December 2013 Road Trippin'

Some more pics from day 4

IMG_1142_zps981521b2.jpg

IMG_1143_zps5b5ddb75.jpg

Skallas mik vir die riete
IMG_1148_zps5ca03740.jpg

Crazyhorse
IMG_1152_zps2cf5aac6.jpg

Uitspan
IMG_1158_zps0ee6fcd9.jpg

My rear brake felt funny the last 20kms or so. Luckily this was one technical issue I knew how to fix  ;D
IMG_1157_zpsf842fff3.jpg

Day 4

After a great evening at CFT's place we woke up very excited and looking forward to great day of riding. The guys even had the "Ridders van die grondpad" open to see what was waiting for us.

The only bad thing is that we had to leave Pietskiet behind. But lots of respect to Pietskiet and his Dakkie.

Thanks to Martina for leading us out from Addo towards the Elandsriver pass.

We all thought that the nice riding would only start in the Baviaans but were we wrong. This Elandsriver pass/road is very nice and has some great views. I enjoyed the ride that morning very much except for the fact that I had to wait for Gevarlik.. :lol8: :lol8:

After meeting up with Scooterbike and having a quick bite we headed off in the direction which we thought was Baviaans. I realised that it was the wrong way and pulled up next to Dwerg and waved him down. We got our bearings and headed of to Baviaans. It was hot as hell in Baviaans but what a place. I would only recommend that you do it out of season because it is a bit dangerous with so much traffic. By that afternoon we all wanted to get to uitspan early for a change and just relax a bit.

We got to Uitspan  where I think the following happend: Drinking, swimming, drinking, jaggermeister x12, eat chips and old biltong, drinking, trampoline, drinking, braai, drinking, carry Dwerg, Sleeping cold. It was great fun.

• 300.jpg
    300.jpg
    110.1 KB
  • 301.jpg
    301.jpg
    93.4 KB
  • 306.jpg
    306.jpg
    159.5 KB
  • 311.jpg
    311.jpg
    224.2 KB
  • 314.jpg
    314.jpg
    157 KB
  • 318.jpg
    318.jpg
    179.4 KB
  • 298.jpg
    298.jpg
    115.4 KB
Day 4 – 5

I woke up early with the boys, they were packed and ready for Baviaanskloof but I have made a strategic decision to not partake in this part of the trip, NOT because I was tired, my nerves were shot and I did not have it in me to take on another day of tricky riding, no not at all... I had a convenient, valid excuse, I mean very good reason for not going with. My clutch slipped and I did not want to brake down in the middle of baviaans and yet again slow everyone’s progress and fun...

So I let them leave without me, a decision I would later regret quite a bit after seeing the pictures... especially the photos of Uitspan!!! :'(

So I started the process of mending my bike. It was a Sunday, so I couldn't do much except sleep and get to know Turd a bit better. CFT helped myself and another biker, a Spanish guy called Enrique Sanmartin (a Naval Architect), who also stayed over at Turds' spot, he met the rest of the crew on Baviaans, but obviously going in the opposite direction as them. CFT mended a few things on our bikes. I got to know Enrique and he turned out to be a lekker oke. One of his stories in particular was hilarious... He asked what these “grrrt” things were on the roads, he said they are everywhere and there must be thousands of them, he tried to figure out what they are for, he thought it was for getting mud off your boots or tires, or maybe for trucks passing through hehe. He nearly fell of his chair when I told him it was to stop cattle from going through the gates! He was floored and could just not grasp the concept until I explained it hahaha!

I went to PE the next day and BMW told me there are no clutches for my dakkie in the country. CFT pulled yet another rabbit of the hat and arranged with Jughead to have a look. I took it to his workshop / garage and he worked on it the following day, he skimmed the clutch plate, did a few other tweaks and my dakkie was almost as good as new. He did an excellent job!

I have to give a special mention to CFT (Turd) for the time spent there, the great company, the best hospitality, the nicest place, his lekker family and all the extra help and favors he offered! A must do stop when you are in the area!!!

P.S. B.T.W. In my first post, I mentioned that my beak broke off. After my multiple tumbles, the mended beak is still intact, one thing I feel very proud of!

Next post, Orange Elephant Backpackers to Hartenbos...

Coffee with the boys before they leave

IMAG0347_zpsa62b6264.jpg

And they are off...

IMAG0365_zps3f62076a.jpg

Kept myself busy at Turds' spot...

2013-12-22-Addo-2_zps8327b663.jpg

IMAG0366_zpsb703f4da.jpg

2013-12-22-Addo-1_zpsf8fb1466.jpg

29Nov: Dwerg is your trip still on?
Yes.
10Dec: Dwerg, the trip still on?
Yes.
14Dec: Dwerg are we still going?
Yes!! Meet us 9am at Patensie!

