What do a HP2, a DR 650, 2 XRs and a Husky have in common?

Flippit guys ! This is a real ****** ! Every RR I read these days goes into my to do folder ! I wonder if I'll ever get around to doing all the rides I want to do !!!
With so much to explore on our doorstep , makes you wonder how long it would take to explore the whole of SA ??
Makes me wonder why we do so many cross border trips when we can have it all in our back jaards ??

Great RR , that kind of seclusion must be wonderfull , now I know I will be daydreaming all day and not do any work again !  >:D

doing a night ride in the mountains  ;D

RESPECT  :thumleft:

fixing punctures in the dark must be one of the k@rkest things ever  :-\

the_BOBNOB said:
fixing punctures in the dark must be one of the k@rkest things ever  :-\

Yip...and I was still glowing after a 40 + day, sweating like a pig, I thought I'm losing it ... 4th time that day, I have become quite an expert  :thumleft:

Awesome ride okes! Why so many punctures??

Hey Chaps. 

This was a fantastic trip.  Haven’t had that much fun for a looong time.  A quick riding time update – left home at 5:45 Saturday morning, stopped at camp site around 18:15, left camp at 8:00 and stopped at home 22:30 – these were two looong days.

It was HOT, on Sunday i consumed around 9L of water.  That brown stuff in the bottles weren’t tea – that’s fresh muddy earth dam water (great mineral value).

In many cases the tracks were not visible and we had to follow the GPS’s blindly in and out of riverbeds, across flat pains of empty spaces ... and connect up to a track again further on.  Great stuff!!

The fact that there aren’t a lot of photos means that there was a LOT of HARD riding.

Thanks for a fantastic ride and great company.

Ps.
There is no cell reception on this route, any fuel, very little water and no farmers!!!!  Approach with caution.

Wow that looks epic.
I sommer feel like getting a XR650R now ::)

Not a lot of photos...

the nothing 270degrees

270deg%20view%20of%20nothing.jpg

the Doring

river.jpg

You okes must have suffered from monkey bum!
Or maybe the next level ; monkey rectum  :ricky:

I can only imagine how long the Saturday was for you guys..........

I know for a fact the heat was no joke. :dousing:

RESPECT !!!  :deal:  

Operator said:
I can only imagine how long the Saturday was for you guys..........

I know for a fact the heat was no joke. :dousing:

RESPECT !!!  :deal:  

Saturday was nothing compared to Sunday.

I love that place... Was there with Andy, Camelman, Bradleys, Paramed, and H - December 2008. The Doring river was in flood then, and made for a lakker interesting crossing.

Thanks for sharing guys. Very inspiring pictures.  :drif:

P.S. Wes, ya Husky is starting to look the business.

@berm - 2 days
@operator - like leftless said, saturday was a breeze
@wayneh - shot bru  :thumleft:

heti said:
the_wes said:
2. They all crossed the Tankwa-Karoo national park via a disused eco trail

Do parksboard allow bikes on their eco trails?  ???

Went via an eco trail, then got to the park...don't know of eco trails in national parks.

blazes said:
Hey something about punctures--when its your day--no matter what you do--they will come looking for you  ::)

First time in about 15 years

jenks said:
Awesome ride okes! Why so many punctures??

Operator error most likely...remember it was me fixing them. Haven't had much practise for a long time.  :p

With hindsight, I can't remember whether I pumped up the tyre before tighting the rimlock, thus pinching the tube between the rimlock and bead.

One thing I can comment on, the value of a centre stand .. My bike does not have one, and getting that f...ing wheel of the ground!
The rocks were so hot I could hardly pick them up. I wetted my t-shirt in the Doring, and wrapping it around the rock tried to carry it to my bike. Dumpimg them on the ground, they just split in half.

the_wes said:
@operator - like leftless said, saturday was a breeze

On Sunday there was no breeze ...  :ricky:

sheez looks like u guys had a really tough ride and having 2 contend with the heat >:D

nice pics also..

4 punctures Beserker :eek7: - thats not lekka but im sure u got lotsa practise for future..