Yes, not another Allen & Ian Ride Report.

Another great Foster&Allen RR to drool over :drif:
I need to get to Nam to get my fix of wide open spaces and few people. :deal:

ChrisL - DUSTRIDERS said:
Another great Foster&Allen RR to drool over :drif:
I need to get to Nam to get my fix of wide open spaces and few people. :deal:
Moenie praat nie, ek so g vol vir die snert en diskriminasie by die werk ek gooi sommer sak op die fiets en vat pad!
Daai wêreld roep my en ek moet gaan! :drif: :drif: :drif:

ALLEN I said:
XRRX said:
I really hate these PHATHETIC ride reports with all the great desert pics; Tafel Lager and amazing food - all enjoyed in comfort by two old ous!!!  :xxbah:

Hey who u calling  old. old chap, beside theirs also lotsa Windhoek drafts  :imaposer: :imaposer:

:biggrin: :p
I'm just jealous ...  :-[

Die versoeking is groot om n " come back" te maak.Dit was n blye dag toe drone vir helmet cam vervang het  ;dit vat RR's na n volgende vlak.

XRRX said:
ALLEN I said:
XRRX said:
I really hate these PHATHETIC ride reports with all the great desert pics; Tafel Lager and amazing food - all enjoyed in comfort by two old ous!!!  :xxbah:

Hey who u calling  old. old chap, beside theirs also lotsa Windhoek drafts  :imaposer: :imaposer:

:biggrin: :p
I'm just jealous ...  :-[

ek weet kry jou poeding  :ricky: :ricky: :ricky: :imaposer: :imaposer: :imaposer:

Yerra Ian you and the cous just have the best time every flippen year. Everything is just a lekker adventure. Moer jealous and enough promises to Allen. Have to join you on the next one

Bill p said:
Yerra Ian you and the cous just have the best time every flippen year. Everything is just a lekker adventure. Moer jealous and enough promises to Allen. Have to join you on the next one

he he eat your heart out cous. was a "Lekker" ride.

meurig said:
is there more on Hogs Back?

Unfortunately not .... It was day 2 and I was not up to speed on the video side of things. In fact my daily video diary is what I usually concentrate on but even that has very little more than has been posted already. I can say it’s a great spot, the last few km’s into town really does look like Constantia in CT. The Mitchell road out North was in good shape from what it can be.

Baie dankie vir die deel dit was lekker om saam met julle te kon ry!  :thumleft:

Ek stem saam met Bokveld....drones vat enige RR na 'n ander level toe.

Ian in Great Brak River said:
Well, our 2017 ride was an odd one indeed due to all kindsa drama ... so the 2018 ride had a lot to live up to ... and it did.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qaxkbJmmeTA&t=1s

8)
Hey Ian what band is the music from in your first video. Flippen nice

Bill p said:
Ian in Great Brak River said:
Well, our 2017 ride was an odd one indeed due to all kindsa drama ... so the 2018 ride had a lot to live up to ... and it did.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qaxkbJmmeTA&t=1s

8)
Hey Ian what band is the music from in your first video. Flippen nice

Old Toppie music from the 80's and one of the most under-rated bands ever: Garbage, with the song Control.

It's day 17, this is as far North as we will get to on this trip, well it's 12k's further to Solitaire but you know what I mean ... for about 5 minutes we debate the C19 and C27 South but everything we have heard about both is negative so it's a C14/C13 reverse trip but we do some short cuts, like the D1273.

Reluctantly it seems as though we will be in Helmering tonight ... it's my least favourite place in Nam. It's cold too ...

Day 18 has us staying over in one of my most favourite places in Nam ... the Fish River Lodge, due to crazy local drama at Seeheim it's a 400km trip between Bethanien and Canon Roadhouse fuel wise so we fill the bladders

Ever since day 12 Al has been battling lower back pain (throwing fridges onto his shoulder is not recommended for old men) and try as he might (drinking Windhoek with his left hand) it has not helped and has just gotten worse. He knows the next 200km to and from FRL will be difficult, we know it's sandy and rocky, so very reluctantly he decides to head for the border and try to get to Upington 560k's away.

I continue on the D462, it's a short 26k section before it joins up with the D463.

Part of the attraction of the Fish River Lodge is that it is so remote, one does 200km from anywhere just to get in and out (back to the B4) with the last 19k's worse than it was 2 years ago when we were here for the first time. Clearly it has become more popular since and the place was full of Teutonic guests for tonight.

The sunrise here comes up perfectly over the Eastern end of the canyon and the colours reflecting off the valley to the West is always perfect to photograph.

Surely no one would be cheap enough to collect the nice tiny little bottles of shampoo and body wash on a trip like this ... oh ... wait ...

Day 19 and the idea is Canyon Village. Even the runway at FRL looks well used.

On my way to the C12 I quietly drive up the hill that overlooks Seeheim ... what a tragedy this is ... we were meant to stay here tonight in our initial planning. There are signs that they have started re-building some of the lower side walls.

The C12 has this funny short cut from Seeheim running South to the canyon ... now I know why the new side road further along the B4 has become the real C12 ... it's 30 k's on an interesting surface indeed.

A quick fuel stop at the Roadhouse. Canyon Village is just 20k's from here so I do not hang about.

Fish River Lodge,

Ian how much is it per night at the FRLodge?
Hope they put up a campsite there in future, they have ample space. ;)

ChrisL - DUSTRIDERS said:
Fish River Lodge,

Ian how much is it per night at the FRLodge?
Hope they put up a campsite there in future, they have ample space. ;)

I asked about just that ... no plans for now ... they like the minimalistic approach to the Lodge. There is a generator house about 700m from the reception area on the left from the approach road and well to the left of that may in future be a camping spot.

It expensive, I think R1950 pp pn. With Grootberg two of the best views in Nam I believe.

So sad to see the Seeheim like that!!
Thx for all the great pics! Pity about Ous's back...

Nice, bud trip almost over. Dam was great. Ya the bloody back, winds "Moering"a"Ou" from the side does not do it any good, so i had to call it bloody quits, did not want to go but "Ja" scheme i made the right decision. :biggrin: :biggrin: :ricky: :ricky: