The Germans and the South African bucket list Days 1 - 12 Completed

Remember what I said about checking your stuff  :deal:

But before I get to my adventure .....Andreas left the road as Jean said, and sat there while we got organized to get him out, like nothing happened  :eek7: It must be because they are so used to high slopes when doing the snow skiing thing in the Alps :sip:

And as for the girl I so graciously met in the Hell.... I gave Jean the first option but he only grabbed her behind the head......with the left hand :peepwall:  :pot::pot: I at least was a bit more civil in my approach.... :imaposer: :peepwall:

Then my adventure....As Jean said I was on my way back down " the road to hell " and Chris Rea's song came alive in my head :eek: I worked out that I should  be back out by 16H40 as I would only go back to where I last used the phone and that's just up from the steep climb out of the hell.

So on a slow ride in with the sun setting I scanned the road ahead......while standing on the pegs weaving side to side....I remembered that we had some cyclist coming from the front when we came out, and thought that that might be my only bet to find my phone, so I pushed on to find them.

I stopped at the water crossing where I took some photos and looked around 24 km in....nothing. On and about 2km further I encountered Norman and his fellow mountain biker sweating it out. Stopped and asked them about a cell phone , but no luck but they will scout on their way in and out again tomorrow and let me know if they find it.. the biker also came by and reiterated. As I was about to turn around, Norman stopped me and said that they spent some time at the water crossing, and when they left he looked down in the 40cm deep water while peddaling and spotted a very abnormally square stone...... :eek7: he remembered still thinking it must be some illusion ....a stone the perfectly sqaure  ::)    I had some hope  :3some:

Ileft the rest of the way up to them to search, they had a better chance then me. Turnrd around and went back to the water crossing. Stopped on the far side and retraced my steps of the earlier photo taking....nothing.....then walked right through to the start and searched...nothing....Then made up my mind that what will be will be, turned around and was about to walk back when lo and behold there it was    :biggrin:  lying in the water looking like a very square stone, and asking for the unlock pin  :eek7: Grabbed it very happy and relieved, shook it dry and switched of, tucked in my pocket and rode out of the hell on a song and a prayer :ricky:

I told myself to keep it country and responsible, the road was ****, and we don't want any accidents now.... so I kept it controlled, but 2 km from joining Swartberg pass I had a front flat :patch: Not to worry I am HAPPY and all my stuff is with me ...time 16h50.. :thumleft:

Removed the front wheel, got out my spare tube, threaded the valve.....but the tube wont go over the rim  :dousing: check the tube....18 inch...check the other tube..18 inch ..  fark me George :eek7: amateur, rookie, ****** :deal: ok lets patch the old one....take the glue out of the pack....AND it's as dry as the plastic hell girls fanny  :peepwall:  Now what ? ::) not even a bit of Olaf Brandy would dissolve it :xxbah:

6 years ago I stopped my GPS power cable from moving around with a sticky putty, next plan ...grab some of this and vigorously roll it like you do with a lekker big nose booger, until its very sticky, slap it over the hole and then gooi a patch and wrap in duct tape, drop it in the tire , pump to 3 bar and ride, checking every 5 km if it holds :ricky:

It holds up...all they way to De Rust where we meet up and Jean puts my Chinese Hauwei IN THE RICE obviously.... they love rice.

Next day the Hauwei is dry and the front tire is still 3 bar, and takes me all the way to George where I buy some new Stuff ....... :3some:  Check your STUFF AND CHECK AGAIN  :peepwall: :pot:

I repaired Karl Heizes light cluster on the way out and took a pic, putting my phone back in the breast pocket and forgetting to zip up the vertical zipper...it must have slipped out and landed between my leg and tank bag and when crossing the water I stood up and it fell in..... ???

Last pic was 17H50 on the Swartberg pass down side :ricky:

• IMG_20170324_113806 (Small).jpg
    IMG_20170324_113806 (Small).jpg
    56.7 KB
  • IMG_20170324_113725 (Small) (2).jpg
    IMG_20170324_113725 (Small) (2).jpg
    64.4 KB
  • IMG_20170324_113737 (Small).jpg
    IMG_20170324_113737 (Small).jpg
    62.7 KB
  • IMG_20170324_133205 (Small).jpg
    IMG_20170324_133205 (Small).jpg
    77 KB
  • IMG_20170324_133556 (Small).jpg
    IMG_20170324_133556 (Small).jpg
    82.6 KB
  • DSC_0332 (Medium).JPG
    DSC_0332 (Medium).JPG
    218.5 KB
  • DSC_0341 (Medium).JPG
    DSC_0341 (Medium).JPG
    101.3 KB
  • DSC_0344 (Small).JPG
    DSC_0344 (Small).JPG
    34.4 KB
  • IMG_20170324_104338 (Medium).jpg
    IMG_20170324_104338 (Medium).jpg
    272.8 KB
tube repair  :deal: :pot:

• IMG_20170325_104902 (Medium).jpg
    IMG_20170325_104902 (Medium).jpg
    97.7 KB
  • IMG_20170325_104913 (Medium).jpg
    IMG_20170325_104913 (Medium).jpg
    166.1 KB
Carrots said:
Lanklaas 'n goeie RR gelees. Dankie en sien uit na die res.  :thumleft:

Dink Len se bloedneus en sy cell verloor was sy straf omdat hy die bike trip begin het met 'n vuil bike!!  :deal: :pot:

Wortel ek's n gehoorsame oukie ek spaar water, en n vuil bike beteken jy gebruik hom......vra vir Chris  >:D :pot:

En Nimmo sal nooit weer met my spot oor n bloed neus en tampons nie, van daar af het ek dag en nag bike gery, dit was asof Dok Kriek vir my n paar AKROS in gegooi het, as ek droom dan rev ek eers  :laughing4:

Hoekom staan jou mix kannetjie buite as jy papwiel regmaak, of is dit brake fluid? :peepwall: ;) >:D

ChrisL - DUSTRIDERS said:
Hoekom staan jou mix kannetjie buite as jy papwiel regmaak, of is dit brake fluid? :peepwall: ;) >:D
Wou die tube gom bietjie aangeklam maak ....maar dit wounie ! toe vat ek sommer n sluk vir posterity......

ai dis n lekker RR....daai STUFF het al n paar manne in die steek gelaat,,sal onthou om dit na te gaan :thumleft:

Day 6 – Andreas takes a dive and Alfie loses us

We had decided on having breakfast in George and set off a little earlier than usual.  We took the Dysseldorp road that link up to the N9 just opposite the Ou Montagu Pass.

Kamanassiedam:

IMG_5771 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

It was a treat riding sweeper and watching Alfie gooi hand signals when he had to turn right due to his flicker leaving us somewhere in the Rammelkoppass.  :imaposer: :imaposer:

On one of the tight turns I saw him have an Ohhh mother moment passing one of the farms next to the road.  I would later hear he was ogling the new tractor and never noticed the tight bend – farmers are their own worst enemies on these back roads. :biggrin: :biggrin:

We made good time and at Ou Montagu Len and Alfie decided to go ahead to George, I would get the gang through and meet up in George.  Len needed a tube and Alfie wanted a new rear tyre. :thumleft:

P1170819 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_5774 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

P1020676 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_5775 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_5777 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_5785 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

At the POI where the blacksmiths building remains are Andreas had a little sidestand incident and did his impersonation of Superman in flight with an not so elegant dismount.  :pot:
The clutch lever broke and I sent Len a Wapp saying we would be stopping at Lynn Schroeder Mottorad to get a replacement part.

IMG_5789 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_5790 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

P1020677 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

P1170829 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

GOOD SERVICE HAS NO EQUAL FULLSTOP – While Len and Alfie were riding up and down being sent from one place to the other I rode in at LS and (keep in mind BMW suite on KTM :biggrin:) the gang in tow. 
By the time I got off the bike a guy mid 50’s walked up (pity can’t recall the name) and extended me a handshake and simultaneously asking me what can I do for you sir.  :eek7: :eek7:
I explained the 700 needed a new clutch lever and he gestured to one of the guys inside to take the bike and sort it out.  “Come in have some coffee”  :thumleft: :ricky: :ricky:

IMG_5793 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_5794 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_5795 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

P1170834 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

This people, is what you call SERVICE.  :deal: :deal:
Before we even made our own coffees the tech was back with the old part and the bike was ready.  At times like these I sort of miss BMW, I don’t want any brand bashing about this – the service was awesome they as a dealership deserve the credit.  The Germans (home of Bavarian Motorworks) were to say the least impressed saying that even in Germany they did not get such service. 
Andreas paid his (given overpriced handle R1200’ ish)  :peepwall: lever and we left for the Mall on the N2 to wait for Len and Alfie.

IMG_5798 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

We had some breakfast at Mugg and Bean after being reunited with Alfi.  Len was having difficulty and would join later. 

P1170837 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

There Andreas took this foto: :lamer: :lamer:

P1170835 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

It struck me that we are becoming a society fixated on looking into a small screen instead of taking to one another.  I have since made a conscious decision to try prevent myself from becoming this.

Len joined up and we wanted to do the Passes road – the first one was closed however so we joined it from the Map of Africa.

P1170842 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

DSC_0348 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_5803 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_5806 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

DSC_0349 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

DSC_0355 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

P1170846 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

Andreas and Richard were friends from childhood and watching them muck about at the paragliding spot made me smile :biggrin: :biggrin: :biggrin: – despite being in their sixties they were young at heart and had a zest for life.  Isn’t this what life is all about  :deal: :deal: – adventure, and finding something to laugh about despite your age. :thumleft:

DSC_0358 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

P1020689 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

Passes road:

IMG_5810 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

Somewhere after the first pass Alfie went too far ahead and they lost Andreas and Richard and me at sweeper, at a split.  :spitcoffee:
They ended up getting back on the N2 and headed for Knysna.  I sent Len a Wapp letting him know the 2 “young kids”  :pot: :pot: were with me and we would complete the Karatara road and passes.  This was a gem on its own but to be honest the “convined” passes after Eselbank, Gannaga, Ouberg, Swartberg, Gamkaskloof  just did not have the same appeal.  :lamer: :lamer:

IMG_5814 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_5819 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

P1170861 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

We reached Knysna and met Len, KH and Alfie at Jembo’s.  I still don’t know what the nationality of the reception lady was or what language she spoke – Knysna is a mix and match of people all around the world. :biggrin:

P1170863 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

Everyone did their washing, that is everyone exept Alfie that found a place that no matter how much he shook out on the scale only went up by R1 at a time – he outthinked us there. :pot: :pot:

Later that night we had some excellent food at the waterfront at O Pescador – which I learnt from Richard means the fisherman if I remember correctly.  :ricky:

P1170878 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_5829 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

P1170866 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

P1170872 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

P1170875 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_5831 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

The sunset reminded me of a poem I knew :

"Softly the evening came. The sun from the western horizon. Like a magician extended his golden wand over the landscape; trinkling vapors arose; and sky and water and land seemed all on fire at the touch, and melted and mingled together."

P1170880 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

Nite caps were taken at Jembo’s and we hit the sack just before the next morning.  :ricky:

Day 6's route except we did the Kamanassie road not Oudshoorn:

• map 6.jpg
    map 6.jpg
    305 KB
very nice RR - thanks for the effort Nimmo  :thumleft:

Day 7 – Angie’s is still there to Len’s relief and I curse Doc Kriek

Alfie went to collect his clothes and we set off to have breakfast at Pezula.

P1170881 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

Pezula made me think of something my BIL used to say: “Have you noticed that only rich people say money can’t buy happiness”...  :pot:

IMG_5834 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_5835 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

P1170887 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

P1170888 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

DSC_0366 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

P1020691 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

To be honest about my personal golf “style” after 7 days touring SA I had about the same amount of sand & dirt on me I normally have after 18 holes.  :peepwall: :peepwall:

I once knew a guy that won a prize and went to play at the Lost City (local Colesberg bloke) he was given a caddy as part of the experience.  After a couple of holes he asked the caddy what he thought of his game – the caddy replied: “I like it a LOT, but honestly I still prefer golf” this story led to a bucket load of golfer stories while we had a nice breakfast. :ricky:

Alfie told one of where a golfer shanked a ball quite badly and the Capie caddie without missing a beat asked if he wanted the axe or the chainsaw. :imaposer: :imaposer: :imaposer:

We left and started on the Prins Alfred’s Pass. 

DSC_0367 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_5844 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

P1170889 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_5846 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

Plenty of bikers on this road.

DSC_0369 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

At Spitskop we took some photos before descending wondering if Angie’s would still be open.

P1170896 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

DSC_0375 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

DSC_0382 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_5851 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_5853 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

Angie's controversy (Thx Bundu)

angies1 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

They were still there. :biggrin:

IMG_5867 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_5868 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_5854 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_5859 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_5862 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

P1170901 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

P1170905 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

P1170909 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_5866 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

P1020703 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

They really don’t miss advertise: :lamer:

P1170907 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

I could not believe it, a private line to 2stroke dan  :deal: :deal:

IMG_5858 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

Was a nice warm day out and we were in no rush.

IMG_5865 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

Len took his chance to get his pic taken with the former Scope centrefold, Andreas after hearing this also needed to get his taken.  Wonder what Mrs. Andreas was told back in Germany. :spitcoffee: :ricky:  :lamer:

P1170910 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

P1170911 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

All I can say is age is a bliks@m ::)

From there we hit the last section to Avontuur, by now it was WINDY to say the least.

IMG_5869 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_5871 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

Len left for Patensie to meet and kuier with a school pal of his before we arrived and we would swing by Cape St Francis for a late meal.

P1170913 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

P1170917 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_5874 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_5875 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr
IMG_5876 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

Must be nice to have this as a second home  :thumleft:

IMG_5881 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_5882 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

P1170921 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

Everything was closed and we also headed to Patensie  :patch:

We made Patensie, Ripple Hotel just as dark started setting in.

IMG_5887 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

P1170925 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

P1170926 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

That night we had our first proper BRAAI (I was famished by then) and exchanged stories till late.  We left a whole day the next day to get to Doringkloof so knew we could have a late night.  :ricky:

P1170931 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

P1170936 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

P1170940 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

P1170941 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

Remember Len’s alteration done by Doc Kriek in PA?  :patch: :lamer:
Well as a good upstanding citizen I went to bed probably half way down their Brandy and Coke spell, so I was asleep long before Len came in.

I however awoke in the early morning hours with someone torturing a poor kitty somewhere.  :eek7: :eek7: :eek7: :eek7:

Brandy and the decatting of Len’s nostrils were a DEADLY combination.  :deal: I taped it to send to Anda the next morning to ask for advice and if need be to have evidence why exactly I tried to smother my good old partner with his pillow... I doubt if a jury would convict me after the tape was played.  :patch: :pot:

Judge for yourselves - (play in Flickr, or someone embed)

IMG_5893 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

It was a long and short night if you know what I mean.  :p

I offered Jean a set of brand-new earplugs, but alas the sound of me snoring was indeed part of the adventure, or so a true adventurer would reason  :laughing4: :pot:

They say opposites get along..... Jean was the neat, stacked in sequence guy, I was the, moer down anywhere and soek chap....  :3some:

Spot the difference....  :peepwall: :pot:

• IMG_20170330_065524-780x1040.jpg
    IMG_20170330_065524-780x1040.jpg
    127.1 KB
  • IMG_20170330_065533-1040x780.jpg
    IMG_20170330_065533-1040x780.jpg
    104.5 KB
  • IMG_20170330_065544-780x1040.jpg
    IMG_20170330_065544-780x1040.jpg
    110.4 KB
  • IMG_20170330_065555-1040x780.jpg
    IMG_20170330_065555-1040x780.jpg
    121.1 KB
briv said:
I offered Jean a set of brand-new earplugs, but alas the sound of me snoring was indeed part of the adventure, or so a true adventurer would reason  :laughing4: :pot:

They say opposites get along..... Jean was the neat, stacked in sequence guy, I was the, moer down anywhere and soek chap....  :3some:

Spot the difference....  :peepwall: :pot:

Bwhahahahaha my tinnitus is far worse with the plugs thank you very much  :deal:
Is that what you call that - snoring  :eek7: :eek7: :eek7:

Day 8 – Finding Nimmo’s swamp

The morning after the night before  :peepwall:

IMG_5895 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

I forgot to mention that the “Saddle bag” Alfie had around his neck the whole trip was from Boerwar times.  It was by now deteriorating fast (read leaking sockets & tools all over SA) and he replaced it with a local Koop special the morning before we left Patensie.

This would be small apartment in Germany in a mayor city :deal:

IMG_5900 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

Ripple

P1170946 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

Beautifull scenery

IMG_5905 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr
IMG_5907 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

Baviaans was DRY and DUSTY beyond belief.  In the kloof at certain sections we could not see a thing.  Some CRAZY @#$%^ tip truck driver did his best to kill all 6 of us along the way driving like a maniac.  :xxbah: :xxbah: :xxbah:

IMG_5908 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_5913 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

P1170962 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

DSC_0387 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

DSC_0395 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_5916 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

At the boom access control the guard there opened the boom for farm workers.  “Meneer sien jy die sleg d@nners  :biggrin: – elke Maandag is hulle siek en moet kliniek toe gaan omdat hulle maak of hulle siek is.  Hulle is net nog dronk van die naweek en makeer niks” – ja swear jy en ek weet dit albei, maar dit gaan ons in ons leeftyd nie verander kry nie. :lamer:

P1020722 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

P1020723 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

P1020721 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

DSC_0397 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

Die “Sleg d@nners”  O0

P1170966 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

Baviaans up to Bergplaas have had some decent repairs done to the road since the Bash last year, also sections to Doodsklip etc have now got new concrete twee spoor which is nice for vehicles but sometimes a pain in the Adv biker’s ***.  Some new paved sections as well. :thumleft:

IMG_5927 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

DSC_0404 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_5928 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_5936 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_5938 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_5942 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

DSC_0409 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

Baviaans remains an adventure rider’s dream - dry or not.  :ricky: :ricky: :3some:

IMG_5943 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

DSC_0407 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

P1020729 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

Andreas’s shoes was the topic of many a conversation during the trip – “dancing shoes” – Scumacher’s F1 shoes” etc etc – I was waiting for Smitskraal to see them then

Before:

IMG_5939 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

After:

IMG_5944 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

Smitskraal proved to be the most slippery I have ever had it due to the low water level. :eek7: :thumleft:

IMG_5946 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

P1170972 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

P1170973 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

DSC_0411 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

DSC_0415 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

DSC_0419 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

DSC_0421 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr