2012 Rebel Dog year end run to Zinyala (2013 planned!)

Orangeswifty

KTM 950 SE
Zinyala is one of those places with a 'magical' feeling
The Game Reserve is not big - some 550Ha and has recently had a serious fire depleting most of the winter grass left after the cold season.
The Bush Camp is home to a couple of very tame Nyala's who visits quite often and are not afraid of humans
Other than that there is also a resident herd of wildebeest and blesbok which you can sometimes see thundering past an open style crapper while doing your morning 'thing'!
Every now and again the giraffes also come and rub up against the small 3 x 3m chalets which have ample space for 2 generous single beds and awnings one can open to let the wind through in the heat.

We are normally not there during the daytime as we are out on the sandy stretches of waterberg roads. Zinyala is situated 40 clicks from Warmbaths or Bela Bela and 30 odd from Nylstroom or Modimolle.
I met up with Smokes in Cullinan to complete our first leg of the route to Naboom (Mookgopong) where we were going to meet up with Panne.
The Route is 293 km long of which around 70 is from naboom to Zinyala through the Waterberg mountain range for which this area is so famous.
The road surfaces are excellent and well looked after. Just here and there you will find washed out sections or rocky stretches because of recent heavy rainfall. The mountains are green indicating very good recent rains.

My dad passed away tragically around 3 years ago and the road from Naboom goes past the farm where we scattered his ashes under a rock overhang against the backdrop of some savana grasslands. I stopped for a while to reminisce his life and mark the entry to the farm on my GPS.
Kierie and JC were leaving later that day slabbing directly to Bela Bela and ending off with the last 40 clicks of dirt road to the Zinyala gate

• Zinyala via naboom.jpg
    Zinyala via naboom.jpg
    354.1 KB
  • Zinyala Nov 2012 096.jpg
    Zinyala Nov 2012 096.jpg
    93.6 KB
  • DSC01049.JPG
    DSC01049.JPG
    154.2 KB
  • Zinyala Nov 2012 004.jpg
    Zinyala Nov 2012 004.jpg
    61.2 KB
  • Rebels 2012 Zinyala.jpg
    Rebels 2012 Zinyala.jpg
    227.6 KB
Smokes and i enjoyed the open stretches of dirt highways to Nylstroom and ended up racing down the edge of Nylsvlei Nature Resreve on a 2 spoor sandy road. Lots of fun with the odd rocklurker waiting to eat your rim!
We promptly pulled into Mookgopong and went straight to Sashas which is a restaurant we frequent behind the OK Centre and Wimpy in the main road. The restaurant has VERY cold beer in bucketloads and awesome cheeseburgers to quaff away at!
Panne promptly arrived and we headed out to Zinyala through the Melkrivier road.
That 690 Full rally replica of his sure makes an awesome noise.
The first section was extremely dusty but we soon got onto some roads which had recent rains................something which would happen every night for an hour or 2 over the next 2 nights.

The sandy roads compacted nicely by the rain made for extremely safe riding and provided lots of fun!
We soon arrived at Zinyala and crossed the hill to the bushcamp without incident.
The Bushcamp road is and incline of 40 degrees or so, escalates from 1320m to 1387m over 500 meters at its highest point and then provides a straight decline on the other side where you put your bike in first to enable it to break for you under compresion. A slight pressure on the backbrake and feathering of the front helps a bit on the decline untill you reach the right hand turn at the bottom. The camp consists of an area enclosed with afence with a thatched kitchen with gas amenities. There is no power so light is provided by lamps and a torch or headlamp is essential

We soon heard the distinct bark of Kierie's V Twin 990 motor and promptly saw Kierie arriving with JC on tow who crossed the hill without problems.
Beers which was packed in a coolbox by Petrus , the farm manager, were soon enjoyed by all.

• DSC01050.JPG
    DSC01050.JPG
    186.5 KB
  • DSC01052.JPG
    DSC01052.JPG
    168.9 KB
  • DSC01054.JPG
    DSC01054.JPG
    149.9 KB
  • Zinyala Nov 2012 061.jpg
    Zinyala Nov 2012 061.jpg
    88.5 KB
  • DSC01056.2.jpg
    DSC01056.2.jpg
    103.5 KB
The evening provided lots of jokes and storytelling...........most of which can not be repeated here! :ricky:
I made a pot of pap with 'sous' and we braaied 2,5kg's of inch and a half rumps and some boerewors
There was no salad :blob7: :blob6: :blob5: :blob3: :blob10:

We obviously climbed into the Klippies, Captain Moron and Jack which made all of us Moron's a little later through the evening
Little did Panne know that he would be sitting in pain witha broken wrist the following evening

• Zinyala Nov 2012 031.jpg
    Zinyala Nov 2012 031.jpg
    55 KB
  • Zinyala Nov 2012 048.jpg
    Zinyala Nov 2012 048.jpg
    55.3 KB
  • Zinyala Nov 2012 027.jpg
    Zinyala Nov 2012 027.jpg
    36.6 KB
  • Zinyala Nov 2012 018.jpg
    Zinyala Nov 2012 018.jpg
    71.3 KB
  • Zinyala Nov 2012 013.jpg
    Zinyala Nov 2012 013.jpg
    53.9 KB
Lekker party  :thumleft:

The next morning everyone woke early in anticipation of the day's ride
We got away just after 7 and i had to help JC pick up his BOF where he deposited it into the electric fence going up the hill toward the gate.
We completed a fast ride to Alma where we refueled and left for Rankins Pass and over Bakkerspass through the Kransberge towards Thabazimbi.
On the crossing of the Rooiberg road we pulled into a shebeen and had a cold one under a tree before departing in a Northern direction around Marikele Game Reserve to the Vaalwater/ Ellisras road

The Route to Vaalwater is 244km long and if you refuel at Alma you should theoretically be able to reach Vaalwater with ease as it leaves you with around 210km or so to do on a full tank of juice! Unfortunately the SE takes only 13.7 liters and if you are conservative on the throttle you can get at least 180 to 200 out of the beast! I ended up having to refuel off Panne and Smokes with their large tanks after 170. The road conditions are such that you have to stay positive on the throttle at all times in anticipation of a 'skelm 'turn or a washed out bit of road. The back section of Marikele is not maintained because of a washed away bridge about halfway down the road which can surprise you if you don't know about it. The bridge is completely washed away and there is , although not impassable by bike, a steep embankment packed with loose rocks over which just a 4X4, quad or two wheeld vehicle will pass. i unfortunately have no pictures of it

We reached the Vaalwater tar road and 10 k's further on turned left onto the D1882! It is 10k's further than the 40 clicks of tar to Vaalwater but you travel only 30 k's on tar to fuel and the biggest burger of your life at the big 5 restaurant in Vaalwater!

• Zinyala Nov 2012 067.jpg
    Zinyala Nov 2012 067.jpg
    63.1 KB
  • Zinyala Nov 2012 068.jpg
    Zinyala Nov 2012 068.jpg
    81.5 KB
  • Zinyala Nov 2012 072.jpg
    Zinyala Nov 2012 072.jpg
    90.7 KB
  • Zinyala Nov 2012 075.jpg
    Zinyala Nov 2012 075.jpg
    78.5 KB
  • Zinyala Nov 2012 083.jpg
    Zinyala Nov 2012 083.jpg
    87.2 KB
After lunch we decided to make the route to Zinyala slightly shorter.
We departed with heavy stomachs and 10k's out of Vaalwater towards Melkrivier hit the first dirt of the leg
It is here where Panne came off his bike in a corner! The undertone of the roads are hard with loose sandy patches on top!
One has to be extremely carefull when negotiating the corners at speed!
The pictures tell the story!

We left Panne's bike at the clubhouse and Petrus brought him over the hill with the cruiser!
His girlfriend came the next morning to pick him up with the trailer to consult a doctor!
Panne het homself in 'n gynae besoek ingeval! :imaposer: :imaposer: :imaposer:

The evening at the Lodge was started witha chicken pot and served on a bun

There was no salad :blob9: :blob8: :blob7: :blob6: :blob5: :blob3: :blob10:

Lots of hops beverages and the remainder of the hard tack was consumed.............by some to dull the pain together with some Myprodols :patch:

We left at around 9:30 to warmbaths and Smokes and i completed the dirt stretch to Moloto past Rust de Winter in an Hour and a half
Great riding and highly recommended!
Kierie accompanied JC on tar to Pta

The year was well rounded off with a traditionally great trip and a good time was had by all..............except for the accompanying breakages in bones and ego's
Hopefully Panne's dreams of competing in the Dos Moertoes can still come to fruition
At least he has learnt to 'tuck and roll'

Onwards to 2013, new challenges, new friends to be made and great biking trips to be had!
Rebelz Rule!

• Zinyala Nov 2012 088.jpg
    Zinyala Nov 2012 088.jpg
    74.8 KB
  • Zinyala Nov 2012 091.jpg
    Zinyala Nov 2012 091.jpg
    62.2 KB
  • Zinyala Nov 2012 100.jpg
    Zinyala Nov 2012 100.jpg
    73.6 KB
  • DSC01078.JPG
    DSC01078.JPG
    229.1 KB
  • Zinyala Nov 2012 131.jpg
    Zinyala Nov 2012 131.jpg
    74.9 KB
Wouter Pug said:
Lyk lekker... Baie dankie vir die rr :thumleft:
Guys wanting to go with next time - indicate so please
There are only 14 spots available and we wil organise another early in the new year!

So far on the invite list are:

1 Swifty
2 Dodo (FireSquirrel)
3 Smokes
4 Kierie
5 JC
6 Panne
7 Madmike

Ek gaan nie weer almal se gatte lek nie! :thefinger:

Eish I'm jealous!

As ek my oe toe maak dan sien ek elke bult en draai op daai roete en ek voel die pain in my lag spiere as ek daai foties check!

Orangeswifty said:
Panne het homself in 'n gynae besoek ingeval! :imaposer: :imaposer: :imaposer:

;D Volgende keer sal ek sorg dat ek sy nommer by my het.  :spitcoffee:

Dankie vir die lekker rr. :thumleft:

Veldbrand said:
Lekker een L'Orange Rapide. :thumleft:
Panne, ek hoop daai ding kom mooi en betyds reg vir jou groot planne.

Fanks Veldtie. ;D

bud500 said:
Lekker report!
Ekke wil ook gaan....

For the next Zinyala ride:

1 Swifty
2 Dodo (FireSquirrel)
3 Smokes
4 Kierie
5 JC
6 Panne
7 Madmike
8 Bud500

...................6 to go!

Thanks vir die RR Swifty, en dankie vir 'n lekker ride.

bud500 said:
Lekker report!
Ekke wil ook gaan....

Ek is ook in vir die volgende een...jammer ek moes die een mis!!  :deal:

Lekker report Swifty......nie geweet jy kan sulke goeie soutie taal skryf nie!  :pot:

Sterkte Panne....hoop die besering is gou iets van die verlede!  :thumleft:

Is Smokes besig om 'n 6 pack te sport daar of wat?  :eek: