Grizz & Dozer's Ride South Africa, Ride Report Complete. YouTube Videos.....

grizz said:
In Richmond tonight.

Impulsively decided to continue riding, to break the back of this Cape Town ride.

Booked into a BIKER FRIENDLY GUEST HOUSE....... BE BLESSED.

RUN BY SAAG AND SUMI VISAGIE.

THE BEST PART IS THAT IT IS REALLY SECURE, AND SUMI SAID I COULD PULL MY BIKE INSIDE MY SELF CATERING FLAT....  :eek:

When I came out the shower, two contractors who are booked into some of their self catering flats were just pushing their CR450 and KTM200 out of their flats.....

There are 5 flats that sleep a total of 24 people.

Pricing and extras are extremely Reasonable. Tonight they are having a moerse braai for the 5 contractors that are booked in here.

www.wheretostay.co.za/beblessed  Contact: Saag 0829449240 or 0536930147

Contact them directly to discuss or book.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

Enjoy the rest of the trip Grizz.

Thanks for sharing a piece of your and Dozer's life with us!!!

Thanks for the welcome from all the other Dogs!!!! just a short update on Grizz's trip to CT. Received text at 08:30, "Filling up on fuel and coffee in Beaufort West, then to Laingsburg for Oil top-up. Hardegat pushed to Richmond last night!!!!

going off now to fiddle in garage, be back later...........

Riaan, hoop jy is al in die Kaap!!

Tx for the chat along the way, and especially for the Lemon-Cream cookie and 'Vrugte-lekker"!!

I'm at home and clocked 2200km on the HP2, with average fuel consumption of 20km/l!

Best of luck and I'm looking forward to read the final report...!!!!  :ricky:

Groete,

adelbert.champeon said:
Riaan, hoop jy is al in die Kaap!!

Tx for the chat along the way, and especially for the Lemon-Cream cookie and 'Vrugte-lekker"!!

I'm at home and clocked 2200km on the HP2, with average fuel consumption of 20km/l!

Best of luck and I'm looking forward to read the final report...!!!!   :ricky:

Groete,

Moerse nice om met jou te chat by die roadworks.

Padlos deel is mos net reg. as daar meer tyd was kon jy koffie ook gedrink het.

650km done on a lazy pace today.

Went over old Du Toits Kloof Pass and has las Lemon Cream and coffee looking out over Gods country.

Found myself repeatedly laughing out loud in my helmet today at just how stunning this country is.

Safely in Paarl at 13.55 today.

Next few days will be spent pootling over to Simons Town, Waterfront and Goose's place if he replies to his text  :peepwall:

Also need to do a bit of shopping at Woolies and Mr Price.

Well old Grizz arrived here at my place - as hot as a lizzard on a hot-rock!! 

Bit better temp's than the UK at the moment.

Posting a few pics below for Rian..........

1. Rian's tarmac river crossing in Richmond - just outside the "Be Blessed" self catering BFBB (Biker Friendly B & B) owned by SAAG & SUMI
2. SAAG met sy oupa se blaasbalk op sy troon - NAAIS!!!! (for Nicola's info - it's a "puffer" )
3. SAAG het hom by die "kop" beet...................  ek weet nie watter tiepe "blaas" hy nou doen nie........  >:D
4. The "Group" including Saag & Sumi the hosts, with some their tenants (working on fibre optic lines) showing exceptional Saffer hospitality to Grizz!  :thumleft:

• P1020125.jpg
    P1020125.jpg
    68.4 KB
  • P1020151.jpg
    P1020151.jpg
    78.5 KB
  • P1020154.jpg
    P1020154.jpg
    78.4 KB
  • P1020161.jpg
    P1020161.jpg
    82.3 KB
Well, after borrowing Goose's power point adaptor, I went looking Tuesday and found something similar at Outdoor Warehouse in Boksburg. Not in the same class of waterproof, but it should do. Then I went looking for some 3mm perspex cut-off to make my own mounting plate, and to get prices on materials to build a "Braai afdak" (so Woody and LouisXander don't have to get wet if they visit for bbq again).

At the steel shop I noticed wetness on my rear wheel, first thought BSTRD DOG!!!!. Found a pinsized hole in brakeline!!! WHAT NOW????

Quick call to Justin at Motorad Tech to get wallet damage. He said to bring it in, as he needs sample to have replacement made up. 20km back home to load on trailer, then to his shop.

Great news!!!! as I stopped he said he had a replacement, 20min and 450 bucks later "Tweety" was ready to go!!!

He does great work at a very reasonable price compared to brand name shops, and does it quickly.

Finished cutting, drilling and priming my "Boerplan" power supply mounting, paint and mount tomorrow.

Going off now to books to read......

Great news... I sommer order some rain and visit you this weekend.

Justin is TOP's.  I took my R1150 RT to him only for repairs and service.  :laughing4:

Dozer said:
Well, after borrowing Goose's power point adaptor, I went looking Tuesday and found something similar at Outdoor Warehouse in Boksburg. Not in the same class of waterproof, but it should do. Then I went looking for some 3mm perspex cut-off to make my own mounting plate, and to get prices on materials to build a "Braai afdak" (so Woody and LouisXander don't have to get wet if they visit for bbq again).

At the steel shop I noticed wetness on my rear wheel, first thought BSTRD DOG!!!!. Found a pinsized hole in brakeline!!! WHAT NOW????

Quick call to Justin at Motorad Tech to get wallet damage. He said to bring it in, as he needs sample to have replacement made up. 20km back home to load on trailer, then to his shop.

Great news!!!! as I stopped he said he had a replacement, 20min and 450 bucks later "Tweety" was ready to go!!!

He does great work at a very reasonable price compared to brand name shops, and does it quickly.

Finished cutting, drilling and priming my "Boerplan" power supply mounting, paint and mount tomorrow.

Going off now to books to read......

Fokkitt Boet maar jy skryf mooi.

Glad your arse was just gently stretched, rather than being ripped a wallet sized one.

Its great to find a good tech that you can trust too.

Maybe you should start taking a few pics of your "Boere-Tech" plan for other guys to copy and to post in the Pooratech thread.

I think what you should do is invite W1 & LX plus a few other guys to come supervise your Braai Afdak (Afkark) build too.

I have a few final errands to run this morning, including getting Mickey my neighbour a carton of ciggies, as I used "Face Time" on my phone last night after Maverick had called me for a chat earlier on my iPhone, so I gave my lovely wifey a call at home too for a video chat.
Seems Mickey came and cut my grass this week as he knows I loke it short. He smokes roll ups, so some real ciggies should or could be a treat for him.

Woke at 02.30 and almost 04.00 now..... Insomnia sucks.

woody1 said:
Great news... I sommer order some rain and visit you this weekend.

Justin is TOP's.  I took my R1150 RT to him only for repairs and service.   :laughing4:

I dont think you need rain to visit Deon boet.... Just call or text to see if he is in and drop in. Thats how we do it  :peepwall:

OK,OK!!!! Hold your horses!!!! got up 5:30, did bachelor thing( teeth,washing, tea & toast etc)then sprayed first coat (silver engine enamel) on plate. Decided to check forum, better than watching paint dry????

Horses?? Waiting for next Payday before buying material 4 Braaidak ( rough estimate 3K), will have to dig holes, clean oil off steel etc.

Going for visit with Lady Friend in Pretoria later till Saturday, then back to hang around my shack

Enough!! Gonna go watch paint dry now.

LouisXander said:
Watter een vd 2? Die intelektuele ene, of die amoreuse ene?

Ek Weet. Ek Weet. Ek Weet !!!!!

I know that answer Sir !!

Intelektueele een. Intelectual one !!

I think after spending three weeks on the road with me AND BEING IN RADIO COMMS CONTACT ALL THE TIME........... He needs a bit of intelectual stimulation.  :pot:

You've got it wrong Good Sir, he needs some peace and quiet, only noise must be from something other than words!! :imaposer:

I think radio comms is a great thing on a ride like this.

However, we need to hear Dozers opinion as well. I suspect he has one too.

Thanks again to Goose for being the brains on that level.

LouisXander said:
You've got it wrong Good Sir, he needs some peace and quiet, only noise must be from something other than words!! :imaposer:

So meneer bedoel n gehyg na asem??

So sir means a barrage of heavy breathing??