Verneukpan 2018

NIMMO

Verneukpan according to Google is:

Verneukpan is a widespread dry salt pan south of Kenhardt, between Swartkop and Diemansput in the Northern Cape, South Africa. Verneuk is Afrikaans for to trick, mislead, screw or swindle. The pan is used for aerotowing operations. During the rainy seasons many birds flock to the pans, when they contain water.

The date was set and thanks to Hinksding the knitty gritties would be arranged.
The fact that his RR on his epic journey was not finished would be overlooked due to his commitment to get everything in place during lamb season.

On Thursday Transporter made it to my place with his ADV and made it just as the Karoo was getting dark and cold.  After spilling oil all over my driveway and profusely apologising  :deal: :deal: for it we had our first braai of many for the following couple of days.

IMG_3163 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_3167 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

The plan was to leave Colesberg the afternoon and get to Tribe’s place by dark but he enticed us to get there early with the words “wheelie machine”.
We left Colesberg mid morning and took a nice scenic ride too Hanover.

IMG_7288 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_7290 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_7292 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

I have often heard about how beautiful their Dutch Reform Church was and we decided to go have a look.  When we stopped there the caretaker told us we could have a look inside and promptly told us all he knew about the church.  Funny how a friendly face could nullify all the anger we on a cross race base feel these days.  :thumleft:

IMG_7310 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_7311 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_7294 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

Looks like Cinderella’s castle from outside.

IMG_7295 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_7296 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_7297 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_7299 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

After laying down a inspiring sermon with my old trusty pianist we walked around admiring the history in the building.

IMG_7301 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_7300 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_7302 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_7303 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_7304 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_7308 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

We headed for Richmond.

IMG_7313 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_7315 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_7317 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

I have often wondered about a huge dam that was built between Hanover and Richmond and when passing the farm noticed the farmer in the land. We stopped and enquired about it.  It was built somewhere in the 1960’s and was built by the government as a erosion buffer.  None the less he now had a proper wall to retain water and serve as a dam and feed his underground waters.  :thumleft:

After a nice chat we had a look at the dam and Chris tried his best to lift the level. :pot:

IMG_7322 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_7326 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_7327 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

Wildlife was plentiful all along the way with PLENTY of warthogs in the road.  Stopping at a nice spot waiting for Chris to take a photo he was photo bombed by ‘n “draadmaker” coming pas.  :laughing4: :laughing4:
Only in the Karoo.

IMG_7319 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_7321 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

The pies in Richmond were to say the least dodgy so much so we even thought about supporting one of the locals that started a small business selling food to the truckers at one of their pull off areas.
I have huge respect for someone who at least tries to uplift themselves through work  :thumleft:

IMG_7329 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

We had time so decided to take a ride through the town.  It amazed me these were not pried loose already for scrap metal.  :patch:

IMG_7330 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_7331 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_7332 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_7335 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_7336 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

All he Karoo towns were slowly but surely dying and in my opinion the root of the evil is a failing Education system and people relocating to cities for their children’s sake.  :bueller: :mad: :mad: :patch:

On the tar section before Tribe’s turnoff Chris pulled in next to me and gestured to his BMW badge, making me take notice of the ease at which he sat behind his windscreen and side pistons warming his feet.  :peepwall:
However after making sure he took the right gravel turnoff I in turn showed him why I personally thought KTM was built for gravel.  :pot: :ricky:

After waiting for him for hours and hourssss  :deal: at Tribes’s turnoff we rode in after a very casual first day in the seat.

IMG_7337 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

After unpacking we went to test his “wheelie machine” – man oh man – what a great idea.  :drif: :drif:
My personal experience is I could lift much higher that I was used to (always dreading tilting point).

Click to see video:

31929390-239c-4212-a214-780e566fefd0 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_7338 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

Chris gave it a go as well and we were both grinning like children on Xmas day on the drive home  :ricky: :ricky:

Thanks Tribes – No THANK YOU.

Jacobus first filled us up on snacks then on skaapstertjies (I have never tasted softer ones) and rounded the evening off with Springbok fillet steak and tjops.  As I said four days of meat, meat, meat.  We set off for bed and were thankfull for all the blankets – it was COLD.

Saturday the mist was thick and made the section to Vic West tough, but not as tough as the first 40km to Carnarvon.  It was COLD and wet.  Skipping Carnarvon we made for VanWyksvlei to fill up.

IMG_7341 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_7342 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

You could tell they had had some good rains there were puddles everywhere.

In Van Wyksvlei (Bachustown as dubbed by me many years ago :patch: ) we filled up, phoned home one last time and was just about ready to set off when a local farmer warned us about taking the Kenhardt – Swartkop road as it was as he said “properly in sy m@er en plek plek ‘n rivier”.  None the less we just reckoned it would make an interesting ride. :peepwall:

IMG_7343 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_7346 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_7347 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

Over years I have come to know the section from VanWyksvlei heading to Kenhardt as a HORRIBLE piece of road for the first 40km’s and again it did not disappoint.  Tuning off onto the Swartkop’s road the fun started.  More and more water crossings and the earth more and more potklei.

IMG_7348 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

After Tribes’s and I were bronchoed out of our seats in one particularly nasty section we made a fire and had lunch.  Life was good.

IMG_7351 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_7353 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

2f9ff10c-3479-4dbd-b90e-568d63883acd by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

After getting going again we ran into some PROPPPER mud and tough sections, no photos here as stopping was not an option.  When the mud subsided as we “climbed” to higher sections we put foot. At the last large water crossing I glanced over my shoulder and still saw Transporter behind me then pushed to get to Tribes.  At one point I stopped at Tribes and we waited for Chris, we waited some more and some more.  Tribes asked me how far back I last saw him and it felt like 5km, we turned around – 5km, 10km, then 15 – eish I was glad to see Transporter’s light appear – note light – the other was lost some way back at the last water crossing.

IMG_7355 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

Sorry old buddy old pal.

IMG_7356 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_7358 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

Note the mud  :biggrin:

IMG_7362 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_7363 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

We made Verneukpan and heard Staal was already there.  :lamer: :pot:

IMG_7361 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_7364 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

The road to the pan was MUDDY and tough at certain sections.

IMG_7359 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_7360 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

I approached the second last gate via the veldt  alongside the road and when I stopped saw everyone walk back in the direction we came.  The ADV was taking a nap.  :pot:

IMG_7366 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_7367 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_7368 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_7369 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

After everyone saying their hello’s we made for the Pan.  Jacobsbroodt organised himself a new screen in the exact spot I would Sunday take an impromptu 360 and man down slide.  :pot: :pot:

IMG_7371 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_7375 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_7373 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_7443 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

The ride to the pan left Mapsource trying to get as much mud on his bike as possible and some unplanned stops to help others up again. :deal:

Click for video:

IMG_7377 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_7376 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

PaulB and his wife were there and as already mentioned Hinks with his Toy and everything he brought with.  Thanks again Staal – we appreciate it. :thumleft: :thumleft:

IMG_7378 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_7381 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

The afternoon was spent telling stories of how we made it there and how the other guys had their fair share of falls etc along the way.  All was good – no broken bones, just some tender ego’s. :3some:

IMG_7382 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_7384 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

I remembered someone once revering to mud as “the great equaliser” – it was indeed that.
The weather was PERFECT

IMG_7385 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_7386 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_7392 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_7391 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

A lot of promises were made of the show that would follow, but in the end nothing came of it: :imaposer: :imaposer:

IMG_7398 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_7399 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_7414 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_7413 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

Sunset was amazing as per usual.  :biggrin: :biggrin:

IMG_7409 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_7416 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_7420 (Medium) by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_7405 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_7403 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

The KTM 990 outran everyone on the pan and was crowned the undisputed winner in the open class drag. Thanks for this guys.  :thumleft: :thumleft: :lamer: :peepwall: :pot:

IMG_7423 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_7428 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

The judges for the drag asked to have their photo taken with the winning bike – so I obliged :thumleft: :biggrin:

IMG_7432 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

Fires were lit, stories were told and the night just melted away – blessed.

IMG_7434 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

Thanks for the drinks PaulB and Hinks for your best sheep etc  :thumleft: :thumleft:

Whether due to too many owners changes and, and, and the facilities are however slipping a bit, but none the less we had a very nice evening.

IMG_7436 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_7437 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_7442 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

Sunday we were in no rush and still had a lekker kuier around the fire before packing up, filling up and setting off after the customary photo at the bell.

IMG_7440 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_7438 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_7439 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_7444 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_7445 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_7447 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_7448 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_7449 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_7450 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

The ride except for my elephant turn at Roodt’s gate was uneventfully.  We took the Carnarvon road running past SKA SA. In Carnarvon we filled up and said our goodbyes.  :thumleft:

IMG_7451 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

Transporter’s back was acting up and he swung away at Britstown for PTA.  I did not envy him that ride after two tough days. :-\

At De Aar I hit gravel and was home just as it started getting cold.

Thanks to my riding buddies for the outing, Tribes and family for your hospitality etc and to HD for the arrangements, PaulB for the generosity.  :thumleft:
Oh and THANK you to JC for the stickers despite not making it, we missed you  :deal:

Monday & Tuesday’s aftermath

IMG_3248 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

IMG_3244 by Jean van der Walt, on Flickr

Daai modder laat sommer my keel toetrek!! :eek7:

Dankie vir die deel Nimmo.  Soos gewoonlik weer ‘n lekker RR met puik fotos. Ek sien al myself horisontaal verkeer in daai modder plasse.

[flash=480,385]https://www.youtube.com/v/oClG9oIoUD0[/flash]

Hinks se skoonma is toughererererererer  :imaposer: :imaposer: :imaposer:

• IMG_7383 (Medium).JPG
    IMG_7383 (Medium).JPG
    106.3 KB
Tribes said:
[flash=480,385]https://www.youtube.com/v/oClG9oIoUD0[/flash]

Bwhahahahaha en grap is hy het  :pot: :pot: :pot: :imaposer:

Lekker lekker. Dankie vir die deel.  Blerrie bly ek was nie daar in die modder bad nie.  :laughing4:

Hey Nimmo! Dit lyk na n baie lekker trippie! Love dit! Dankie vir die deel!!!!

Sent from my SM-N950F using Tapatalk

Tussen  Victoria West en Carnarvon.

• IMG-20180603-WA0025.jpg
    IMG-20180603-WA0025.jpg
    173.6 KB
Nog n paar foto's

• IMG-20180603-WA0030.jpg
    IMG-20180603-WA0030.jpg
    117.4 KB
  • IMG-20180603-WA0029.jpg
    IMG-20180603-WA0029.jpg
    156.9 KB
  • IMG-20180603-WA0028.jpg
    IMG-20180603-WA0028.jpg
    162 KB
  • IMG-20180603-WA0027.jpg
    IMG-20180603-WA0027.jpg
    92 KB
  • IMG-20180603-WA0026.jpg
    IMG-20180603-WA0026.jpg
    96.6 KB
  • IMG-20180603-WA0014.jpg
    IMG-20180603-WA0014.jpg
    214.4 KB
  • IMG-20180603-WA0006.jpg
    IMG-20180603-WA0006.jpg
    164.3 KB
  • IMG-20180603-WA0004.jpg
    IMG-20180603-WA0004.jpg
    161.7 KB
  • IMG-20180603-WA0005.jpg
    IMG-20180603-WA0005.jpg
    134.9 KB
Great ride guys thanks for the share.  :biggrin: :biggrin: :ricky:

Just as an FYI:

I am a staunch TKC80 supporter (front wont ever change) but with the 990 I started out (rear tyre) on the Pirelli scorpion Rally's - good tyres, but a lot of road noise.

In the 18" I decided to give the EO7's a go - reasoning being after every trip I just don't have enough tread left for a following trip and from what I heard they gave good mileage despite wringing the throttle.
I have now done every type of road surface and can honestly say I would replace the current one (EO7) with another, maybe just the new bigger blocked one.

I heat cycled it properly and have had no issues whatsoever with them.  Yes sure they slide a bit further out in corners and you have to throttle them back in, and also in mud they filled up and became slick quicker but in no condition did I feel they were the "wrong" tyre for the job.  Despite high speeds none of the knobbies cracked or came loose.

As I say just a FYI regrading my experience with the EO7's  :lamer:

Lekker man.Al die ou WD-ysters bymekaar!!