Round the World - Do you have beer we are coming to visit?

'Merica

How we ended in the USA was only due to our lovely SA passport allowing us 90days in the EU. The plan was to ride from Germany to Croatia and Bosnia, Turkey and on...you get the picture. But we need visas for Croatia, if, wanted to stay longer than the 7day transit...and so on and so on..

And then we decided to chuck Eu for now and do USA, Mexico and then down to South America and end in Ushuaia. And if all goes well back up again to Alaska. And seeing SA citizens need no visas for South America.
All good and fine but the bikes are fokin moeg. Africa took it's toll. So we left them in Germany for future use and made the decision to buy new'ish bikes in the USA. Low mileage and so on. In addition to ship bikes the world over is a very costly affair, that would already be the cost of half a bike. And then we can leave the bikes in the USA or South America.  

No BMW's again, damn heavy, farking expensive to maintain if not in a 1st world country. The DR650's are bulletproof....damn i hope so. I know Murphy is a dooos. And they are still sold in the USA new!! We bought and kitted both bikes for less than 160000ROND. The '11 with 2000miles and the '13 with 1500miles.

We spend a 3 weeks with Hank from www.motohank.com in a small town called Dilley Texas to prep the bikes. Even the fact that it is the USA parts takes time to arrive. And the shocks got build for our use. BTW, Hank is a super hero guru BMW mechanic and people come from damn far to have him service and work on their bikes. He owns a GS1100 with 500000miles on the odo, yip miles.

IMG_3507+-+Version+2.jpg

Might know him from this photo in Bolivia. His bike was there already on over 400000miles.

i-dt4xM8d-M.jpg

Hank from Motohank.

And so our 6 months visa we have 5 months left to go all the way up to Wyoming and back down the West coast to Baja in Mexico.

The next part of the adventure just started.  :thumleft: :ricky:​

https://www.smugmug.com/photos/i-dt4xM8d/1/L/i-dt4xM8d-L.jpg/img]
Hank and his cool workshop in Dilley

[img]https://www.smugmug.com/photos/i-Rb7dFqq/0/L/i-Rb7dFqq-L.jpg

i-6ZD2rPT-M.jpg

And we got the best shocks from Cogent Dynamics. The best is they also send us a Round The World kit to fix the shocks if need be. Or get somebody to fix them. That is freaking amazing! From all the parts on a bike that will most likely cost you mega bucks on a trip it's the suspension.

i-MCHLPfb-L.jpg

One thing that makes me the happiest! Getting down from 13kg for the Dakar to 3kg for the DR650.

i-Z2NBB4G-L.jpg

Ready to roll!

i-dWtZN4v-L.jpg

What a luck, we rolled into this little town between Albuquerque and Sante fe and stop at the diner, damn shop, which was build for the movie Wild Hogs.

i-CnxR66Q-L.jpg

Michelle a new friend gave us this damn fine Top Shelf tequila. SOAH....Source Of All Happiness. We carry it in our multi fuel bottle. No cop will try and drink that stuff if I tell him this is fuel for the stove.  :lol8:

i-xB2FmcW-L.jpg

The Source Of All Happiness.  :ricky:

i-zvp6WmP-L.jpg

And today Sitting Bull Big chief gave my bike it's new name.​

I think the 10kg saving on tools will help the suspension, since you are a B.U.F.F.... :peepwall:

From Texas, Big Bend to New Mexico, Colorado, Arizona and now Utah. We have already covered nearly 6000km the last month and a bit.

We got some stunning tracks to ride in Colorado that took us to 11000ft and a magnificent view over the San Juan mountains and in Utah the White Rim road. All those tracks from Advriders, otherwise we would never have seen the beauty of this enormous country.
And have met with so many cool people that have opened their homes to us. We are just blown away by the hospitality of the Yanks.
i-vDWQBtn-XL.jpg

Yes I do Starbucks....and Mcdonalds....and all the other franchise outlets who's got WiFi to offer. :lol3

i-dWtZN4v-XL.jpg

We roll into this small little town somewhere near Sante Fe and low and behold this is the place they shot the movie Wild Hogs. Except it is not diner anymore.

i-S29DNT7-XL.jpg

I have no idea. I know it's outside Los Alamos on the way back to Sante Fe we took some 2 track and eventually end up where the road was closed. The scenery made up for it.

i-kgb8dPG-XL.jpg

Some cool tracks Dgoj gave us to ride from Durango to Telluride.

i-3cVCTJ6-XL.jpg

i-vGDNRVz-XL.jpg

Since we have no snow in South Africa we behave like delinquents when having the chance. :lol3

i-739FGZg-XL.jpg

The road topped out at 11000ft. The views are just mind blowing!

i-dQDLjvL-XL.jpg

i-4rCxJBM-XL.jpg

Camping next to the Rio Grande.

i-bzRsr6M-XL.jpg

i-q4rd55k-XL.jpg

Feel all movie like riding towards Monument valley  :lol8:

i-RbK5HmH-XL.jpg

i-XnM9Fdg-XL.jpg

The Grand Canyon is truly something to behold.

i-CDfgXPv-XL.jpg

Camping in the forrest on the North rim of the Canyon. Either pay 20us to camp in their park and get bugger all or pay zero and get a great camp place in the woods.

i-VHw8Rcw-XL.jpg

Zion National Park.

i-8fHG9Bg-XL.jpg

Bryce National Park.

i-RbB8xjC-XL.jpg

If for some reason you have never ridden the Burr trail from Boulder to Bullfrog, then make a plan. It's an incredibly beautiful stretch of road with towering cliffs, something like the Arches near Moab. It's one of the best kept secrets and no RV's or tourist or busses.

i-pRSx5GC-XL.jpg

Camping at Lake Powell in the 4th of July. At least we got to see some fireworks.

It's simple. The white rim trail is a day ride. Well I would have love to camp there. But it's an absolute must ride. The scenery and ride makes this just a stunning groovy route.

i-H3G9W6R-XL.jpg

i-z6dxScd-XL.jpg

i-F2f94Jv-XL.jpg

We took some pass going up from the Colorado which was washed away from rains. In the end we had to drag the 1200GSA up the last bit of the pass.
We met the Canadian husband/wife couple a few days earlier. When we said we want to ride the White rim trail they asked if they can accompany us. Well, there's nothing like making new friends, especially if you spend some time together dragging a bus up a mountain.  :lol8:

i-nL4HBgg-XL.jpg

i-tR9DgGH-XL.jpg

i-B3kV3Sg-XL.jpg

i-xLmqzHd-XL.jpg

The mighty Colorado river.

i-G2kfQ3P-XL.jpg

Nice, very nice!  :thumleft:

You probably cannot be bothered, but just in case you might, you can post the pictures bigger - if you go and modify your post, you can change the width and height of the picture next to the 'IMG' tag. I think at least the scenery pictured deserve proper size!

zetman said:
goeie werk love dit

Hoe LOOP die DR'S? ???

Flippen lekker! Moes Afrika al met hulle gedoen het. Ligter, makilker, koedkoper en beter off road as die BMW's  :thumleft:  Maar tyd sal sien of hulle sal hou.  :lol8:

michnus said:
zetman said:
goeie werk love dit

Hoe LOOP die DR'S? ???

Flippen lekker! Moes Afrika al met hulle gedoen het. Ligter, makilker, koedkoper en beter off road as die BMW's  :thumleft:  Maar tyd sal sien of hulle sal hou.  :lol8:

Those DR's are like AK's boet. They don't break sommer.

Great report! The trip looks amazing!!!

Thanks for sharing  :thumleft:

Thanks Evansv.  :thumleft:

We missed Pike's Peak Welsh, it was just too far East. But the rest of Colorado made up for it.

Will get some more beer pics Gser when we get proper internet again.  ;)

Also pleased you got down to the SW and New Mexico - I spent a year there some time back, mostly in Albuquerque and surrounds but also further South.

Eish Michnus. This is all just so amazing. I am so envious.

Whatever are you going to do when this is all over. It seems like your bucket list will be null and void.

Safe travels.

BigDom we really enjoyed New Mexico and places like Sante Fe. The arts and sculpture scene is pretty cool there.

Thanks Warren  :thumleft:

Jakkals, the DR's is nou nie die beste hardcore Dakar races en power nie, maar as overland tools doen hulle n damn goeie job.  ;)

This is not your average rag job adventure clothing company.

i-tFQGRwC-XL.jpg

Funny Emily and Ashley at reception.
With our current motorcycle clothing getting a bit rough around the edges and resemble beggars rags. People told us KLIM is on our route and should stop at KLIM to have a look at their pimp daddy stuff. KLIM is located in Idaho Falls, and what a good place to be! Idaho offer some super groovy snow and dirt to play while testing KLIM stuff.

i-qVgccK5-XL.jpg

Hanging a 1200GS BMW from a KLIM jacket!

i-RBVQx6d-XL.jpg

KTM 1190 hanging on a KLIM jacket!

i-NvcVwnZ-XL.jpg

Brett, G'day Aussie and VP Marketing and Sales took out on his busy schedule to show us around the facilities.

i-5v3xQSN-XL.jpg

So many designs there's not enough space in the offices for all the work they do.

BTW, KLIM is pronounced “climb” as in climb up a hill or a single track with a snow mobile or motorcycle. Also Justin Summers the man who started KLIM said jokingly to us it says MILK backwards. What struck us upfront was the friendly, happy working demeanor of the people at KLIM. They are the active outdoor adventure types and got it even better by working for a company like KLIM. This bunch lives for snow, dirt and the outdoors!

i-NCPKHjL-XL.jpg

The secret place in KLIM! Spy movie stuff! This is where the new products, sample testing and prototypes are made.

We were treated like VIP’s by Brett the VP of Marketing and Sales and Stacy who deals with International customers. They gave us a tour of the facilities and took the time to tell us what differentiate KLIM from the rest of the main stream outfits. Our tour even included the design studios and places where secret plots are hacked to make even better protection when having a “yard sale” - You know when you eat dirt and your bike and stuff are thrown allover the place?!

i-PrM4b4s-XL.jpg

i-53FTnmh-XL.jpg

The amount of research, technology, planning and testing going on in KLIM are just mind blowing insane. KLIM do not follow the main stream brands they are innovators. They have some universities assisting them with product and fabric research. They have partnered with Gore-Tex, D30, Cordura, WindStopper, 3M Scotchlite, YKK to enable them to manufacture clothing for motorcyclist, snow boarders, snowmobile riders and off-road enthusiast the absolute best stuff. It is evident there’s been a lot of thought put into the products.

i-SnVjc3N-XL.jpg

Stacy, showing me how gloves are supposed to fit.

Some suites have Gore-tex waterproof fabric build into the suite and therefore no need to carry a rain suite around. KLIM understand venting and to keep cool in extreme heat. The fit and sizing is proper and not your typical Pakistan made clothing. It’s easy to understand why Dakar riders and competitive racers use KLIM, they are just on a whole different universe from the mainstream stuff on offer.

And they must be the only brand offering a Lifetime warranty on their products. If ever you have the time and chance to visit them go have a look, it’s a really cool experience.

i-zZzTTrm-XL.jpg

Look at the gnarly transport KLIm people use to haul Snowmobiles and bikes around Idaho to play and test.