Kaokoland: I was tired of reading about it!!!

Blerrie smart.  Koakoland / Damaraland is my wereld.  Hy het sy eie bekoring met daai niks rondom jou.  :thumleft:

Ek sien Epupa is redelik droog gewees.  Maar hy bly mooi.  As ek nie die rr gelees het sou ek nie geglo het dat daai stuk tussen Swartbooisdrift en Epupa is nou geteer nie.  :eek7:   

Ek haal my hoed af vir jou, wel gedaan sover, hiervandaan behoort dit makliker te gaan.  Hoop jy het die voorreg gehad om die Ellies te sien.  'n Bonus sou natuurlik 'n renoster of twee gewees het en dan die cherrie op die koek sou daai groot katte gewees.  :imaposer:

Kannie wag vir die res. 

PS.  Laaik jou skryf styl kwaai.    :thumleft:

:sip: Dankie tog, jy gee my 'n ruskans, moes nou drie blaaie lees, kan nie die hele dag voor die blerrie rekenaar sit nie.
Die draad raak verslawend.
Tx.

Baie nice, soos reeds gese is was weer hoogtyd vir n nice RR

:biggrin: Ek geniet die lees en foto's die een is op my bucket list was al daar in 4x4 maar moet nog die bike soontoe vat  :thumleft:

jis, hierdie is lekker lees en saam ry. Fok werk, ek wag :thumleft:

Toe nou Tjom , ons wag    :ricky:

Het myself ook vandag biki van die werk verskoon en die hele verslag  gelees. Lekker gegiggel. Dankie, hy loop soos stroop

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Stroke her should write a book be a best seller :imaposer:

I'm loving your RR, this area has been on my bucket list for ages and now it's been moved to position No.2  :thumleft:
Thanks for sharing it so well  :thumleft:  For a Dutchie you write very well in English, you had me laughing out loud at times, especially with that description of the bully beef/polony love child  :imaposer:

Ook maar goed ek keer myself al heeldag om hier te begin lees.
Dit is nou lekker lusmaak RR die, ek het reeds die verkoue en die frustrasie wat die kop mal maak!
Hierdie voetspore wil ek nog gaan opsoek.
Dankie vir jou mooi skryf! :thumleft:

Dear Reader

Yet another apology...

Sorry for the delay but yesterday I had to go for a lekker cycle in Jonkershoek (cant spend the rest of my leave in front of a PC you know?!)

Then a family member visited and treated me and the missus for a steak dinner...during dinner said family member dropped a bit of a bomb on me and this had me so rattled that my normally reserved red wine intake was rapidly notched up.

Needless by the time we get home writing anything was just not possible.

But today I am back :thumleft:

RooiWolf:
The size of my ballas has been verified by independant partie(s) and the concensus is they are rather average :(. They do however tend to get quite hard when the situation calls for it >:D

Slim Jim:
Listen to my father in law old Manuel : "There is no future in work!"

Buff:
Although I am a boerseun work has always forced me to get familiar with the Queen's English. Also the missus is Portugese so my daily world tends to get quite muddled when it comes to language. But thank you for the compliment.

To all the rest thank you for reading and all the kind comments (undeserved I feel)...you guys motivate me to carry on typing :thumleft:

Stroke Her said:
Dear Reader

Yet another apology...

Sorry for the delay but yesterday I had to go for a lekker cycle in Jonkershoek (cant spend the rest of my leave in front of a PC you know?!)

Then a family member visited and treated me and the missus for a steak dinner...during dinner said family member dropped a bit of a bomb on me and this had me so rattled that my normally reserved red wine intake was rapidly notched up.

Needless by the time we get home writing anything was just not possible.

But today I am back :thumleft:

RooiWolf:
The size of my ballas has been verified by independant partie(s) and the concensus is they are rather average :(. They do however tend to get quite hard when the situation calls for it >:D

Slim Jim:
Listen to my father in law old Manuel : "There is no future in work!"

Buff:
Although I am a boerseun work has always forced me to get familiar with the Queen's English. Also the missus is Portugese so my daily world tends to get quite muddled when it comes to language. But thank you for the compliment.

To all the rest thank you for reading and all the kind comments (undeserved I feel)...you guys motivate me to carry on typing :thumleft:
Hahahaa  :imaposer: So get on with it ,like old Manuel says there is no future in work so I need something else to occupy my time  :thumleft:

Day 9: Sunday Bloody Sunday
          Olifant jag Dag 2 en Gemoedsbekakking #2

I get moving just as dawn breaks. Today is potentially a long day...I can feel it.

Luggage gets rationalized. My muesli and coffee intake has finally reached desired levels where I could get rid of the bulky plastic pots I was carrying it in. ZipLock for the win!!

I go say my goodbyes to the Saffers and wish then good luck. The breezeblock that I was busy shitting yesterday slowly made its presence known again. I was feeling just a little stressed as there was no signs of ellies passing the campsite last night. That means surely they must be further down river.

**** a brick. Should I not rather just bail and take the big road to Sesfontein?

Undecided I get going...

The GPS once again confuses me a bit as it tries and auto routes me to the start of the GPX file for the day's riding.

Dis alweer p03s koud.

I ignore the GPS and head for some dirt road on the other side of the campside that I spotted during yesterday's walkabout.

Now you may wonder why this ***** would ignore prime riverbed 2 spoor and trade it for a few km of dirt road?

Well...especially when its a cold morning I like to have a little starter to warm up on. Like having coffee before breakfast.

I forgot to mention the dirt road had a few nice turns in it...with the perfect sprinkle of sandy gravel.

I allowed myself to forget my situation and location for a few km.

**** fuel economy, tire life and potential life threatening situation...I let the engine scream and get my drifting on.

Much fun was had and by the time I rerouted back to the Purros canyon via some 4x4 2 spoor my nerves we slightly settled and we downsized from breezeblock back to regular bricks.

Down the canyon I go.

Ma se p03s...kyk net al die water!!

A few km on I run into a big Gemsbok. For some reason Gerrie die Gemsbok does not want to leave the riverbed and runs downstream. I follow him for 2-3 km. Eventually he gets out the riverbed and gives me a vuil kyk. Ja Gerrie jou moer ook.

I was constantly crossing the river through ankle deep water!! Nice firm sandy bottom and no mud. It was awesome!

The baby Ten got a good wash in the process.

For those of you familiar with my chosen steed:
The baby Ten has a known issue on the connector of the regulator. If not sorted and waterproofed properly one can get screwed especially during river crossings.

I bought my Ten second hand and this was the one thing I did not double check as there seem to be some tape over the regulator connector.

This worried me a bit but after a few km of water riding without missing a beat I relaxed about that.

The canyon was green and the canyon was wet. I realized how privileged I was to see it like this.

All the greenery did have me slightly worried though as the track passed through some 2 spoor bushy sections where one gets out of the open and gets forced into the bushy confines on the edge of the main river flow.

Would I spot an ellie in time in this thicket I thought?

Hoe de fok gaan jy die bike omdraai Van Rooyen?!

Bimbo bimbles on...

No ellies...a few km later...still no ellies.

I start relaxing and keep it 2nd and 3rd gear with 2000-2500rpm...basically just bobbing along whilst keeping my noise footprint as low as possible as to not piss the ellies of wherever they are hiding.

I go into a daydream like state...

After the 50th time crossing the main flow I do not even bother checking the depth anymore. The water is crystal clear in any case...

And then a few crossings later....SPLOOOSH. I hit the only deeper pocket in the whole riverbed. Must have been 50cm or so deep. The water went straight over my head and woke me up from my trance. Gee aandag Van Rooyen.

It was getting hot so the splashdown was welcomed.

Desert biking my arse...this was more like waterworld.

At one point I thought it a good idea to park baby Ten in the main flow and stage a Hoarusib WildDog Bike Wash Station fotie.

Bad idea as the minute the bike stood still for more than a couple of seconds the sand started swallowing it. Fok dit...ek grawe nie die fiets hier uit nie.

I reached the narrow Poort section and had a smoke break.

Still no ellies.

Although I wished to see them I was actually relieved....the brick shrank . I calmed down..

Bimbo bimbles on...

• 20170716_100337.jpg
    20170716_100337.jpg
    113.3 KB
  • 20170716_100340.jpg
    20170716_100340.jpg
    65.8 KB
  • 20170716_100746.jpg
    20170716_100746.jpg
    119.2 KB
  • 20170716_100749.jpg
    20170716_100749.jpg
    81.9 KB
  • 20170716_100753.jpg
    20170716_100753.jpg
    70.5 KB
  • 20170716_100800.jpg
    20170716_100800.jpg
    93.9 KB
  • 20170716_101405.jpg
    20170716_101405.jpg
    85.4 KB
  • 20170716_101413.jpg
    20170716_101413.jpg
    134.9 KB
  • 20170716_101419.jpg
    20170716_101419.jpg
    78.1 KB
  • 20170716_100335.jpg
    20170716_100335.jpg
    138.3 KB
Day 9 Leaving the Hoarusib...

My GPS directs me to the left side of the rivver down a piece of bushy tweespoor.

It is proper riverbed sandbank and only the width of the tweespoor...lekker ruig met bosse.

From all the 4 x 4 traffic the tweespoor is deep and the middelmannetjie stands proud like a ***** on honeymoon.

I go on and hit a spot of fesh fesh with middelmannetjie about 40cm high. I am in the left lane and slow down crawl...this fesh-fesh bulldust afair can end in tears. Keep it steady Van Rooyen.

• 20170716_103749.jpg
    20170716_103749.jpg
    93.1 KB
  • 20170716_103402.jpg
    20170716_103402.jpg
    110.6 KB
  • 20170716_103343.jpg
    20170716_103343.jpg
    104.1 KB
  • 20170716_103339.jpg
    20170716_103339.jpg