Call us Crazy!! But what an ADVENTURE!! - Finished! WE MADE IT!!

happy1.gif

Day2  Prince Alfred Hamlet to Carnavon

Still dark and freezing we all got ready to leave….
trip007.jpg

trip008.jpg

trip009.jpg

We filled up in Ceres and off we were into the unknown!! Adrenalin pumping trough our veins and shivers running down our spines…. From pure excitement!! (or it could have been the cold!) ??? ???
We got to the turnoff for Sutherland just before sunrise and decided to stop for b-feast! It was freeezzing and it was difficult to light my smoke, coffee did not do the trick… had a mouth full of OBS and whooolllaaaaa… it stopped!  :mwink: :mwink:
Stunning sunrise with a light drizzle.....
trip010.jpg

trip013.jpg

trip012j.jpg

trip016.jpg

that way yes!!! :ricky: :ricky:
trip017h.jpg

OBS is King of the cold!
trip018w.jpg

Off into the sunrise we rode and were amazed by the scenery…. When all off a sudden M pointed out some strange looking animals next to the road… mmm they looked like but …. Wait – IT IS!! Takbokke?? Hoe werk dit dan? Imagine that! Sorry no pics, hands was frozen….) :-\ :-\

And then...we were greeted by our 1st water crossing..... looked a bit deep - ma wies bang vi bietjie water??? was DEEP and a bit slippery... hear some screams from the back but no problems...thanks Bike....
trip019.jpg

2nd water crossing came as a BIG surprise :eek: :eek: :eek:! as we came around the corner there it was... SHIT.... tried the brakes ...nope....bike to heavy.... looked for rocks..... good lets do it.... SWOOOOSSSHHHHH............ and a scream from the back!!  :ricky: That was fun - do it again....? hehehe you can see the skid marks on the other side.....
trip020.jpg

It was time for a smoke again and something to eat... dankie ma vir daai lekke snacks! :drif: :drif: -  frikadelle, brootjies en gekookte eier, met.... OBS!! ok nee koffie hierdie keer..'n paar pics van ons coffee break...
trip024n.jpg

trip023.jpg

trip021.jpg

trip027.jpg

About halfway to Suherland we were stopped by one of the local Boere …. “More Boeta!! Asb tog se vi my jy rook???” was how we were greeted, ??? ???  he was desparately looking for a light, he lost his about 3 hours before somewhere in the veld…
He told us to stop at his wife’s little lapa thing for a “Vars rooster koek” … mmmm…
on the way to the lapa....
trip028.jpg

We finally came across the lapa and what a nice surprise! This little gem here in the middle of nowhere!! Cold beer, biltong, koekies, koeksisters and a fire in the middle of the lapa – chatted to the host for a while.
trip032.jpg

trip031.jpg

trip029.jpg

Decided to head off again but had to answer the call of nature…. We were pleasantly surprised by the stunning little “spoel toilet met seepies en als!” a liitle distance from the lapa!! Amazing!!
trip035.jpg

trip034w.jpg

We stopped in Sutherland for fuel and headed off again where we were greeted by a strong and freezing side wind! Time for a snack and M was getting sleepy again! Can you believe it!!?? ??? ???
trip037.jpg

trip036.jpg

We arrived in Fraserburg and looked for a place kill the thirst  :drif: :drif: and found this nice little spot…
trip043.jpg

Looks like every house has one of these - like DSTV Dishes.... if you don't have you you are out...... :biggrin:
trip039.jpg

We headed off to Carnavon and like the rule is – every 70-90km we will stop and have a snack and a smoke break! – It was round about 2 pm and we were thirsty!  Warm OBS just doesn’t do it anymore!
You can see the ripples on the water - wind was not our friend today!!
trip044.jpg

trip046.jpg

trip047t.jpg

trip049.jpg

In a cloud of dust we left and arrived in Carnavon… :ricky: :ricky:. Ok let’s see where a place to set up camp…… ??? ???
Die ou klien stofdorpie….. Where can we go…. Aaaahhh the Hotel – there must be a bar as well and we can ask the locals there where a nice place is to sleep!  :mwink: :mwink:
The famous “Blikkies Bar” is where we ended up and had our 1st REWARDING cold beer!!  :drif: :drif:
trip051.jpg

