Verneukpan 2018

Nimmo said:
I am a staunch TKC80 supporter (front wont ever change)

Ek stem 100% saam.  :thumleft:

Danke vir die nice RR.

Ek ken daai pan as hy nat is. Gelukkig was ek op die haapee. My pelle op hulle GS'e het hulself flenters geval. RR hierso: https://wilddog.net.za/forum/index.php?topic=69414.msg1419337#msg1419337

Transporter, het daai GSA nie sy verf afgeskrik toe hy die grondpad/modder sien nie  :imaposer: :imaposer:

lekker RR, pics en vids, dankie vir die deel, cool trip!  :thumleft:

Nimmo, ek haak sommer by jou aan...

Intially 5 bikes were to leave Cape Town/ Worcester. JC was as ill as can be and had to pull out at the last moment, but not without leaving us with Verneukpan 2018 Stickers. Pienkhemp had to pull out due to work, so it was Mapsource, Kelly07 and me meeting up in Prince Alfred Hamlet on Friday 25 May. Last time we had deliveries - Nimmo wanted a rear shock - and I thought we would be spared. Not to be. A screen had to be delivered in Ceres...

• Ceres.JPG
    Ceres.JPG
    106.6 KB
Rain had subsided, but the slippery roads just north of Prince Alfred Hamlet soon demanded its first victim.

• PrinceAlfredHamlet.JPG
    PrinceAlfredHamlet.JPG
    96.1 KB
The obligatory visit to Tankwa Padstal gave rise to a pleasant lunch. Since the fire a new bar was built to the right, and the barman constantly works to add interesting stuff.

• Tankwa Padstal.JPG
    Tankwa Padstal.JPG
    93.2 KB
Not so at the new Halfway House +-50km north where a family tries to run a similar concern. It lacks a bit of imagination. At least the dogs were friendly.

• HalfwayHouse.JPG
    HalfwayHouse.JPG
    92.5 KB
Two years ago JC and I rode the route from Calvinia to Lekkeroog farm in the dark. JC wanted to know what it was like in daytime.

• Lekkeroog.JPG
    Lekkeroog.JPG
    95.1 KB
Initially it was tame. After a while I thought that I could report that it should be ridden with attention, but never did I think that, between 3 riders we would have 9 incidents on this piece of road! Shortly after having an off through a dry river, I stopped to capture Kelly splashing through a cement water crossing. Keep on the bakkie spoor - "it is slippery in the middle" I warned earlier. Oh, is this what you mean he asked sheepishly afterwards☺

• Kelly1.JPG
    Kelly1.JPG
    75.1 KB
  • Kelly2.JPG
    Kelly2.JPG
    75.6 KB
  • Kelly3.JPG
    Kelly3.JPG
    69.2 KB
Shortly afterwards I decided that this water crossing was too muddy to pass. I saw tracks and decided to pass through the veld. Little did I know that it was a slow river running through there. Fortunately we were three to lift a F800GS, stuck to the axles, out of the mud. First the front and then the back. Some pushing and spinning the rear wheel got the bike into the puddle, and out.

• Puddle.JPG
    Puddle.JPG
    74.7 KB
  • Mud.JPG
    Mud.JPG
    90.6 KB
Lekkeroog's baas, Jaco is a lover of V8s. We had a good time there. The softies slept in the house but I kept the tradition going and slept in the wool sheed. Two lammertjies slept just on the other side of the door.

• LekkeroogSkuur.JPG
    LekkeroogSkuur.JPG
    62 KB
  • Lammers.JPG
    Lammers.JPG
    62.1 KB
The next morning saw us off to Verneukpan via Brandvlei. Verneukpan is known for its infamous crop circles.

• Crop Circles Verneukpan.JPG
    Crop Circles Verneukpan.JPG
    93.4 KB
Stoffel's dream came true. He turned to the dark side for an hour, on Kelly's 990. It disappoints a bit after 140 was all that he had to say :pot: But then, Hingsding is a rider of note!

• Stoffel.JPG
    Stoffel.JPG
    74.8 KB
The last 2km to Verneukpan lived up to its name. Even the vehicles got stuck and we had to take the side of the road. Mapsource were on the shortest end of the draw.

• Verneukpad.JPG
    Verneukpad.JPG
    89.8 KB
The gated entrance to Verneukpan was an easy one I thought. Not so. I tried to enter diagonally and the front wheel got stuck in a puddle. Fortunately duct tape saved me from riding home in a full frontal wind.

• IsottaScreen.JPG
    IsottaScreen.JPG
    81.9 KB
Riding on the pan proved treacherous. The pan reflects, and the only way to know if it is still dry is to look in your rear view mirror. If its dust its fine...

• Blink.JPG
    Blink.JPG
    101.8 KB