Driving through the Kaokoland at night with a strong moon was an awesome experience. We stopped once or twice, just to stand outside and take it all in.
I must admit that I was a little worried about some of the riders. I have not had enough opportunity to see the de Villiers brothers riding and neither did I see the guys on the bigger bikes because of the issues we had with the trailer on day two.
It was my intention to see as much as possible of the new guys on day two, so that I was in a position to suggest the bail out route (or not) to the riders who might struggle with the Khowarib Schlught on day three.
The Schlught will test every aspect of your sand riding skills and it will become your worst nightmare if you are not truly comfortable on the never ending sand of the Ombonde and Hoanib riverbeds.
Luckily, my fears were unfounded and the riders mentioned above all turned out to be as resilient as pissed of honeybadgers because there in front of my eyes these newcomers and big bike riders ripped up the sand, one dustcloud after the other.
a Special mention goes out to Jean and Pierre de Villiers, and to Steve Stuart and Andrew Catchpole who told me prior to the tour that they have never really ridden sand this thick.
The two brothers grit their teeth and despite on or two nasty falls in the infamous fesh fesh traps they rode those riverbeds like kings.
Andrew and Steve was in front of us all the time and @hartebees and I were witnessing that special moment when everything clicks into place happening right in front of us.
Man it was beautiful to see..
@Catchy - I would not have wanted to be anywhere else in the world at that moment - thanks
Day 3 – Palmwag to Khowarib Camp
In previous years the ride through the Khowarib Schlucht was my favourite day the tour. This year we would be doing it from south to north, which means we would be doing the rocky section before we hit the Ombonde river.
As we left camp on the main road, Justin was parked 50m from the turn off, getting off his bike. I though that he wanted to take a photo of the rocky Palmwag landscape but as I stopped next to him he told me that he had a puncture on his rear wheel. Turns out he completely slashed his sidewall 50m into the days ride.
We had a spare rear D606 on the roof rack of the Cruiser so we replaced his tyre and tube and got going. We were probably about 30min behind the other riders by this point.
Fortunately we met up with the other riders not far from where the technical riding started. A long loose, rocky climb near Klein Van Zyls served as a nice welcoming card to the Kaokoland – I reckon this is where quite a few of the riders realised what they were really in for. With some sweat and swearing all the bikes got to the top and we continued through the Klein Serengeti plain. This year the grass was not as lush as usual and it was actually possible to see the track twisting and turning ahead.
The entire group, apart from Fred and Martin who had continued, regroup as we got to the riverbed. One by one they went off in a cloud of dust, attacking the thick riverbed sand.
Riding this riverbed is a very unique motorcycling experience. While you are constantly fighting the thick sand, drop-offs, massive Ana trees and other obstacles, the riverbed twists and turns sharply in front of you. The elephant dung is scattered all around and one could be standing right around the next corner as you are charging into it. And if you have time to look up you see the high walls of the riverbed, and over that the mountain range that envelopes the whole valley. A perfect mixture of fun and fear.
Andrew and Steve on the big bikes were at the back along with Bart and myself. We stopped regularly and I was starting to feel a bit concerned as they seemed very tired and weren’t attacking the sand as they should. At some point however they flipped a switch and changed their approach. After that they seemed to surf on top of the sand.
To be continued later today…
I must admit that I was a little worried about some of the riders. I have not had enough opportunity to see the de Villiers brothers riding and neither did I see the guys on the bigger bikes because of the issues we had with the trailer on day two.
It was my intention to see as much as possible of the new guys on day two, so that I was in a position to suggest the bail out route (or not) to the riders who might struggle with the Khowarib Schlught on day three.
The Schlught will test every aspect of your sand riding skills and it will become your worst nightmare if you are not truly comfortable on the never ending sand of the Ombonde and Hoanib riverbeds.
Luckily, my fears were unfounded and the riders mentioned above all turned out to be as resilient as pissed of honeybadgers because there in front of my eyes these newcomers and big bike riders ripped up the sand, one dustcloud after the other.
a Special mention goes out to Jean and Pierre de Villiers, and to Steve Stuart and Andrew Catchpole who told me prior to the tour that they have never really ridden sand this thick.
The two brothers grit their teeth and despite on or two nasty falls in the infamous fesh fesh traps they rode those riverbeds like kings.
Andrew and Steve was in front of us all the time and @hartebees and I were witnessing that special moment when everything clicks into place happening right in front of us.
Man it was beautiful to see..
@Catchy - I would not have wanted to be anywhere else in the world at that moment - thanks
Highlight of day 4, room with a view……that “strong moon” made sleeping a challenge.Day 4 – Khowarib to Purros
After a champion’s breakfast of Taystee Wheat, we set off to Sesfontein to refuel.
We pass the infamous low water bridge just outside of camp where Fred came off last year. This year it was bone dry - disappointing!
Arriving at Sesfontein we are told that they are out of fuel. No petrol, no diesel. After weighing up the different options we refuel the bikes from the fuel drums in the Unimog. Hardy organises 200 liters of petrol and 200l of diesel to be brought to Purros for when we return there 3 days later. Hein will bring it from Swakopmund. Greg and myself would have to return later today when the fuel station is restocked.
The roads are badly corrugated all the way to Purros. Alan and Greg have their hands full to get the trailer to camp.
We pass the first of the Lone Men of the Kaokoland and have our lunch in the shade of a rock overhang.
Not far after lunch @Aprilian stands underneath a tree with his bike dead. @Runner and @Catchy help to trace the problem to a dead battery. The battery was not secured with the rubber strap and has shaken itself to pieces. Hardy has a spare at hand and after slotting in the spare battery we continue onwards to the Gribies Plains.
Most of the riders stop at Manchester United Tavern upon their arrival at Purros but are disappointed to find that the beer is not as cold as they dreamed it would be on the road.
At camp we unload the bakkie, load fuel drums and Greg and I take the Cruiser back to Sesfontein. We arrive there just after dark and meet the manager of the fuel station as arranged. We get the required fuel (370l petrol, 120l diesel), and head back. We arrived at camp at around 23:30 if I recall correctly. Chantal has food and coffee ready for us and after gulping down our meal we immediately hit the stretchers after a long day.
Driving through the Kaokoland at night with a strong moon was an awesome experience. We stopped once or twice, just to stand outside and take it all in. The stars are bright even with the moon alight. The veld that seems a bit dead during the day seemingly comes alive at night.
One of many fond memories - I have a score to settle in Nam.... back to the second half of day 3.
After the Ombonde river joins the Hoanib, there were patches of standing water. As mentioned by @m0lt3n, the track then takes you in and out of the river. Where it becomes marshy, you had to climb out on an embankment that is deeply rutted and covered with a thick layer of fesh-fesh. We had briefed some of the newer riders on what to expect when you encounter fesh-fesh but no words can really prepare you for it.
@BuRP, @JeanDV and @Blackspar overshot the exit, saw some elephants further down the river and turned back. @BuRP climbed out first, creating a massive dust cloud. @JeanDV was hot on his heels and suddenly he found himself in the claws of the fesh-fesh. I couldn't see around the corner but his bike suddenly went quiet. I walked around the corner and there he was, lying on his back with the bike on top if him, completely covered in dust. (I got flashbacks from the previous year where @NIMMO also had a similar experience.) I think Jean approached the following fesh-fesh areas with a lot more caution.
We got to another water crossing and found @JustBendIt with his bike stuck in the river. He had one or two unplanned dismounts earlier in the day and didn't want to waste more energy trying to pull it out. We used a tow strap and pulled it free with the Cruiser.
From there it is a short distance to camp, riding some flowing, stoney trails through the canyon. At the entrance of the camp, @darthvader somehow injured his foot (I'm not sure exactly how it happend, maybe he can tell the story), but his foot was quite swollen. Fortunately the next day he was able to continue riding. He never mentioned anything but I think he had to endure some pain from there onwards. Respect.
'n Mens kan baie leer van iemand net om aandag te gee hoe hy diere hanteer, veral rondloop diere en ek glo daar is 'n voorbeeld hier vir almal.During the drive on day 4 (Khowarib to Puros) I had the opportunity to think about the expectations I had of this diverse group of riders. Chantal was in the bakkie with me and it was interesting to hear her thoughts on how she perceived the riders too.
Keep in mind that most of what you know about the majority of the riders is the stuff you read on the forum and the whats app group that is created a few months prior to the tour.
I know he will probably call me a female body part for doing this but l am going to use @Runner as an example.
I mentioned before that Conrad (Runner) never minces his words and that you would be forgiven for thinking he suffers from Tourette syndrome. Prior to the tour he told me that he is joining us for a holiday and that he WILL NOT touch a broken bike. He made me promise not to ask for his help and to forget the fact that he is a motorcycle mechanic and bike shop owner.
The DR belonging to @JeanDV developed a broken starter button somewhere between Windhoek and Usakos and refused to do its job just after we offloaded the bikes in Usakos.
Without him being asked to assist, Conrad wandered over and suggested we bridge the starter until we got to camp, which we subsequently did.
After we arrived at camp Conrad asked for my toolkit and spent the rest of the afternoon working on the DR to restore it back to willing rider / willing bike condition. I was assisting him and reminded him of the promise he required of me prior to the trip. With a simple "fokof" he carried on and didn't stop until Jean once again had a smile on his face and a tour to look forward to.
This willingness to assist never stopped and every time a rider and his bike needed assistance Conrad was there - usually with a bark of commands about which tools would be required before he got on with it - the job of making sure riders stay mobile. I must mention that his good friend @Catchy always joined him in this noble task.
Dankie Ysters - Julle was presies wie ek gedink het julle gaan wees, en ek is moer bly julle het besluit om saam te kom.
Vra jou sussie van wors insit....'n Mens kan baie leer van iemand net om aandag te gee hoe hy diere hanteer, veral rondloop diere en ek glo daar is 'n voorbeeld hier vir almal.
Maar dit maak hom nie wors kan braai nie, ooo fok tog.
Ek sê mos, hy sê jy kannie...Vra jou sussie van wors insit....
So 'n DR word hier vergelyk met 'n rondloper kat?'n Mens kan baie leer van iemand net om aandag te gee hoe hy diere hanteer, veral rondloop diere en ek glo daar is 'n voorbeeld hier vir almal.
Maar dit maak hom nie wors kan braai nie, ooo fok tog.
So 'n DR word hier vergelyk met 'n rondloper kat?
Enter your email address to join: