LDBA Bambi Lodge. Post your RR here!

Just Blip It!

Just got home after a fantastic event! Rieks, well done on a well planned, organized and executed event! The routes were top class, there were no serious incidents, the guys had an awesome time. Great support from the bikers this year, a 30% growth over last year!
The medics, back-up team were first class and everyone felt well supported!
There are 40 riders that left with Rieks for the annual Prawn Run to Macanetta in Mozambique, to those guys, ride safe, have fun and post pics when you get back.
I will post my pics a little later.

I was the first bike to arrive at 15h30 on Thursday afternoon and proceeded to my accommodation that I was to share with 8 other riders.
Die ou Plasshuis.

DSCN0162_zps9417de08.jpg

Just as the sun was about to set the other guys arrived.

DSCN0173_zpsda2b4a1b.jpg

DSCN0169_zpsd42a67eb.jpg

DSCN0170_zpsa4f78161.jpg

Eaves the Frenchman wasted no time and decided to be the first to drop his bike as he arrived!  :imaposer:

DSCN0172_zpse4ff8c10.jpg

Then the party started! All the usual suspects were present!

DSCN0175_zps34f4c784.jpg

DSCN0176_zpsf9bd91ed.jpg

DSCN0177_zps8c29a223.jpg

DSCN0206_zps3a52a1b3.jpg

DSCN0208_zpse8f2dfe8.jpg

After a lekker breaky the riding started! Wow what awesome routes they were!

Laurika.

DSCN0199_zpsfe957ce1.jpg

DSCN0198_zps722e573a.jpg

DSCN0197_zpsa0e84234.jpg

DSCN0196_zpsfa804fca.jpg

DSCN0195_zpsfe571bc5.jpg

DSCN0193_zps03afeec2.jpg

DSCN0182_zps6196ddd6.jpg

The first of many to suffer a puncture! Brad Love.

DSCN0201_zps863b7375.jpg

Back at Bambi Lodge. Henry.

DSCN9916_zps9958feb6.jpg

DSCN9917_zps4a4dd659.jpg

There were at least 6 1190s present!

DSCN9919_zpsdc55ef14.jpg

DSCN9920_zps16d12bf7.jpg

DSCN9921_zps4dc81051.jpg

DSCN9922_zps0e9c4121.jpg

Hondsekierrie!

DSCN9924_zpsf8929d6a.jpg

Harry the Buffalo all the way from Phalaborwa.

DSCN9925_zpsab8a6f8e.jpg

Harry the Buffalo's son.

DSCN9926_zps187b6c5d.jpg

There was a stop over in Tonteldoos where we met this "grootdoos"!

DSCN9928_zps25150328.jpg

DSCN9930_zps63a6022a.jpg

Rieks the organizer and hostess of LDBA.

DSCN9932_zpsd59b8530.jpg

Kroeg by Tonteldoos.

DSCN9933_zpsb10dd10f.jpg

DSCN9934_zpsf75ae378.jpg

Andrew. Eat My KTM.

DSCN9936_zps6788bf4e.jpg

This was the staff hard at work cleaning the floor in the bar at Bambi Lodge after Smokes did his traditional "burnout" in the bar on his 950SE!  :imaposer: :imaposer:

DSCN9937_zps0dad2d65.jpg

DSCN9938_zps77bc74b3.jpg

You guys no how to make people feel jealous for those left behind!!Wish I could have joined you.Thanks for the pics and making those left behind feel part of the fun.To eaves??You should have left your road tyres on your 1190 and maybe it would not have fallen over.

Thanks for the pics

bruce
800gs

Jis man, you guys look really mean before starting the trip, if I was a rock in your path, I would roll out of your way rather than you ride over me.
Thanx 4 sharing

i had one ridiculously fantastic weekend! will be back with my passport next year for sure ;)

big thank you to Rika for organizing everything, you did a superb job and everything was perfectly coordinated – coming from someone who doesn’t even have a gps ;D i know everyone had a magnificent time!

great respect to those who crushed the skills challenge, as well as the red and orange routes on such big bikes! well done! i certainly enjoyed every bit of riding i got to do!

thanks also to each and every one who helped me with punctures and exhaust issues *blush*
Johan, Smokes, Shaun, Colin, Denzil, Mark, Treffon, Joe, Jan, Shaun, Henry, Denys, Bobby, Brad, Derick, and David for accompanying me all the way to bronkhorstspruit.

about 10km from my house the exhaust came loose again and the last resort was to zip tie it to the bike, which I did and managed to get home safely just after 2pm! :D

Hey Rika and all the other LDBA'ers
That was a lekker trip and the riding was tip top!
You need to get rid of the mud on that Red Route and then all would be 100%
Have a jol in Moz Guys
andy

And a few words and photos stolen from LDBA and Mooch's Facebook page!

"Ok am I not destined to do this ride or what? I am now sitting in Nelspruit hospital after cutting half my thumb off with a very sharp biltong knife! What a tool.!!! Last year I smashed my knee, now I slash my hand! Okay after few stitches I should be more or less good to go again. Lets see!"

972069_10200766656223177_644317675_n.jpg

972136_10200766656623187_1957805231_n.jpg

The good news is they patched him up with a few stitches and off he went to Moz on the Prawn Run.

A few pics courtesy of  Mooch.

Komatipoort at the border.

993760_10200776862558329_1607418152_n.jpg

First cold beer stop in Moz yesterday.

971987_10200777183126343_585801497_n.jpg

Sand on the way to the lodge.

996189_10200777218887237_96313447_n.jpg

On the Ferry to Macanetta.

941930_10200777245327898_719305812_n.jpg

Just got this photo from the boys on the Prawn Run!!  :drif: :drif: :drif: :drif: :drif: :drif:

IMG-20130611-WA000_zps708bef12.jpg

Just in fRom Prawn run.....more sand on this ride than I knew God Made...thanks white rhino.....your detour was a long tWeeSpoor with deep soft sand that nevEr Stopped.....yikes...

Dankie, dit was great! Een ding geleer: moet nie 'n topbox op 'n KTM 990R sit nie, my subframe het gebreek...

kleinboet said:
Dankie, dit was great! Een ding geleer: moet nie 'n topbox op 'n KTM 990R sit nie, my subframe het gebreek...

Nope, just don't load it too much..... :thumleft:

Thanks Blippy and all the rest! A few hick-ups here and there .. I admit! Great that most of you enjoyed the weekend and came to LDBA for the right reasons - to ride that bike of yours! I will post some pics later .. need to deal with payments, the media and their deadlines first! :spitcoffee:

Great Rides and Great Fun. Cutting my the thumb and stabbing my leg with the biltong knife was a bit dumb and did cause some "throbbing" while riding. But a few stitches and Miprodol took care of that. (Rule: Dont play around with an exceptionly sharp bilting knife after a few drinks!! If it slips youve got kak!)
PS Thanks to the Medicis for rushing me through to Nelspruit Medi Clinic in for stitches. - They were Fantastic!

The rides around Bambi were great and I particulary enjoyed the Friday ride through the thick bush.

The red dirt route through Moz was pretty tough is places with the sand, but what a jol and a fab ride!! (As per pic above with the 1200 GS in it - Note it has no mirros left after he (Ron?) fell in front of us and the bike barrel rolled a few times). After a whole lot of dirt and sand Those beers at the shebeen were the best I ever had!!

Macenetta was beautiful and great fun as the boys (and girls) played in the sand and we had a few beers and R & Rs and the food was tops.

The ride back was great and went well apart from MarkRoss having a front wheel blow out on his F800 GS just after Nelspruit, but all was well as he managed to save it an pull it off the road without major incident.

Thanks Mark for posting some of my pics above, I will post more when I get a gap.

Some More Pics:

Evidence of the thumb cutting and Leg stab incident...

More from just before the border...

• 174.jpg
    174.jpg
    184.1 KB
  • 177.jpg
    177.jpg
    188.8 KB
  • 178.jpg
    178.jpg
    171.7 KB
More Pics from Mozambique (Prawn Run Leg):

At the shebeen:

• 182.jpg
    182.jpg
    135.6 KB
Enjoying an ice cold 2M Beer at the shebeen near the end of the red sand route in Moz... (Thumb all good!)

• 184.jpg
    184.jpg
    156.8 KB
  • 198.jpg
    198.jpg
    161.4 KB
Rika and Hondsekierie

• 199.jpg
    199.jpg
    143.9 KB