Back from the Van der Kloofbash !

LeonDude home safe and sound.
Thanks to the organisers who all know who they are, it was a great and memorial bash.

Raka, Friday night was yours. You won, hands down.

I forgot something at the venue (ok I lost it, mislayed it somewhere). Would it be possible for someone to please pick it up for me? It’s just my name, which somehow got lost on Saturday night in a blur of beer. If someone sees my name, please post it back to me. It might be keeping company with all the other names which was apparently lost there, but you’ll recognise mine, I hit it with a plank a few times and it’s all bloody.

Thanks again!
LeonDude

Arrived safely at about 13:15 back in Pretoria.  Thank you to the organisers - it was great.  

Had to sit through a WHOLE DAY OF MEETINGS today.  WTF, the BASH should be at least a week long next time.

And thanks to ReyDakar, you are a great riding companion and your family in Fochville is some of the most hospitable people I have met.

To everybody I met, I hope to see you again soon, wherever that may be.  But we should find ways to attract more ladies to the forum >:D - men wherever you looked.  Geez, it wat like being back in the army!

Hi Leondude, good to hear youre savehome ! Take this tip from an old name loser.......(I mean winner)
Always have a backup name in youre back pocket ! :mwink:

And that dear friends is why we have forum nics ;D - don't worry, booze is there so interesting people can also mingle with teetotallers :peepwall:

special thanx to Oetie and Journeyman for making the 2010 bash a success - MOERSE THANX OKES - it was great!!!!

Apparently the mods are working on announcing the 6th 2011 bash as soon as possible

Brink, thanx for helping out on short notice and for having 'hare op jou tande' in the LC with the two amalakiete ;D

Even my long suffering wilddog made a new freind.... 8)

• Wilddog freind.JPG
    Wilddog freind.JPG
    79.7 KB
Tontelbox Got back home yesterday just after 2pm.
Man got some new respect for the ironbutt okes..

Thanx to all for an awesome bash  :thumleft:

Fenderbender said:
n Lekke party is as jy die volgende oggend 120kmh huistoe ry .  :imaposer:

Eishhh ... Dis die Honda se skuld, nie die lekka party nie  :ricky:

My trip to the much anticipated 2010 Wild Dog Bash started on Thursday afternoon with a solo ride down to the overnight stay on the banks of the Vaal river. What a location for a One nighter. The plan was that I would leave and then Plothond would join later in the evening after work.

Met up with Excalibur in Potch and had a few beers while waiting for directions to the venue. The venue is right on the banks of the Vaal River just 30 odd Km’s south of Potch, with a few bungalows, a few campsites, swimming pool and an awesome lapa.

The Lapa unoccupied
2010_Bash_IMG_3262.jpg

Sunset over the Vaal River
2010_Bash_IMG_3266.jpg

2010_Bash_IMG_3270.jpg

Some meat was acquired by Journeyman and Kilroy on the way down and much fun was had by all
2010_WildDog_Bash

2010_Bash_IMG_3279.jpg

Sunrise over the Vaal from the Campsite
2010_Bash_IMG_3289.jpg

Some people were in bed later than others.
2010_Bash_IMG_3290.jpg

Myself, Plothond and Excalibur left at around 07h30 with thoughts of breakfast on our minds, our 2010 Bash Trip had started.

We had many stops in wonderful little towns all the way down to the bash while enjoying the wonderful dirt roads that only the Free State has to offer.
2010_Bash_IMG_3292.jpg

2010_Bash_IMG_3297.jpg

Excalibur
2010_Bash_IMG_3300.jpg

Plothond
2010_Bash_IMG_3301.jpg

Have I mentioned that I love visiting all the small little towns on the back roads, the people are so friendly and always interested in our travels (even for a Soutie like myself)

Just more images of the trip down
2010_Bash_IMG_3303.jpg

2010_Bash_IMG_3305.jpg

About 30km’s outside Vanderkloof Dam and these rocks in the background look almost like the Brandberg in Namibia (Stunning)
2010_Bash_IMG_3308.jpg

After arriving at the bash at about 16h30, we got around to meeting all the people and pitching tents, collected braai packs (which were awesome) then got down to serious business of braaing and drinking with old and new friends alike. Really good to see some of the peeps that I have not seen since last year’s bash.

Groenie and Excalibur debating life (the outcome, who cares life is good meeting old Dogs again)
2010_Bash_IMG_3309.jpg

(From Left to right)
Leo (thanks for braaing you are good at it!!), Plothond, Excalibur and Journeyman
2010_Bash_IMG_3310.jpg

(From Left to right)
Redrider (all the way on a XR 650), InsideDirtRider (all the way on a Triumph Sprint  :biggrin:) and Oetie
2010_Bash_IMG_3311.jpg

2010_Bash_IMG_3312.jpg

The said Triump Sprint that IDR rode down.
2010_Bash_IMG_3319.jpg

My Beautiful baby, damn I love that bike and Welsh’s new 4 wheel  Mercedes bike in the background (weirdest motorbike I have ever seen  :biggrin:)
2010_Bash_IMG_3320.jpg

Welsh on Saturday morning looking a bit under the weather
2010_Bash_IMG_3321.jpg]

2010_Bash_IMG_3322.jpg

LuckyStriker’s bike and tent
2010_Bash_IMG_3323.jpg

This little fellow joined in the 2010 Bash (maybe he should be our mascot?)
2010_Bash_IMG_3328.jpg

Kilroy’s 2.5 Hp Speedboat looking a little under weight pressure...
2010_Bash_IMG_3334.jpg

2010_Bash_IMG_3338.jpg

Just some pics of Saturday night after the Rugby which I might remind you all that

THE SHARKS ARE 2010 CURRIE CUP CHAMPIONS
Brink and Leo
2010_Bash_IMG_3347.jpg

Drinking at the bar
2010_Bash_IMG_3349.jpg

Braai Area
2010_Bash_IMG_3352.jpg

2010_Bash_IMG_3353.jpg

After a heavy night of much fun and some burn outs in the bar area (people shall remain nameless to protect the innocent involved). Leo, Excalibur, Plothond, InsideDirtRider and myself left for home on tar roads via Bloem and the N1

Plothond feeling not so good on the way home
2010_Bash_IMG_3358.jpg

A rest break on the N1 just before Plothond got towed by Leo after running out of fuel
2010_Bash_IMG_3359.jpg

We all arrived home between 14h00 and 15h00 feeling exhausted from riding into a very strong side wind that threatened to blow us into oncoming traffic at times.

Thanks to my riding partners for the weekend, it was really good to ride with you guys again. Been too long.

To all the new peeps I met and the old ones I chatted to again, thanks it is always good with Wild Dogs!!

To all involved in arranging a magnificent bash (Journeyman for all the logistics and the arrangements at the Bash, Oetie for all the Venue arrangements, Lucky Striker for the stickers etc, and to all the others not mentioned) it was awesome and much appreciated.

:thumleft: :thumleft: :thumleft: :thumleft: :thumleft: :thumleft: :thumleft: :thumleft: :thumleft: :thumleft: :thumleft:

:hello2: :headbang: :hello2: :headbang: :hello2: :headbang: :hello2: :headbang:

See you all next year!!!

Here is a Pic of a certain individual that just had to fall asleep on Saturday afternoon in front of everyone...

30102010459.jpg

And another of a certain Wild Dog who thought it necessary to add some flavor to the pic  :biggrin: :biggrin: :biggrin: :biggrin:

30102010462.jpg

funacide said:
And another of a certain Wild Dog who thought it necessary to add some flavor to the pic  :biggrin: :biggrin: :biggrin: :biggrin:

I know those spindly ankles all too well -it can be only one!  Thanks ;D

It could have been WAY worse, I'm sure!!!

Some of my pics, starting at our meeting point on Thursday arvie - bikes all clean & everything & everybody still in one piece

• DSCN0988.JPG
    DSCN0988.JPG
    246.2 KB
  • DSCN0992.JPG
    DSCN0992.JPG
    119.5 KB
  • DSCN1000.JPG
    DSCN1000.JPG
    175.1 KB
  • DSCN1001.JPG
    DSCN1001.JPG
    157.6 KB
  • DSCN1002.JPG
    DSCN1002.JPG
    140.3 KB
Iemand geniet haarself !

• IMG_1126 [640x480].JPG
    IMG_1126 [640x480].JPG
    105.4 KB
  • IMG_1127 [640x480].JPG
    IMG_1127 [640x480].JPG
    73.8 KB
IDR said:
funacide said:

It was, but those pictures cannot be posted on this forum, and your eyes were closed.... >:D :biggrin:

Adventurer said:
IDR said:
funacide said:

It was, but those pictures cannot be posted on this forum, and your eyes were closed.... >:D :biggrin:

Also for some reason no one could get their cameras out in time and by then Kilroy had his pants up again!!

Be Afraid!!!

laurika said:
ek sien ETS het nie net weereens sy blou douchebag en matching crocs nie...maar drink nou selfs TAB? wat gaan hier aan???? :pot:

As Hentie agter jou slaap moet jy of d**sdronk of nugter wees.......

Legadema said:
Iemand geniet haarself !
die orania dorpie het my helmet hair geinspireer om regop te staan....!!of miskien was dit die 3rde bier op a saterdag oggend?

ETS said:
laurika said:
ek sien ETS het nie net weereens sy blou douchebag en matching crocs nie...maar drink nou selfs TAB? wat gaan hier aan???? :pot:

As Hentie agter jou slaap moet jy of d**sdronk of nugter wees.......
:imaposer: :imaposer: :imaposer: ja lepelle is ietwat van a riskante saak....met Hentie..dit glo ek..

Very Very lekker Bash – thanks to all the organisers and to all the WD’s who were there.  For ThinkPillion, Briggsy, Mrs Briggsy and I it was our first Bash – the start of many more to come.

Was great meeting many of you and to see some of the “Famous” and maybe some “Infamous” dogs from all over the country who I’d seen in pics and RR etc.  

Departing from Pinehaven

dscf79551024x768.jpg

Quick Stop at    Slag van Doornkraal

dscf79611024x768.jpg

dscf79711024x768.jpg

dscf79731024x768.jpg

img5521m.jpg

img55351024x768.jpg

img55361024x768.jpg

img55401024x768.jpg

img55411024x768.jpg

Arriving at Vanderkloof, in a hurry to find some ice cold beers!!

img55851024x768.jpg

We were not disappointed!!!

img55491024x768.jpg

Have loads of pics which I’ll sift through and post a few (and maybe some video once I figure out how to get it sorted).