13 to 5 REBELRUN - Zinyala 2013

Raaaaaait - Day 2 started with a couple of okes with dik babelasse while some were still gooing from the noight before (Kerritz).
All of the okes woke up around 6:30 ish - some because they were tenting and some because there were (apparently) wild animals in their accomodation! I must say i have never heard myself snore and it still has to be proven to me that i do......so Minzi - jammer om van jou kak te hoor!.....................ek het baie lekke gelalas!

We were going to meet up with Oros at the gate at 8 (unbeknownd to us that he has shaken off the trip to Zinyala as a bad hairjob)!
Minzi had bad news that he had to be back at work urgently for some tenderbusiness and he greeted and left. The rest of the crowd started off and Mike, Ploegie and myself stayed untill last to help some okes over the hill.
I must say that pulling a bike up by hand with a tow rope against a 40 degree hill for 15 meters or so at 8am is a taxing business.
We took turns and while one oke stayed at the top regaining his breath two dragged bikes up the hill
Suffice to say when everyone was over the hill and at the gate, ready to rock and roll it was around 9:30, hot as hell and some okes were fooked.

We left for Alma only to find that the kooperasie is closed and fueling up was a non event.
All left for Thabazimbi via Rankins. Now the road passes between huge game farms and is a fairly open sandy road with sharp curves here and there. The SAPolice also has there TIN Training and demolisions farm on this road. It is one of the more scenic roads to do with the kransberge on your righthand side going towards Thaba. Once in Thaba everyone fueled up and BornB realised his 950 KTm's steering was loose. He and Beyonce' decided to go-slow back to Zinyala to try and fix the business and the rest of us departed on the road past the Marekele Reserve and up The Kransberge via Bakkerspass. This road is awesome and you can see for miles in every direction. The mountains tower away to your left and the road follows the base of it for around 40 k's untill you get to an intersection to the left just before Rankins pass. The frontrunners waited here and prevented the okes from running past on the deep rutted sand stretches.

The next piece of road to Vaalwater saw Mike gunning out in front to get good vantage points from where to shoot some of his renowned excellent pics. :thumleft:
By now Kierie and myself are so used to riding adjacent each other it becomes almost mechanical. we thundered down the valleys in unison, the awesome droning sound of the 950 twin motors in our ears. This road lends itself to a coupla ' oh my Faaaaaak' moments as it winds down the valley with long stretches of fast gunning followed by several 90 degree turns in meter thick sand. I must say if you have the right tools for the job it becomes an exersize of will and not so much skill. Kierie and i both had Mitas C23's front and Mitas E09's on the back and these babies grab the dirt like a muthafucca............especially in tight turns! Not so good on tar -  but who cares....right? :imaposer:

Lunch in Vaalwater saw us grabbing the usual big chees burger and half meter pizza's at the big 5.
After lunch the intention was to leave via Melkrivier and back towards Naboom and on to Zinyala effectively adding another 100k's to the ride.
Some of the okes were pretty bashed from the night before so we decided to do the short run from Vaalwater via the Tarentaal road and past the notorious 'Panne - Turn' where he ended his aspirations last year November for competing in this year's Dos Soertos by breaking his wrist.
The 90 Degree turn follows on a pretty fast paced stretch of 2 spoor road where you have to dodge the odd lurker, effectively taking your concentration away from your speed entering the turn in deeply rutted sand. Needless to say most guys overcook the turn and end up eating handfulls of Tarentaal road dirt, accompanied by a body slam and a break of some sort. Luckilly no one ended up in the dirt and we all ended up passing the back up crew taking pics of the passing bikes at the Alma turnoff off the R33 back to Zinyala.

Louwbadjies is a must of every Zinyala trip and the guys ended up having copious amounts of beers in the hot spring bubbling up from the ground at almost 30 odd degrees centigrade. Leaving the water at 7pm is certainly not fun and we froze our ***** off on the way back to the bushcamp on the back of Petrus, the Farm manager's 1962 Landcruiser pick up. That thing takes the hill up and down in its stride as if it is a stretch of Sandton black top. The evening produced a Pot of Beef shank and Jan Pap braaipap. I think most guys crashed around 10.

The next morning saw only 5 of the original 13 bikes leave the bushcamp.
Adios but not goodbye
We will see you on the next run! :thumleft:

• 13.8.13 197.jpg
    13.8.13 197.jpg
    93 KB
  • 13.8.13 195.jpg
    13.8.13 195.jpg
    126 KB
  • 13.8.13 194.jpg
    13.8.13 194.jpg
    114.4 KB
  • 13.8.13 196.jpg
    13.8.13 196.jpg
    95.1 KB
  • 13.8.13 191.jpg
    13.8.13 191.jpg
    112.3 KB
looks like a good weekend was had, recognising some of the faces I can only imagine the kakpraat around the campfire! I was also in that area over the weekend, did the lunch at Vaalwater thing after Rankins etc. now the metre thick sand thing........we had a very funny incident at one of these sandy stetches, a vervet monkey ran across the road into the front wheel of the lead rider, sand explosion!! body slam of note and a pretty buggered bike, also a very buggered camera so no pics. Anyway went on to find the wilddog Nkandla with Kilroy and Zonkelnut very busy with the final touches. The Waterberg area is absolutley stunning

hey swifty, did you manage up the hill?

do you need some more tips from me for next year?

more importantly, did you guys get some good weed for the evening?

GRUNT said:
looks like a good weekend was had, recognising some of the faces I can only imagine the kakpraat around the campfire! I was also in that area over the weekend, did the lunch at Vaalwater thing after Rankins etc. now the metre thick sand thing........we had a very funny incident at one of these sandy stetches, a vervet monkey ran across the road into the front wheel of the lead rider, sand explosion!! body slam of note and a pretty buggered bike, also a very buggered camera so no pics. Anyway went on to find the wilddog Nkandla with Kilroy and Zonkelnut very busy with the final touches. The Waterberg area is absolutley stunning
Was that you 2 okes on the KLR's who joined the other table Grunt?
I'm sure you saw the big table of bikers on the stoep at the big 5
shouldv'e just said hi man! :eek7:

J-dog said:
hey swifty, did you manage up the hill?

do you need some more tips from me for next year?

more importantly, did you guys get some good weed for the evening?
yup, nope and nope
::)
Dwerg dirrent go wiff! :mad:

Check the ding in my front rim :eek:
Smiley of note! :eek7:

• Pretoria-20130813-00385.jpg
    Pretoria-20130813-00385.jpg
    240.2 KB
J-dog said:
must be a very very soft rim, considering your riding ability and speeds?

Or a very big rock.

Some okes were so desperate for good weed late saturday night, they almost smoked camelhorse kak.  :lol8:

Orangeswifty said:
GRUNT said:
 Not us, we were 4 riders, although I did see 2 guys on red Fuglys in Vaalwater....would have greeted!

J-dog said:
Must be! - i ride my wheelchair faster than my bike :thumleft:

GRUNT said:
Orangeswifty said:
GRUNT said:
 Not us, we were 4 riders, although I did see 2 guys on red Fuglys in Vaalwater....would have greeted!

Twas ALLEN and STEVE!

Orangeswifty said:
J-dog said:
Must be! - i ride my wheelchair faster than my bike :thumleft:

:laughing4: :laughing4:

you such a poes swifty. still to meet you, but it will be good fun i'm sure  :thumleft:

Ek het duidelik alweer op 'n great party uitgemiss !!!  Ag fok tog......  wens ek het baie geld gehad om net te kan jol !!!!