Round the World - Do you have beer we are coming to visit?

Started following your RR with recognition and now just simply jealous!!!!!!!!! :drif:
Good luck for rest of your trip. Looking forward to more.

What a good way to sit and enjoy your lunch time at work!
Readings this RR is unbelievable!
Well done and enjoy  :thumleft:

Kry sommer 'hoendervleis' - dit is 'n belewenis - kan net indink watter ervaring die reisavontuur was ! Lekker en moet doen - dankie vir die deel !

To get back to the missile story. Nobody knows whether the missiles are in fact real or not or maybe the Angola government just ********* everybody in thinking they are still a force to be reckon with.
I can walk in there at night and take one as a souvenir. Stupid, absolutely bloody stupid. It might be a prank to fool Google Earth to pick up on it and make the USA.  Whatever the reason I hope for the inhabitants of Namibe those old rusted missiles have been disarmed.

DSCN0579-L.jpg

TIME WAS RUNNNG OUT IN ANGOLA, NEEDED TO MOVE ON

Angola provided us with a wonderful time. We will go back in the future. Agusto and I have decided to try and ride from Tombua to Foz du Cunene and back on the small bikes the locals use as transport, might make for an interesting trip. Up north from Namibe it is a riding heaven that needs to be explored.
That plan is for another day in the future. For now it was time to head back to Lubango say good bye to Jose and his family and head back to Namibia.

DSCN0730-M.jpg

EERIE GHOST TREE IN A RIVERBED. STRANGE AS IT'S THE ONLY ONE AROUND LOOKING LIKE THIS.

IMG2761-M.jpg

ANOTHER FUNNY TREE GROWING IN THE DESERT NEAR NAMIBE.

On our way back to Lubango we stopped at the Dorsland trekker memorial. You only really understand what this people went through to get there in that time. They had no roads and the terrain is anything but simple. It was not your average sissy paper pusher that can do this kind of trek.
It must have been extremely difficult for these boere to trek up to Angola.
I am humbled.

IMG2765-L.jpg

DORSLAND TREKKER MEMORIAL WITH THEIR GRAVES IN THE FOREGROUND.

IMG2766-S.jpg
IMG2768-S.jpg

DSCN0761-L.jpg

IMG2790-M.jpg

LUBANGO IS A HUGE BUZZING CITY.

IMG2789-L.jpg

A MUST STOP IN LUBANGO, THE CHRIST STATUE OVERLOOKING LUBANGO

DSCN0817-L.jpg

ANGOLAN WAR RUIN

IMG2649-M.jpg

IMG2677-M.jpg

ARCHITECTURE IS MOSTLY PORTUGUESE INFLUENCE AND THEY LOVE USING VIBRANT COLOURS.  

IMG2804-M.jpg

LIVE IS GOOD IN ANGOLA, OVERALL T'S GOING OKAY FOR ANGOLAN'S

We said our farewells in Lubango and head back towards Namibia. Camping spots in Angola is non existent, camping next to the road is the way to go and actually a load better than staying in crappy hotels at 5star prices. We never had problem camping next to the road as long as you stay well away from big settlements.
Eating at shops next to the road is cheap and the food although not gourmet stuff still good and big enough portions to fill even a big hunger.

The best is beers are available everywhere even remote places stock beers.  

IMG2803-L.jpg

IMG2809-L.jpg

THERE'S A DEPOSIT ON BEER BOTTLES AND THE LOCALS DO NOT LIKE US TAKING AWAY THE BOTTLES. BEST OPTION WAS TO EMPTY THEM INTO A BLADDER..........HUGE MISTAKE!

DSCN0791-M.jpg

WILLEM, LOCAL ELDER WE CAMPED NEAR HIS HOUSE, OUT OF RESPECT WE ASKED HIM FOR PERMISSION, HE EVEN SPOKE AFRIKAANS.

DSCN0785-L.jpg

Last night in Angola and we camped under huge Baobab trees. We had enough beer and whiskey and it end up in a moerse party.

DSCN0786-L.jpg

DSCN0805-L.jpg

DSCN0794-L.jpg

GEEN KEER, NGOLA IS A BLIKSEM OF A BEER, DRINK JOUSELF UIT JOU KLERE UIT.
DSCN0770-L.jpg

Angola was a blast, making new friends, thrills and spills, we had it all. I will forever remember the good memories of this trip into Angola.

For now it was time to head to Zambia..​

I&horse said:
Didn't the song go "Hello Africa, tell me how you're doing" ?

Who cares, show us.

Jealously looking forward to the rest.

Ye you right, when a song get stuck in my head it's not always the correct wording  :biggrin:

CAPRIVI DECEMBER 2010

Back into Namibia from Angola we headed along the border towards the Caprivi strip. Harold and Linda decided to ride back from Oshakati via Tsumeb and then Rundu. For Elsebie and myself sitting on tar that much after all the stunning dirt roads we have done it was pure torture.​

i-tXcBxsv-L.jpg

i-fPNHnKn-L.jpg

Sun down in the Caprivi after the rainsi

We headed East towards Rundu and would meet up with Harold and Linda near Pupa falls. The diversity in Namibia is mind blowing, there's deserts, grass lands, Damaraland and the Caprivi which offers some off the most beautiful sunsets and abundant wild life you can imagine.

i-nnvwGRR-M.jpg

i-XpxdnC8-M.jpg

Life is great especially wen it is raining in the Caprivi

T4A listed some community camp sites which were all empty. We stayed at one just before entering the Caprivi strip. Cost us about nothing, was safe and had a cold shower and clean toilet. Camping at these places always offers that bit more and is a bit more special to stay over with them. Most of the times you can have a lekker chat to the locals and sit and enjoy a beer with them. They just love to talk to these funny travelers.

The old Pupa falls campsite is now a run down dump. Luckily next to them other private lodges with really cool campsites have open up and offer cold beers and even a workshop to work on a BMW. Pity these lodges got such difficult names, Tuna Mutambura lodge.

i-SNxgGHB-M.jpg

i-tsrB6TS-M.jpg

i-mxN4wvM-M.jpg

Camping in Namibia the best in the world!

We spend two night there relaxing, and I had to fix the Dakar's steering head bearings for the first time. The lodge owner was really helpful and gave me space behind his workshop and some tools too fix the bearings.
For the rest it's easy to find peace here, sitting on the deck for hours watching the hippo's drift past and see how the sun die slowly over the horizon in a deep red glow.

i-d6dZ6kZ-M.jpg

i-cgkZPT5-M.jpg

The last night there we over indulged on the wine a bit, luckily our new destination was only 300km away at Mazambala island lodge. We raced there, it was damn hot and the thought of more beers and relaxation next to a river and a pool was just what was needed.

i-skxvFmS-M.jpg

i-fZgwDCn-L.jpg

We had to pack in the luxury camping while we can, from Zambia going up, camping and nice to haves will be a thing of the past.

This is one stunning lodge, you camp next to the river and the lodge is on a island. They use boats to ferry people to and fro. We were lucky it was out of season as we had the campsite to our selves.
i-pZ7ZpMz-M.jpg

Super long water flower thingamajick

i-75pXsVB-L.jpg

This feels the same as the Everglades in Florida

i-XFWL49D-M.jpg

i-XDSGfP9-L.jpg

i-HLLV7Jc-L.jpg

Time was running out for Namibia, Zambia was next.​

Ai, hoe verlang ek nou na Namibië!!!

Baie mooi foto's  :thumleft:

Thanks
Hard to get to work after starting the day following this rr.

What a cool RR... Michnus, i followed your blog but rereading this is great :thumleft:, Africa seems to be doing just fine :thumleft:..

Thanks Wheelman. The blog was not much, just a means of keeping in touch, I will write more on this RR and more pics, hope you enjoy this more than the blog.

Wheelman said:
What a cool RR... Michnus, i followed your blog but rereading this is great :thumleft:, Africa seems to be doing just fine :thumleft:..

Jis, hierdie goed sal 'n man mos in sy kantoor laat sit en huil van jaloesie!

For the people that plan the same type routes I will add the GPS info of places where we stayed and other info at the end of the post.
Murphy you basted! PART1

They say if things go too well, Murphy will end it soon enough. Much did we know that when entering Zambia from Katimo Mulilo border post.

i-CRLQbnD-M.jpg

ZAMBIA BORDER POST

It's a small border post and things went quick on the Namibian side. However the Zambian side was a laugh a minute. Chaos and run down dirty buildings with hordes of people standing around. Everything paid we were out of pocket around R700 for all the stupid taxes the Zambian charge. The one tax was payable in a old caravan wreck that had no seats and only a box and table for the man to write down the stuff.

Then if that was not bad enough, his stamp was warn down and the ink pad was dry, eventually I made him lick the stamp to get something visible on his tax paper.

i-dBcG4cj-M.jpg
i-mrgLNtC-M.jpg

FAWLTY TOWERS BACKPACKERS IS THE ONLY PLACE TO STAY IN LIVINGSTON.

We ended up at Faulty Towers backpackers in Livingston, a vibrant hip happening spot. If ever you end up in Livingston across the road from Faulty Towers in the main road on the way to the falls is a restaurant The Spot.
i-btkTRPj-M.jpg

The owners are a South African born woman and a Zambian woman, they make the best Piri-Piri chicken in Africa and at very reasonable prices. They will also make you any local dishes if arranged before the time. They really are a friendly bunch of people.

i-2kv7fj6-M.jpg

FOOD IS EVERYWHERE AND CHEAP
Cross Africa travellers the girls can get you in contact with Dan the man, he sells insurance or better yet, COMESA insurance that you would need travelling up to Egypt. He was the cheapest we found and not a scoundrel.His information is on our site www.pikipiki.co.za

i-pbQ4Zqs-M.jpg

IMPORTANT THINGS FIRST

The idea was to head for Kariba Lake and take the dirt roads that run along the lake up to Siavonga. We knew they had plenty of rain but thought we would go that way and if stuck just turn around and take the tar road up to Lusaka.  None of the Livingston folk could give us any indication what the roads along this stretch were like.

Livingston is a best experienced for two or more days. It's a small happening town with friendly folke and a busy town centre. Famous name hard liquor cost on average 30% cheaper than is SA. Obviously we stock up on Johnny Walker Black and other expensive stuff we normally don't indulge in when in SA.
There's quite a few private game reserves around Livingston that offer camping for cheap.

When at the falls on the Zambia side you can ask the customs police at the bridge to walk over to the Zimbabwe side to get a look over the falls from that side.

i-G6MRQ9M-M.jpg

FAMOUS VICOTRIA FALLS

Harold and Linda did not feel up to dirt at that stage and set off for Siavonga via the main road, we would meet up again in a day or two.  As we rounded a bend on our way to Kariba Lake near a small town called Sinazeze, Elsebie’s bike suddenly became a low rider.  The top shock bolt sheared off and the shock moved out of its bracket and, well ………………… the top part of the shock broke off dropping all the oil on the tarmac.

i-3NSHJDL-M.jpg

**** HAPPENS SHOCK TOP BOLT SHEARED OFF.

As we were standing there still trying to make plans how to get the bike to Lusaka or Livingstone an ex South African farmer pulled up next to us offering some help. He farms for Zambeef close to where we got stranded.

He immediately phoned his workshop manager, Servaas, to come and collect the bike and take it to their workshops. From there their farm compound was 12KM further located next to the lake. We could stay there and try figure out how to get the bike going again.
i-TwLJZ3R-M.jpg

RELAXING NEXT TO KARIBA

The entire compound consisted of ex South Africans working for Zambeef, according to them, Zambia is South Africa 20 years ago with regards to ease of living. Everybody is safe and crime is virtually zero. A beautiful spot with very generous people.
That evening we were invited to a braai with the farmers, that turned into a party that lasted well into the early hours of the morning.

They say booze don't solve your problems, it sure as hell helped with the kak feeling I was sitting with. The entire night I was mulling it over how to get this bike out of there and the bloody time it is going to set us back with. The only thing I could do was to get the shock out the next morning and see if there's any thing I can do to get us out of the place.

i-MwSJMzW-M.jpg

WE LOVED EATING AT THESE FOOD STALLS, CHEAP AND TASTY
The biggest problem was the farm is so remote, it's nearly 400km back to Livingston and 450km to Lusaka. The previous day when we offloaded the bike the spring unhook and the bike stood as if everything was okay.
We decided to pack up greed the friendly farmers and try and ride the bike as is to Lusaka. As long as the spring work we will be fine. At this stage I still did not know what exactly broke.

Elsebie insisted on riding her own bike and like on a pogo stick unceremoniously hopped her way as we road on to Lusaka.
i-JPK3Gt8-M.jpg

FIXING THE DAKAR'S SHOCK

I got hold of Kurt (Adventurer) and he was able to get us a new (2nd hand) shock flown into Lusaka within the next few days. We ended up in Lusaka at Chachacha backpackers.

As we rode into the grounds Neill aka Jenson Button was sitting on the floor with a despondent look on his face motorcycle tube in one hand and a knife in the other contemplating cutting it up as a liner for his front tyre. Nice surprise to see him and the XT made it so far. **** it mate, lets drink beer and then I will help you sort it out.
i-84RGmVv-M.jpg

CHRISTMAS CAMPING AT CHA CHA BACKPACKERS IN LUSAKA

There’s not much to be said about Lusaka it’s a big busy African city. The big South African companies like Foshini, Game, Truworths & Shoprite together with China taking over with big gusto. 

i-Sd5b6hw-M.jpg

i-H7jH56g-M.jpg

i-zjT4gnL-M.jpg

Game stores also decide to get some action in Zambia. Only problem is their qualified people decided to sell Tweetalige rekenaars in Game. Where de hell did they get the idea Afrikaans will sell in Zambia.

i-FBSnskf-M.jpg

TWEETALIGE AFRIKAANS/ENGELS KINDER REKENAAR BY GAME LUSAKA

i-2NZmXKs-M.jpg

OHLSSENS BEER, DON'T KNOW WHERE IN THE WORLD THEY STILL MAKE THIS.