Oukloof - a Thing of beauty.

Hardy de Kock

WD Vendor
Yamaha T7
Firstly - as it should be, a BIG thank you to all the riders who joined us for the event.
It is difficult to express just how thankful we are. There were riders from all over the country and some of them drove and rode over a thousand kilometers to be part of this. Exceptional people.

To our team - Thank you for putting in the hard yards. You made challenging logistics look real easy and I was super proud watching this unfold from the sideline.

I will wait for the riders to post their pics themselves.
Thank you again.

Here's some pics to get things started.

Thanks Hardy and team for the weekend. My KDX and I are a little bit broken after some epic riding in an awesome part of the world

• IMG-20240303-WA0051.jpg
    IMG-20240303-WA0051.jpg
    310.7 KB
  • IMG-20240303-WA0052.jpg
    IMG-20240303-WA0052.jpg
    381.3 KB
  • IMG-20240303-WA0046.jpg
    IMG-20240303-WA0046.jpg
    460.6 KB
  • IMG-20240303-WA0041.jpg
    IMG-20240303-WA0041.jpg
    477.5 KB

• 1.jpg
    1.jpg
    138.3 KB
  • 2.jpg
    2.jpg
    230.1 KB
  • 3.jpg
    3.jpg
    204.5 KB
  • 5.jpg
    5.jpg
    132.1 KB
  • 4.jpg
    4.jpg
    178.1 KB
  • 6.jpg
    6.jpg
    152.4 KB
  • 9.mp4
    1.6 MB
  • 10.jpg
    10.jpg
    379.6 KB
and a few more - it was very hot - on friday we saw 41 degrees on my bakkie's thermometer - Saturday was hotter ...jirre

• 12.jpg
    12.jpg
    342.8 KB
  • 20.jpg
    20.jpg
    249.6 KB
  • 19.jpg
    19.jpg
    209.3 KB
  • 18.jpg
    18.jpg
    328.9 KB
  • 17.jpg
    17.jpg
    392 KB
  • 16.jpg
    16.jpg
    461.3 KB
  • 15.jpg
    15.jpg
    334 KB
  • 14.jpg
    14.jpg
    441.4 KB
  • 13.mp4
    5 MB
  • 11.jpg
    11.jpg
    268.7 KB
Thanks to everyone that attended the weekend. Great to see old friends again and meet some new faces.

The Oukloof area really has something to offer for everyone and between the enduro tracks and wide open gravel roads everybody had fun. We will definitely want to turn this into an annual gathering, along with similar events in other parts of the country.

Some pictures to follow from the crew's perspective.

Road heading to Boplaas where most of the riders stayed.
IMG_4741 Large.jpeg

Some wildlife right next to the house at Middleplaas.
IMG_4748 Large.jpeg

Thursday evening we were met with a few drops of welcome rain followed by a very dramatic sunset.
IMG_4761 Large.jpeg

All the houses have a swimming pool which were well utilised this weekend. Saturday was the hottest day of all – which is also the day when everyone was out on the trails.
IMG_4766 Large.jpeg

Parkinoff stopped for a dip in a reservoir on his way in and never bothered with putting his pants on again. 😄
IMG_4768 Large.jpeg

Saturday morning breakfast at Boplaas.
IMG_4782 Large.jpeg

The riders that followed us to the training session where we focused on techniques for riding loose rocky inclines and sandy riverbeds. I am pleased to say that everyone there seemed a lot more confident around these obstacles at the end of the weekend.
IMG_4788 Large.jpeg

Johan Groenewald from T4A presented a very informative session on navigation and GPS usage.
IMG_4798 Large.jpeg

We had some very seasoned and experienced adventures in the crowd that I did not expect to attend the session, if I'm honest. But they were making notes during the whole 2-hour session. Johan is a fountain of knowledge and a great speaker.
IMG_4801 Large.jpeg

Sunday morning was a lot cooler and some riders went out for a last ride before breakfast whilst others started heading home.
IMG_4806 Large.jpeg

Last edited:
Enjoyed the weekend, the venue was close enough to make it an easy breakaway. The food was superb. The comradery between the guys made it a memorable event. Excellent routes and a variety of surfaces. In some sections you found religion and in others you could contemplate life. @Beserker and Dave, Martin and gang thanks for setting the pace and giving is some time to breathe in-between. To all the dad bods in the pool - thanks for the boost in my self esteem. Would love to ride one of those river beds straight through next time.

IMG_2986.jpeg

IMG_2987.jpeg

IMG_2989.jpeg

IMG_2991.jpeg

IMG_2994.jpeg

IMG_2995.jpeg

IMG_2996.jpeg

IMG_2999.jpeg

IMG_3001.jpeg

IMG_3004.jpeg

IMG_3008.jpeg

IMG_3014.jpeg

IMG_3015.jpeg

hierdie lyk na vet pret en ek het uitgemis! sal my nou leer om so min tyd op die forum te spandeer...

(my baas dink dalk anders...)

Picked up @Grunder in Bloem on Friday morning and we drove further South, and the further we got the warmer it got!
Roan & me had met before, and just about disagreed on anything we chatted about during the trip - which made the trip gesellig, lekker and interesting, dankie meneer (y)
He was going to play GPS once Beaufort West was behind us, and he led us - by this time @ETS had joined us - without fail to Oukloof. Poor Kobus had to dodge our dust in the scorching heat, and also his car showed 40C on the dash ...

09aa5e9c-2ba7-4145-8a69-d0be028ec676.JPG

That bode well for Saturday's riding then!
We turned out to have stopped at the house we were allocated sleeping in also (there were 3 houses for this, not really close to each other) so that was lucky.
Offloaded the bikes and got to socialize with all & sundry, and drinking beer - of course, it was downright hot, also in the evening and even at night 🍻

IMG_6680.jpg

IMG_6681.jpg

IMG_6682.jpg

IMG_6683.jpg

I actually do not drink beer normally, only if I'm riding, sweating and when it's hot, to serve as a rehydrate... but it was really hot enough - I didn't even touch the wine @NIMMO had brought for me (dankie vir dit 🍷 ) because I forgot to load mine - plus my camping chair but this luckily wasn't a problem, plenty of seating available.
Anyway, a great braai followed with lekker socializing, it was a way bigger group than I'd expected, with many new2me faces.
Then off to bed, on the bed that is.... too hot, and the fan in the room brought us some relief (y)

Coffee & brekfis the next morning, and then we rode to Middleplaas (I think the name was?) some 10km's further, where others of the group slept also. Here the various groups left for their different rides, and I opted to join some big bikes on route 4 instead of riding the allegedly more-technical 2 as this was to come thereafter, and riding the same route twice is not for me. I'd brought my 300stroker for this occasion, so it felt a bit like cheating to join the bigger bikes.
That one a bit tricky uphill I thought some guys would struggle with, but as an old African Twin 750 was burbling on my *** (I forgot your name bru, pls tell me again?) I could not stop to look back down and enjoy the spectacle but had to carry on... this dude rides VERY well, we eventually only stopped at the gate at the top - where we saw a lone Oryx trotting along the fence, a beautiful animal indeed!
<Edited later, thanks Hardy: this was Clayton Heyns on his recently overhauled warhorse quite like Adam Riemann did, he actually took that as his inspiration - well done to you and your bike, you gel well together 🤟 >

If someone has a few photos of that uphill where some dudes parked their bikes horizontally, please post them here?

We decided to go to the brick house being built and wait for the others to arrive - which they did, some quite knacked 😋
The water tap there was a welcome cooling off aid, I hope we left enough to continue building that house - in a very special spot, next to a river when it rains there, and with a gorgeous view, situated a bit in a neck of the hills.

IMG_6684.jpg

IMG_6685.jpg

IMG_6686.jpg

IMG_6687.jpg

Due to time constraints it was decided to not do the rest of the (all flat now) route but backtrack to Middleplaas - which meant going down that same uphill some had found their nemesis on 😋
Oh well, as the saying goes it was all downhill from there, so we got back to the plaashuis...

IMG_6688.jpg

IMG_6689.jpg

Here we had something to drink and left for the second route/loop of the morning, I choose route 2 with a few others.
Dave led on his KDX, and on a bit of an uphill I think he must have spotted an attractive mermaid because he came off, and rolled down further than his bike - Well Done!!!! 👌
I, very reluctantly of course, decided to stop (we're friends, I normally carry on pretending to see zilch), and only did this because the whole group following us would see this of course, and I may just get a bad reputation then... anyway, I stopped.
Dave got to his feet but his one pinky stood out proud, a bit odd, and urgently (read: shouted, army style!) asked me to yank it back into a more acceptable alignment. As said we're friends, good friends actually, so I did... therefore I will remember this trip as the only time I've fingered a friend!
I hope noone has got a photo of this, and if you do, please delete it? (y)

Anyway, all good so we continued, and a nice route it was - with even a bit of riverbed at the end!

IMG_6690.jpg

IMG_6691.jpg

Back to the house for lunch now, some really splendid sandwiches with also some crisp salad in them - so I had two of them, with plenty Oros also of course (y)

In the afternoon anyone could do what they wanted to, so Craig & me decided to find that sandy river to go play a bit.
We did too, initially to find quite a bit of small buck with long elongated ears, no horns and quite a dark skin (no, not duikers), and later Dave mentioned there were probably some 'Kaapse...' forgotthename.
The sandy river bit was a lil short however, so we tried to find more by traversing a rocky bit initially, then veering onto the shore to see what lied next... only to find an even shorter sandy stretch.
Oh well, we had fun, did a few up&down screaming rides and went back to the plaashuis.

IMG_6692.jpg

IMG_6693.jpg

IMG_6694.jpg

Back at the middleplaas huis we decided to go back to our pozzie in Oukloof to rid ourselves of our warm, cumbersome kit ..... and there we found many thinking the same and taking the rest of the afternoon off, kuiering 👌

Saturday eve a welcome cooling breeze came up, and we had a superb dinner then, an oxtail pot - awesome!!
A good social developed, and I'm sure I speak for anyone that a good time was had by all!

Thank you to Hardy & Team (too many too mention, and I'll probably forget a few...) for organizing this excellent weekend - but in the same breath also thank you to anyone else attending, I will do this again in a heartbeat!
I hope this get-together will repeat, at least once a year but maybe twice - Autumn AND Spring?
Cheers!

Last edited:
Picked up @Grunder in Bloem on Friday morning and we drove further South, and the further we got the warmer it got!
Roan & me had met before, and just about disagreed on anything we chatted about during the trip - which made the trip gesellig, lekker and interesting, dankie meneer (y)
He was going to play GPS once Beaufort West was behind us, and he led us - by this time @ETS had joined us - without fail to Oukloof. Poor Kobus had to dodge our dust in the scorching heat, and also his car showed 40C on the dash ...

View attachment 882379

That bode well for Saturday's riding then!
We turned out to have stopped at the house we were allocated sleeping in also (there were 3 houses for this, not really close to each other) so that was lucky.
Offloaded the bikes and got to socialize with all & sundry, and drinking beer - of course, it was downright hot, also in the evening and even at night 🍻

View attachment 882380

View attachment 882381

View attachment 882382

View attachment 882383

I actually do not drink beer normally, only if I'm riding, sweating and when it's hot, to serve as a rehydrate... but it was really hot enough - I didn't even touch the wine @NIMMO had brought for me (dankie vir dit 🍷 ) because I forgot to load mine - plus my camping chair but this luckily wasn't a problem, plenty of seating available.
Anyway, a great braai followed with lekker socializing, it was a way bigger group than I'd expected, with many new2me faces.
Then off to bed, on the bed that is.... too hot, and the fan in the room brought us some relief (y)

Coffee & brekfis the next morning, and then we rode to Middleplaas (I think the name was?) some 10km's further, where others of the group slept also. Here the various groups left for their different rides, and I opted to join some big bikes on route 4 instead of riding the allegedly more-technical 2 as this was to come thereafter, and riding the same route twice is not for me. I'd brought my 300stroker for this occasion, so it felt a bit like cheating to join the bigger bikes.
That one a bit tricky uphill I thought some guys would struggle with, but as an old African Twin 750 was burbling on my *** (I forgot your name bru, pls tell me again?) I could not stop to look back down and enjoy the spectacle but had to carry on... this dude rides VERY well, we eventually only stopped at the gate at the top - where we saw a lone Oryx trotting along the fence, a beautiful animal indeed!

If someone has a few photos of that uphill where some dudes parked their bikes horizontally, please post them here?

We decided to go to the brick house being built and wait for the others to arrive - which they did, some quite knacked 😋
The water tap there was a welcome cooling off aid, I hope we left enough to continue building that house - in a very special spot, next to a river when it rains there, and with a gorgeous view, situated a bit in a neck of the hills.

View attachment 882393

View attachment 882394

View attachment 882395

View attachment 882396

Due to time constraints it was decided to not do the rest of the (all flat now) route but backtrack to Middleplaas - which meant going down that same uphill some had found their nemesis on 😋
Oh well, as the saying goes it was all downhill from there, so we got back to the plaashuis...

View attachment 882397

View attachment 882399

Here we had something to drink and left for the second route/loop of the morning, I choose route 2 with a few others.
Dave led on his KDX, and on a bit of an uphill I think he must have spotted an attractive mermaid because he came off, and rolled down further than his bike - Well Done!!!! 👌
I, very reluctantly of course, decided to stop (we're friends, I normally carry on pretending to see zilch), and only did this because the whole group following us would see this of course, and I may just get a bad reputation then... anyway, I stopped.
Dave got to his feet but his one pinky stood out proud, a bit odd, and urgently (read: shouted, army style!) asked me to yank it back into a more acceptable alignment. As said we're friends, good friends actually, so I did... therefore I will remember this trip as the only time I've fingered a friend!
I hope noone has got a photo of this, and if you do, please delete it? (y)

Anyway, all good so we continued, and a nice route it was - with even a bit of riverbed at the end!

View attachment 882404

View attachment 882405

Back to the house for lunch now, some really splendid sandwiches with also some crisp salad in them - so I had two of them, with plenty Oros also of course (y)

In the afternoon anyone could do what they wanted to, so Craig & me decided to find that sandy river to go play a bit.
We did too, initially to find quite a bit of small buck with long elongated ears, no horns and quite a dark skin (no, not duikers), and later Dave mentioned there were probably some 'Kaapse...' forgotthename.
The sandy river bit was a lil short however, so we tried to find more by traversing a rocky bit initially, then veering onto the shore to see what lied next... only to find an even shorter sandy stretch.
Oh well, we had fun, did a few up&down screaming rides and went back to the plaashuis.

View attachment 882409

View attachment 882410

View attachment 882411

Back at the middleplaas huis we decided to go back to our pozzie in Oukloof to rid ourselves of our warm, cumbersome kit ..... and there we found many thinking the same and taking the rest of the afternoon off, kuiering 👌

Saturday eve a welcome cooling breeze came up, and we had a superb dinner then, an oxtail pot - awesome!!
A good social developed, and I'm sure I speak for anyone that a good time was had by all!

Thank you to Hardy & Team (too many too mention, and I'll probably forget a few...) for organizing this excellent weekend - but in the same breath also thank you to anyone else attending, I will do this again in a heartbeat!
I hope this get-together will repeat, at least once a year but maybe twice - Autumn AND Spring?
Cheers!
Clayton Heyns on the AT

BuRP how do you think your Kovè would have done?

It would have done well there, my 300TPI was a bitofa overkill.... I was expecting some of it to be more tricky to be honest.
I've already thought about, for a next time, parking the bakkie at @NIMMO 's pozzie in Colesberg (he has Sunset Chalets there, a great overnighting spot) and then ride to Oukloof - on the Kove yes, with Jean of course but perhaps a few more.
This way we'll ride quite a bit more as well as in a different area, and this should be fun! Sure, more days off required but I'm lucky in this respect, I just tell my boss I will not be there ;)

Wonder of die Boplaas in die NC of WC val? Kan n gawe spot wees vir n NC bash al het ons al in die verlede n WC bash 6 kilos oor die NC grens gehou!! 😜

Thank you to everyone who took the time to take photos, I didnt take too many but I did get GoPro footage of most of the riding we did, I must just get it all together and edit it down.

I think we did around 1300km all in for the 3 days.. Epic riding, thank you to the instructors for leading the groups.

It was fantastic to put a face to the names and to hook up with some of the old Quest guys. Hardy and his team sure do know how to spoil adventure riders, as an adventure rider who wild camps and cooks his own food on trips it felt like cheating being catered to so well.

We got back to CT at around 5pm so it worked out perfectly leaving after the lekker brunch on Sunday.