2022 ... what a crazy year ... so far.

Zirkie also states they did well under Covid as a Quarantine Post. At times they had 83 guests and the state was paying them $60k per day for accommodation ... the crazy over-reaction most countries had to CV will remain with us for decades. At the new Noordoewer Border post set up Nam immigration did check our CV tests and this time the border crossing took about an hour getting into Namibia. Exit took all of 3 minutes in Oranjemund.

One of the consequences of the last 2 years of drama is that everyone has a story to tell. Even well established places like Klein-Aus Vista. Piet and Christine Swiggers had 7 cases of CV early on amongst guests and the Nam authorities closed them down for a month. Thus they had to let some staff go and still have not been able to replace them to date ... so they work 7 days a week as the place is as busy as ever. We plan a one night stop before we head for Luderitz.
The wind was strong from Seeheim to Aus but we pay it no real attention ... yet ...

186.JPG
187.JPG
188.JPG
189.JPG
190.JPG

The next morning, after a very windy night, the forecast does not look good. We can make it to Luderitz but are hearing stories of the road being covered in sand, some bikers from Wales turn back due to the NE wind. If you have been on that road, the last 40k's can be interesting to say the least. Piet even offers us his beach cottage on Shark Island, it's next door to a spot we have stayed in before - The Cormorant House. We decide to stay another night at KAV to see what the wind will decide on ... but no change the next morning either.

198.jpg
199.JPG
200.PNG
201.JPG
202.JPG
203.JPG

The happy face reflected at 6.45am in the last picture above ... is the realization that this years trip has potentially ended, right there 10 minutes ago ... 8 days earlier than expected. We were planning on: Walvis, Betta, 2 nights near Sossusvlei in a lekker spot to finally do the Vlei from a bakkie, maybe Solitaire, definitely Bitterwasser Lodge, then Koes to see the Rally prep and down to Upington and Orania ... ja, dit was die plan.
One last test will be the short ride on the B4 back to the Rosh Pinah turn off but it's very clear to see that we would be blown off the C13 ... so we turn South. At least we have a nice gravel road along the river to look forward too ... or so I thought.
206.JPG
208.JPG
209.JPG
210.JPG

Last edited:
Well that was perhaps 5 or 8 years ago, today it's one of the best tar roads in the Kingdom of Namibia. But the wind, she is blowing strong. From the SA side it's not easy to get to the mouth of the Orange in Alex Bay, on the Northern side it's straight forward.
211.JPG
212.JPG
213.JPG
214.JPG
215.JPG
216.JPG

Not much in town other than R21 per liter petrol. Turn left at Airport, continue straight past the Golf Club, see the river on the Left? - that's the one that ends in the Atlantic. No flags, summer houses, or thunder and guts, just Seagull **** and 12 year old's fishing.
217.JPG
218.JPG
219.JPG
220.JPG
221.JPG

For about 90 seconds we debate staying here for the night ... but it will just prolong the disappointment of being kicked out of Nam by Mama Nature. So ...aah, where next then? Port Nolloth I suppose ... aai foktog ...
The Safricans are really keen to let you know you are in SA, just ... or RSA. They believe it starts on the North side of said river above. Cheeky ne! But once the thrum and throb of the Two AT Twins are silenced ... we are greeted with .... ???? Yes bossman ... Load Shedding. A moerse generator in the room on the left in last pic is throwing it's valves out the chimney.

222.JPG
223.JPG
224.JPG
225.JPG
226.JPG
227.JPG

The place we stay in moves 5cm closer to the water due to the NE wind that's still 50 to 60kph - it will blow for 7 days straight. Uncle Allen not happy about accepting that that is that for 2022, and no, I am not as happy as I may think I am seeing that photo now. We make it down to Van Rhyns for the night.
247.JPG
248.JPG
249.JPG
250.JPG
251.JPG
252.JPG
253.JPG

We done some good riding. Enjoyed the scenery once again. Had 2 unsuspected rests with the "Boney" Ian almost had 1 or 2 *** well. Shame im thinking shes (The Boney) is starting to put on the years, shes only clocked over and is back on 15000 km. But yea ****** ending to a great trip, was totaly pissed of at the end, last year i had Covid hence no ride, needed this break, only to get it cut short. (Foooking Wind) But there was no way we where gonna be able to do that sand riding, even the fact that we is the 2 "Moerse Strong Dinosaur Ous" we had to put safety first (for our "Boneys" sakes of course wouldn't want to hurt them.) Ye thanks buddy for the RR and catching up with old Henry which i hadent seen since primary school, was good to chat to you, even though you ride a BMW. Glad to see you enjoying the bike. Well as Ians RR shows we had a good ride again. Thanks Bud.