Grizz & Dozer's Ride South Africa, Ride Report Complete. YouTube Videos.....

bungycool said:
Boet glad to see that you are having an obscene amount of fun and relaxation. Will you be bringing some WD stickers back. I'm looking for a reflective for the helmet. Hint hint nudge nudge ya know wadda mean????

Hi Jim, will see if he can get some on short notice. I need some too for my helmet and bike.

Will let you know.

Hey Deon, on the forum now, welcome and enjoy. Enjoy the rest of boeties time here.

Dirty Boy said:
Hey Deon, on the forum now, welcome and enjoy. Enjoy the rest of boeties time here.

Thanks James.

Today was another great day.

Impulsively rode to Hartebeespoort dam, did the touristy stuff, Wimpy Brekkie omelette with no power on the kettles for a decent Wimpy mega coffee  ::), then visited Mike Touchdown69 at Brooklyn in Pretoria, and then back to Woody1's place for a quick visit to collect some gifts he had made for Rian (Not sure why  :pot:  )

Then home and a drink, some biltong and web intro with ouboet.

This ride really should have been a 3 month trip for us.

This country has so much to offer.

Thanks again for you and your families hospitality when we stayed over with you.

Mopping mud at 6am was  the best part of the trip....... keeping busy.

WELCOME ....... DOZER!!!!!!!!!!  :thumleft: :thumleft: :thumleft:

Deon ou maat - jy sal nie jammer wees dat jy ooit die Wilddog forum gejoin het nie........ soos jy nou al sal weet - hulle is darem 'n regte klomp naais bliksems!!  :thumleft:

Goose said:
WELCOME ....... DOZER!!!!!!!!!!  :thumleft: :thumleft: :thumleft:

Deon ou maat - jy sal nie jammer wees dat jy ooit die Wilddog forum gejoin het nie........ soos jy nou al sal weet - hulle is darem 'n regte klomp naais bliksems!!  :thumleft:

* Thanks Gerard (Die Ingelse uitspraak)

Peter, jy weet mos ek is ook n horingrige Blixem.

Moet nou net  meisie kry wat rook (of my laat rook, en weet hoe om brandewyn te gooi, met haar eie job en dalk n bike, of sy kan saam met my ry as sy oulik genoeg is.

Ek het op die trippie wat nou amper 6000km is met Ouboet Rian gesien watse nice ouens hier op die forums leef.

OK, here is a LOL moment.

Dozer and Grizz sharing one PC, logged in and out etc.....

Grizz hier, Deon het bo n reply geskryf as ek.

In the mean time I have just looked at this thread...... Remember it ?

https://wilddog.net.za/forum/index.php?topic=106585.0

One for Goose  :peepwall:

alize-40.jpg

Welcome Deon, great to have you on the forum. Looks like you boy's have been really busy visiting up a storm through SA. Good to see 2 brothers share an epic trip like this. You guys seem to be eating all the time, no wonder your shocks give in  :imaposer: :imaposer:

Enjoy the time remaining for your adventure together. :thumleft:

Tiger8 said:
Welcome Deon, great to have you on the forum. Looks like you boy's have been really busy visiting up a storm through SA. Good to see 2 brothers share an epic trip like this. You guys seem to be eating all the time, no wonder your shocks give in  :imaposer: :imaposer:

Can you blame us Schaun?

Rian says thanks again for the number plates..... :peepwall:  I think they broke his shock (I carried them on my bike.  :biggrin:

Busy getting the Whale ready for his solo trip that starts tomorrow at 06.00

He wants to try make Colesberg in one run..... 655km is a long trek, we did one from Elliott to Durban and the last 150km gets uncomfortable  :deal:

If he is stupid enough to do Colesberg in one day, then he could have two short days to get to Paarl by Thursday evening, leaving Friday to sort out the last of his banking appointments.

Dozer said:
Tiger8 said:

Can you blame us Schaun?

Rian says thanks again for the number plates..... :peepwall:  I think they broke his shock (I carried them on my bike.  :biggrin:

Busy getting the Whale ready for his solo trip that starts tomorrow at 06.00

He wants to try make Colesberg in one run..... 655km is a long trek, we did one from Elliott to Durban and the last 150km gets uncomfortable  :deal:

If he is stupid enough to do Colesberg in one day, then he could have two short days to get to Paarl by Thursday evening, leaving Friday to sort out the last of his banking appointments.

I made a suggestion - that he turns off the N1 just after Beaufort West (left) and heads down to Ladismith via Meiring's Poort & Oudtshoorn ........ spend a night with Veldbrand at Koedoeskloof!  From there it's a pretty easy run via Calitzdorp, Barrydale, Montagu, Robertson & Worcester back to Cape Town (or Paarl) ...... GREAT scenery once more and a fitting goodbye stretch to SA for his last days!

Safe trip Rian - see you down here later this week!  :thumleft:

Right, as mentioned by the baby brother above.... thanks to all for the variety of gifts, things, number plates  :biggrin: etc we have been given along the way, as well as hospitality, chats etc.

Yesterday we had planned to go to the family farm to wrap up the "family side" of this ride, but somehow could not get hold of the relevant people, so we just did an impulsive ride out to Hartebeespoort dam to test the new rear shock...... NIIIIIICE !!
Massive difference.

P1020030_zps8662a088.jpg

Deon had a Wimpy breakfast and both of us tea, as the coffee machines were down (No electricity WTF?? )
And we watched some "Baaaikers" being total Dwisses reving up noisy bikes in their colours. Listening to the customers in the Wimpy comment I wished the riders could hear it and respond in a way other than potentially threatening or assaulting them.
I wish people in general would be more tollerant and more considerate of each other (I include guys like the Groot Dwiss who came around the corner of the 4 way stop in a beige Land Cruiser, partly out of control, arse swinging wildly side to side, endangering many people waiting to cross the intersection)

After this we rode to Tant Malie se Winkel (well overpriced for tourists) where I bought 4 little blocks of real fudge and an Old South African flag Teaspoon for my English home for R49.50  :eek:

P1020041_zps97516fee.jpg

On the way back we visited Mike, who bought Thunder Child from me 11 years ago, and then restored her again to standard, after he had encouraged me to chop her in the first place.
It was great seeing him arrive home from hospital after us as he had spent the night in there having his kidney stones mined in the operating theatre. Mike and his family have been an extension of my own family for years, and it is always interesting that time does not alter certain friendships.  He also gave me a New York Mafia number plate and the plate of his Aprillia 1000 that he sold on last week.

From there we rode back to Woody1's place as he had called to inform me that we had forgotten something the other day.....

A placemat for Dozer's Brandy & Pepsi Max mug, which has now had 4 coats of clear varnish.

P1020063_zpsd7cca131.jpg

And again, a surprise for me.....

A set of 6 placemats that I will finish in the UK.

P1020062_zps5759cfc0.jpg

Tonight is a last braai with Deon, Thick T-Bone steaks and Cheese Grillers washed down with a few B&C's
Then off to Cape Town in episodes tomorrow morning, hopefully stopping over at Nimmo's Guest House in Colesberg if my Poephol makes it.

Lekker man, Hope you do the trippie safe and uneventfull! Colesberg is just around the corner.....stare into my eyes....

grizz said:
Right, as mentioned by the baby brother above.... thanks to all for the variety of gifts, things, number plates  :biggrin: etc we have been given along the way, as well as hospitality, chats etc.

Yesterday we had planned to go to the family farm to wrap up the "family side" of this ride, but somehow could not get hold of the relevant people, so we just did an impulsive ride out to Hartebeespoort dam to test the new rear shock...... NIIIIIICE !!
Massive difference.

P1020030_zps8662a088.jpg

Deon had a Wimpy breakfast and both of us tea, as the coffee machines were down (No electricity WTF?? )
And we watched some "Baaaikers" being total Dwisses reving up noisy bikes in their colours. Listening to the customers in the Wimpy comment I wished the riders could hear it and respond in a way other than potentially threatening or assaulting them.
I wish people in general would be more tollerant and more considerate of each other (I include guys like the Groot Dwiss who came around the corner of the 4 way stop in a beige Land Cruiser, partly out of control, arse swinging wildly side to side, endangering many people waiting to cross the intersection)

After this we rode to Tant Malie se Winkel (well overpriced for tourists) where I bought 4 little blocks of real fudge and an Old South African flag Teaspoon for my English home for R49.50  :eek:

P1020041_zps97516fee.jpg

On the way back we visited Mike, who bought Thunder Child from me 11 years ago, and then restored her again to standard, after he had encouraged me to chop her in the first place.
It was great seeing him arrive home from hospital after us as he had spent the night in there having his kidney stones mined in the operating theatre. Mike and his family have been an extension of my own family for years, and it is always interesting that time does not alter certain friendships.  He also gave me a New York Mafia number plate and the plate of his Aprillia 1000 that he sold on last week.

From there we rode back to Woody1's place as he had called to inform me that we had forgotten something the other day.....

A placemat for Dozer's Brandy & Pepsi Max mug, which has now had 4 coats of clear varnish.

P1020063_zpsd7cca131.jpg

And again, a surprise for me.....

A set of 6 placemats that I will finish in the UK.

P1020062_zps5759cfc0.jpg

Tonight is a last braai with Deon, Thick T-Bone steaks and Cheese Grillers washed down with a few B&C's
Then off to Cape Town in episodes tomorrow morning, hopefully stopping over at NemoDakar's Guest House in Colesberg if my Poephol makes it.
Rian my maat jy moet veilig ry en dit geniet! KTM Groete!

Thanks Kosie. Solank ek en die Walvis net nie neerblixem iewers nie, soos waneer ek wil afklim, of petrol volmaak.

Excluding my overnight backpack that lives in the one side panier and contains my life, I have now packed the bike and am ready to hit the road in the morning when I wake up.....whatever time it happens to be.

The biker is now rear and top heavy as  have added a 5 litre oil and also my bounty of EC number plates.

I was going to try source a new Free State Cheetah one, but riding into town, versus just filling up and meeting an old friend briefly at the Engen and Wimpy on the N1, it seemed more sensible just to fill up and hit the road again.

Bike got a final prep and a Paraffin, Sunlight dishwashing liquid, and presure cleaner wash earlier.

Now it looks respectable again   :biggrin:

P1020091_zps5f9b9b3b.jpg

Ride safe and don't forget to enjoy it.

Its Nimmo(Jean) in Colesberg. nemodakar is a moegoe you definitely do not want to meet. >:D Your liver will never forgive you  :imaposer:

Welcome to the forum Deon!!!

Riaan, ride safe tomo mate!

jupiter said:
Ride safe and don't forget to enjoy it.

Its Nimmo(Jean) in Colesberg. nemodakar is a moegoe you definitely do not want to meet. >:D Your liver will never forgive you  :imaposer:

Het jou.  Dankie..... Ek het gedink Woody1 het dit in erg Afrikaans neergeskryf  :peepwall:

Sal oppas vir Nemodakar. ;)

In Richmond tonight.

Impulsively decided to continue riding, to break the back of this Cape Town ride.

Booked into a BIKER FRIENDLY GUEST HOUSE....... BE BLESSED.

RUN BY SAAG AND SUMI VISAGIE.

THE BEST PART IS THAT IT IS REALLY SECURE, AND SUMI SAID I COULD PULL MY BIKE INSIDE MY SELF CATERING FLAT....  :eek:

When I came out the shower, two contractors who are booked into some of their self catering flats were just pushing their CR450 and KTM200 out of their flats.....

There are 5 flats that sleep a total of 24 people.

Pricing and extras are extremely Reasonable. Tonight they are having a moerse braai for the 5 contractors that are booked in here.

www.wheretostay.co.za/beblessed  Contact: Saag 0829449240 or 0536930147

Contact them directly to discuss or book.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.