Yes, not another Allen & Ian Ride Report.

Nice bud Nice. But i hate to be the one to inform you, But that last meal was not springbok "Vleis" Bud. It was wait for it wait for it "Zebra Roast cut into "Lekker" size steak pieces" and of course pork ribs to go with it.  :imaposer: :imaposer: :imaposer:

Great RR and Fodies, thanks for sharing.

meurig said:
billy-joe said:
I'm enjoying this. thanks!

Find Ian's channel on YouTube, quite enjoyable

See there was a new one uploaded 10 Sep

And another on the boil ... posting either today or tomorrow. Eventually the drone starts to do what I want and not what it wants.

Great report thanks.

You mention the pass between Hogsback and Seymour in passing with a "Seymour is boring" end  :eek: In my experience that pass (Michell's) is something terrible! Did they fix it?

LouisL said:
Great report thanks.

You mention the pass between Hogsback and Seymour in passing with a "Seymour is boring" end  :eek: In my experience that pass (Michell's) is something terrible! Did they fix it?

Ha, yes it was perhaps not boring. I am trying to upload a vid on it, the wind was blowing like crazy ... it was not bad though, the surface was fine but it was slow going to Seymour. This pass will be a part in my new video that I am working on right now.

ALLEN I said:
Nice bud Nice. But i hate to be the one to inform you, But that last meal was not springbok "Vleis" Bud. It was wait for it wait for it "Zebra Roast cut into "Lekker" size steak pieces" and of course pork ribs to go with it.  :imaposer: :imaposer: :imaposer:

Yeah, you're right, it was Springbok the following night at Namseb Lodge ...

Ian in Great Brak River said:
LouisL said:
Great report thanks.

Ha, yes it was perhaps not boring. I am trying to upload a vid on it, the wind was blowing like crazy ... it was not bad though, the surface was fine but it was slow going to Seymour. This pass will be a part in my new video that I am working on right now.

Here it is:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7CeS07pOskc&feature=youtu.be

8)

Definitely the right place, maybe they worked on the road or you are just a much better rider than I but I took a tumble down there and then the bike wouldn't start up again  :( Fortunately some nice Hogsback folk came and got me out but we had to push the bike up the hill cause the guy in the 4x4 was not really inclined to go "down there".

• Michells.jpg
    Michells.jpg
    43.5 KB
LouisL said:
Definitely the right place, maybe they worked on the road or you are just a much better rider than I but I took a tumble down there and then the bike wouldn't start up again  :( Fortunately some nice Hogsback folk came and got me out but we had to push the bike up the hill cause the guy in the 4x4 was not really inclined to go "down there".

Wow, no this was much better than that ... it was lumpy in places, crossing the steams on the hairpins but nothing like you had.

Thanks for posting the comparison.

Two weeks into this ride and from Klein-Aus Vista we are not sure where we will be for tonight. Piet Swiggers has suggested we stop over in Namseb Lodge just outside Maltahohe so that's along the C13 then.

The C13 starts off ****** as usual but gets better quickly.

The D707 looks so inviting but we skip it for this year ... not an easy descision for me.

We recognize this place as a lunch stop 4 years ago.

We turn left at the cross roads, a very uninspiring sign says it is 17km's away.

It's a dramatic road to get there and at times we feel it's going to be a waste of time ... up a steep incline ... and there it is ... and I recognize it from an RR of about 7 or 8 years ago, and there are just 4 guests for tonight.

I have to admit that drone shot's have changed the face of photography entirely, especially at sunset and sunrise.

It's just us and two Dutch guys ... and again we have Springbok on the menu ..

Day 15 and we head for a two day stop over at the Namib Naukluft Lodge. We take the super smooth C14 via Solitaire through the Bullsport Pass.

So for the last 2 days in Nam all we have heard about is how bad the roads are, in particular the C19 & C27 ... we hear reports of the 150 kitted out 4x4's waiting in Sesriem to head back to Windhoek. In Solitaire we see the big 6 wheel EU registered land crunchers lined up. The Nam Roads Dept has given up repairing the C27 and just push the cricket ball sized stones from left to right and back again. SA's tell us that it's a nightmare ... two CT dudes on G650's tell us the same ...

The place is heaving with travelers and tourists, all languages and all types are seen and heard. They run out of fuel on the two left side pumps ... that creates drama no end. We have 12k's to our next stop and the road is ****** 7k's in already.

Last year we were booked in here but neither of us made it up here ..

See that pool there? ... we wash jackets, pants and in my case helmet too in it.

Al becomes the Springbokkie Whisperer ... Themba is just 4 months old and loves the taste of salty skin. Kai the 25 year old manager found her abandoned in the middle of the road on a game drive. They have 25 000 hectares ... it's a big place this.

Drone shots in late afternoon.

For day 16 we could not keep our rooms in the lodge, so we move 1k away to their tented camps. Just after independence the family bought two cattle farms and have slowly expanded since then ... there are about 45 people here both evenings so not a bad business with 10 staff.

It's here and on this road that I finally figure out how to get the damn drone to follow us ... that was the point of getting it all along. I will put this in a separate video later.

TG we have Lamb chops tonight ...

"Lekker" bud "Gooi Nog" dam i "sommer" wanna go back  :ricky: :ricky: :ricky:

:happy1:
I don’t want to preempt or try to guess what’s going to happen onwards, but I really hope AI gets to see his lovechild again... :pot:

Master Beerkie said:
:happy1:
I don’t want to preempt or try to guess what’s going to happen onwards, but I really hope AI gets to see his lovechild again... :pot:

Who me. Im as innocent as the day i was issued. Always the romantic old Beerkie, Now now i will be splitting if i told u "Ous" what happens.  :imaposer: :imaposer:

I really hate these PHATHETIC ride reports with all the great desert pics; Tafel Lager and amazing food - all enjoyed in comfort by two old ous!!!  :xxbah:

XRRX said:
I really hate these PHATHETIC ride reports with all the great desert pics; Tafel Lager and amazing food - all enjoyed in comfort by two old ous!!!  :xxbah:

Hey who u calling  old. old chap, beside theirs also lotsa Windhoek drafts  :imaposer: :imaposer: