The Unforgiven Trail - and the legends that tamed it

van my dag 0 en 1 fotos:

626aaab2-d21c-4f5d-8124-2b4c41772a00.jpg
cba6152c-8360-4a59-bc80-4a47c97f7caf.jpg
e92f7a59-cd67-4268-b332-e47a9e7f7be4.jpg
2223fd1e-ea80-45aa-9482-0aef962cc1e8.jpg
f545d2fd-4a98-496e-9eb5-ae69f4a893e3.jpg

Day 3 was a mixed bag for me...
I had my first tip-over just before klein VZP. Just to keep me humble but then did not struggle much with the actual small pass, was a nice intro as was mentioned. Klein Serengeti was also lots of fun.
3d9552e3-1878-4f10-9d4b-17ef64a751fd.jpg

Then we hit the riverbed and I was managing fine, just managing not flying. I did not want to have an off so tried keeping it save. Think I was doing mid 3rd gear, enough to semi float but slow enough to manage situations. Around 70kmph I think. Fred and myself were having fun but I was struggling to keep up. Eventually we stopped to wait for the others, having missed the memo to stop at the entrance to river. This had me a little worried for the trip....we waited a full hour! Eventually we rode on, but this time Fred gunned ahead, taking my mojo with him. I wasnt riding as lekker as I did before and the bike was getting hot. I knew the 990 likes running hot, but engine light hot had me pulling over a few times to have the bike take a break.

pic of us taking a break. Kind of weird knowing there is elphants around, and we kept hearing noises in the bush behind us.
99287e92-8534-4787-a186-c86ffae3d371.jpg

Then I had a fall, one off those extra thick sand corners with super deep tracks, front end dug in and I did a rolling dismount. (pic does not do it justice, eish)
470a64cc-ef32-43d3-90fa-377c7dfc9c2a.jpg

I soldiered on, it was very hot but I was fine. I then rode almost into a marsh and had to turnaround. 990 is fine offroad till you have to manhandle it to make U turns. I was less fine.
I backtracked and found a spot I had to exit at. Loads of fesh fesh and I had to try twice to get up the riverbank and out. I was even less fine, working hard.
1c533808-1cfc-409f-8496-e58a1e29210a.jpg

Then I was down on the riverbank again at a different section of the river and could not see the crossing. For the life of me I just could not find the track. And there was a difficult entrance down to the river so again I was working very hard. Really not so fine anymore. I went twice down the embankment when I decided, screw it, I guess I have to go through the marsh. I was on my way back when I met Pierre and Robert and I think Werner coming from the front. I remember asking with some houding Pierre if he knew where to go, and he said yes referring to the track, but I also had the track so I asked him if he REALLY knew. Sorry Pierre.

Anyhow, they found the crossing in no time and the day ended well for me. Less so for Robert.

(I hope I am narrating the correct day)

I was talking to a friend yesterday. He asked me why this tour is so tough. My reply was that normally when guys go out for a technical ride, it is a one-day or maybe a weekend affair. You arrive at home knackered and then have the whole week to recover. On this tour you are working hard on your bike for 10 days in a row. There is no time to recharge your batteries. Once you are hit by fatigue and exhaustion, it is very hard to recover. Often a rider will think that maybe his mojo is just gone, but in reality they are just tired (something that many find hard to admit). That is why we keep repeating the same message over and over – stay hydrated, keep out of the sun, rest often etc. Once tired you start to make mistakes and nothing saps your energy like taking a tumble.

For the crew it is very important for the riders to have fun, and going into survival mode isn't much fun. Best thing you can do is rest often, drink enough water & rehydrate. This also gives you time to look around in take in the scenery.

... back to the second half of day 3.

After the Ombonde river joins the Hoanib, there were patches of standing water. As mentioned by @m0lt3n, the track then takes you in and out of the river. Where it becomes marshy, you had to climb out on an embankment that is deeply rutted and covered with a thick layer of fesh-fesh. We had briefed some of the newer riders on what to expect when you encounter fesh-fesh but no words can really prepare you for it.

@BuRP, @JeanDV and @Blackspar overshot the exit, saw some elephants further down the river and turned back. @BuRP climbed out first, creating a massive dust cloud. @JeanDV was hot on his heels and suddenly he found himself in the claws of the fesh-fesh. I couldn't see around the corner but his bike suddenly went quiet. I walked around the corner and there he was, lying on his back with the bike on top if him, completely covered in dust. (I got flashbacks from the previous year where @NIMMO also had a similar experience.) I think Jean approached the following fesh-fesh areas with a lot more caution. 😄

We got to another water crossing and found @JustBendIt with his bike stuck in the river. He had one or two unplanned dismounts earlier in the day and didn't want to waste more energy trying to pull it out. We used a tow strap and pulled it free with the Cruiser.

From there it is a short distance to camp, riding some flowing, stoney trails through the canyon. At the entrance of the camp, @darthvader somehow injured his foot (I'm not sure exactly how it happend, maybe he can tell the story), but his foot was quite swollen. Fortunately the next day he was able to continue riding. He never mentioned anything but I think he had to endure some pain from there onwards. Respect.

Anyhow, they found the crossing in no time and the day ended well for me. Less so for Robert.

Robert??
Dunno about that, but Pierre, Jean & me found Justin stuck in the crossing - deep!
"Hey Justin, why didn't you just ride around that bit eh?" he didn't like 😋

Anyway, none of us were looking forward to wet boots so we generously offered to help him wait for Hardy rather than help him himself, and in doing so others arrived on scene - hello Steve & Andrew!
Then Hardy arrived, and before he could plow the remaining passable crossing to soggy oblivia I rode through to the other end to take some pics - below.

This was at the end of the canyon close to the campsite, however the long fesh-fesh sections were still to come.
They were easily avoided by riding next to them though, so we arrived at camp without further incident.

• IMG_1510.jpg
    IMG_1510.jpg
    1.2 MB
  • IMG_1511.jpg
    IMG_1511.jpg
    1.3 MB
  • IMG_1512.jpg
    IMG_1512.jpg
    1.3 MB
  • IMG_1513.jpg
    IMG_1513.jpg
    1.4 MB
  • IMG_1514.jpg
    IMG_1514.jpg
    1.3 MB
  • IMG_1515.jpg
    IMG_1515.jpg
    1.5 MB
One day when I am taller I need to do this, because sand and I are not friends
Just go and do it, wear high heels!:ROFLMAO:
Seriously, you will enjoy it!
If you ride moderately, even my klr with lowering link could handle everything so leg length is not such a big issue.
Remember your groceries all go in the truck and all you carry is your hydration pack. No glass bottles;)

If you ride moderately, even my klr with lowering link could handle everything so leg length is not such a big issue.
Remember your groceries all go in the truck and all you carry is your hydration pack. No glass bottles;)
If I stop for a rest, under shade, with a gorgeous view, my chair and wine has to come out....

Remember the old saying for riding sand: Head up, Stand up and Open up, it works, nogal

Reactions: ETS
@m0lt3n haha no worries :)

Day 2's moon:
IMG20230508063142.jpg

Day 3 -
My favourite part of the day; dirtbike sunrise
IMG20230507190527.jpg

That klein van Zyls entry was sweet! Unfortunately i have no photos of the rocky entry into the pass, but it was very much enjoyable.
I rode to the top and decided not to walk all the way down to support the others (my apologies). Instead I waited at the top and took a few pics.

@darthvader and @Renrew coming by, while I'm enjoying my lunch:

Opposite side of Klein v Zyls, heading towards the 1st riverbed. I was quite worried that my lack of sand riding skills would leave me wanting.
Yes in NL we have lots of sand, but I've not ridden it in over a year and I'm also unfit.
IMG20230508102222.jpg

Steve:
IMG20230508102225.jpg

@JustBendIt in the background:
IMG20230508111305.jpg

By this point, I started to really like @BuRP 's 500
IMG20230508111259.jpg

Following a couple 'moments' through Klein Serengeti plain, where I bottomed out the 500's suspension through an Erdvark gat :D , I was joined by @darthvader in the Ombonde riverbed
IMG20230508113554.jpg

Man! that riverbed was so much fun!
I quickly got the hang of things again and found myself valve-bouncing the 500 in 5th :D The 500 is an absolute beast in the thick sand.

By the end of the Ombonde riverbed I did not like Bart's bike anymore, I loved it!
What the hell was happening to this front tyre? It looked bad, but still handled like a machine, so I kept going
IMG20230512133056.jpg

Nothing like a cold swim and an even colder Brandy to end the perfect day of riding!
IMG20230508142842.jpg

IMG20230508182527.jpg

IMG20230508182539.jpg

Last edited:
Day 4 – Khowarib to Purros

After a champion’s breakfast of Taystee Wheat, we set off to Sesfontein to refuel.

We pass the infamous low water bridge just outside of camp where Fred came off last year. This year it was bone dry - disappointing! 😄

Arriving at Sesfontein we are told that they are out of fuel. No petrol, no diesel. After weighing up the different options we refuel the bikes from the fuel drums in the Unimog. Hardy organises 200 liters of petrol and 200l of diesel to be brought to Purros for when we return there 3 days later. Hein will bring it from Swakopmund. Greg and myself would have to return later today when the fuel station is restocked.

The roads are badly corrugated all the way to Purros. Alan and Greg have their hands full to get the trailer to camp.

We pass the first of the Lone Men of the Kaokoland and have our lunch in the shade of a rock overhang.

Not far after lunch @Aprilian stands underneath a tree with his bike dead. @Runner and @Catchy help to trace the problem to a dead battery. The battery was not secured with the rubber strap and has shaken itself to pieces. Hardy has a spare at hand and after slotting in the spare battery we continue onwards to the Gribies Plains.

Most of the riders stop at Manchester United Tavern upon their arrival at Purros but are disappointed to find that the beer is not as cold as they dreamed it would be on the road.

At camp we unload the bakkie, load fuel drums and Greg and I take the Cruiser back to Sesfontein. We arrive there just after dark and meet the manager of the fuel station as arranged. We get the required fuel (370l petrol, 120l diesel), and head back. We arrived at camp at around 23:30 if I recall correctly. Chantal has food and coffee ready for us and after gulping down our meal we immediately hit the stretchers after a long day.

Driving through the Kaokoland at night with a strong moon was an awesome experience. We stopped once or twice, just to stand outside and take it all in. The stars are bright even with the moon alight. The veld that seems a bit dead during the day seemingly comes alive at night.