Into Africa - DASKOP's 12000km drive

Day 6; Camping on Spreetshoogte Pass:

Upon arrival, which is a lot later than we had hoped, Murphy tries to phone the owners of the camp site, who he had arranged with for us to camp for the night, but to no avail. The stonewalled ablutions are nice and each have a donkie and a lean-to afdak. But the stonewalled cabin looks much more inviting. It is dark and none of us feel like putting up tents.

Then we see some light in the distance at the bottom of the pass. The light slowly gets closer and about 15 minutes later, the owners arrive. WITH FIREWOOD. After some rates negotiations, we have the keys to the cabin and the fire is going strong.

So with a good chow done and after some serious gesels, we hit the sack.

• Spreetshoogte ablutions and camp site.JPG
    Spreetshoogte ablutions and camp site.JPG
    54.7 KB
  • Spreetshoogte Cabin.JPG
    Spreetshoogte Cabin.JPG
    64 KB
  • Gesels om die vuur.JPG
    Gesels om die vuur.JPG
    61.8 KB
  • Braai on Spreetshoogte Pass.JPG
    Braai on Spreetshoogte Pass.JPG
    58.9 KB
Day 7.

WHAT A VIEW TO WAKE UP TO.  :eek:

• Spreetshoogte Pass View.JPG
    Spreetshoogte Pass View.JPG
    144.8 KB
Day 7; Spreetshoogte Pass to Swakopmund.

To be able to wake up to such a beautiful view and then still have the anticipation of spending the day, on your DS bike, exploring unknown gravel roads in a foreign country................... how privileged can one be.  :ricky:

We had come halfway down the pass to the camping site at dusk the previous day. So to experience it in the beauty of the dawning day, I rode to the top of the pass and did the ride to the bottom, while the other guys were getting ready. No photos, but the Gopro video will follow at some stage, I hope. Something to look forward to.  :eek7:

I stopped at the bottom of the pass and waited for that amazing sound of approaching DS bikes. The photos tell the story.

In the last picture ..... proof that Pierre's HP is so fast that everything else stands still.  :biggrin:

The first section of gravel road was great.

• Early morning on Spreetshoogte (Small).JPG
    Early morning on Spreetshoogte (Small).JPG
    93.6 KB
  • Sunrise on Spreetshoogte (Small).JPG
    Sunrise on Spreetshoogte (Small).JPG
    73.3 KB
  • Leaving Spreetshoogte (Small).JPG
    Leaving Spreetshoogte (Small).JPG
    115.2 KB
  • Leaving Spreetshoogte (2) (Small).JPG
    Leaving Spreetshoogte (2) (Small).JPG
    166.3 KB
  • Leaving Spreetshoogte (3) (Small).JPG
    Leaving Spreetshoogte (3) (Small).JPG
    114.5 KB
Day 7; Spreetshoogte to Swakop.

Just enjoying the ride..............  :ricky:

• Whoever builds on a foundation of rock........ (Small).JPG
    Whoever builds on a foundation of rock........ (Small).JPG
    133.2 KB
  • Eland along the road (Small).JPG
    Eland along the road (Small).JPG
    112.5 KB
  • Beautiful Namibia (Small).JPG
    Beautiful Namibia (Small).JPG
    95.1 KB
Day 7 to Swakop.

Gravel, straight, LONG, dusty and VERY corrugated.
Hot, cold, clear, misty.
All in one day.
But, what the heck...... it was great.  :ricky: :ricky:

• Road to Swakop (2).JPG
    Road to Swakop (2).JPG
    71.8 KB
  • Road to Swakop (4).JPG
    Road to Swakop (4).JPG
    104.4 KB
  • Road to Swakop (3).JPG
    Road to Swakop (3).JPG
    77.1 KB
  • Road to Swakop.JPG
    Road to Swakop.JPG
    129.1 KB
DAY 7 AT THE TROPIC OF CAPRICORN IN NAMIBIA.

There was a time that I would never have dreamed that I would ever be able to physically ride a bike again ( that is another report in the making), so to be able to have the opportunity to be here and have this photo taken, is a blessing that a few of my close friends and family will understand.

I thank them for their prayers and I thank God for this amazing blessing.

• Tropic of Capricorn - Daskop (Medium).JPG
    Tropic of Capricorn - Daskop (Medium).JPG
    193.8 KB
Some more photos taken on the road to Walvis.

• DSC01190 (Small).JPG
    DSC01190 (Small).JPG
    106 KB
  • DSC01192 (Small).JPG
    DSC01192 (Small).JPG
    115.8 KB
  • DSC01193 (Small).JPG
    DSC01193 (Small).JPG
    81 KB
  • DSC01195 (Small).JPG
    DSC01195 (Small).JPG
    68.3 KB
Keep it coming ..............................to the end !!! :thumleft:

MURPHY said:
Keep it coming ..............................to the end !!! :thumleft:

Morning my boet. Thanks .. will do. You have been very quiet. I've had so little response here lately, I thought I will maar do the RR for myself.  :ricky:

Still wanted to let you know. Came right in GHT. Staying in cottage on Wylie's dairy farm on KWT road just outside GHT. (See pic) Thanks for the help anyway.

Will do some RR again tonight. Added the photos that did not come out above.

• Entrance to Wylie's farm 29 Aug 2013.jpg
    Entrance to Wylie's farm 29 Aug 2013.jpg
    104.1 KB
  • DSC01188 (Small).JPG
    DSC01188 (Small).JPG
    95 KB
  • DSC01189 (Small).JPG
    DSC01189 (Small).JPG
    89.1 KB
looking at these pics the red GS is sooo much nicer than the cotch colored one.  :deal:

keep it coming DASKOP, looking forward to your solo sections

dirtyXT said:
looking at these pics the red GS is sooo much nicer than the cotch colored one.  :deal:

keep it coming DASKOP, looking forward to your solo sections

Yip my boet, and then the man is looking for YELLOW kit as well.  ::)

All OK in Gauteng??? Do any riding up there?

Just a little more photographic evidence of the Tropic of Capricorn.

And whilst all and sundry adorn the rear of the road sign with stickers, our friend Murph always will be different............... :lol8:

Look carefully at the left hand corner of the front of the sign. Will try to post a zoomed in photo next.

• Tropic of Capricorn - Murphy (Medium).JPG
    Tropic of Capricorn - Murphy (Medium).JPG
    201.5 KB
  • Tropic of Capricorn sign full of stickers (Medium).JPG
    Tropic of Capricorn sign full of stickers (Medium).JPG
    258.5 KB
  • Tropic of Capricorn in Namibia (Small).JPG
    Tropic of Capricorn in Namibia (Small).JPG
    110.2 KB
As promised

• Tropic of Capricorn - Murphy the Wilddog Paw Man.JPG
    Tropic of Capricorn - Murphy the Wilddog Paw Man.JPG
    193.5 KB
Daskop, geniet jou rRR moer baie  :thumleft:

:thumleft: :thumleft:
All of us here are "Riding" as "Blind Passengers" along ....
... its just a little less dusty .....
:ricky: :ricky: :ricky: