The 1981 R100G/S @ the Amageza

Sprocketbek said:
Pic taken LATE on Sunday nite:

Nice shot there SP  :thumleft: :thumleft: :thumleft:

part ?? continued

So Friday night I climb into my little tent, and made myself comfortable on the Michnus stretcher, also supplied by Touratech S.A. As I lay there the reality of what I had gotten myself into started kicking in.

What if I’m not fit enough, will the donkey make it, what if I could not finish because I didn’t prep the bike correctly and what would the guys say that bought advertising space on the Bike. Just as I was getting all the crap out of my head slowly falling asleep my phone rings. It’s Schalk, aka the lost guy, just checking in and wanting to know were the Bakkie keys are. Okay fine sorted, just falling asleep I start getting hot in the sleeping bag, sweater out and back to bed. Woke up a little later freezing and then a little later again because I had to go and take a leak, again.  :patch: :patch:

So not much sleep later the AC/DC alarm went of and that was the end of trying to get some rest.    :xxbah:

“Lekker deur die K@K, I stumble back and forth between the hostel toilets and tent, forgetting everything from my flashlight to my riding boots.

Right ready to NOT race!  :ricky: :ricky:

I forgot to tell you about the one problem the BMW’s have in the early mornings in Winter. The temperature of Sutherland at night is like winter. Airheads don’t start easily when they are cold. I happened on Thursday night after the beers outside Jupiters. Friday morning when I was planning on riding with BlueBull and why would it be any different on Saturday and Sunday.

Everyone getting there stuff together and some bad hair day blond guy pushing a bike and getting cars started to jumpstart his machine. Jumpers are the trick and soon she was running, … I was so relieved.  Thanks Oom Danie and the rest!!  :thumleft:

Waiting at the start line I saw the determination and fear in the riders eyes, “vandag word die manne van die muise geskei”. We left three up, and soon had a bit of a struggle resetting my trip meter(s).  Only reading other peoples RR’s did I really appreciate Touratech Road book even more. It had orange back light on it making the reading in the dark much easier. Well the navigation took some getting use to, and by the second turn of I already overshot , so now my calculations were ever more out, thanks GPS for not resetting automatically at the start.  every waypoint on the Roadbook had to get 2.2 km more

We lined up for the start of the special and luckily mother nature gave us a beautiful sunrise,  taking our minds of what was going to come……. 

• IMG_4175.jpg
    IMG_4175.jpg
    122.7 KB
  • IMG_4176.jpg
    IMG_4176.jpg
    129.2 KB
  • IMG_4177.jpg
    IMG_4177.jpg
    127.1 KB
  • IMG_4178.jpg
    IMG_4178.jpg
    133.2 KB
  • IMG_4179.jpg
    IMG_4179.jpg
    101.7 KB
  • IMG_4179.jpg
    IMG_4179.jpg
    101.7 KB
Soundboi said:
:laughing4: :laughing4: :laughing4:

will add soon, just busy with life and moving, sorry to keep some of the readers hanging!

madmike999 said:
So not much sleep later the AC/DC alarm went of and that was the end of trying to get some rest.    :xxbah:

“Lekker deur die K@K, I stumble back and forth between the hostel toilets and tent, forgetting everything from my flashlight to my riding boots.

I forgot to tell you about the one problem the BMW’s have in the early mornings in Winter. The temperature of Sutherland at night is like winter. Airheads don’t start easily when they are cold. I happened on Thursday night after the beers outside Jupiters. Friday morning when I was planning on riding with BlueBull and why would it be any different on Saturday and Sunday.

Everyone getting there stuff together and some bad hair day blond guy pushing a bike and getting cars started to jumpstart his machine. Jumpers are the trick and soon she was running, … I was so relieved.  Thanks Oom Danie and the rest!!  :thumleft:

Seems like neither Airheads nor their riders start easily when it is cold...?  ;D
Next time take more blankets...

... for you AND for the bike.  :thumleft:

You should know that old ladies need a shawl after sunset.

Fudmucker said:
madmike999 said:

Seems like neither Airheads nor their riders start easily when it is cold...?  ;D
Next time take more blankets...

... for you AND for the bike.  :thumleft:

You should know that old ladies need a shawl after sunset.
:imaposer: Aren't you supposed to pee on the pods to warm them up :biggrin:

Mike, you should use that cistern flush handle sticking out the side of your bike to start it with!! :peepwall:
I have to say the BeeEm started fairly easily, and several of my friends commented on how beautifully that engine runs.

Subscribed..... C'mon oke, where is the rest???  :pot:

That scoot of yours is looking gorgeous. I sold mine to a chap here on the forum. I still regret it. Question here, how does one go about entering the rally in the first place??? and what are the bike classes???

charliegreger said:

That scoot of yours is looking gorgeous. I sold mine to a chap here on the forum. I still regret it. Question here, how does one go about entering the rally in the first place??? and what are the bike classes???

I've got it !  :ricky:

Fudmucker said:
charliegreger said:

I've got it !   :ricky:
Nee sies man. You boast about owning the bike but your avatar shows you standing up with the bike lying down  :dontknow:

SteveD said:
Fudmucker said:
charliegreger said:

I've got it !   :ricky:
Nee sies man. You boast about owning the bike but your avatar shows you standing up with the bike lying down  :dontknow:

It's not the one in the avatar.  ::)
I bought the G/S that CG sold. 
It will make its way on to this forum in due time...

Look, its the new levitating GS!  :deal:  :laughing7: