WD National Bash 2012: Snow Valley general ride report

Groenie said:
Ja, hulle het 'n ferm hand nodig met tye. Blykbaar het hulle lekker kak aangejaag as ons nie by die tent was.  Shark is sommer Oom Vettie genoem en uit die die tent gejaag toe hy kom loer wat hulle aanvang....
Niks fout met die kinders se opvoeding.......................................ten minste het hulle hom Oom genoem!!!!! :imaposer:

Some pics from the bash:

Talking kark and braaing on Saturday
20120922_140819.jpg

Early Saturday morning after the BIG RAIN, beautiful location:
20120922_063934.jpg

The bash was complete when the GSV Arrived  O0
20120922_103841.jpg

Matches were in short supply  :biggrin:
20120922_140750.jpg

The day on Sat was spent catching up and drinking some beer around fires to keep warm
20120922_140819.jpg

Beautiful location
20120922_160406.jpg

On the way home, what a beautiful area....
20120923_092801.jpg

jupiter said:
Hentie WOA said:
Groenie said:
Ja, hulle het 'n ferm hand nodig met tye. Blykbaar het hulle lekker kak aangejaag as ons nie by die tent was.  Shark is sommer Oom Vettie genoem en uit die die tent gejaag toe hy kom loer wat hulle aanvang....
:spitcoffee:

Ek onthou daai een. Toe tjirp Stoetie hulle en toe byt hulle hom ook sommer   :imaposer:
Jip, ek is oom Stoetie Eierkop gedoop........ 8)

Stoetbul said:
jupiter said:
Hentie WOA said:
Groenie said:
:spitcoffee:

Ek onthou daai een. Toe tjirp Stoetie hulle en toe byt hulle hom ook sommer   :imaposer:
Jip, ek is oom Stoetie Eierkop gedoop........ 8)
Klink vir my reg  :lol8:  :lol8:

Lots os Fun was had, We were part of the poor few that had to tough it out in the luxury cottage all weekend,
A Bit of a pain to have to get up in the middle of the night to turn the heater down  :pot:

Pics speak for them selves

Notice that after 6 Beers Dwergs feet can reach the ground when on a 990S

That's not water in that water pistol!

• 2.jpg
    2.jpg
    157.6 KB
  • 3.jpg
    3.jpg
    341.6 KB
  • 4.jpg
    4.jpg
    331.6 KB
  • 5.jpg
    5.jpg
    360.5 KB
  • 6.jpg
    6.jpg
    432.9 KB
  • 7.jpg
    7.jpg
    285.9 KB
  • 1.jpg
    1.jpg
    481.2 KB
2nd last one is on the road back towards HogsBack

Last one is of a bird that decided to spread itself over the front of my bike!

• 8.jpg
    8.jpg
    303 KB
  • 9.jpg
    9.jpg
    305 KB
  • 10.jpg
    10.jpg
    212.6 KB
  • GOPR0254 (Large).jpg
    GOPR0254 (Large).jpg
    309.9 KB
HUGE thanks to all - what a fantastic venue!! and great bash - loved every minute even the ones I lost on Friday night  >:D fortunatly mananged to find my name lying around on Saturday so coudl have a late breakfast  ;D

You guys rock!!!

Beautiful pic of Groenie and kids on the bike.  :thumleft:

I took lots of pic's, but can only gooi them in the morning. Ran into some trouble on our way home but will tell all in the morning. :thumleft:

Groenie said:

Why 'Oom'? :biggrin:

Some GoPro Pics of the routes

• GOPR0281 (Large).jpg
    GOPR0281 (Large).jpg
    269 KB
  • GOPR0293 (Large).jpg
    GOPR0293 (Large).jpg
    378.1 KB
  • GOPR0106 (Large).jpg
    GOPR0106 (Large).jpg
    365.4 KB
  • GOPR0267 (Large).jpg
    GOPR0267 (Large).jpg
    286.3 KB
  • GOPR0239 (Large).jpg
    GOPR0239 (Large).jpg
    329.6 KB
My contribution..

IDR, Sartjie vd Merwe, JC, Die Beste Pomp op die Dorp en Kerrits..
PICT0003.jpg

Stoppies for a beer..
PICT0004.jpg

Stoppies for petrol..
PICT0006.jpg

IDR doing something in the bush..
PICT0012.jpg

OH MY GOD..
PICT0022.jpg

Party people..
PICT0027.jpg

Veldie..
PICT0032.jpg

Dwerg Sat morning..
PICT0040.jpg

Dwerg trying on an SE..
PICT0063.jpg

Stoetie trying on a Zooka
PICT0066.jpg

Eish.....
PICT0085.jpg

Thanks to all the poeple involved, it was epic big up to you guys.. :thumleft:

here is my two cents, started off 6am nice and clean meeting up with Jupiter, Lynn and Dirt Yarpie. super excited and packing light, managed to get a chalet at the bash so didn't have to worry about any camping gear.

20120921062218.jpg

notice the FIRST mistake i made on this trip. never got around to bolt my top box directly onto the back of the bike so put that tie down on to stop rattling. headed on the national road towards bedford to meet flatmo

20120921055347.jpg

stopped off in bedford for a rather awesome farm breakfast!

20120921084534.jpg

at that point my tie down slipped off got caught in the wheel and took off luckily only my indicator. not major damage managed to get it back on last night but very lucky it wasn't alot worse. learnt that lesson. :eek:

Got to the bash around 6pm after a long dirt ride into barkley east, started bumping into dogs along the way. took us eventually 12.5 hours to do the +- 600ks from PE to Reedsdale. hard riding especially for my pillion. no wipe outs but did get rained on briefly and battled through some mud the rest of the afternoon.

at one point there were some serious ditches in the road, came across Stoetie having a look and trying to dismantle Ossies BM as the shock bolt snapped!

20120921141128.jpg

close up

20120921141111.jpg

they sent Chris ahead to find a bakkie, we bumped into them again later and they found a bolt made the repairs and moved along. easy peasy.

on arriving the dogs were fanning out.
20120922170137.jpg

the braai packs were legendary! two packs each was just too much. had half a cow and a couple chicken left over on sunday. well done to whoever organised that. partied late into sat morning and headed off to bed. nice and warm.  :deal:

20120921195730.jpg

the soon to be famous pic of the bikes

20120922170711.jpg

had some entertainment from the locals on their plastics racing up and down in the field. somehow they managed to climb right to the top of the mountain. no pictures. too busy drinking.  :eek:

hehe just after that pic and after a few beers I got the bright idea to pull a doughnut... i knew the grass wasn't thick enough and the clay mud would cause me to slip but figured why not. managed half a doughnut before resting my bike a bit much to Jules's entertainment. regained myself and did I think one full one before nearly dropping it again. any day of the week and twice on sunday that's my party trick. buckled under sheer pressure.  :imaposer:

was good to put some names to the faces and having a chat. I won the 40 liter ATG bag in the raffle. everyone kept telling me you can use it as a floatation device... maybe i looked drunker than i was feeling???? hope i never have to but was a choice bag and great score.

on the wall in the hall there were a couple action shots. this one was my favorite.

20120922201902.jpg

sunday left around 8:30 headed from Barkley East to Elliot on tar, my rear break pads gave up on the way in and wanted an easy ride home with only front brakes. thepillion was very happy about that.

about 60ks past Queenstown found a nail on the nico malan pass.  ??? seems to be my story every ride. looking into sikaflex now. break the bead of a brand new Mitas E07 rear tire is no easy thing.

20120923142453.jpg

help was never far behind. dogs descended on the EC in a large way. left my car charge adapter at home. Matthew from bikegear and helped me out with some power.

20120923175541.jpg

30 ks later the tube tore again. Mistake TWO. the rim tape had stretched and i didn't fasten it down properly so the spoke nipple tore into my new tube. learning always learning.

great weekend, some mix of good hard riding. not bad for my first bash. had some interesting conversations and laughs. so much meat...

20120923175534.jpg

second attempt came from Matthews heavy duty tube. then his pump packed up. so used my pooratech pump and got it to 1.5 bar and crawled into grahamstown to find a garage. pumped it up to 2.5 and got home just fine.

got to PE 9pm then followed Matthew to the golf club to buy him a couple beers for sticking with us while we were repairing.

Leaving Grahamstown
IMGP0067.JPG

Somewhere on the way to the bash 1
IMGP0079.JPG

Somewhere on the way to the bash 2
IMGP0089.JPG

Somewhere on the way to the bash 3. Riding with Dirt Yarpie, dirtyXT, and Jupiter
IMGP0094.JPG

Somewhere amazing
IMGP0103.JPG

Somewhere ready to get wet
IMGP0112.JPG

Bashing and braaing
IMGP0132.JPG

Scenic camping spot
IMGP0153.JPG

Saturday ride with Dirt Yarpie
IMGP0176.JPG

Cloudy but nice
IMGP0226.JPG

Happy happy
IMGP0231.JPG

Some others XTRs
IMGP0248.JPG

Somewhere on the way back home on Sunday 1
IMGP0289.JPG

Somewhere on the way back home on Sunday 2
IMGP0297.JPG

Somewhere on the way back home on Sunday 3. Look at that sky...
IMGP0298.JPG

Somewhere on the way back home on Sunday 4
IMGP0299.JPG

Lekker event. Thanks to the organizers and the guys I rode with  :thumleft:

Thanks to you guys as well and the foties. At the rate Jules was going on Sunday, I did not take a single pic  :eek7:

Still have to do some editing and will post pics later.