Impendle with JonW

wilddoc

KTM 950 Adventure
I am just going to start this.
Will post a few photos and try to put a video on You tube .
This ride was not for the fainthearted and I am glad that I got my Honda650.Even I could do this be it a bit slow.But got to the end point as well.
The group was big with big names like Alfie Cox ( I was so slow that I only saw him at the start.) Those guys can ride.
Thanks For the help in the Mud.
There were a lot of falls but nothing to serious.
The seenary was magnificent The road/track was Bad but the day was great.
I hope the group will post photos I did not take a lot.

• IMG-20121104-00398.jpg
    IMG-20121104-00398.jpg
    99 KB
  • IMG-20121104-00399.jpg
    IMG-20121104-00399.jpg
    86.7 KB
  • IMG-20121104-00403.jpg
    IMG-20121104-00403.jpg
    119.8 KB
  • IMG-20121104-00395.jpg
    IMG-20121104-00395.jpg
    146.2 KB
Come Boys where is the rest of the report and photo's??????

I think they are still in bed resting and some probably in Hospital.
Dehydrated and bruised.
Glad you did not come along with the 990.
I am quite stiff but glad I could make it.

Great day to be in the valley with full adventure kit on negotiating bolders mud and fallen trees.
Picking up 200kg bikes cant wait till the next one.

• IMGP2164.JPG
    IMGP2164.JPG
    262.8 KB
  • IMGP2169.JPG
    IMGP2169.JPG
    223.9 KB
  • IMGP2168.JPG
    IMGP2168.JPG
    254.7 KB
  • IMGP2167.JPG
    IMGP2167.JPG
    230.9 KB
  • IMGP2165.JPG
    IMGP2165.JPG
    202.4 KB
  • IMGP2162.JPG
    IMGP2162.JPG
    199.4 KB
  • IMGP2151.JPG
    IMGP2151.JPG
    168 KB
  • IMGP2148.JPG
    IMGP2148.JPG
    229.8 KB
  • IMGP2137.JPG
    IMGP2137.JPG
    206.3 KB
  • IMGP2135.JPG
    IMGP2135.JPG
    143.4 KB
Country side green not much mud

• IMGP2170.JPG
    IMGP2170.JPG
    219.2 KB
  • IMGP2186.JPG
    IMGP2186.JPG
    252.2 KB
  • IMGP2185.JPG
    IMGP2185.JPG
    241.7 KB
  • IMGP2182.JPG
    IMGP2182.JPG
    236 KB
  • IMGP2181.JPG
    IMGP2181.JPG
    240.9 KB
  • IMGP2179.JPG
    IMGP2179.JPG
    173.8 KB
  • IMGP2178.JPG
    IMGP2178.JPG
    189.6 KB
  • IMGP2177.JPG
    IMGP2177.JPG
    249.4 KB
  • IMGP2176.JPG
    IMGP2176.JPG
    250.4 KB
  • IMGP2171.JPG
    IMGP2171.JPG
    199.7 KB
23 bikes eventually split up all home safe  Thanks Jon

• IMGP2216.JPG
    IMGP2216.JPG
    168.9 KB
  • IMGP2193.JPG
    IMGP2193.JPG
    192 KB
  • IMGP2215.JPG
    IMGP2215.JPG
    174.4 KB
  • IMGP2208.JPG
    IMGP2208.JPG
    159.7 KB
  • IMGP2207.JPG
    IMGP2207.JPG
    145.1 KB
  • IMGP2200.JPG
    IMGP2200.JPG
    175.7 KB
  • IMGP2197.JPG
    IMGP2197.JPG
    239.3 KB
  • IMGP2191.JPG
    IMGP2191.JPG
    227 KB
  • IMGP2206.JPG
    IMGP2206.JPG
    144 KB
How can you say there was no mud.
I got stuck in a mud hole.Wrong line mud with big rocks infront of the front and back wheel.Thanks for the help.If it was not for that I would still be out there.
Thanks JonW again.
Sorry I mist the ride home but had to get to Hospital.Not for my self but to work.

Big thanks to you for your sweeping efforts Outthere :thumleft:  :thumleft:  :thumleft:  :thumleft:  :thumleft:

Without you to ride their bikes over some of that stuff there would still be okes riding.

Thanks to JonW & the rest of the gang for an awesome ride, enjoyed it but was TOTALLY knackered afterwards, enjoy the technical stuff but that many rocks for so far pushed me to my limits!! Never the less it was an awesome ride enjoyed by all i think, i think the most damage was the BMW 650, the most damaged body was mine, no damage to the bike, no injuries, only TOTALLY unfit!!
The best part of the whole trip was the teamwork between the guys helping each other out, with no bitching. That to me is the spirit of Adventure riding with decent fellow Wilddogs!!

What an awesome ride JonW! Thx a lot for organising and making it happen.
A few pics attached.

• 2012-11-04_10-50-33_506.jpg
    2012-11-04_10-50-33_506.jpg
    95.8 KB
  • 2012-11-04_10-51-03_732.jpg
    2012-11-04_10-51-03_732.jpg
    61.8 KB
  • 2012-11-04_10-47-45_24.jpg
    2012-11-04_10-47-45_24.jpg
    60.8 KB
  • 2012-11-04_10-46-25_472.jpg
    2012-11-04_10-46-25_472.jpg
    99 KB
  • 2012-11-04_10-46-18_383.jpg
    2012-11-04_10-46-18_383.jpg
    56.1 KB
  • 2012-11-04_09-56-51_702.jpg
    2012-11-04_09-56-51_702.jpg
    72.8 KB
  • 2012-11-04_09-56-45_952.jpg
    2012-11-04_09-56-45_952.jpg
    71.6 KB
  • 2012-11-04_09-56-40_791.jpg
    2012-11-04_09-56-40_791.jpg
    50.2 KB
  • 2012-11-04_07-42-21_148.jpg
    2012-11-04_07-42-21_148.jpg
    96.8 KB
Looks like a Very lekker ride there..........Bunch of mountain goats from Hilton and surrounds.... :thumleft: :thumleft: :ricky:

A few more - waiting for the stragglers and getting the energy levels up again...

• 2012-11-04_11-40-56_30.jpg
    2012-11-04_11-40-56_30.jpg
    73.1 KB
  • 2012-11-04_12-46-33_778.jpg
    2012-11-04_12-46-33_778.jpg
    55.4 KB
  • 2012-11-04_12-46-53_804.jpg
    2012-11-04_12-46-53_804.jpg
    89.6 KB
  • 2012-11-04_12-46-57_844.jpg
    2012-11-04_12-46-57_844.jpg
    102.6 KB
  • 2012-11-04_12-47-42_946.jpg
    2012-11-04_12-47-42_946.jpg
    63.5 KB
  • 2012-11-04_12-48-15_837.jpg
    2012-11-04_12-48-15_837.jpg
    96 KB
  • 2012-11-04_12-49-02_453.jpg
    2012-11-04_12-49-02_453.jpg
    88.3 KB
  • 2012-11-04_12-49-08_190.jpg
    2012-11-04_12-49-08_190.jpg
    113.2 KB
  • 2012-11-04_15-36-47_640.jpg
    2012-11-04_15-36-47_640.jpg
    50.5 KB
Great ride thanks Jon.It gets pretty hot in those valleys.The heat nearly caught me out after 2 naps in quick succession.I had to take the jacket off and wet the T shirt-But I would be back tomorrow.

I think the body would prefer those rides on a Saturday so that it can use Sunday recover.

Ok so I did a little ride by myself a few weeks ago down a track we had seen on a ride out at Impendle and did a Ride Report called Impendle Tecnical

https://wilddog.net.za/forum/index.php?topic=108410.0

A few guys on the forum, primarily ian the Tooth, asked me to organize another ride on this route, so it was set for Sunday the 4th.

I arrived at XWays in Hilton expecting about 5 or 6 others to join on the ride, so I was pretty blown away to find 23 bikes had turned up for the trip.

Had an uneventful ride out through the Dargle to Impendle where we filled up with fuel straight away.

Then we headed off to the Impendle Nature Reserve for the first part of the ride.

DSC03708.jpg

DSC03709.jpg

DSC03710.jpg

DSC03712.jpg

DSC03713.jpg

DSC03714.jpg

Riding in the reserve:

DSC03715.jpg

DSC03716.jpg

DSC03718.jpg

DSC03720.jpg

DSC03722.jpg

Damn, Impendle is a beautiful area

DSC03723.jpg

DSC03724.jpg

DSC03725.jpg

DSC03727.jpg

DSC03728.jpg

DSC03730.jpg

DSC03731.jpg

DSC03733.jpg

DSC03736.jpg

DSC03740.jpg

DSC03741.jpg

DSC03742.jpg

DSC03743.jpg

DSC03745.jpg

DSC03747.jpg

From there it was on to the local Shebeen for a quick cold one, and then on to "Impendle Technical"

Looks like a great day was had by all. I seriouslu need to up my technical skills if I ever hope to ride with some of you Dogs!!

Jon, thank you very much for making this ride happen for me. Joke goes that the most important thing to bring to a knife fight is a gun. In this case the most important thing to bring to this adventure bike ride was my 250! I was really struck by the size and tranquillity of the source of the Umgeni/vlei. Amazing that those frogs can make that much noise!

Sucks that I missed it. Looks moer lekka :thumleft:
Will definitely join the next one :thumleft: