Grizz & Dozer's Ride South Africa, Ride Report Complete. YouTube Videos.....

bungycool said:
Lebowski said:
Forgot to mention, and I figure it's better you know now...... you know how heavy your bike is, well rather than do a 50 point turn, I decided to move the ‘bus. Boy that thing leaps forward when you start her in gear…. Straight through the garage door! Hence having a go at putting the access door in (I know, no need for thanks though)

Now I would’ve thought the garage door would’ve stopped the thing, but mate that’s a flimsy door you had there. Straight through and into the wood shop…. I kid you not. Lucky none of the cats were in the way I can tell you. Nicola wouldn’t have been laughing then.

Most of the equipment (well hardly any really, but you’re on holiday) is repairable and the good news is your favourite coping saw is only slightly bent.

Micky said he’d shift the stuff that couldn’t be saved and you can pay him when you get back. Thought you said he was a pain? Seemed really helpful to me…

The chap buying the van says not to worry, you and he can have a chat about revaluing it, he said he’d pay more than scrap prices for it, so that’s good.

In case you think it’s all bad news, I’m fine. Bit of a bump on the head, but nothing serious. I did feel a bit sick after though and I didn’t want to bother Nicola who was upstairs with Micky, the bloke buying(?) the bus and Pete (not sure what he was doing there) and so I threw up in your bbq. Nicola said something about don’t worry the cats do that all the time and that you would sort it when you got home?

Oh and the dog’s dead.

:eek7:

Grizz how much you pay me to ride down and check all is ok??? :imaposer: :imaposer:

Well Jim, it's fun, but not as we know it......

I have just had a really good chuckle here, as my life is going exactly as planned.....  :lol8:

Jon "Lebowski", I suspect the cats cleaned up the Braai (BBQ) area after you were there anyway, and then went indoors and upchucked it on the red carpet..... especially the Ginger Whinger.... he is good at cleaning up and then dumping it elsewhere.

Glad Mickey and Pete were there to help.

grizz said:
bungycool said:
Lebowski said:
Forgot to mention, and I figure it's better you know now...... you know how heavy your bike is, well rather than do a 50 point turn, I decided to move the ‘bus. Boy that thing leaps forward when you start her in gear…. Straight through the garage door! Hence having a go at putting the access door in (I know, no need for thanks though)

Now I would’ve thought the garage door would’ve stopped the thing, but mate that’s a flimsy door you had there. Straight through and into the wood shop…. I kid you not. Lucky none of the cats were in the way I can tell you. Nicola wouldn’t have been laughing then.

Most of the equipment (well hardly any really, but you’re on holiday) is repairable and the good news is your favourite coping saw is only slightly bent.

Micky said he’d shift the stuff that couldn’t be saved and you can pay him when you get back. Thought you said he was a pain? Seemed really helpful to me…

The chap buying the van says not to worry, you and he can have a chat about revaluing it, he said he’d pay more than scrap prices for it, so that’s good.

In case you think it’s all bad news, I’m fine. Bit of a bump on the head, but nothing serious. I did feel a bit sick after though and I didn’t want to bother Nicola who was upstairs with Micky, the bloke buying(?) the bus and Pete (not sure what he was doing there) and so I threw up in your bbq. Nicola said something about don’t worry the cats do that all the time and that you would sort it when you got home?

Oh and the dog’s dead.

:eek7:

Grizz how much you pay me to ride down and check all is ok??? :imaposer: :imaposer:

Well Jim, it's fun, but not as we know it......

I have just had a really good chuckle here, as my life is going exactly as planned.....  :lol8:

Jon "Lebowski", I suspect the cats cleaned up the Braai (BBQ) area after you were there anyway, and then went indoors and upchucked it on the red carpet..... especially the Ginger Whinger.... he is good at cleaning up and then dumping it elsewhere.

Glad Mickey and Pete were there to help.

I assumed sanity prevailed with this weather?

Indeed my young friend, indeed.

We were kinda marooned yesterday, used Deon's pickup truck to go to a variety of shops and pick up stuff.
Not as much fun as with the bikes, especially as we have had good radio comms since leaving Cape Town, thanks to Goose sorting out the leads on the headsets for the radios I had bought in the UK.

Radio comms make a huge difference to a ride like this, the pleasure of sharing, chatting, being able to stop and take a pic while the other carries on etc..... Radios Rule.

We had some WD's over for a small Braai last night in the rain and wind.

Cancelled the Rustenburg trip to the family farm for today, tomorrow may be better

Just one pic as this PC shuts down when asked the time.....

Last night.

P1010965_zps71851c45.jpg

Full story obviously later, but just one photo for now.....

Massive Thanks to Maverick, Super Foxi (Dirk and Mike) and also the courier service for delivering a R7000 incl delivery, shock.

Fitted at 06.00 mainly by Deon, followed by a quick rearend service and sorting of the brakes by Dozer.

5pm yesterday, met by a face only a mother could love.

P1010961_zps0b2a7d8b.jpg

This shock is kinda pivotal to the 1500km trip to Cape Town, even though I suspect I had been riding without since Mountain Shadows above Elliot......

Still raining outside, off to see Woody1 and LouisXander over at Woody's place, to look at all his CNC woodworking machines.

Later Dudes/Dudesses  (I doubt many people actually know the meaning of Dude)  :peepwall:

Enjoying this tremendously.

