WD National Bash 2012: Snow Valley general ride report

excellent pics.
in that last one,  our fearless leader looks like a sexually abused street child.

Ganjora said:
excellent pics.
in that last one,  our fearless leader looks like a sexually abused street child.

:laughing4:  :lol8:

moer hy is moeg.

+1 Welsh

JourneyMan said:
Venue was awesome.

Only a few dogs played on the vast field available though. Pity only a few dogs doesn't know when to stop.... :pot:

Not talking partying here. That went full blast! :biggrin:

"Hou my dop and check die move..." didn't happen much. :patch: Farking responsible Wild Dogs! :mad: :biggrin:
Praat jy dalk van my hier?
Indien wel, ga kak! Ten minste het ek nie geval nie, en getry drag. :3some: 8)

Stoetbul said:
JourneyMan said:
Venue was awesome.

Only a few dogs played on the vast field available though. Pity only a few dogs doesn't know when to stop.... :pot:

Not talking partying here. That went full blast! :biggrin:

"Hou my dop and check die move..." didn't happen much. :patch: Farking responsible Wild Dogs! :mad: :biggrin:
Praat jy dalk van my hier?
Indien wel, ga kak! Ten minste het ek nie geval nie, en getry drag. :3some: 8)

Het jy al jou bike se "oelie" gecheck.
Grapgat.

Ganjora said:
excellent pics.

I'm not a child....

just to keep you informed...

the moment we parked our bikes at the bash... we realized our tent poles found their way through a black hole into the next universe...

looking back at our photos from a roadside picnic at Barkley East... the black hole evidence is clear:
282040_10151205197025813_512455217_n.jpg

So n boer maak n plan... en roep n engelsman
419567_10151201594985813_992364139_n.jpg

408362_10151205112010813_1979571425_n.jpg

292998_10151205111235813_1926885926_n.jpg

thank you eastern cape flora! worked like a charm.

die foto's getuig van 'n groot en lekker kuier  :thumleft:

dankie vir die ride report so lekker om van die ou bekendes weer te sien.

ek het defnitief uitgemis, hoop om almal weer volgende jaar te sien

Mooch said:
No wonder you camped in the "woods"!!

not really... we camped there because of wind shelter... and it also kept the frost off our tents and gear.

My fourth national bash.
I only decided the Mondeynight before the bash to go and Bie was so kind to invite me to stay over at his
place in Jansenville. Stoetie and Snafu invited me to ride with them from there on the Fridaymorning.
For some reason I was not excited as always but the fever quickly caught me as soon as I was on the road.
I had a mere 450 kms to do to Jansenville.

Between Kleinberg and Brandwag. A dirt shortcut on the way to Oudtshoorn.

IMG_0881.jpg

The Hartbeesfoteindamwall.

IMG_0882.jpg

I had to stop at this spot before Oudtshoorn where a friend of ours was murdered in a senseless accident a month ago.
RIP Hugo :'(

IMG_0883.jpg

The red hills of De Rust.

IMG_0884.jpg

Had a bite to eat in De Rust and then Meiringspoort.

IMG_0885.jpg

IMG_0886.jpg

This bike says he has had his fair share of rallies in his life. We must enjoy the bash. :mwink:

IMG_0887.jpg

I take the dirtroad to Willowmore and as allways I do it too fast in the beginning and one of the many drifts catches
me out!!! :biggrin:
After that it turns into a "blommetoer" speed!! :mwink:
Close to Vondeling.

IMG_0888.jpg

This guy said thanks for the invite but he heard Snowvalley is cold and seeing he is coldblooded he will skip the
bash thank you!!

IMG_0891.jpg

A fillup in Willowmore and I am off to Jansenville.
They had rain not so long ago.

IMG_0892.jpg

I stop at Miller.

To the absent petrol attendant:
Fill her up with 95 unleaded please,
The answer in my head :Sorry sir we have'nt had that spirits here since 1969!!!
https://www.dailymotion.com/video/xtbrf_eagles-hotel-california-live_music

IMG_0893.jpg

Can someone please buy this place and open a pub and campsite here!!! :deal:

IMG_0894.jpg

Imagine sitting on that stoep with a cold one in hand and you watch the bikes rolling in.

IMG_0895.jpg

IMG_0896.jpg

IMG_0897.jpg

IMG_0898.jpg

On the road to Klipplaat.

IMG_0899.jpg

My second time in Klipplaat and nothing has changed :eek7:

IMG_0900.jpg

This is what happens when a bee zaps you!! I did not feel it until I noticed my watchstrap is a bit too tight!!

IMG_0903.jpg

I decided to take a ride through Klipplaat but quickly decided agianst it.
Jirre wa hou hulle nie betogings nie!!! :biggrin:
Looks like the whole town was there!! :mwink:

IMG_0901.jpg

From there to Bie's house was only 40kms. I have met Bie only once in my life and we only spoke about 20 words.
We spent the evening talking like old friends  who have not seen each other in a while.
Bie and family thank you for the great visit. Hope we will do so again.

Now I have to work!!

Lekker Chris,  daai wêreld van julle is daarem waaragtag mooi.  Ek moet plan maak om daar uit te kom.  mooi fotos 

nie te veel op die bash geneem nie. Sondag oor Tiffindale se pad gery na Naude's neck. Nog so bietjie sneeu op die berg.

• IMG_0288.jpg
    IMG_0288.jpg
    104.4 KB
  • IMG_0283.jpg
    IMG_0283.jpg
    118 KB
Bessie said:
just to keep you informed...

the moment we parked our bikes at the bash... we realized our tent poles found their way through a black hole into the next universe...

looking back at our photos from a roadside picnic at Barkley East... the black hole evidence is clear:
282040_10151205197025813_512455217_n.jpg

So n boer maak n plan... en roep n engelsman
419567_10151201594985813_992364139_n.jpg

408362_10151205112010813_1979571425_n.jpg

292998_10151205111235813_1926885926_n.jpg

thank you eastern cape flora! worked like a charm.
hahaha was wondering why you lot decided on the woods.

Some of my pics ....

Stopover at the Winburg hotel
Sign vandals  >:D
Gypsy Jay overcooked the corner - literally. Leaving a veldfire in his wake after ramping into the dry veld
Lunch at Thaba Ntchu - slow but very nice
The view from the Black Mountain hotel
On the road
The pastel houses of Barkey East - stunning

More to follow.....

• DSCF9106.jpg
    DSCF9106.jpg
    77.5 KB
  • DSCF9108.jpg
    DSCF9108.jpg
    125 KB