Into Africa - DASKOP's 12000km drive

Just before we left Ai-Ais, Martin just offered his BMW diagnostic tool to take along on the trip. That was to come in very handy somewhere on this trip.

Day 5 Ai-Ais to Aus 30 June 2013

We pack up, say our goodbyes to our new friends and get on our way.

The road out of the canyon is a lot easier in the sunlight. The beauty of the surrounding area lifts the spirits.

Soon we are on the road leading to the Fish River Canyon. It is good to be back in the saddle again.

• Day 5 getting ready to leave Ai-Ais.JPG
    Day 5 getting ready to leave Ai-Ais.JPG
    131.6 KB
  • Day 5 leaving Ai-Ais.JPG
    Day 5 leaving Ai-Ais.JPG
    101.5 KB
  • Outside Ai-Ais.JPG
    Outside Ai-Ais.JPG
    122.3 KB
  • Day 5 outside Ai-Ais.JPG
    Day 5 outside Ai-Ais.JPG
    116.3 KB
  • Corrugated road and beauty out of Ai-Ais in the sun.JPG
    Corrugated road and beauty out of Ai-Ais in the sun.JPG
    84.8 KB
  • Day 5 early morning at Ai-Ais.JPG
    Day 5 early morning at Ai-Ais.JPG
    121.1 KB
Day 5, doing what we came to do ................. ride the gravel roads of Namibia.

On our way to the Fish River Canyon.

• Ai-Ais to Aus via Fish River Canyon.JPG
    Ai-Ais to Aus via Fish River Canyon.JPG
    95 KB
  • Road to Fish River Canyon (2).JPG
    Road to Fish River Canyon (2).JPG
    37.8 KB
  • Road to Fish River Canyon (3).JPG
    Road to Fish River Canyon (3).JPG
    71.8 KB
  • Road to Fish River Canyon (4).JPG
    Road to Fish River Canyon (4).JPG
    81.3 KB
  • Road to Fish River Canyon.JPG
    Road to Fish River Canyon.JPG
    80 KB
Day 5 traveling to the Fish River Canyon.

We arrive at Hobas. R70 to go in. Was it worth it?

• Road to the Canyon (4).JPG
    Road to the Canyon (4).JPG
    104.3 KB
  • Arrival at Fish River Canyon.JPG
    Arrival at Fish River Canyon.JPG
    117 KB
  • Road to the Canyon (2).JPG
    Road to the Canyon (2).JPG
    103.8 KB
  • Hobas - entry to Fish River Canyon.JPG
    Hobas - entry to Fish River Canyon.JPG
    99.9 KB
Awesome, enjoying the ride with you.
That pic, "road to canyon2" you should consider entering it in the monthly photo contest.  :thumleft:

FISH RIVER CANYON

It proved to worth every single cent of the R70 entrance fee. The less said the better. Looking is far better.

• Arrival at the Canyon (Small).JPG
    Arrival at the Canyon (Small).JPG
    123.7 KB
  • Panoramic view of Fish River Canyon.JPG
    Panoramic view of Fish River Canyon.JPG
    43.4 KB
FISH RIVER CANYON

I feel like these photos should be posted one by one so that each one can be savoured. I was just blown away by the surreal surroundings. It was spectacular.

• Fish River Canyon (2).JPG
    Fish River Canyon (2).JPG
    126.4 KB
Enjoying re living this ride through your report - keep it coming

DASKOP said:
FISH RIVER CANYON

I feel like these photos should be posted one by one so that each one can be savoured. I was just blown away by the surreal surroundings. It was spectacular.

+100 awesome place to visit... been there in an SUV but never on a bike... itchy feet... :sip:

When we crossed the border into Nam, there was a couple in a bakkie, who were from Spain or Portugal. Any way, he spoke to me and said that he had a GS back at home and had come over to visit family. Was very surprised to see them again, now 3 days later at the Fish River Canyon. They took the photos of Murphy and I and are in the following photo.

This was not the last time that I would run into the same people more than once during this trip in this vast land called Africa.

• Fish River Canyon 003 (Small).jpg
    Fish River Canyon 003 (Small).jpg
    157.8 KB
  • Murphy and Daskop at Fish River Canyon.JPG
    Murphy and Daskop at Fish River Canyon.JPG
    94.1 KB
:ricky: lekker. you two pretty close to holding hands! what goes on tour stays on tour...  :imaposer: :imaposer: :imaposer: :imaposer:

At first it sems strange, but travellers are just that - travellers - and travellers all want to experience what a region has to offer - hence travelling on similar routes - but this is what makes the experience - travellers!

Still loving the RR!

This is inspiring me to put together another Namibia trip next year I think......  :thumleft:

Fish River Canyon - rather look than talk.  :drif:

• Fish River Canyon (2).JPG
    Fish River Canyon (2).JPG
    126.4 KB
Sorry, got so enthralled, posted the same photo again.  :biggrin:

• Fish River Canyon (3).JPG
    Fish River Canyon (3).JPG
    87.6 KB
  • Murphy at Fish River Canyon.JPG
    Murphy at Fish River Canyon.JPG
    109.4 KB
  • Daskop at Fish River Canyon.JPG
    Daskop at Fish River Canyon.JPG
    102.1 KB
dirtyXT said:
:ricky: lekker. you two pretty close to holding hands! what goes on tour stays on tour...  :imaposer: :imaposer: :imaposer: :imaposer:

Yup, glad that one did not come out.

(The sign I would like to show you would shock our more sensitive readers and would not be becoming of a person like me.)  :lamer:

ClimbingTurtle said:
At first it sems strange, but travellers are just that - travellers - and travellers all want to experience what a region has to offer - hence travelling on similar routes - but this is what makes the experience - travellers!

Still loving the RR!

This is inspiring me to put together another Namibia trip next year I think......  :thumleft:
I am keen!

Still Day 5 - Fish River Canyon.

As we are leaving the viewpoint, we see the unfenced vantage area to the right and go that way because we can.  :ricky:

Once there, this young lady is standing right on the edge. Party mense se kinners het geen breins nie!!!!!!  :eek7:

Murphy sommer takes a few steps back and starts running to the edge. Base jumping without a parachute is not for the fainthearted.  :eek:

It's back on the gravel and I ask Murphy to stop when we get to the one tree we saw off to the left, so that we can take an AWESOME picture. He agrees, we hit the road and he forgets about the tree and stops just short of Rundu............................

• No fence at Fish River Canyon.JPG
    No fence at Fish River Canyon.JPG
    79 KB
  • Should I or should'nt I.JPG
    Should I or should'nt I.JPG
    90.6 KB
  • Fish River Canyon Gravel.JPG
    Fish River Canyon Gravel.JPG
    76.6 KB
Hey Daskop.

Thank goodness I have met you on the Somerset East ride. Appreciate your RR - keep it coming