BTW from Wikipedia:

Dude is an old term, recognized by multiple generations although potentially with slightly different meanings.[2] From the 1870s to the 1960s, dude primarily meant a person who dressed in an extremely fashion-forward manner (a dandy) or a citified person who was visiting a rural location but stuck out (a city slicker).

Thanks guys.

Yep, Dudes indeed..... Dude farms of course are stud farms in the USA.

I think I had ridden The Whale for around 1000km or more with a bled out rear shock, compensating a lot of the time by standing up to shift the COG a bit lower and toward the front.

So this shock was a real winner as the trip to Cape Town and then probably a few hunderd kilometers in and around the Cape would have been uncomfortable to say the least.

So both Deon and I were up by 05.00 and he could not wait to get going with fitting the new shock and also to give the rear end a good going over..... :pot:

There are more photos of the whole process, but this was the result.

P1010979_zps17b92ed6.jpg

The reear brake has never been much more than a decoration, but Deon insisted we remove the rear wheel and then at least clean up and oil up any moving parts to eliminate age wear from the equation.
I did help..... :imaposer: and made the coffee.

P1010980_zps012b009e.jpg

More in a bit.

After this we showered and then took the bakkie and drove over to Woody1's place where we were joined by LouisXander and spent the next four hours looking and drooling over Woody's CNC woodworking machines and some of the items he has made, including a full violin he machined.

Woody's latest baby..... I hope he will add more clear descriptions, all I can say is that I wish I could use tools like this..... oooohhhh, and he is a lucky man, how many of your wives will let you bring in huge machines like this lazer cutter inside the house  :eek7:

P1010982_zpsaebbb0c0.jpg

Next up a trip to "Die Duiwehok" = "The Pigeon House" which used to house racing pigeons till Woody added quite a few brick courses to it and raised the roof in order to start building his hobby woodshop..... I am officially jealous of this space.

Large, efficient tools everywhere, most bought for sensible or silly low prices.

And on the other side, a machine he built himself, cutting a quick pic he programmed earleir.....

P1010988_zpsb946486a.jpg

There are loads of things made here, everyone more interesting, complext than the last.....

Pepper mills with ceramic grinders?

P1010997_zpsf456030b.jpg

Back to the CNC macining that was on the go earlier......

RESULT

P1010993_zps43459c04.jpg

Then we were joined by his wife, youngest and mum  in law, who looks younger than him  :peepwall:

At this point, after coffees and biscuits, Louis had to go, and lucky for us, being rainy and cold....... Pancake time in the Woody Home, so Mrs Woody1 made a pile of pancakes and felt sorry enough for Dozer who was standing there dribbling and whimpering like a beat dog...... she offered us a share in the family treat. Thank you !!!

Caught in the act by my own camera.... thanks Woody !!

After we left there is was off to some shops to find bits n pieces, then home via "Devil's Inn Pizza" where we had R7.50 ice cream cones and odered some serious pizza's, then home to relax.

Hope the weather clears up so that we can take the bikes out again tomorrow and ride to the farm and see aunt, cousins and maybe pop in to Touchdown69 Mike who spent the day in hospital having his kidney stones mined.

LouisXander said:
Julle blixems! Wanneer het die pannekoek in die deal gekom!!

Dit was Woody meneer..... !!!

Just after you left, he said to Mrs Woody " I wish Louis did not have such a lot to do, and so many bikes to ride..... make us some pancakes please, we will miss him"  :peepwall:

I suspect they were waiting for Deon and I to leave, but of course when he started grinding his teeth, dribbling tears over his little red cheeks and making those horrible noises that make people say "Ag Shame" Mrs Woody could not resisit him any more.  She did however also produce a meat cleaver from the Voortrekkers that she showed us, maybe as a warning.

PS: Those pancakes were really nice, really really nice.

I promise,  I had nothing to do with this.... it was a surprise for me as well.

Sorry Louis... wassieekkie  :imaposer:

They are still riding around and having FUN.  Luckily for me I am close by and got a picture of them leaving this afternoon.
Don't worry LX,  pannekoeke long time finished...  :imaposer:

DOZER was here !!  :ricky: :ricky:

• Brakpan-20130421-00583.jpg
    Brakpan-20130421-00583.jpg
    70.1 KB
  • bulldozer.jpg
    bulldozer.jpg
    15.7 KB
Man daai rooi fiets is n beauty!! Ek is toe vanoggend 7h00 al Chimes toe met die KTM en het eers na 13h00 Rian se sms gekry.

woody1 said:
They are still riding around and having FUN.  Luckily for me I am close by and got a picture of them leaving this afternoon.
Don't worry LX,  pannekoeke long time finished...  :imaposer:

DOZER was here !!  :ricky: :ricky:

Dankie Kobus, dit lyk great.

Louis, jy het n nice ride gemis, twee gebreekte KTM's langs die pad  :peepwall:

LouisXander said:
Ja welkom. Ek het gewonder of jy kan tik! :imaposer: synde jy alles kan fix!

My Vingers staan vir niks verkeerd nie, en die tong tippie toets slaag ek altyd.

Kan my wenkbroue met my tong ook lek en haal sommer asem deur my ore.

Maklik man.

Boet glad to see that you are having an obscene amount of fun and relaxation. Will you be bringing some WD stickers back. I'm looking for a reflective for the helmet. Hint hint nudge nudge ya know wadda mean????