So I departed from Wilderness, where we were spending our holiday, to Patensie at 6am - I was not going to be late for this! These bliksems will leave for Baviaans without me. I slabed it on the N2 all the way, making good time on my trusty scooter. Got to Patensie at 8:30 and spend 5min checking out the town making sure they were not hiding somewhere, before parking off at Tolbos for a breakfast.
9:30 I was getting really hungry and decided to order breakfast from this lovely young waitress, who at least kept me company as i was the only customer. Then BOOM, 2 groups of about 20 bikes rocked up and Tolbos got busy. There I was reading the paper and chatting to other bikers when at 11am (note not 9am) 4 poor sods in bike gear came walking in, looked like they have been to war. After the meet and greets, they decided to share a muffin before heading off again, and I am thinking what tight budget these ouks must be on...
As Gevaarlik mentioned, Dwerg and Bazinga decided to drag race - direction PE! So we waited, and after a while they returned all confused. We then headed off direction Baviaans this time. At the gate we stopped to get our permits. Seems like the lady working is only there during Decembers, as she wanted to know why my numberplate dont have a GP at the end!! This took some time to explain.
At the boom gate another Wildog, who was exiting, approached us asking for me. I realised that this must be Foreigner from the forum, who told me he will also be in Baviaans that day. Just to realise he is a real foreigner from Spain, who came to SA for a few weeks, got a KLR, and was travelling all by himself - nice one!
The rest of the day consisted of Crazy Horse being knocked off his bike and Gevaarlik deciding to wash his bike, as already illustrated above. And to quote Bazinga: We got to Uitspan  where I think the following happend: Drinking, swimming, drinking, jaggermeister x12, eat chips and old biltong, drinking, trampoline, drinking, braai, drinking, carry Dwerg, Sleeping cold. It was great fun.

• 20131222_145104_resized.jpg
    20131222_145104_resized.jpg
    449.7 KB
  • 20131223_114948_resized.jpg
    20131223_114948_resized.jpg
    317.2 KB
  • 20131222_142013_resized.jpg
    20131222_142013_resized.jpg
    437.3 KB
Day 5 – Uitspan to Mosselbaai

By now I’d been struggling with rear grip for a couple of days but I put it down to shitty BMW suspension and/or not being used to the suspension after a couple of injuries that kept me off the bike for 6 months. Scooterbike also mentioned the previous day that my rear end was sagging badly but I stupidly shrugged it off and told him the bike is lowered.  Scooterbike led us for the day and we rode to Uniondale for breakfast. At this point we said our goodbyes to GeVarlik who was heading for Cape Town, then headed for Prince Alfred’s pass which was a great ride but had way too much traffic. From there we took Kom Se Pad to Knysna. The plan was to ride sewe passe to George but my bike started making a horrible grinding noise. While stopped to try to identify what was making the noise, I also noticed the oil running down my swing arm from the rear shock. The grinding noise turned out to be the rear wheel bearings and I decided to limp my bike towards Mosselbaai on the highway. I luckily made it all the way without incident

Breakfast in Uniondale
photo1_zps9d29f5ea.jpg

Prins Aflreds pass
photo_zps00a15db0.jpg

Kom Se Pad
photo2_zpsa2085580.jpg

photo3_zpse595501b.jpg

IMG_1168_zps87efb91f.jpg

Day Five

Waking up at Uitspan and feeling the affcts of the previous night I was not in a mood for consentrating too much. Luckily the road from Uitspan to Uniondale was a very smooth garvel road and one could almost just sit back and relax even while keeping a good pace. After a few minutes on the bike the side affects were gone and i thoroughly enjouyed the ride to Uniondale.

Prins Alfred pass was very scenic and nice to ride, except for a few bits where the road was a bit corregated. The most enjoyable section to Knysna was Kom se Pad. I love the Forest just as much as I love the mountains. We took it real easy here and just took in the beauty of the Forest. It was such an awesome feeling when we came over the top of one hill and you could see the ocean for the firts time. This when we realised we made it.

Dwerg headed of on the Highway towards Mosselbay, Scooterbike also headed home. I stayed with Crazyhorse as he was also sleeping at my parents place that evening in Danabaai but first we had to stop in George to get a new rear tyre for his bike as the one he had was pretty cooked. After having the new tyre fitted we headed of to Danabaai. As we got to town i first took us down to the beach for a last photo which was fitting after our journey. ha ha.

After the photo we headed to my parents house dumped everything, put on some swimming trunks and took the bikes down to the beach and took our first swim in the ocean. What a feeling.

I sat on the stoep that evening a enjoyed a great sunset reflecting on the trip down. Almost a bit sad that the first leg was over.

What an Adveture!!!!

• 330.jpg
    330.jpg
    152.2 KB
  • 337.jpg
    337.jpg
    66.2 KB
  • 345.jpg
    345.jpg
    187.3 KB
  • 358.jpg
    358.jpg
    105.3 KB
  • 349.jpg
    349.jpg
    186.3 KB
  • 352.jpg
    352.jpg
    94.9 KB
  • 355.jpg
    355.jpg
    67.3 KB
Day 6 PietSkiet Solo Trip from Addo To Hartenbos

This should not interfere with the other stories from day 5 and 6 because it was totally separate.

I got a lift to PE with CFTs’ wife and picked up my dakkie from Jughead, admired his workshop and obvious passion for bikes and dakkies in particular, appreciated how clean my bike looked, paid the man and set off for Hartenbos to meet up with Dwerg and his in-laws.

I decided to make a trip out of it instead of just slabbing it on the N2... This would be my first solo part, and it was very nice in it’s own way. I could follow my nose, decide the route, the amount of stops, where to stop and the pace. So I drove past Humansdorp, then up to Kareedouw, Joubertinia, Oudtshoorn to Hartenbos. What a beautiful road! (Tarmac wise...)

I experienced some crazy winds, saw beautiful mountains, scary clouds and dodgy people on the way to Oudtshoorn. I drove up and down through Oudtshoorn, seeing as though I have never been there, chose a lekker looking place and had a beer and late lunch there, I immediately developed a fondness for this quaint town.

The last stretch through the Robinsons pass to Hartenbos was beautiful! When I neared the top of the pass I basically drove into a thick cloud and could not see more than a couple of meters ahead of me, I rode on very slowly with hazards on and japanese eyes on the road.

I arrived in Hartenbos and Dwerg and his wife picked me up for some family fun, they told me all about their day of deep sea fishing, my second biggest regret of the trip... (i’ll leave it to Dwerg and Bazinga to elaborate). And Dwerg told me about their Baviaans experience, which was my biggest regret of the trip... That’s why I had to photoshop myself into their trampoline fun!

Picked up my Dakkie from Jughead in PE

2013-12-22-Addo-4_zps34af3a97.jpg

Near Joubertina

2013-12-24-Addo-to-Hartenbos-13_zpscfcb2d6f.jpg

Crazy clouds near Oudtshoorn

2013-12-24-Addo-to-Hartenbos-2_zps6910ee04.jpg

Oudtshoorn

2013-12-24-Addo-to-Hartenbos-3_zpsafe2bc07.jpg

Robinsons Pass

2013-12-24-Addo-to-Hartenbos-9_zps2d521760.jpg

2013-12-24-Addo-to-Hartenbos-10_zps006272a7.jpg

Safely In Hartenbos

2013-12-24-Addo-to-Hartenbos-12_zps86ec347a.jpg

Lekker man. Ek en Kokkie het vir Skallas ook Kom se Pad gaan wys...hy sal self vertel maar dit bly een van my all-time favourite paaie!

GeVarlik said:
Day 4....295Km from Addo to Uitspan via Patensie and then Baviaanskloof

When we reached the entrance of the park at Baviaanskloof, we checked in and then we spent the next 20 minutes or so trying to convince them that Scooterbike’s motorcycle was indeed not an off-road scrambler but a fully licensed road legal motorcycle.

:spitcoffee: :spitcoffee:

Ai shame Scooterbike  :lol8: hopelik met daai nuwe pyp sal daai scooter van jou soos n groot mens fietsie klink  :peepwall: :pot:

Martina said:
GeVarlik said:
Day 4....295Km from Addo to Uitspan via Patensie and then Baviaanskloof

When we reached the entrance of the park at Baviaanskloof, we checked in and then we spent the next 20 minutes or so trying to convince them that Scooterbike’s motorcycle was indeed not an off-road scrambler but a fully licensed road legal motorcycle.

:spitcoffee: :spitcoffee:

Ai shame Scooterbike  :lol8: hopelik met daai nuwe pyp sal daai scooter van jou soos n groot mens fietsie klink  :peepwall: :pot:
Dis die klomp se skuld. Ek was die enigste een met 'n mak pyp  :deal:

Right so the floor belongs to GeVarlik and Crazyhorse who still have plenty of riding to cover.

Because of my bike troubles and the added expense, I decided to stay behind in Mosselbaai until after new year. The rest of the holiday was spent doing holiday things. Went fishing, chilled on the beach, caught a bit of the trans agulhas race, spent time with family and a few wild dogs and replaced the wheel bearings on my bike.

This little guy was quite tasty
F1BF3D10-C7E9-4215-B61E-3F2E71516DCD-426-00000065039624AC_zps99e0e160.jpg

Replacing wheel bearings
IMG_1203_zpsf7700c23.jpg

A special thanks to Veldbrand, Dax, SP, Berm_Rooster and all the other people who offered help. Appreciate it all  :thumleft: