Vinnige 4000 vir Paasnaweek

tyrebraaier

AJS (all models)
Wife: OK, vlugte is gebook vir ons 3. (her and the kids). Hoekom moet jy werk oor die tyd? Almal gaan weg.
Me: It's what I do - I have to keep the gears turning when everyone else is on the beach.
Wife: Ek weet vlugte gaan baie duur wees ma kyk of jy net vir 'n week kan kom. (insert Employer name) se gat, jy werk hard genoeg.
Me: Yes dear, I'm sorry dear, I love you dear...
Wife: Kan jy nie sommer met die bike ry soos daai een keer nie
Me: Whaaaat - fokja, SOLD... ek sal Sondag wegtrek.

And that was it - bike trip approved.

Packed some stuff, put the bike on a trailer and dropped them off at the airport on the Saturday morning. Left the car and trailer with family in Pta and i was on my way to Hermanus on the Sunday morning.

• Kit.jpg
    Kit.jpg
    653.8 KB
So Sunday morning I left Pta in the dark. Due South. Next stop Parys. I was kind of heading to Richmond / Beaufort West but destination would be determined by the amount of N1 detours I wanted to make. Just before Klerksdorp there was a bit of rain on the horizon but I reckoned I could pass it on the west if I hurried up. Toe nou nie. Note to self – when you pack a different rain jacket from (Insert Employer name) which is not the one I have used for 6 years make sure it fits over your jacket. I was under a bloekomboom in the middle of nowhere trying to get this thing over my XXL fully padded riding jacket. It must have been a sight but I eventually got it on. All I could think was the hulk when his shirt explodes. Matching blue pants did not fit over the boots so by the time I was dressed for the rain I was sweating. It did however rain until Kroonstad and my “help my sterklyk” rain suit worked. Must admit I was happy when I could take it off.

Then Bloemfontein for a rehydrate and braaivleis leftovers and onwards. Could not be bothered to put the suit on again. Rode in some rain on the way to Colesberg and just stopped under a bridge to make some adjustments and onward again. The skies cleared and after tank number two the bike trip was really a reality… I was loving it. Cruising at 110-120, pens vol braaivleis and the rest of the afternoon I could just ride.

Stopped in Richmond where I saw some fancy cars under covers... Must be those test cars zee Germans come destroy on our open roads. R&D all in the interest of science. The wheel on one of those Bently's is 305mm wide. 

• Bently-Richmond.jpg
    Bently-Richmond.jpg
    629.8 KB
  • Bently- tyre.jpg
    Bently- tyre.jpg
    637.6 KB
I decided that I would press on. Probably less chance of “moeilikheid” in Beaufort West than Richmond. Reached Beaufort West and rode straight through to have a look around and find a place to sleep.  Accommodation at this stage was a secondary priority – beer and food, in that order. I had 8 litres of rehydrate as I have learned that it’s the dehydration that makes you feel so stuffed after a long day. I really made sure that I take in enough fluids. Stopped at the 4 sheep place at the roundabout and had a 4 sheep burger. Hint of mint in the patty, crispy chips and onion rings and two cold beers. It was a good day. Did over 1000km. 

Ended up in a place called [member=35]mango[/member] - would recommend to anyone. Near the school. Moerse hond to guard the bike so I was sold immediately. I fed him and his jack russel comrade all the rusks the next morning for a job well done.

• odo day 1.jpg
    odo day 1.jpg
    412.2 KB
supskraaip!

tyrebraaier said:
Wife:..... (insert Employer name) se gat, jy werk hard genoeg.....

ek ken daai een    :laughing4:    :imaposer:

My bum would never last that kind of distance in one day. Waiting for the rest, thanks for sharing.

So by Monday morning my trip was well on its way. Was planning to go Rietbron but the man with the mangoes told me to avoid that road. Bit of a kaapse draai but headed directly east to Aberdeen. 150km of complete nothingness. Solitude at its best. Counted 7 trucks on the way, that’s it. Saw two koedoe koeie cross as well, bit scary as I was going directly into the sun.

I was also geared with enough stuff to keep warm but it was still a bit cold. Just cold enough to want to moan about it but not cold enough to stop and get dressed all over with my sweetpakbroek “thermal” and goose jacket so… onwards. Impressive landscape with a unique charm. From Aberdeen I went to Willowmore. Stopped in Willowmore for a look around and onwards to Uniondale.Tank number two for the day. It was going to be a good day. The bends increased and the mountains became more. Still dry but beautiful.  Had a laugh when I saw the dopshop with its catchy slogan in Uniondale. Check the dog on the fence to the left.

• dopshop - uniondale.jpg
    dopshop - uniondale.jpg
    507.5 KB
I had no specific plan of where I wanted to sleep. It was Monday before Easter weekend so there would probably not be a problem anywhere. Next stop Knysna, George and N2 to Swellendam. Heard about big development there around Mosselbaai and as I am looking for a new job from July I wanted to do a bit of window shopping.

My plan was to go from Uniondale to Knysna. I spent about 60 km looking for Knysna signs when I realized I was on my way to George – going almost west. I stopped and took out the map and saw that I have strayed from my planned route. I updated my voicenote to my wife of my plans and estimated duration and turned around back to Uniondale and then to Knysna. After a few minutes of contemplating my choice I realized that my end destination of about Swellendam was going to be ambitious and I specifically did not want to have to jaag to my next sleepover so I turned around again. Updated the voicenote again with my plan back to George. Wife called. Wat gaan aan skapie? Is jy verdwaal? To which I replied: Nee, net deur die k@k.

I generally like my bike trips simple. My trusty steed has only ABS. Literally nothing else. I have my phone with google but it is purely a backup. On a previous trip I was vloeking the phone because the GPS wasn’t working and I learnt about location services… That’s why I love it. Niks ander goed met knoppies nie. Klim op die bike en ry… The bike is just the tool I use. I tool that I take very good care of and love like a brother but I digress… Leaving on a trip like this, completely without expectation, with a backup for a backup ICE and a rough plan is what I love. After the wife understood my situation I was off to George again. I was a bit disappointed about the twisty bits between Uniondale and Knysna but each road has its own adventure. 

By about 13:00 I stopped at the lookout at the Outeniqua pass to take out the gopro and make a video. I saw on our extended family whatsapp group my cousin (studying in Potch) was also in Hartenbos. I wanted to meet him for a beer. Turns out the whole family from Upington was there as well.  My uncle bought a property there and they went down to do some odds and sods and my other cousin was playing rugby against Oakdale where their tour would finish the next week. They insisted I sleep over and it was a convenient solution to my sleeping arrangements for that night and it meant I had 50km to go. It was a very nice 500km day, the best part was that the following day I would get to do the same thing all over again. Life’s pretty good sometimes.

We wandered around for a bit and then lit a fire and cracked a cold one. Skaaprib, roosterkoek and aartappelslaai – the three food groups I am most fond of. We also had some of those harteenheid rashers in the neon orange sauce so a good outing all together. I went to bed early as I was planning a big one for the next day.

• George.jpg
    George.jpg
    223.4 KB
  • Hartenbos.jpg
    Hartenbos.jpg
    370.6 KB
Check the dog on the fence to the left.

Hang hy aan die hek?!!! :eek:

Probably wanted to come kill me or some unsuspecting passer by. Maybe it's the other pooch, dunno. I just caught it at the right moment. 

Had some roosterkoek with real butter and real honey  and proper filter coffee – bitter. Lovely. Packed my stuff and I was off. Plan was to gooi the grondpaaie as rescue ICE was never far away.

I went through Mosselbaai and took the turnoff to Herbertsdale. From there I took the gravel road to Langberg and then on to the Tolhuis. Magic. Crossed both the Du Pleassis Pass and Cloetes Pass.  When I switched off the Gopro ot the Tolhuis t-Junction I was recording for 1:14. But a single hilux I saw on the entire stretch and three guys fixing a fence. It almost never stops twisting and turning. Great scenery, 7/10 road so definitely the most enjoyable part of my trip so far. Fire has destroyed a lot of the vegetation on the latter part between Langberg and the Tolhuis though. The devestation is extensive.

After consulting my map at the Tolhuis I saw that Wapadskloof pass was just up the street. Wrong direction for where I was headed but I shot up and did it up & down again back to Riversdale going over the Garcia Pass as well. Through Heidelberg and hooked a left off the N2 to Witsand. Saw some mooi blue cranes (less than on previous trips) but still majestic birds. All the way down to Witsand. Standing on the jetty speaking to my wife she told me that our daughter Lily (the one I almost missed Quest for) was starting to crawl as we spoke. It was a special moment. I was truly grateful for the ride I was having and that I was going to see my family later that afternoon. Onwards…

Next stop Malgas Pont. I thought I would need to ride all the way back to the N2 and take the first Malgas sign I saw on the way. The road going east just outside Witsand  was looking very likely to end up somewhere near Malgas as well. Mistake I made was that I looked at the map quickly – ja looks right lets go. What I looked at was the road from Infanta to Malgas so the mental map I had in my mind and what was physically in front of me was not the same. When I saw a Swellendam sign and the road kept going almost North I knew I was not going to end up where I wanted to be. I just kept going, I had enough fuel and I was having fun. After a few minutes of going to Swellendam there was a left turn with a Malgas sign. SCORE. I was on my way to Malgas again.

Stopped at the ferry and went over with some tourists. Did some manual labour with the tourists and one asked If they can take a picture for me. Dankie oom. Ferry done and dusted. Grondpad to Bredasdorp. Bredasdorp, Napier, Akkedisberg Pass, Stanford, Hermanus. I didt the Elim, die dam on a previous occasion. I have to admit – ek het hom gesteek deur die Akkedisberg Pass as I was proverbially “going home” – the final stretch… of freedom. What a day. Met my family on the beach at Voelklip. Kit off and into that icy water with my son. Special times – I will admit I had a weep there in the shallow water when I held him but luckily the icy water brings you back to reality quickly. I was greatful that I was safe, I was greatful that all went well and for what I have experienced.

• Malgas.jpg
    Malgas.jpg
    533.9 KB
  • Reunion Hermanus.jpg
    Reunion Hermanus.jpg
    50.7 KB
  • sunset.jpg
    sunset.jpg
    85.2 KB
So I had a week in Hermanus of going to the beach with the family and the odd bicycle trip in the trails behind suburbia while the family took their afternoon nap, braai vanaand. My idea of holiday.

After a few days of this I decided to test the water for a free pass to do a quick coastal road recce to Gordon’s baai. Sir Lowry’s after 07:00 is no good anyway so I would come back the same way. I have done this 3 hour outride many times and it’s still one of the best in SA. The earlier the better. Over December it’s no good and quite dangerous. So with the board’s approval I set off early on Easter Sunday, filled the tank just before 06:30 and into Kleinmond a few minutes later. Past Kogelberg, Betty’s baai, Pringle baai, Rooiels and the twists to “Gordon’s waai”. Ten cyclists and a hilux with a boat, that was about it. It was beautiful.

On the way back I explored some of the little roads in Rooiels and took a gravel road to the launch site behind hangklip in Pringle baai, I was surprized by the size of Pringle baai as we always just zip past to Hermanus or the airport. Onwards to Hermanus again to meet the family at the beach. In the afternoon everyone was hungry and talking about what/where to eat. I suggested I jump on the bike and go get calamari and chips for all so we can stay on the beach. On the bike with my kortbroek, plakkies and a helmet and cruised to town to go buy calamari & chips - minutes later I’m back on the beach and we enjoyed our Easter Sunday lunch on the beach as a family. Good times.

Next morning I walk past the bike that is now standing under a cover next to the front door I noticed something was leaking. Wat nou. I am mechanically handicapped. Fhaaaaaaaak. Smell it – not fuel. Oil, no. that leaves coolant. Yup. After a brief investigation I saw it was the flexible hose connecting to a steel elbow that goes into the engine above the bashplate. Cleaned all surrounding areas and confirmed where the leak came from. Tools uit. Tightened the one little nut and waited a bit. Start, idle, nope – still leakes, only a little bit but not an issue I want to nurse for 2000km back north. Fhaaaaaaaaaak. Google, take pictures and whatsapp to experts, make plans to rent trailer and go to cape town Tuesday (when I’m supposed to leave for Upington), phone neighbour that has a bike… not the way I foresaw my morning to go.

Ride it to the Hermanus bike shop behind Volkswagen. By some miracle they are open on the Monday after Easter. Turns out the Mechanic AJ was with Harley in the Middle East and one of his colleagues dated my sister in law who also lived there some 10 years ago. Small world. He was keen to help me and see me go. His google machine had specific part specs and about 30 minutes later he said it was just a rubber seal of 21.5 X 3mm. Million dollar question was whether he had the same one in the shop. Yes. SCORE. Bike fixed, around the block twice, no leak and good to go. Huge relief. I was very impressed with the service and hope I only have stop for a coffee next time. Thanx guys. 

Tomorrow 1000km to Upington…

• GB view.jpg
    GB view.jpg
    528 KB
  • Mechanical - hermanus.jpg
    Mechanical - hermanus.jpg
    512.9 KB
I have never done the Houw Hoek pass going towards Grabouw. Twice going towards Caledon so this was going to be the first leg of my journey going back. That was the extent of my route planning and I a rough idea about the rest and onwards…

Going into Grabouw I missed the sign for Franschoek  as it was just before 08:00 I was focused on the truck in front of me. When I reached the N2 again I knew have gone wrong as the mental map wanted me to go to the dam / Villiersdorp and left on the bridge to Franschoek. Turned around and on my way up I realised I missed the sign and turned off to Villiersdorp. Great road from Grabou to Villiersdorp and then on to Franschoek after the bridge. I was wondering if the veld / mountain burnt at one stage but then I realized I was looking at an empty dam. The vast stretches of yellowish grey sand with some treetrunks was the Theewaterskloof dam. Wow, coming from up north this was quite a shock. The road is beautiful – from N2/grabouw to Franschoek was a treat.

Over the Franschoek pass, 12km, with very little traffic (definitely my favourite of all) and onwards to Paarl, Malmesbury, Piketberg, Piekenierskloof pass, Citrusdal and Clanwilliam. From Clanwilliam they are building a bigger bridge over the Olifants river. I struck the stop & go just as the concrete truck arrived for a pour of sorts. I sat there for 50 minutes. Started chatting with the lady manning the booth and operating the stop/go.

“Meneer die mense vloek jou oner jou klere in”. Poor lady, I thought my job was k@k sometimes. There were even some “business men” selling cooldrinks so I bought us some cokes and chatted with her some more. From there the road was open again. Freedom. Between there and Vanrhyns Pass it was a dream. The pass was good, went up, down and up again. Next stop Calvinia.

Coming into Calvinia it was raining, I was more than happy to get rained on if the farms could get some much needed relief. Some of the ooms even got their round of golf disrupted by the rain. Probably not a common site in Calvinia. From Calvinia I downed another pint or so of my rehydrate concoction and onwards… Brandvlei, Verneukpan Kenhardt. Stopped at the Kenhardt hotel and had a beer, rehydrate se gat. I could feel that it has been a long day. I see a few of our comrades have also been to the Kenhardt hotel  looking at the floor. Onwards past the kokerboom woud and last fuel in Keimoes. 40km to go. 945 km so far.

It also rained an hour or two before on the stretch between Keimoes and Upington so the road was a little wet, you could smell it rained. The clouds were beautiful colours as the sun was setting over my left shoulder. Got to my parents’ house where I spent 18 years of my life just as the sun was setting. My mom was waiting in the road for me. The fire was already burning and my dad had already chilled a good red wine for us to enjoy with some dik steaks. I was missing my wife & kids but this was certainly not a bad gig either. Rest day tomorrow. 

• kenhardt hotel.jpg
    kenhardt hotel.jpg
    530.5 KB
  • calvinia 1.jpg
    calvinia 1.jpg
    123.4 KB
  • calvinia 2.jpg
    calvinia 2.jpg
    186.2 KB
  • Vanrhyns pass.jpg
    Vanrhyns pass.jpg
    168.6 KB
Just n vragie, daai foto van waar die seel gegroet het, stuur hom sodat ek sommer kan stock.  :thumleft: not mechanical inclined  :imaposer: :peepwall:

Lekker trip met n Lekker bike!! Daai 3 silinder hardloop darem mooi op langpad[emoji41]