December 2013 Road Trippin'

:patch: :patch: :patch:

hey hey hey! whatchit!

Die thread is oor Dwerg se RR...  :deal:

MY WAY BACK

The next couple of days I spent in Danabay visiting my parents. Also went fishing with Dwerg one day. Dwerg and his wife were killing it. I only caught one and it was too small to keep. ha ha.

Due to the issues with bikes and so on we all basicaly planned our own way back to Pta. Dwerg and Pietskiet were going to ride back together and Gevarlik was in Cape Town and Crazyhorse took the long way back travelling up the eastern coast.

I decided to hit the road on the first of January and make my way to Graaff-Reinet. I left at about 7h00 from Danabay just taking it easy as I knew I did not have that far to go. The road between Mosselbay and Oudtshoorn is very scenic and a nice ride. I stopped for coffee in a small town of which the name I cant remember now and headed towards Meiringspoort. I enjoyed the ride through Meiringspoort a lot. As I understand now they had floods there a few days later. It is so nice to ride through the poort crossing the river I dont know how many times.

Just after Meiringspoort you get to Klaarstroom. From here I decided to take a gravel road to Willowmore. Its about 110 km on the gravel to Willowmore. All the way to Willowmore I was alone on this awesome road, I only saw one bakkie come past and saw one guy walking with a hunting rifle. Amazing to see that some people live in a completely different world than most of us do. Lots of wildlife and some great scenery.

From Willowmore I stayed on the black stuff and made it to Graaff- Reinett by early afternoon. I booked in at a guest house there and just relaxed. Seeing that it was the 1st all the restuarants were closed so dinner was some nuts dried fruit which I had with me.

The next morning I got up real early so that I could drive up to the Valley of Desolation before heading of to Bloemfontein. The Valley of Desolation is just outside Graaff-Reinet and a definate must see, it is in die Camdeboo reserve and a great ride up the mountain in the reserve. From the top you have a great many views and a nice view of Graaff- Reinet. The rest of the day I just cruised to Bloemfontein where stayed for the night at my sister's place. She had invited all the family and we had a braai and a few drinks that evening.

The next morning I would meet Dwerg and Pietskiet in Kroonstad so that we could at least finish the trip together. After meeting in Kroonstad we headed for Parys and a lunch and a beer. Then the last stretch home to the Republic of Pretoria. As we came in to Pretoria we headed straight to one of our favourite waterholes called Die Bos. We let the word out that we where back and soon we had a great party going. Thanks to all the people that came to welcome us back and for listening to our stories.

This whole trip was one of the best experiences and I can not wait for the next one.(Dwerg start planning!!!!)

• 445.jpg
    445.jpg
    116.7 KB
  • 465.jpg
    465.jpg
    184.3 KB
  • 453.jpg
    453.jpg
    174.2 KB
  • 462.jpg
    462.jpg
    157.3 KB
  • 451.jpg
    451.jpg
    174.9 KB
  • 450.jpg
    450.jpg
    138.7 KB
  • 449.jpg
    449.jpg
    182.2 KB
  • 447.jpg
    447.jpg
    137.2 KB
  • 388.jpg
    388.jpg
    57 KB
  • 355.jpg
    355.jpg
    67.3 KB
A few more pics

• 467.jpg
    467.jpg
    126.8 KB
  • 468.jpg
    468.jpg
    142.1 KB
  • 480.jpg
    480.jpg
    120.9 KB
  • 495.jpg
    495.jpg
    140.2 KB
  • 496.jpg
    496.jpg
    158.4 KB
  • 500.jpg
    500.jpg
    114.6 KB
  • 510.jpg
    510.jpg
    135.8 KB
  • 508.jpg
    508.jpg
    164.6 KB
  • 516.jpg
    516.jpg
    165 KB
Day 7 -8 Hartenbos & Day 9 – 11 Stillbaai

After a long and hard trip down, a few days of lounging about was indeed needed! So let me queue the music and give you the highlights Top Gear style :)

Dwerg and I swore in a pub, joined Stoetie and drank in tent, learned some fool proof chat-up lines, found some “HECTIC” biltong, drove in a small car, entertained some kids, and admired some local ‘scenery’ at daai plek, watse plek? Daai Plek! And got driven home.

Thanks Stoetie, dit was n legend kuiertjie! :thumleft:

I decided to go and visit some friends of mine in Stillbaai, leaving Dwerg alone with his inlaws... Sorry Dwerg! What was supposed to be one day turned into 3... So again! Let me queue the music and give you the highlights Top Gear style

Some wind frightended me, I stopped at a lake, I drank some tequila, stood on some rocks, braai’d some fish, played some Yatsi, looked at a sunset, ran out of petrol, watched some oke play guitar and got frightened by some wind again...

Ek en Dwerg het laat LOOP met die taalgebruik!

IMAG0603_zps48efd0de.jpg

IMAG0604_zpsf128b39f.jpg

Daai plek

IMAG0609_zpsfc4920f1.jpg

Local 'Scenery'

IMAG0613_zpsfc0536a5.jpg

IMAG0614_zpsf41631c2.jpg

Stoetie join

IMAG0416_zps1a43d095.jpg

HECTIC Biltong!!!

IMAG0426_zpsd3c85203.jpg

Small Car

2013-12-24252930-Hartenbos-11_zpsf2e91c45.jpg

Entertaining some kids

2013-12-24252930-Hartenbos-14_zps4e96b2ec.jpg

Stopped at a lake

2013-12-262728-Stilbaai-2_zps0dc5909a.jpg

Drank some Tequila

1554373_633110723416697_40477855_n_zps819f7fa4.jpg
1522193_10152530042857576_806321563_n_zpsc3a5c3da.jpg
1521651_10152530042962576_837237130_n_zpsc48b2152.jpg
1453302_10152530043402576_618231894_n_zpse70a9127.jpg

Stood on some rocks

1545137_10152530040372576_1726978028_n_zps859af3f8.jpg

Braai'd some fish

2013-12-262728-Stilbaai-29_zps4f51c8c6.jpg

Played some Yatsi

2013-12-262728-Stilbaai-7_zps01f0d20c.jpg

Looked at a sunset

2013-12-262728-Stilbaai-17_zpse32b9e01.jpg

Some oke on a guitar

2013-12-262728-Stilbaai-50_zps9724be9c.jpg

Ag nee....hierdie kan maar geskuif word na die "has been" section toe......yawn....