Attakwaskloof (Dial-ups beware!)

Well done Trailrider and all who made the trip , it sure is God's country what fantastic scenery and the venue looks very warm and comfortable.Great  pic's I am sure we will be hearing more stories from those who did the trip. Will be doing this trip for definite in the future(when it is warmer)  ;D

grey%5E_%5Everdana%5E_%5E3%5E_%5E2%5E_%5EVery+nice+report%21%5E_%5E.gif

Trailrider said:
Not one of my finer moments... but it makes for a cool avatar  ;D

TR, kyk waar is die linkerspieeltjie op die pic waar jy die bike optel......lyk my hy help iets optel.... ;D ;D

Uiltjie said:
Hoe lank ry mens op 'n KTM 950 van Sedgefield na George?

Ek sien LetsGoFishing het Saterdag 09h29 nog gepost op die forum....geen wonder ons moes wag vir hom nie.... ;) ;)
Sorry about the misunderstanding guys.... :redface:

If you're running late... 25 minutes

If you're on a KTM...20 ;D

Awesome report and pics.. sure is pretty there...

I see the Cape (east and west) bikes arent scared to lie down when they are a little tired.... ;D ;D

This is a nice.."wish you were here" report..

good stuff!!

The only real accident of the weekend. I post this not for the funny ha ha with finger pointing like the other accidents. This shows how quickly it can all go wrong.
I pulled up alongside Kevin who had stopped to see if all was ok. He complained the ABS kept coming back on, and he was just trying to switch it off again. All was ok and we pulled off again. About 2kms later, there was the bike in the bush, far into the bush but he was up and ok. Luckily this didnt occur on on one of the drop off corners.

CIMG6611.jpg

CIMG6610.jpg

CIMG6609.jpg

CIMG6608.jpg

Once back on his feet, Kevins words" i am impressed, this bike is strong"

Uiltjie said:
Trailrider said:
Not one of my finer moments... but it makes for a cool avatar  ;D

TR, kyk waar is die linkerspieeltjie op die pic waar jy die bike optel......lyk my hy help iets optel.... ;D ;D

Geen wonder hy was so swaar nie...  ;D

No man Topbox, it looks better on dirt:

• DSC_0072.jpg
    DSC_0072.jpg
    103.9 KB
My comment on Gavin's Oops:  I was riding behind his all the time, he was about 50m ahead of me.  We were not riding faster than 40km/h.  As I wanted to round the corner, I saw his bike in the bushes - NO RIDER!  I stopped, jumped off my bike and ran to the bike, at this stage I see him get up, trot around the bike and fall down again! I KARKED MYSELF!  As I got to him, I asked him if he was OK, to which the reply came:  "I'm just catching my breath"!  What a relief!

I think we must all learn a lesson from this.  Although I didn't see the tumble, it was clear that the bike rolled over several times, missing him every time!  If that big GSA hit him - he most certainly would have been badly hurt.  I think we can learn a lesson that at even 40km/h a mishap can be potentially fatal.

Gavin (Kevin, I keep mixing your names up?) we are all glad that you are OK and could ride with us further!

Last thing:  Although I ride a KTM, that GSA is as strong as a horse!  After all the rolls, the damage was just cosmetic!  Not even the screen was broken, although both mirrors snapped off!

It is a scary spot that. It's close to the farm so you want to push on to get there. It's a sudden hard right through a gate with lots of loose pebbles on that corner. When I went through there I had to brake suddenly and the next thing I heard was very hard braking behind me. Suddenly both my mirrors were FULL of Orange. LGF was riding behind me and watching me instead of the road. Next thing I brake hard and he almost took both of us into the veld there. Luckily I could get out of the way in time.

It's also the same corner that caught young Andre and his CRF70 out - both times.

Some ramblings from my side.

Let me say the following before I go on with anything else:
If you ever see a thread on 'Planning a ride' with the word 'Attakwas' in it, just click 'reply' and say you'll go.

It is worth it.

Our trip started with riding to Caledon on Thursday night to spend the night at the Uilties' place.
We had the most amazing snoek I had in a long time. Canz and Betsie knows how to make people feel welcome.
Uiltjie I just want to say 'thank you' again for you guys' hospitality.
It was also cool to look around in the workshop with all those model aircraft spares lying around.

