Call us Crazy!! But what an ADVENTURE!! - Finished! WE MADE IT!!

Hierdie is n 'lemoen' RR - keep it up bud :thumleft:

PS: Glo nie ek sal voor Rut se wedding weer in Kaap wees, sal maar vir vlgnde jaar trippie moet beplan :thumleft:

Hel man,daai foto's is nice maar laat my sit en koud kry hier waar ek sit!Kan nie wag vir die res nie.Lesotho is nou verseker redelik hoog op my lysie van plekke waarnatoe ek nou wil ry!

Fantastic stuff ou boet! Ek verlang baie!

Love your ballas bak shot! ;D  :laughing4: :imaposer:

kom kom kom! Wat gaan hier aan dat hier niks aangaan nie?? Ons wag!

n mens sou sweer julle IT ouens werk actually!  :pot:

kom nou, ons wag!  >:D

Mmmm censored pics...... >:D >:D >:D >:D

I like  what a GRT report ...

Pics are GRT..... :thumleft: :thumleft: :thumleft:

Day7 Oxbow to Molomong Lodge

We greeted the morning with a “sweet alcohol taste” in our mouths  :p :p but proceeded to breakfast – just what the doctor ordered!  :thumleft: We packed up and left just after 9am… excited about what may be waiting around the corner!  :-\ :-\

We encountered some sheep, deff not feeling the cold – we were still gaining altitude and could feel that Bike was not performing at its best…. Even breathing you could realize how “thin” the air is up here!!
img1021y.jpg

As we came around a bend we stumbled onto this! HECTIC!! just by looking at it i start shivering again!! It was FREEZING!!
img1023i.jpg

img1026f.jpg

img1027r.jpg

We had to stop and play a bit.... :biggrin:
img0105amf.jpg

img0107svb.jpg

Bike also left his mark....... :mwink:
img0106z.jpg

Afri Ski was down there - and i'm sure we will find something to drink there........ The view from up here was amazing!!
img0108ufj.jpg

img1030c.jpg

img1031fkb.jpg

We decided to stop at Afri Ski for a snack and like always – A Beer! Lesotho style!
img0111yhe.jpg

Nice place for a honeymoon!!  :mwink: :mwink:
img0115yvl.jpg

img0112w.jpg

img0114dce.jpg

We will deff come back here - looks like a lot of fun!! Met anther WD there - can't remember his name but he was enjoying the slope with his Family!
Cozy chalets - Bottle of wine at the fireplace!!  :thumleft: :thumleft:
img0113clj.jpg

And as you can see, it was really cold - all the ponds were frozen!
img0118t.jpg

Time to get going again, man this is LIFE!!!
img0121tmc.jpg

We started heading towards Molumong – have to say it was a very decent road – everyone warned me about the potholes…. The road was rough here and there but nothing seriaas…
A few pics on the way........
img1045rbo.jpg

img1033r.jpg

img1034s.jpg

img1035x.jpg

img1039o.jpg

img1043o.jpg

Smoke break and Hand defrost........
img1037b.jpg

img0122uzp.jpg

We came across a Diamond mine – here in the middle of nowhere!! 
img1044r.jpg

Also the ice and snow started to disappear as we started our decent into the valley – had to stop for a OBS break again!
img1051bpa.jpg

We going down to that valley......
img1052e.jpg

Hey - I need to take a Pee-pee no pics!!!
img1053.jpg

Marique also having a well deserved break and admiring the rocks... looking for Diamonds!
img0126bmx.jpg

We had another "Give me Money...." cases - he was happy with the sweeties!
img0127fhc.jpg

img0128b.jpg

The road taking us down to the valley.....
img0125jtg.jpg

We started getting towns again lower in the valley and decided to refuel just to make sure….just before Mokhotlong we got the turnoff to Sani to our right and followed the road for about 5km and got our turnoff to Molomong Lodge, NOW the road from there was tricky….  :ricky: :ricky:
Not a lot of pics - Marique had to hold on tight!..
img1056.jpg

