Eastern Free State down memory lane ramble . . . ings . . .

JK

KTM 890 Adventure R
I am very sure that there is a lot of other riders/groups that are in the same situation, but i could see that we (Our little adventure riding group) are really struggling to get back to our pre-Covid riding levels. Life after Covid has thrown different challenges to each one of our members and we have not seen a lot of riding activity within the group or individuals as such.. I sure am hoping that these challenges for us and all the other groups/riders out there will turn for the better and that all will be able to get back to do what we love so much. . . . And that is riding the dirt roads of this beautiful country.:cool:

I had some time available and managed to get away on the bike from around the 28th of March and decided to go and visit the Eastern Free State tracing my steps from where i was born, to spending some time in high school, but basically just trying to spend as most time as possible where there will be big skies and beautiful sandstone rock formations. Dont know why but these sandstone rocks does wonders for the soul :cool:

So it was:
* 28 March 2023 - Leave LA (Lower Alberton) at around 13h00 heading for Senekal on dirt roads that i picked up just outside of Sasolburg.
* 29 March - Senekal to Marquard where i was born 55 years ago and then on to Ficksburg, where i lost my virginity o_O but that is a story for R&P for later ;)
* 30 March - Spend the day in Ficksburg and surrounds
* 31 March - Ficksburg to Clarens
* 1 April - Clarens and surrounds
* 2 April - Head back to Gauteng

Some peechers on the 1st leg from LA to Senekal

• 20230328_150523.jpg
    20230328_150523.jpg
    420.5 KB
  • 20230328_150901.jpg
    20230328_150901.jpg
    435.5 KB
The 2nd peecher is for the oks that slipped to see the Johnny Walker on the back there. This is the LA version of Cone Valve suspension, but just waaaay cheaper. A couple of sips on old JW and the bike's suspension becomes verryy smoothhh :cool:

Last edited:
Some more LA to Senekal pics

• 20230328_151834.jpg
    20230328_151834.jpg
    293.9 KB
  • 20230328_151910.jpg
    20230328_151910.jpg
    441.9 KB
And more

• 20230328_154147.jpg
    20230328_154147.jpg
    503.9 KB
  • 20230328_154203.jpg
    20230328_154203.jpg
    294.4 KB
The cosmos is just awesome this time of the year

• 20230328_161131.jpg
    20230328_161131.jpg
    488.1 KB
  • 20230328_161203.jpg
    20230328_161203.jpg
    411.7 KB
  • 20230328_161244.jpg
    20230328_161244.jpg
    333.5 KB
  • 20230328_161338.jpg
    20230328_161338.jpg
    286.3 KB
We had cousins that stayed in Senekal for a good few years and visits here always included climbing this koppie and getting up to all kinds of stuff . . .

• 20230329_093446.jpg
    20230329_093446.jpg
    399.1 KB
How is that for good timing ending up at the Cheetah Bar and Restaurant in Senekal in time to watch some Abu Dabi Rally action and finding some cold Windhoek's

• 20230328_170606.jpg
    20230328_170606.jpg
    243.2 KB
Last edited:
Must say i was very tempted to stay for the "Show". Born and growing up in small towns i REALLY do miss a proper small town "Skou". :)

• 20230328_181047.jpg
    20230328_181047.jpg
    249 KB
Last edited:
Stayed at "Senekal Self Catering Accommodation" for the evening and they are sure to be recommended..
Rained heavily that evening and knew as i am alone i would most likely have to stay away from the dirt roads the next day but that was tomorrows problem to worry about

Senekal to Marquard decided to stick to tar as i did not want to have to phone the ruling party to come to fetch me with the trailer after succumbing to the 24-42 syndrome . . . That will be where you hit he mud like a 24 year old and then moer down in the middle like a 42 year old :ROFLMAO:

Last edited:
Getting to Marquard where as noted i was born in 1968 and have had many excellent years of visit to the grandparents later with my cousins. Appologies for some of the heading down memory lane peechers here but there is enough dirt riding peechers to make up again :cool:.

One thing we adventure baaikers do see is all the small towns and how badly they are deteriorating:(

• 20230329_100452.jpg
    20230329_100452.jpg
    395.5 KB
  • 20230329_100701.jpg
    20230329_100701.jpg
    433.2 KB
Last edited:
The house i was born in. . . Well was born in Marquard Hospital but spend most of my early few months here. My grandmother on my mother's side lived here most her life and is where my mother grew up.

• 20230329_101252.jpg
    20230329_101252.jpg
    491.6 KB
Where my Great Grandmother lived just up the road from where my grandmother lived

• 20230329_101440.jpg
    20230329_101440.jpg
    315.8 KB
  • 20230329_104319.jpg
    20230329_104319.jpg
    356.2 KB
Marquard graveyard . . . Eish like most graveyard's nowadays :cry:

• 20230329_103623.jpg
    20230329_103623.jpg
    446.1 KB
What is left of the Marquard public pool. . . We have had many a school holiday spend here while visiting Ouma and Oupa. Grandpa was the pool supervisor so we ended up as Marquard "Pool royalty" ;)

• 20230329_105045.jpg
    20230329_105045.jpg
    508.2 KB
Last edited:
The general dealer where we always stopped off to buy the original black nickerballs on the way to the pool . . . The ones that turns your whole mouth black :cool: and only cost like 2c

• 20230329_110109.jpg
    20230329_110109.jpg
    435.7 KB
Last edited:
The beautiful NG Kerk

• 20230329_110330.jpg
    20230329_110330.jpg
    385 KB
  • 20230329_110449.jpg
    20230329_110449.jpg
    250 KB
Marquard had like most small towns in those day the local Portuguese kafee and this is where it was for Marquard. So seems progress have also swomped them up as welI ?? :cry: I remember that these Portuguese adults and their kids eventually spoke such fluent afrikaans you would never have guessed them to be Portuguese.

• 20230329_110909.jpg
    20230329_110909.jpg
    407.2 KB
The Mill in Marquard that seems to be very much still working today. Then a lekker cold one from the Restaurant(y)/Accommodation across from the Mill called "Oppiestoep" well worth a visit if you are in this part of the world

• 20230329_112031.jpg
    20230329_112031.jpg
    371.7 KB
  • 20230329_114112.jpg
    20230329_114112.jpg
    296.6 KB
Last edited: