Country TRAX Angola and Namibia Expedtion 2012

"a pass too far" .......a BMW te swaar. :imaposer:
Baie lekker RR, duidelik n groep waarvan die dinamika goed gewerk het.

Day 13: Riverbed Camp to Khumib River Camp and Van Zyl's Pass
Distance: 132 km

12.jpg

Anticipation was in the air - Van Zyl's Pass was about 30 km away.  We departed in good spirits and enjoyed the twin track riding.  The branches give you a wack on the arm often, just to ensure you stay awake.  The road varies between sand and rocks, much like we have seen on the Swartbooisdrif part.

Angola721.jpg

Angola724.jpg

A puncture was fixed at the Van Zyl's camp site.

Angola723.jpg

We re-grouped at the start of the pass.  And off we went.

Angola726.jpg

Angola735.jpg

The first part of the ride has large boulders in the road, and choosing the line right makes is important on the bike.  Our bikes have good ground clearance and suspension - thank you Mr Peters....  It makes it possible to keep riding without loosing momentum.  I can understand why it becomes a big job to push bikes through here if you start hooking up on the rocks.  We had a ball riding and working up a slight sweat even....

Angola732.jpg

Angola729.jpg

Angola742.jpg

Angola739.jpg

Angola795.jpg

Not too many pics from bikes, we were riding....

We made it to the view point over the Marienfluss in no time.  The scenery from here is spectacular and we spent some time enjoying the moment.

Angola748.jpg

Angola747.jpg

Angola760.jpg

The last bit of the pass is the steepest drop.  Again - keeping feet on the pegs and riding the lines makes for a smooth ride.

Angola774.jpg

Angola785.jpg

Angola788.jpg

The picture - we all made it in one piece!

Angola784.jpg

The 4x4's drove the pass with no issues - As slow as possible and as fast as necessary.  They took some pics and showed the drivers the lines and did a sterling job coming down the pass with no damage to the heavy loaded bakkies.  Well done manne!

Ater the pic and putting some fuel in the bikes we made for Rooidrom along a sandy flat track.  Powering the bikes through the smooth corners was good fun.

Angola792.jpg

From here we headed to the Khumib river and did a few km's down the bed.  We made camp early and spent the evening under the same big sky.   The Van Zyl's box could now be ticked as well.  Our story would probably not make it to the outdoor magazines, but we had a marvelous time.  I have some nice video material of the pass, which will also be uploaded later.

Awsome Route, Report, Ride and Pics. In places, you made it look a bit too easy - was waiting for the Oh Sh!t moments - especially Doodsakker - hopefully you get to see the elephants :biggrin:

Yip, you made it seem so easy and this is why your story will not make it into any "adventure" magazine, seems only the sukkelaars make it into there. Daai 70 Lancruiser is darem n lekker kar.

...bliksem, brings back good memories, the best dual sport riding I've ever done was in that part of the world..

Although clearly more peaceful, I think these guys are the people Mongomery was talking about
https://wilddog.net.za/forum/index.php?topic=105446.0

2StrokeDan said:
Yip, you made it seem so easy and this is why your story will not make it into any "adventure" magazine, seems only the sukkelaars make it into there. Daai 70 Lancruiser is darem n lekker kar.

As much as it pains me...  :biggrin:

Having said that, a surprising percentage of people here gush about the piss-poor planning "adventures" posted in the RRs.  :)

2StrokeDan said:
Dis maar beter so....  Dalk was ons WEG genoeg vir Jacko se boek....  Hy is gewoonlik ongeskik met "sukkelaars", ek het al gesien.  :laughing4:

Die 70 werk perfek - die regte kar....  Sou net graag bietjie meer perdekrag wou sien vir duine klim.  Geen ander kritiek.  8)

Talking about planning....

I suppose the secret is in "planning for the unplanned".  The actual route you want to travel is not really what it is about.  That varies.  It is more about having what you need when the unforeseen happens.  Our group was kitted out well.  Small things needed attention, but we always had what it took to fix.  This group had the right attitude and experience to know what to bring and what not to bring.  With that, the route and number of days on the road is not as important as having adequate water, food, tools spares and knowledge to cover the eventualities but not over load the vehicles / bikes.  Our planning was about enjoying the ride to the fullest.  I believe we achieved that.
I always hear my old Samajoor in the background when "something" happens: "Do what you can, with what you have, where you are - and do it NOW".

En daar is my hele dag in sy maai.  Nou sal ek net sit en droom vir die res vd dag!!!

Baie dankie vir 'n baie nice RR.  :thumleft:

Persoonlik dink ek enige trip is lekker as die ouens lekker "gel".

need to settle in at home and look at this one ...somehow my boss just dont understand ...dunno why ...the fool

All I can say is: Thanks for sharing this with us. Now I'm going to start reading from the beginning, again.

Day 14: Khumib River Camp to Sesriem, via Puros
Distance: 246 km

In the morning we continued South along the Khumib river.  A scenic mountainous and rocky section follows between the Khumib and Hoarusib rivers.

Angola816.jpg

Angola817.jpg

Angola820.jpg

Angola821.jpg

Angola827.jpg

The riding is pleasant and the scenery is incredible again.  Each day offers it's own surprise as far as the environment goes.  There is really something new every day.  One expects a fairly homogeneous desert landscape here, but it is very far from that.  It has been like this every day of the journey.  Unbelievable.

Angola829.jpg

Angola830.jpg

Angola844.jpg

As we hit the Hoarisub river

Angola822.jpg

The GPS starting to speak our language....

Angola825.jpg

We start to encounter some game, but no elephants.

Angola835.jpg

The last sandy stretch into Puros

Angola837.jpg

We arrive at the Puros Camp site.  Very nice sites with good facilities, but it is only lunch time and we have lots of daylight left, so we move along.

One of the camp sites

Angola840.jpg

We do a stop at the Puros shop and buy some biscuits and drinks.  We also fill up the bikes from our Landcruiser Ultra City.  The sun is quite hot here.  Middle of winter....

Angola843.jpg

We hit the track again, turning West along the Puros Canyon.  We are surprised by another complete change in scenery.  Flowing water in the river, which we cross countless times as we travel and find lots of game.  The rock formations lining the canyon are also spectacular.  And the echoing Acrapovic symphony from the vertical walls makes me feel like Andre Rieu.
The traction offered by the wet sand is also a pleasure.  A lot would have to go wrong to get the smile off my face here....

Angola845.jpg

Angola847.jpg

Angola848.jpg

We get to the end of the track and leave the river turning South again.  We now head down to the Hoanib river, which will be our ride into Sesfontein.

Crossing the desert plains between these rivers is another experience.  You get a little bit beyond the recommended operating speed of a 690 around here....

Angola857.jpg

Angola858.jpg

Angola860.jpg

We enter the Hoanib river through Amspoort Gorge.  The sand is thick but has a nice riding texture to it.  Almost feels like traction....

Angola878.jpg

Angola899.jpg

Around the next corner our luck becomes complete!!

Angola898.jpg

Angola891.jpg

Angola872.jpg

I was happy as happy could be, although these boys and girls quickly remind us to show some respect.  They are not as passionate about bikes as we are and some quick real elephant turns have to be made.  The bikes all get to pass eventually, with another few charges.  The pictures are taken from the cars mostly, the elepants seem more tolerant towards cars.

We continue down the river, seeing lots more game, really great ride.  The sand dictates confident riding, it is just SO good here.  We get to "Die Poort" and wait for everyone to catch up.  

Angola882.jpg

Angola890.jpg

Angola907.jpg

It is getting a bit late and we need to think about camping.  We see Elephant Song Campsite on the GPS and decide to see what it holds.  Only 8 km down the river.

We encounter some mud en route, with some untidy riding here and there....

Angola908.jpg

The camp site is deserted (due to lions it says on the GPS), there is no water and it is very windy.  All of this makes us decide to leave and head for Sesfontein.  We are nearly there anyway.  The "road" gives us another wake up call.  Powder pockets.  Deep ruts with powder fine dust.  It covers everything in dust instantly and the bike drops to the bottom of the rut.  The shape of the rut is invisible, and the rocks and track lines in the bottom of these tracks keep ripping the front wheel in unexpected directions.  Difficult to avoid them too, coming around 90° corners you ride the line, and the next moment you are in the rut.  This gives an idea of the depth.

Angola886.jpg

Angola894.jpg

Some more untidy riding....  (Which was not photographed....)

We get to Sesfontein and find the camp site at the famous fountain.  The facilities are not great, but it is a place to stay and it is nearly dark.  Not much option.  Another good night around the fire.

Angola909.jpg

Angola902.jpg

Discussions are more about reflection than anticipation now.  This is our last night in the "bush".  We "achieved" all the goals of the expedition.  All the bikes and all the cars are still going strong.  Rider wise, we have had to draw one or two impact players from the log team here and there.  But the wheels kept rolling and that is what counts.  We have a good meal and win the snoring competition with the Italian tourists in the camp site next to us hands down.

Day 15: Sesfontein to Omaruru
Distance: 451 km

14.jpg

We have run out of days.  So back to Omaruru it is - on the wide gravel tourist route with the 4x4 rental bakkies, buses and Germans.

Lunch stop.
Angola919.jpg

Nothing really worth mentioning on the day.  Just riding at a good pace to get to our base camp.

A last photo as we arrive at the Omaruru rest camp.

Angola924.jpg

The evening is spent "demobilizing" - loading bikes and getting everyone's stuff off the bakkies and back into the rooms.  The last shower was at Kunene River Lodge, so that was also handy.... The Rest Camp is a hive of activity and eventually we are all ready to move.  A good night's sleep in a proper bed is in order too.

Day 16: Omaruru to Zeerust

We hit the tar at 5 in the morning and make for Windhoek where we drop Gert, Francois and Coenie at the airport again and the rest drive to Gobabis and through Botswana.  We get to Zeerust early evening, and treated to the best again by Chris and his family.  What a life we have....

From here it was back to Pretoria and home for all.  Some final reflections to follow.

Een van die lekkerste RR's in 'n lang ruk. Dankie vir die deel....dit was lekker om "saam" met julle te kon travel.  :thumleft:

BEFOKTE  :ricky: Report Dankie dat jul dit met ons gedeel het... een vraag as ek mag hoeveel geld moet met budget vir so toer :sip:
en gan jul vorentoe nog so toer weer doen ?