Down the one mountain – up the next mountain, all around the following one for about 12km (took us about 35min to do that 12km’s) and we finally got the Molomong Lodge sign. Nasty road leading down the hill but we made it to the front of the Lodge. We were greeted by Rebecca, she showed us around and explained about the water pipes that are frozen, so we will have to use the water provided in the 200L drums, and 5L bottles.  :eek: :eek:
Great, and once again we were all alone – no one there!  I returned to Bike to start unloading and it was then............ when all my hope for the trip disappeared!  Aaag NO MAN!! Of all the things I could forget …. Why did I forget to pack the back Tube?? OR THE TUBE REPAIR KIT!!! AAAAAIIII! What an IDIOT I AM! This is where I have to say thanks to Marique for having faith in me and the situation and she cheered me up again!  :thumleft: :thumleft: :thumleft:

Ok, let’s get the wheel off, see how bad is it…. Damm nail, must have picked it up on the lawn as we stopped at the lodge!! WHAT NOW!!???  ??? ??? ???
Started negotiating with Rebecca about where I can buy Tube repair kit or get the tube fixed…. Only hope was Mokhotlong! We also realized that the lodge only supplied the basics of a backpackers lodge – after all, this is “Molomong Backpackers Lodge”. We had no food – only oats so easy.  And we had no bike to go to town and get some.  Rebecca’s son came around and I finally got him to go to one of their local shops to buy us some food, and 2 beers!  :mwink: :mwink: GREAT!! We are sorted, on the menu for the evening was: Cabbage, 4x tomatoes, a few home grown potatoes, and dodgy frozen chicken. And 2 Black label courts!

Some pics of the valley and the rondavel - sure it must be amazing in summer here...... it was so quite!!
img0133hop.jpg

img0131u.jpg

img0129c.jpg

img0134g.jpg

and pic of my workshop :'( :'( at least i had beer :thumleft:
img0130hoi.jpg

img0132nsd.jpg

Daniel and Jacob, who also worked at the lodge cam to help, it was finally agreed that Jacob will take us to town and we will get the tube fixed there. I will give him petrol money. Shot, let’s do it! 1st we now have to wait for Jacob to get his car…… that took about 2hours!! :eek: :eek:  And it was almost 5pm now! Daniel took us down a hill to where Jacob was waiting,
img0136v.jpg

Marique doing the Moonwalk down the hill in her MX boots!!!
img0137jyy.jpg

Yip it was steep!!!
img0135n.jpg

His car broke down and he had to go borrow someone else’s bakkie now, ??? ???  we were told to walk up to the main road and wait for him….
img0138z.jpg

Far far away is the lodge..... and it's getting dark!!!
img0139rit.jpg

Yet another hour passed, it was getting REALLY cold now and dark!, we decided to walk back to the lodge – and by now we were struggling with the damm MX boots we were wearing!!  Jacob finally made his appearance and we decided that I’ll give him the tube to take to town to get fixed and he will return it early in the morning! Sounds like a plan!
Off he went with the tube into the darkness and we carried on trying to find our way back to the lodge in the dark.
img0141izq.jpg

img0140mfu.jpg

We made it and started to make our cabbage stew, we had a fireplace with a small fire going just to keep it humane inside the lodge, and outside was freezing!
Not a lot of pics taken that evening - me was stressing about my tube and what to do to get back on the road if he does not return with my tube.... ??? ???

It was so dark outside, and the amount of stars we could see was AMAZING!! man oh man - it makes you feel so small in this universe of us!!

Eva was as calm as can be about everything and she convinced me to relax, enjoy the silence and we decided to worry about it in the morning.............

:thumleft: :thumleft: :thumleft: :thumleft: :thumleft: :thumleft: :thumleft:

what a trip!!!!!!!!

very nice

img0111yhe.jpg

Hey, thats me next to your beer! It was nice meeting you Scrat.

Frog said:

Hey Frog!! Sorry man - could not remember your name!!  :thumleft: :thumleft: Lekke meeting you too!! Will see you there again!!?

Scrat said:
Frog said:

Hey Frog!! Sorry man - could not remember your name!!  :thumleft: :thumleft: Lekke meeting you too!! Will see you there again!!?
I will be biking Sani Pass the end of September and will be skiing there in July next year.

eSKaPe said:
Great so far - like the plakkies strapped on the back of the KTemmer

:thumleft: gotta agree with that - didnt know you could pack that much! ;)

Great RR really enjoying it :)

S&M (oops)  .... >:D >:D

What a lekker trip you two had and as you rightfully said thats the life..... :mwink:

Scrat great RR, thanks enjoyed it a lot  :thumleft: