Lesotho Eastern Cape Epic 2013

Mixing with the locals as we do  ::) and the closest chicken to KFC ever, must have had 10 of the 11 harbs and spices, we headed of to our mosquito invested rooms for a sleep. Tomorrow was going to be a big day

• DSC02286.jpg
    DSC02286.jpg
    100.5 KB
  • DSC02291.jpg
    DSC02291.jpg
    121.1 KB
  • DSC02292.jpg
    DSC02292.jpg
    141.7 KB
  • DSC02293.jpg
    DSC02293.jpg
    132 KB
  • DSC02290.jpg
    DSC02290.jpg
    67.8 KB
Jeez I am literally weeping looking at that route I spent hours no wait days going over..... to miss it  :'(
FUBAR.....SNAFU!

Your photos make it real though, glad it was as tough as I heard it to be  >:D

Obviously the Leatt brace on at all time stuck!
I see even when moering a Triumph straight you wearing it  ;D :laughing4:

More! More! More! More!

Porra up early to remove the unbreakeble solid bar topbox rack to have it welded.

Thought i said its a big day ahead....... Out at just after 10 we new the 280k's to Semonkong wouls come in the dreaded dark...

A couple of tumbles due to exhaustion we ended up here for two hours repairing a GS throttle positioning switch that broke in half. You know when there is a complicated problem when you rip out the sat phone , call the mackie and he tells you that you fucked. Not these okes my bru.

• DSC02294.jpg
    DSC02294.jpg
    154.6 KB
  • DSC02295.jpg
    DSC02295.jpg
    154.7 KB
  • DSC02296.jpg
    DSC02296.jpg
    150.8 KB
  • DSC02298.jpg
    DSC02298.jpg
    136.2 KB
  • DSC02299.jpg
    DSC02299.jpg
    196.8 KB
  • DSC02300.jpg
    DSC02300.jpg
    106 KB
Well Semonkong came in the dark and a rowdy welcome by a bunch of GSA riders from the Cape who also did Ongeliks. Respect to them cos I had a 100m stint with a GS that day. BM riders have to be skilled... :pot:  :peepwall: Great bunch but would not part with any of their green petrol. We where left with 70km range, the GS and 950. Those TriuMPHs and KLR's run on fuckall, and Roma was 100k's away. we Had to take red petrol to make it.
PS it is the same thing.

• DSC02303.jpg
    DSC02303.jpg
    78.8 KB
  • DSC02314.jpg
    DSC02314.jpg
    71 KB
  • DSC02313.jpg
    DSC02313.jpg
    152.5 KB
  • DSC02310.jpg
    DSC02310.jpg
    153.7 KB
  • DSC02309.jpg
    DSC02309.jpg
    78.9 KB
  • DSC02308.jpg
    DSC02308.jpg
    152.2 KB
  • DSC02306.jpg
    DSC02306.jpg
    232.4 KB
  • DSC02305.jpg
    DSC02305.jpg
    143.7 KB
Day 7 Semonkong to Thaba-Tseke  240km.
The porra had moered of the GS once to often and he decided to give us a rest and part ways after Roma and head out at Maseru and drop south to Queenstown to find tarr and some new rubber for us. My Eo7 was klaar and so was his Heidi.  Trust this Porra to find replacment tyres in Queenstown of all places, wait, from an Indian shop that sells Disco equipment. 10 out of 10 Porra.
If only he new that we rode 3 to 4 hours of SBK roads that day after we parted. Ja now only 3 green bottles left.

But first the Falls at Semonkong

• DSC02325.jpg
    DSC02325.jpg
    159.9 KB
  • DSC02316.jpg
    DSC02316.jpg
    43.9 KB
  • DSC02322.jpg
    DSC02322.jpg
    173.7 KB
  • DSC02318.jpg
    DSC02318.jpg
    193.7 KB
  • DSC02315.jpg
    DSC02315.jpg
    173.9 KB
  • DSC02319.jpg
    DSC02319.jpg
    130.9 KB
Quick beer and lunch, by now i was gatfol of biltong and the Porra had all the cheese and biscuits in the venter trailer.

• DSC02326.jpg
    DSC02326.jpg
    154.5 KB
  • DSC02327.jpg
    DSC02327.jpg
    126.2 KB
  • DSC02328.jpg
    DSC02328.jpg
    196.3 KB
In the middle of nothing we found The Buffalo 's Hotel.

• DSC02332.jpg
    DSC02332.jpg
    151.1 KB
  • DSC02338.jpg
    DSC02338.jpg
    142.4 KB
  • DSC02336.jpg
    DSC02336.jpg
    190.9 KB
  • DSC02335.jpg
    DSC02335.jpg
    175.4 KB
  • DSC02330.jpg
    DSC02330.jpg
    123.3 KB
  • DSC02329.jpg
    DSC02329.jpg
    118 KB
At this stage I could not stand the smell of my riding kit, aw wiff would make your eyes water quicker than a nose hair wax. So I got then at the hotel to wash it for R 10.  Yes 10 SA ront. Result guys.
The food was plenty and so the booze, no ice though ah WTF beers where  cold. Not having the fearless leader with us we, the Three  green bottles had no idea wat the route was like forDay 8. Thaba Tseke to Matat 320km. Just as well. A narly pass that would end up making Sani look easy.
Filled up and off we went.

First some great gravel

• DSC02339.jpg
    DSC02339.jpg
    116.5 KB
  • DSC02340.jpg
    DSC02340.jpg
    120.5 KB
  • DSC02341.jpg
    DSC02341.jpg
    122.5 KB
  • DSC02342.jpg
    DSC02342.jpg
    95 KB
  • DSC02343.jpg
    DSC02343.jpg
    100.1 KB
  • DSC02344.jpg
    DSC02344.jpg
    166 KB
Nice trip chaps. Sorry to hear about the wipeout mambat!

I have a score to settle there... Ongeluks turned us back 4 weeks ago. It was so wet it took us hour to get from the gate to the boarder. The first steep section was so slick that the bikes would just stop and dig in.. This with a new set of e10's!bloody AWESOME RIDE!

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2

Great reporting Mr Steyn! Great pics but they hardly do justice to the views and scenery we were privileged to see!!  :snorting:

Nice one fireblade, I noticed there were no spelling mistakes in your last 10 RR's.

:pot:  :imaposer:

Psteyn may not be the best journo, but he can ride!

fireblade said:
Were the whole group retarded, or is it just you that can't spell?

No the whole group is retarded  ::)

stan1975 said:
Nice one fireblade, I noticed there were no spelling mistakes in your last 10 RR's.

That he certainly can!

and remember.......Dyslexics are teople poo!

Nice one Mambat!  :laughing4:

How the 16 fractures coming along?  :peepwall:

:ricky: Route looks an awesome one! We're doing Eastern Cape, Baviaans, De Hel etc later this year and Lesotho the year after. Did anyone map your Lesotho route? :dousing:

stan1975 said:

[If he could'nt ride I would'nt have gone with him.. You must agree though, he rides better than he spells!]

fireblade said:
stan1975 said:

[If he could'nt ride I would'nt have gone with him.. You must agree though, he rides better than he spells!]

Seems the spelling thing is catchy  :laughing4: it's couldn't & wouldn't... Not could'nt & would'nt... Shot for the invite... Maybe you can join us in de hel in November for our annual Souties versus Dutchies spelling bee