The Dispatch Rider and the Valiant go and see Verneukpan - en kak lekker af!

"I enjoyed these inclines and declines as it felt a bit like a roller coaster going over them." - I loved that feeling too  :thumleft:

Waar was ons nouweer?
Where were we?

O ja Brandvlei.

Now, from my messing around with Basecamp and Google earth there is one thing that stuck and I couldn't quite work out. I think it contributed to my state of confusion-ness if thats a word.

Brakkie se Veldkombuis was far from Brandvlei. Where the pan was. I kept on looking at this strange phenommo, phienom, er phenomini aargh business and kept on wondering how this is going to work.

I was finding out distances here was measured in hundreds of km's!

While in Brandvlei some WD's started talking to the guy who works in the shop. Sporting long grey hair, a two week old grey beard and slippers, he lit a siggie and said the pan was about 80 km far and pointed roughly where I thought north must be.

Then he said they usually direct the tourists the shortest route with the least gravel. He couldn't quite work out why some inquired about another route but finally called one of his attendants over to give us directions.

I was sitting at a table, eating some chips and drinking a coke and watching all this going on.

I needed to get to the pan but had no idea how to get there. Even I eventually learn from my mistakes and my mind was made up to just hook up with another group and follow them to the pan. So I was listening and trying to pick a group.

When I was ready, as luck would have it there were guys leaving and they knew the way, so I fell in behind them.

We went through town and then right onto a gravel road. It was very dusty so easy for me to just hang back, ride my own pace and still see which way to go.

The guys stopped a couple of times, and I stopped too. We chatted a while and got going again.

I couldn't get my head around the 120 km I heard them talking about - surely the guy at the shop said 80 km? They must have heard wrong.

We rode and rode. I was fast reaching the point where I've had enough. And then it stared getting sandy.

And then we rode into a very big sand pit. As I came around the corner and there was a guy laying on his back against the berm - trapped under his bike. Right in the middle of the sand pit - and it was a big one.

I bravely rode in, managed to stay upright and stopped where he was, put my stand out and helped him get his leg free.

He got going again and I wasn't looking forward to finishing the sandy bit but somehow made it through.

I felt a bit like a vrot vel just hanging onto the bike which felt like a top heavy bucket of water with a mind of it's own.

This was getting hectic.

I was huffing and puffing and sure I would end up in a sorry heap of metal and earthly belongings any second. The worst thing was not knowing how long this was going to continue, whether it was going to get worse or or or ... even worse!?

But soon we joined another road and it was bigger and better.

Then we got to the farm house and what I later realised was the infamous sandy patch - which you can bypass if you want. I knew about this but had no idea how to bypass it so in for a penny in for a pound and all that I gave myself a talking too and decided to man up how hard can it be.

It was hard.

But not impossible - I remember getting stuck and laughing at Phillip and shouting I hope it's not 10 km's of this shit as I knew there were 10 km's to go still. Phillip just pointed at my rear wheel, then at his and said "At least you have traction"

I made it through.
Then there was deep ruts where a tractor or something rode in the mud.
For this some precision riding was required.
Made that too.

I was quite relieved to see the entrance to the pan.

It seemed surreal and immediately I knew it was all worth it. I stopped to take some photos.

• WP_20130629_010.jpg
    WP_20130629_010.jpg
    52.4 KB
  • WP_20130629_011.jpg
    WP_20130629_011.jpg
    77.8 KB
  • WP_20130629_013.jpg
    WP_20130629_013.jpg
    87 KB
  • WP_20130629_009.jpg
    WP_20130629_009.jpg
    80.1 KB
Those deep mud tracks we have Rynet to thank for... :ricky:
I was just about to whine here so that you continue your RR...

I found Jondu et al next to the caravans and started hearing about people that got hurt and his bakkie picking up bikes and broken bodies all over the place. He had no idea where Aldo and his bakkie was and no way of contacting him.

Heres some pics of the camp site.

The caravans are VIP lodgings and not for us riff-raff.

• WP_20130629_014.jpg
    WP_20130629_014.jpg
    61.5 KB
  • WP_20130629_015.jpg
    WP_20130629_015.jpg
    72.4 KB
Alducor said:
Those deep mud tracks we have Rynet to thank for... :ricky:
I was just about to whine here so that you continue your RR...
Patience o young one - "oom Chris" tik maar stadig...

Ek gooi al Wilbur Smith stories op my RR... Seker maar 'n occupational hazzard. Ek wag in stilte...  :thumleft:

We got settled and I unpacked my bike.
Then headed out to the pan for some fun and games.

There were a bunch of guys messing around and I saw some drags between the 990's and a STen.

But the pan is so big you never actually know what happens and it doesn't help asking because everyone's a winner at the pan - if you know what I mean!

There were guys wheeliing and even rynet and WKC had the KLR's on the drag strip. I took the Valiant for a quick up and down run and it was awesome being to able to just open the bike up and not having to worry about anything.

The Mambat did his party trick.

Right in front of me.

• WP_20130629_024.jpg
    WP_20130629_024.jpg
    73.1 KB
  • WP_20130629_026.jpg
    WP_20130629_026.jpg
    73.7 KB
  • WP_20130629_025.jpg
    WP_20130629_025.jpg
    65.6 KB
  • WP_20130629_023.jpg
    WP_20130629_023.jpg
    58.8 KB
  • WP_20130629_022.jpg
    WP_20130629_022.jpg
    63.8 KB
  • WP_20130629_021.jpg
    WP_20130629_021.jpg
    68.2 KB
  • WP_20130629_020.jpg
    WP_20130629_020.jpg
    64.2 KB
  • WP_20130629_017.jpg
    WP_20130629_017.jpg
    70.3 KB
  • WP_20130629_018.jpg
    WP_20130629_018.jpg
    53.1 KB
Gou nog n paar kiekies ek gaan later aan my 10 jaar oue skaduwee wil iets in die garage gaan doen, hy het sy pa vreeslik gemis hy kan my nie genoeg drukkies gee nie!

• WP_20130629_026.jpg
    WP_20130629_026.jpg
    73.7 KB
  • WP_20130629_027.jpg
    WP_20130629_027.jpg
    78.7 KB
  • WP_20130629_028.jpg
    WP_20130629_028.jpg
    48.7 KB
  • WP_20130629_029.jpg
    WP_20130629_029.jpg
    51.3 KB
  • WP_20130629_030.jpg
    WP_20130629_030.jpg
    64 KB
  • WP_20130629_031.jpg
    WP_20130629_031.jpg
    50.2 KB
  • WP_20130629_032.jpg
    WP_20130629_032.jpg
    58.8 KB
  • WP_20130629_033.jpg
    WP_20130629_033.jpg
    73.8 KB
Alducor said:
Ek gooi al Wilbur Smith stories op my RR... Seker maar 'n occupational hazzard. Ek wag in stilte...  :thumleft:
Ek is weer meer van n Andy McNab man, maar ek dink ek weet wat jy bedoel!

Some specially for Mambat.
That bike impressed me - it started and they rode it back to the camp!

I felt very sorry for mambat as I know exactly how it feels.
I once came off at the end of the pit straight at Killarney and it's not lekker sitting there, hurting and wondering what the hell happened.
Hearing people talking and wishing you could hit the undo button and at the same time knowing there is no way of undoing it and the worst pain is till to come.

Anyway heal well Mambat, thinking of you.

• WP_20130629_037.jpg
    WP_20130629_037.jpg
    95.5 KB
  • WP_20130629_036.jpg
    WP_20130629_036.jpg
    107.8 KB
Dankie Chris
Dit was lekker om te lees.Ons het nogal lekker gekamp.

Bliknêrs said:

Klink nog net so mooi met skuins exhaust en alles. Ek het 'n spin voor Hinksding se huis gevat oppad na die stoor toe. giftig...

Bliknêrs said:

I once came off at the end of the pit straight at Killarney and it's not lekker sitting there, hurting and wondering what the hell happened.
Hearing people talking and wishing you could hit the undo button and at the same time knowing there is no way of undoing it and the worst pain is till to come.

At least this time the "giftig" bitch looks as beaten up as me!

Do you guys at least have any before pictures of my antics that I can smile at or is it all overshadowed
By my spectacular finale  ;D  ;D ;D

Thanks Blinkes for well wishes  :thumleft:

Mambat said:
Bliknêrs said:

Do you guys at least have any before pictures of my antics that I can smile at or is it all overshadowed
By my spectacular finale  ;D   ;D ;D

I think WKC has some footage... :thumleft:

Alducor said:
Mambat said:
Bliknêrs said:

By my spectacular finale  ;D   ;D ;D

I think WKC has some footage... :thumleft:

I believe I have a short video of you playing around and a few of your wheelies and such!!

Bliknêrs said:
The Mambat did his party trick.

Right in front of me.

:imaposer: :imaposer:

Hehehe , I hope its not too early to laugh . But yes Mambat, that was quite a party trick . :biggrin: >:D

I am enjoying your RR Bllikners. But please can you post a pic of yourself , I am sure we met but I met so many people I'm not sure which one is you. And please , we want more...... :ricky:

I have no pics of myself and my avatar is a couple of years old, so not a true reflection any more.
I did however shake your hand in Vanrhynsdorp after we had a burger on the way back if that helps.