man now on nearly every pic I got a beer in the hand, the beer police will be on me >:D, I tried to stay as far as possible away from the cameras.
Ja that rock was a nice vantage point....
From the other side, Mal and Hentie doing their thing, Oom Jaap and his wife on the left, spoke to him just this morning and he is a happy chappy, we can come back for another Bash, o and they found Cavegirls camera and somebodies headlight.
FreeStateBash2009125-1.jpg

Later the Katoom guys decided now is the time to get the show on the road, Adventurer on the 990 showed skill and technique to safely ride the guantlet up the paadjie into the lapa, we all thought lekka man this now finished, but alas another 990 fired up in the dark(side), John came up the path and wam he litterally fell into the lapa with door and all... :imaposer:
FreeStateBash2009211.jpg

Here Adventurer his helping out his fellow orange rider getting his mojo up again just to lose it all again when the bike would not get off the marks, numerous times it just died in 1st :imaposer:, eventually the ^%&^%^$ bike was parked safely >:D
FreeStateBash2009217.jpg

After this a KLR entered the show, Jules followed up with another KLR, I then told Hentie to bring the 1200 as we are in need of a Beemer, he luckily did not fall and excecuted the path and the door perfectly.

Then I ask a capable, very capable lady driver to bring in the bike of all bikes, the grand entrance of the F800GS, MALIBU brought her baby in, for the next few hours eveybody was talking bikes, tyres, sitting on bikes, testing the seats, checking farkels etc, this move of Adventurer brought the spirits up again and the party was in full swing to develop into a true burnout rally style bash, clash of the big guns ;D

Jules entrance with KLR
FreeStateBash2009244.jpg

Jules parking safely without any hassles
FreeStateBash2009245.jpg

Malibu's entrance
FreeStateBash2009248.jpg

Malibu parking safely
FreeStateBash2009249.jpg

Some sweet talk between Smithey and Mal
FreeStateBash2009250.jpg

Hentie bringing the 1200 in
FreeStateBash2009233.jpg

Some of the spectators,
FreeStateBash2009236.jpg

The row of bikes
FreeStateBash2009240.jpg

Haaaaa we made it
FreeStateBash2009227.jpg

The Free state Bash

As Experienced by Jules and Li

What a weekend!!!!

A BIG thanks to all who arranged and planed everything you guys did a fantastic job.

Let’s start with some pictures.

Li and I left Randburg at 10am. Just past Joburg the rain hit

fbash1.jpg

fbash2.jpg

fbash3.jpg

We kitted up in out rain suits and carried on.
The rain kept up until denysville where we finally managed to outrun it  ;)

fbash4.jpg

fbash5.jpg

fbash6.jpg

fbash7.jpg

We had a fantastic ride along some spectacular dirt roads all the way to the bash.

Assorted route pictures

fbash8.jpg

fbash9.jpg

fbash10.jpg

fbash11.jpg

fbash12.jpg

fbash13.jpg

We stopped in at the Royal in Reits for some lunch and a cold one.
fbash14.jpg

fbash15.jpg

Li loves cosmos so I had to do the right thing and pick some for her.
I was waiting on bended knee for her around a corner in the road.   :biggrin:

fbash16.jpg

fbash17.jpg

One of the many bridges we went under.
fbash18.jpg

Lots of amazing scenery

fbash19.jpg

fbash20.jpg

fbash21.jpg

fbash22.jpg

We arrived at Meirings kloof at around 4:30pm to a very warm welcome and a very cold beer  :thumleft:

We did the meet and greet and then setup camp

fbash23.jpg

We had a lekker kuier and braai on Friday evening along with a few beer and tequilas.

We were up early on Saturday or the ride to Lesotho

fbash24.jpg

fbash25.jpg

fbash26.jpg

fbash27.jpg

fbash28.jpg

fbash29.jpg

fbash30.jpg

The Ride was an eventful one with the terrain varying between sweeping tar stretches and some challenging technical sections.

It was a blast and I needed 2 "BrinkBrandWurms"TM to get the smile of my face when we got back.

fbash31.jpg

fbash32.jpg

fbash33.jpg

fbash34.jpg

fbash36.jpg

fbash37.jpg

fbash38.jpg

My eyes are closed cause we weren’t allowed to take pictures inside the border post and I didn’t want anyone to see me having my picture taken
fbash39.jpg

Some of the route through Lesotho
fbash41.jpg

fbash43.jpg

fbash44.jpg

Li had a Lollipop in Lesotho  :D
fbash45.jpg

At this bridge I spotted the perfect swimming spot
fbash46.jpg

fbash47.jpg

fbash48.jpg

I stripped down to my undies and made myself comfortable!
fbash49.jpg

fbash50.jpg

fbash51.jpg

I got a lot of startled looks from the passing dogs, Don’t know if it was the cold water or the almost naked Jules but they didn’t seem keen on joining me for a swim.

But Pistol and Smithy didn’t disappoint and they were out of their kit before their bikes had stopped ;)

We were delighted that Smithy had chosen his kakest undies for the days ride.

fbash52.jpg

fbash53.jpg

fbash54.jpg

fbash55.jpg

The water was lovely

fbash56.jpg

Debbs enjoying the show
fbash57.jpg

Smithy took the opportunity to add to his Naked in Nature portfolio
fbash58.jpg

After a very refreshing swim we hit the road.

fbash60.jpg

fbash61.jpg

fbash62.jpg

fbash63.jpg

fbash64.jpg

fbash65.jpg

fbash66.jpg

We had the same drama at the border but once Pistol striped his moer we just took out passports and left.

We caught up to the rest of the dogs on the SA side where John was showing his tire repair skills yet again!

fbash67.jpg

fbash68.jpg

Debbs and Gunda taking it easy
fbash69.jpg

Back at camp we cleaned up and enjoyed a very entertaining night.
Debbs decided to cool her wine in the deep freeze
fbash70.jpg

Pistol Defrosting the very cool wine
fbash71.jpg

The Last picture I took before my camera died.
fbash74.jpg

On Sunday we woke up early to JohnST's loud scream of "Wie het my gemoer!"  :biggrin:

We packed up camp and headed off to Clarens for a lekker breakfast and then took a rustige ride home

We arrived back at 4pm.

Thanks to all the Dogs for a truly special week end
We can’t wait for the next one!

Jules and Li

Nicely done everyone, looks like it was great fun!!!

And for the owner of the RD04 AT, very nice bike that!! For the guys owning RD07A AT's, eat your heart out. Look at the RD04 rear suspension!

FreeStateBash2009053.jpg

Nice pics Jules …. The blommies are sooooo cute… :toothy4:

Bonfire
FreeStateBash2009272.jpg

Aaaai it was nice to stare into the fire thinking of people I do not know, far away places and the nice day we had ;D
FreeStateBash2009298.jpg

And in the dark a dark side 990 lurks
FreeStateBash2009273.jpg

The interpid fire maker, stoker
FreeStateBash2009304.jpg

The next morning I saw this hehehe....
FreeStateBash2009312.jpg

Hentie openend a cold one just to shower everyone with a cold one... Bwahahha :imaposer:
Poor Arrie got the shower the most
FreeStateBash2009316.jpg

Would not smile if I was you, spilling beer like that...
FreeStateBash2009315.jpg

FreeStateBash2009317.jpg