De Vlugt and another gem.

Chrisl

Teelhond
WD Vendor
Couple of weeks ago I got a wattsapp from my "oppasser" asking about a road i have mentioned many moons ago. Can we it do it on the coming weekend?
I have a rubber arm and we will meet in Albertinia on Saturday morning. Nothing booked we will see where we end up that night. Food we have.
Short detour outside Albertinia then Herbertsdale and then the Haelkraal road to Eight Bells hotel. First photo we stop for a bite to eat.

We do Robinsonpass and turn on the Mount Hope road to Zebra.

Kouga 16.jpg
Kouga 15.jpg
Kouga 17.jpg
Kouga 18.jpg

It was so good to see the Mount Hope area got some rain last year. It has been bone dry for many years!! Even the river was running nicely. We cross the Oudtshoorn-George tar road and aim for Heimersrivier. I've never done that short stretch for fear Heimer might still live there!!! ๐Ÿ˜œ We asked around and the people said they asked him to leave many moons ago!! :p
Some tar riding was done only to find out Nols fillingstation had no petrol, but hell they had a lot of drunk people!! The owner of all the businesses must be printing money!! ๐Ÿ’ช I had some petrol in a 10 liter container so we continue until we turn off towards De Vlugt. I loved the road. We stop at Kibuku campsite. I was still thinking if we are going to stay there when two Boston terriers came and said hallo!! Well guess we staying then!!!:love:

Campsite not five star,but the pub is very interesting and so is the owner.
Had a great night camping. The toilet is a old telephone booth. When on the toilet your knees stick out and you have to leave the door open!!!

Kouga 14.jpg
Kouga 30..jpg
Kouga 9.jpg
Kouga 10.jpg
Kouga 11.jpg
Kouga 12.jpg

Sunday morning we were up early and did the coffee and rusk thing and i was taken to the telephone toilet. Did i mention the campsite was not wheelchair friendly!!! :oops: So steil soos Tafelberg, DANKIE vir jou hulp Jan!!!๐Ÿ™
We ride towards De Vlugt and the road just gets better. Pass a old omie herding his flock of sheep over the road. I have seen him on tv. In his 80's and was born and have lived on his farm all his life!!! ๐Ÿ‘
Roosterkoek in De Vlugt ( i did not try the Poef Doef toilet)!!!! ๐Ÿ˜œ and the stunning road out towards Avontuur.

Kouga 35..jpg
Kouga 36..jpg
Kouga 37..jpg
Kouga 34..jpg
Kouga 29..jpg
Kouga 33..jpg

Towards Avontuur is always stunning!! A wee bit narrow with a sidecar, but one learns to gooi langnek around the blind corners!!๐Ÿ™ˆ
Avontuur main road still nothing happens as it did the last time i was there. ;)Glad to see the old loco have not been stolen for scrap iron yet, but there are some bits missing. โ˜น๏ธ ๐Ÿ˜ฌ

Kouga 39..jpg
Kouga 40..jpg
kouga-41-jpg.880871
Kouga 31..jpg
Kouga 32..jpg

• Kouga 41..jpg
    Kouga 41..jpg
    5.8 MB
Last edited:
In Avontuur we had a meeting without switching off or taking our helmets off. I've never ridden/driven the tar road to Uniondale,BUT there is a dirt road that runs all along the mountains east to west and it T's the tar road so when we got two votes in favor for the dirt loop we had to turn right on the Langkloof road to just after Harlem where we turned left on the Bo Kouga road. I loved it and will to it again, but will stop at every house to ask about the history of the road.
While doing the tar section I realized why the Langkloof have now been renamed to DuToitskloof, because every farm belonged to the Du Toit Group of Ceres!!! ๐Ÿ’ช ๐Ÿ‘
The Bo Kouga road was badly eroded by rain and very narrow in some sections.
I had to take a photo of the field of potatoes for Sandbank!!!
We T the tar road just before the pass section.
Kougo 42..jpg
Kouga 19..jpg
Kouga 20..jpg
Kouga 21..jpg
Kouga 23..jpg
Kouga 22..jpg

Uniondale we fill up and let the powers that are know to not phone the brokers yet to pay out our life insurance we are still kicking and smelly!! ๐Ÿ˜œ ๐Ÿ’ช
Go out of town on tar towards Willowmore and took the first dirt left. We've done it before and most probably will again cause it is far prettier than the tar option!!
De Rust was sleepy sunday afternoon with some tourist cars parked in front of the eateries in town. We turn off the R62 towards Dysselsdorp. What a dump it is becoming!!!! :oops: ๐Ÿ˜ฌ Plastic bags everywhere and gazzilion new shacks since I've been there last!!
Kamanassiedam still had lots of water in.
The orange circle is a spillway where water overflows from a top canal to bottom one to irrigate fields just below the canal.
Oudtshoorn was a blur we take dirt until we got on the old cement road and the last dirt of the trip I thought, but not cause the worst was to come. A detour that is really bad because they are tarring the old cement road which was built i think in 1653 cause it looked that old and i drove it lots as a kid!!! ๐Ÿ˜œ

Kouga 27..jpg

Kouga 26..jpg
Kouga 25..jpg
Kouga 24..jpg
Kouga 43..jpg

Last edited:
Calitzdorp for petrol and Huisrivierpass to Karoo Riders den and then home over Garciapass that was raining buckets and someone did not stop to put on his inner!!! ๐Ÿ˜ฌ :ROFLMAO:
Learnt how to pack my wheelchair on the sidecar on this trip which worked out pretty good. Nothing fell off besides me on sunday morning!!! :p

Like always it was a lekke trip and hopefully not the last one. Dankie Jan vir jou hulp, tot die volgende een. ๐Ÿ‘

Kouga 45..jpg
Kouga 46..jpg

Last edited:
Dis altyd 'n voorreg om 'n rr van jou te lees. Dankie vir die deel.

Jan, baie dankie dat jy so mooi na onse mater kyk.

Lekka, Chris! I think I must Google Earth that Bo Kouga area...it sounds interesting.

Dankie vir die rr Chris en Jan, altyd lekker om julle trips te sien en nuwe paaie te ontdek.

Ek laaik jou setup Chris, ek dink net jy moet vir jouself 'n safety belt praktiseer sodat jy ook bo kan bly. :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:
Probeer daai pille in watte toedraai en pak hulle terug in daai houer, dit help so effe en hou langer.

Ek het my gat afgelag oor jou aanmerking "gooi langnek around the blind corners". Ken ons nie daai storie? :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

Dankie Chris - klink seker al afgesaag maar dรชmmit dit was weereens 'n lekker trip! Dit was sommer goed vir my siel en gemoed ook en mens onderskat soms hoe lekker so change-of-scenery bonzai wegbreek kan wees.

Ons het daai aand so lekker gesit en gesels om die vuur, paar lamstjoppies op die kole, biltong in die kies en 'n koue bier in my hand. 'n Entjie weg staan die bikes en ons tente. Ai man - dis my idee van die lewe daai!

Ek gooi 'n paar kiekies in die album.

20240107_085845-01-01.jpeg
20240107_083806-01-01.jpeg
20240107_120607-01.jpeg
20240107_084427-01.jpeg
20240107_083840-01.jpeg
20240107_083017-01.jpeg
20240107_075625-01.jpeg
20240107_073057-01.jpeg
20240107_055850-01.jpeg
20240106_180304-01.jpeg
20240106_153610-01.jpeg