And every great bar must have a mascot ....
trip056o.jpg

It was getting late and the drinks started getting better…. And I started asking around for accom when I was asked by the owner if I would mind to pitch our tent  just outside his back door on a little piece of lawn – we can sleep there for the evening only if we support the bar….. mmm that will not be a problem sir, DEAL!  :thumleft: :thumleft:
Busy setting up the tent and we were greeted by the mascot and his Crazy bro - stoute bliksempies daai ...
trip062.jpg

trip061.jpg

trip064.jpg

sniffel at you own risk...... ;)
trip063.jpg

Bike got VIP treatment and was soon parked in the Ballroom off the hotel, no need to sleep out in the street! Stunning people these!!
trip058.jpg

Right... back to the bar for something to eat and more to drink....our braaipakkie wat moederlief ingepak het is heerlik voorbery deur die head chef van die hotel - da was nie tyd om te braai ni.. :p
Being a Friday evening all the locals started coming over a we met the best people there, thanks to all of you guys!! It was awesome meeting you all! Some pics….. they tell their own story!
happy happy happpyyyyy
trip066.jpg

Nog meer happy - en DAAI IS GEEN ROYAL VODKA NIE!! Goed is van die duiwel af se ek jou!! >:D >:D >:D
trip068.jpg

Marique se nuwe maatjie.. Jana
trip071.jpg

Ja alles is jou skuld!!
trip074.jpg

JAAA!!! Net so.... :thumleft: :thumleft: :pot:
trip075.jpg

Goeie mense hierdie!! Christof, Inge, mmmmm frikkie, frikkie en frikkie se sussie....(sorry kon nie almal se name onthou nie,..... :'()
trip076.jpg

Lord Carnavon en Jana
trip077.jpg

:pot: :pot: :pot: :pot: :pot: :pot: :pot:

At about 1am we decided it is time to run for the tent, could not get one more shooter down!! AND we have about 500km to do the next day!!! :eek: :eek:   We sneaked off and was soon fast asleep….
Will be a lOOOOOONG day tomorrow...... :'( :'( :'(

Lord Carnarvon aka Pieter.

Hy het 'n cool gastehuis op die dorp

kwassi said:

Net so ja! sou gat b-feast eet het maa sal dit op 'n volgende keer doen..... :mwink:

Scrat said:
kwassi said:

Net so ja! sou gat b-feast eet het maa sal dit op 'n volgende keer doen..... :mwink:

Ek gaan oor 2 weke daar by Lord C wees.

kwassi said:
Scrat said:
kwassi said:

Ek gaan oor 2 weke daar by Lord C wees.

Cool man, jy moet vir hom se ons stuur groete!! en sien hulle dalk einde oktober weer... :thumleft:

cool dude wa is die res kom kom julle IT manne werk mos nie  :ricky:

Day3 Carnavon to Christiana

Eish – why does it always happen???!!!  :'( :'( :'(  We just could not get up… it was freezing and our heads were swollen from the massive amount of shooters that was consumed the night before!
We got off to a slow start, we were invited for B-feast at Lord Caranvon…. But time was not on our side.. 
Our little camping spot
trip078.jpg

Me trying to get everything back on the bike while shaking and sweating like a mad man :'( :'( :'(
trip079.jpg

finally had everything packed and ready by 11:00… this was way to late on my planning…. Will have to see if we can make up some time!
Sodom en Gomorrah!! House of Fun.... we will see you soon!!
trip080t.jpg

After all the goodbyes we were off to Prieska… long gravel rd waited…. Straight ahead on the R386…our heads still pounding….
We stopped at the famous Karelsgraf for a pic and headed off looking for a place to relax a bit and maybe get something in my stomach.
trip082.jpg

trip083.jpg

Marique just wanted to have a power nap…?? We can clearly understand the meaning of a “Bang Babbelas” while we were having our milo’s and chocolates… sommer so bewerig ook nog!! :'( :'(
The road we came from....
trip084.jpg

At least our little picnic spot was nice......only problem , no Bed!!
trip085.jpg

Eva feeling sorry for herself!! Net so bietjie slaap.......tooeeee SEBLIEF!!??
trip086.jpg

It felt like forever this damm road, when all of a sudden there was 2 springbokkies in the road! :biggrin: :biggrin:  Te fraai!! Al springende het die een oor die draad gepring… and the 2nd one decided to stay in the road.. dom ding…. Then decided to go for the fence next to the road, and slightly misjudged it and WHAMMMM… into the fence… poor thing must have broken his neck…we stopped to see what was wrong and there she was…. Dead. :eek: :eek: … I was already wondering where to put it as I have an extra cargo net… ??? ???... Would have made a cool pic….and biltong!  >:D >:D
RIP little one.
trip087.jpg

A few km away… yet again some strange man running towards the road! ??? ???  Nog ‘n boer, he stopped us and started chatting about a spot he is busy with for all the DS riders, camping, braai bar – and all things nice!! Told him about the springbok and he suggested we stay over at his spot while he will prepare some biltong from the springbok for us to take with! Where in your life!!  :thumleft: :thumleft: There are still REAL people here in the Karoo! Stunning Oom, but we had to roll!! Already 1pm and we still have 400km to do!!!
Here is a pic of his Farm... sounds good!! he said i should spread the word and tell everyone to come and stay for an evening!! We have to go back to get our biltong!! :mwink: :mwink:
trip089.jpg

Here's some more on the way to Prieska...
trip090.jpg

trip091.jpg

We finally arrived in Prieska – and we NEED to eat, still shaking and sweating….. the best cure on a Saturday afternoon in Prieska for babelas!
trip092.jpg

Yip  - was the best vetkoek I ever had!! And sure Marique will agree!!
trip093.jpg

trip094.jpg

Feeling a lot better we set off on our 1st tar road – the R357 to Douglas – to make up some time… but about 30min of driving and there was this “gonk-gonk” from the back…. Eva is falling asleep!!  :eek: :eek: AAAI! "Maagie vol – ogies toe!" Now she DEMANDED a power nap and we parked next to the rd for about 45min…. it was worth it….
trip096.jpg

trip097.jpg

trip098.jpg

trip099.jpg

We arrived in Douglas and decided to take any gravel road so that Eva can stay awake! We took the R370 to Schmidt’s Drift, lekke road – it was almost better than the tar!! 
trip100.jpg

trip101.jpg

From there we carried on the R370 – Gravel all the way – making up some time now….
We decided to stop and rest a bit – was hungry again, and Eva’s feet were killing her!  We had a tank bag full of chilli bites – loads of water – and that was the best snack at every stop!!
trip102.jpg

Eva op ha gelukkigste!! :biggrin: :biggrin:
trip103.jpg

The road became tar and soon got a small gravel rd turning to Warrenton – oh hell why not – we running late anyway!  :ricky: :ricky: We soon got to Warrenton and found out that we are only 50km away from Christiana! GREAT!! :thumleft: :thumleft:  But the sun was setting quickly and it was getting REALLY cold now…. SHNELLL – laat ons gat plek kry om te slaap!!

Just before dark we arrived in Christiana and the 1st place we saw was this bar with rooms at the back to overnight in… R150pp/pn.
Lekke – not doing the tent tonight!! Nice warm bed, some beer and a leke T-bone and my Eva…. And of course Bike! I is the happiest man!!
trip104.jpg

what a day!! Tomorrow would be a bit boring - long way to PTA....
I think it was close to 10 pm when we stumbled across to LALA Land.

Nice adventure for you two  :thumleft:

Carnavon brings back memories from the 2005 GS Challenge, what a cool pub that hotel has  :biggrin:

Looking forward to some more

:happy1: :headbang:
:wav:

more please

Day4 Christiana to Pta

It was thunder – about 6am a leke storm and aren’t we glad we in a warm bed and not the tent!!
There was no power in the dorp and my small gas stove and kettle came in handy, a nice cappuccino and oats so easy….chocolate…. ;D ;D
Bike's parking for the evening- defrosting in the sun now
trip108.jpg

Some pics of the place we stayed - and 'n Jag kat!
trip109.jpg

trip110.jpg

We were ready at about 9am, everything packed and mascot in his place…
trip111.jpg

trip112.jpg

Some big houses on the banks of the river in Christiana...
trip118.jpg

Looking at cheetah land....lyk ma droog
trip117.jpg

So we started the boring N12 towards Bloemhof where we had our B-feast at steers – petrol for the soul, and coffee to warm up!
trip119.jpg

This is where Marique's Grandma was born - next time we will go and have a look....
trip120.jpg

At Wolmaranstad we refueled and had something for the sleepiness – I hate tar roads!
trip122.jpg

Still carried on on the N12 towards Klerksdorp but decided to turn off to Hartbeesfontein and see what that looks like…. Nice quite road…. Had a break under one of the thorn trees, Eva’s famous naps….
Then on our way to Ventersdorp – Marique was falling asleep again :bueller: :bueller:… I know what will fix this – gravel roads!!!  :ricky: :ricky: :ricky:
WHoohooo, saw on the GPS that there’s  some gravel roads parallel with the tar towards Ventersdorp… MOOI, we will take those!!
trip125.jpg

It was fun again and soon came across a ROAD CLOSED sign,  haha, I don’t have a KTM for nothing!! We don’t need no road!!  >:D >:D >:D >:D
trip124.jpg

Weird – a gate in the middle of a public road, sommer like that? Without any warning….!!
trip126.jpg

And then we came across the reason why those sign had been set up… :eek: :eek: :eek:.. No way can we get around or over this sucker!! EISH!!!  We had to turn around and head back to the tar…AAARGHHH..
trip127.jpg

trip128.jpg

Ok fine – we want some beer and we need to get to Gradma’s plot for that! Refueled in Ventersdorp
trip129.jpg

and off we were, the road to Krugersdorp was closed – WTF – so detour towards Carletonville and then back to N14 on some road, then off to Magaliesburg .
Time for OBS and Chilli bites again!
trip130.jpg

And playing with the camera!
trip131f.jpg

trip132.jpg

trip133.jpg

From Magalies we took some dirt rd that took us to Harties
trip134.jpg

trip135.jpg

trip136.jpg

and then back rd to Ouma se Plot!! Sun is setting again – and YES – it’s getting cold!!!
We made it – 1562Km and we are thirsty!!
trip137.jpg

Sunset in Pta.....
trip140.jpg

trip141.jpg

And so we come to an END OF THE BORING PART.......
we stayed in Pta for 5 days - celebrated Marique's B-day and did some maintenance on Bike, AND THEN .... the BEST PART.....LESOTHO, snow, cold, darkness.... to follow >:D >:D

Lekker Scrat!! Ek raak bekommerd oor die slapery jong!

Terloops, is hierdie pic uit jou drome geneem?
M op n pienk KTM? :)

trip135.jpg

Hel man ma dit lyk lekker!Hoe meer ek lees en die nice pics kyk hoe meer raak ek lus vir 'n bike trip! :thumleft:

Scrat and Marique what a lekker trip......so chilled and together :)

Bring on the rest ;)

a great report,,,well done to both of yous

ehm,,,btw you didnt find my name in the blikkiesbar,,,,

i threw it away over december