Then up and ready at 8 the next morning where Phillip joined us for morning coffee and off we went.
The road (and Tannie Karen) led us past Bredasdorp and out the side towards Malgas and the ferry.

The little town of Malgas really is beautiful as you turn the corner to start your decent towards the ferry.
The ferry in itself is very cool. The guys said that on a busy day in the summer season they can 'walk' the ferry across a 150 times ...

So it was out the other side towards Buffeljags. Trailrider isn't the only one that lives in a beautiful area. The Overberg is very green this time of year.
Had a nice breakfast at Buffeljags and then shot across past Suurbraak and Gysmanshoek. We took the roads that spat us out at the back of Riversdale. What a beautiful road that was. You have to do that route if you are in the area.

From Riversdale Uiltjie and Phillip went ahead as their 15:00 in George deadline was looming.
So we stopped off at Albertinia to have some biltong, and we headed out to our 1st George drinks Friday after which we parted ways to meet up at Honda wing the next morning.

That 1st 10 km on the gravel/mud/clay was officially the scariest s..t I've done two up on my bike.
We would be traveling at about 70/80 when all of a sudden you'll see the guys ahead start snaking about. You end up (at about 70) on a piece of clay (that's been cut into a thousand little furrows) with the bike doing what it wants. At one point I was looking to my left and saw Vicky overtaking me.
It was kinda strange as she was sitting on the back seat of my bike.

Surf was just ahead of us and there was this one time were he was sure (as we were) that he was going down. He was riding a little more towards the left edge of the road than we were and he started sliding (backwheel 1st) down the slope towards the edge.
The problem was that he was now sliding sideways towards a couple of mansized potholes on the side of the road. He hit one of them with his back wheel, just before his front went over some nasty bumps.
I've never seen a 1150 GSA snake and shake that violently under a rider (disregarding the fact that it was on mud) and not deposit the rider onto the side of the road.
I was already stressing as to how I'm going to be able to steer clear of where he's going to hit the deck when he just came out the other side. Upright.
Fist of victory in the air and 'Surf was still up' (a slightly modified Trailrider pun...).

A couple of close calls for ourselves later we ended up at the little bridge for our 1st stop.

I'm ashamed to admit that at this stage I was (for a little while anyway) thinking about bailing out.

I got mixed reports about what was still lying ahead. I (later) came to the conclusion that the worst was indeed behind us.
Just to put it into perspective, the bike, a full tank, our luggage and the two of us creates a footprint on the two wheels that is closer to 500kg's than what I would like to admit. Having that sliding about out of control on some snot and clay at 60 km/h isn't that much fun. I always joke and say that you don't steer a big GS with a pillion on - you send in requests...

So on we went onto some marvelous road (after getting petrol and brushing up on KTM picking up skills).
There was a couple of very cool steep ups and downs (that was still slippery at times), but the turns were so tight that I hardly let the bike go out of 1st and just let it run against compression.

At the quick lunch stop I was smiling broadly again, very glad that my 'Momentary lapse of reason' of earlier didn't let me end up to 'wish you were here' (10 points extra for spotting something extra in the prior sentence...)

There was a couple of close calls again, but it was slower and more controlled (all mud/clay related).
The only thing that still caught me unawares was 'normal looking' gravel that turned out to be a thin layer of dry dust on wet mud underneath, but like I said before, the road was twisty and technical enough to let you not go too fast.

Beautiful forestry, occasional stops for some general silliness and laughter and some very cool road later we came 'round a corner over a little hill to see the 1200GSA being driven from out of where he went off the road.
If I arrived with him still laying on the ground it would have been more scary, but seeing him drive his bike out of there made me only realize the seriousness a little later.

His bike rolled over sideways and the topbox stayed on. Looking at the bike there probably would have been lots of damage (money wise), but truth be told that that GSA is well built (and so is Gavin!).
Like Uiltjie and Topbox said, I don't even want to start thinking about what could have happened if the GSA rolled over him, or if it happened at one of the high pass turns (next to some serious steep heights)

So then we settled in at the camp site.

The next day was marvelous! No mud and lots of ups and downs, climbing through some dry river rockery, amazing scenery. All and all a very enjoyable route.

We went from leaving the pack through Herbersdale and then on to Riversdale and then N2/Swellendam/Ashton/Worcester and home...

In closing I just want to say thank you for all that was there.
Every single person that was there is someone that I not only enjoyed riding with, but also enjoyed getting silly (and more philosophical at times) with around the fireplace and a couple of drinks.

You guys rock.

Thanks one and all for making it a ride that I will remember for a hellova long time.

Thanks also for not making it feel like a problem for being slower due to being two up and falling behind a little here and there...

Thanks TR for organising it all.

Bonniedale and Attakwas officially also gets my vote for a 'Western Cape Wilddogs bash' venue, should there ever be one.

Eisbein oor en uit ...

Gysmanshoek was stunning, to follow on from Eisbein.
I was following Surf when he did a jump over a drainage furrow. He landed slightly sideways and kept it up. I am hooting and giving him the thumbs up, going whoohoo in my helmet. Now he's having fun !

Only at the top i find none of that was supposed to happen and it was near off.  ;D ;D

topbox said:
Gysmanshoek was stunning, to follow on from Eisbein.
I was following Surf when he did a jump over a drainage furrow. He landed slightly sideways and kept it up. I am hooting and giving him the thumbs up, going whoohoo in my helmet. Now he's having fun !

Only at the top i find none of that was supposed to happen and it was near off.  ;D ;D

Fark, that was close, so was the one in front of Eisbein on the clay. I swear, I tasted the mud in my mouth :-\ :-\, but I tapped myself on the back and said, pheeewww, what a save ;)

Thanx ouens en Vicky, must have been one of the best weekends ever, or in my case, dayandahalf...

"WIE,EK..."[flash=200,200][/flash]

Thanks to all who made the Attakwaskloof trip and especially to all you made it possible. I hope to have an opportunity to ride with all of you again.

Just to put the record straight, (we know that Kevin canâ??t ride but) it was me â??Gavinâ? who come off the GSA. I would just like to thank all of you who helped and supported me. Uiltjie thanks for all you did for me.

I know that I have not introduced myself to this forum as yet so here goes:
I called myself BMWCTD. This stands for BMW Crash Test Dummy. I have done things with this bike that even surprised the manufacturers and insurers it is so bad that they do not want me to participate in the BM challenge. I have fallen so many times that BM is using my medical records and insurants forms to inherence rider safety and bike durability. Garmen have refused to use my Tracking records.

Anyway thanks to all of you who made me feel so welcome.

>:D ;D

Trailrider said:
When I went through there I had to brake suddenly and the next thing I heard was very hard braking behind me. Suddenly both my mirrors were FULL of Orange. LGF was riding behind me and watching me instead of the road. Next thing I brake hard and he almost took both of us into the veld there. Luckily I could get out of the way in time.

Well you kept on saying how a lightweight 200cc scrambler with knobbies was just PERFECT for the conditions - I was just keeping you on your toes >:D

Thanks to TR and all the other wildddogs who made this such a superb weekend! Don't be put off too much by the slipping, sliding and marbles mentioned in the other posts - if Eis and Mrs Bein can do it fully loaded (with gear, not alcohol!) - I reckon anyone can. Respect to you Eisbein.  Thought I'd post a few pics on the weekend as seen from my perspective.

river3.jpg

One of the rivers along the way

log_bw.jpg

Other side of the same river crossing

tree1.jpg

uiltjie2.jpg

I got this jacket for free with the bike, but the other ou's arms were a little longer!

knobbies.jpg

I thought knoblies were meant to STOP this from happening!

dozer.jpg

Remains of an old bulldozer in the veld

heading_home3.jpg

Heading home

letsgofishing said:
if Eis and Mrs Bein can do it fully loaded (with gear, not alcohol!) - I reckon anyone can. Respect to you Eisbein.  Thought I'd post a few pics on the weekend as seen from my perspective.

Thanks for the kind words !  I love being able to share this with Vicky. I don't know if it is good or stupid (I am leaning towards the latter) but I just look ahead, try and see where I need to go and go for it...

It seems that thus far that strategy have kept us upright and out of trouble ...

Btw - very cool photos.

This was my cellphone camera coming in handy when you took photos at the bridge:
mike_lgf.jpg

It seems that you and Vicky were looking at some of the same stuff ...

Her take on the same place at the river:
river_bridge-1.jpg

The bulldozer:
bulldozer.jpg

The wall close by:
wall.jpg

This was at Uiltjie's farm:
uiltjiefarm.jpg

:D ;D

Btw - I downloaded my cellphone photos today and this was on the way to Malgas:
Malgas.jpg