Grizz & Dozer's Ride South Africa, Ride Report Complete. YouTube Videos.....

Aggenee man, not nice!!!

:deal:(with all respect) I thought the rooi walvis will have some problems crossing thru the waters. But then I suppose Grizz just wheelied thru them :ricky:

Hey Jupiter,
Got a nice XT 600 that you can "borrow"  :peepwall:

BiganDaft said:
Hey Jupiter,

You have no idea. That bike is a sub-marine. The days they still built them proper.

Crossed-up said:
Bad luck, Jupiter.  Hope the new bike's OK.

:thumleft: Should be when it gets a new CDI and I can make a plan to protect the electrics.

jupiter said:
BiganDaft said:
Hey Jupiter,

You have no idea. That bike is a sub-marine. The days they still built them proper.

aren't CDI units sealed ?
Biviaans has claimed quite a few bikes in the last few months.

jupiter said:
Crossed-up said:
Bad luck, Jupiter.  Hope the new bike's OK.

:thumleft: Should be when it gets a new CDI and I can make a plan to protect the electrics.

En jy het net Sondag inni bos gepraat daarvan.

Great story Grizz

Reading with enjoyment, have a great trip

jupiter said:
BiganDaft said:
Hey Jupiter,

G man I really feel for you about this. Must've been really hartseer and then the dogs rub it in some more???

bungycool said:
jupiter said:
BiganDaft said:
Hey Jupiter,

G man I really feel for you about this. Must've been really hartseer and then the dogs rub it in some more???

The rub it in does not bother me, its what we do  :biggrin: but, it was easily the worse biking day of my life, just the whole vibe that went wonky. And the worse is, it spoiled grizz and dozer's much anticipated ride through Baviaans.  ??? They've not done it before.

Hey Grizz my ou vriend. Ek tel nou eers op op die fred. Jissie man, sal blerrie nice wees as ons bymekaar kan uitkom. Ek en vroulief ry die naweek bietjie Clarens toe virrie naweek. Meskien dalk te laat? Laat weet maar tjomma. Het jou n whatap ook gestuur.

Groete
Faantjie :ricky:

Johnnyboxer said:
Great story Grizz

Reading with enjoyment, have a great trip

Hey JB !!!

Thanks for signing up on here.

Maybe if you can handle the bilingual nature of this board, the guys can start abusing you for Trials and other riding advice.

Glad you are enjoying the trip so far. Unfortunately hamstrung by lack of time and place to upload my 100 photos a day.

jupiter said:
bungycool said:
jupiter said:
BiganDaft said:
Hey Jupiter,

The rub it in does not bother me, its what we do  :biggrin: but, it was easily the worse biking day of my life, just the whole vibe that went wonky. And the worse is, it spoiled grizz and dozer's much anticipated ride through Baviaans.  ??? They've not done it before.

Hey Jupiter!!

I know where your feelings come from, but I can honestly say that I am completely happy with the outcome of Mondays ride, except fir you having Kark with your bike.

You know Karma is a Bitch, but I love her.....

She may have prevented a bike falling down a cliff, taking one or more of us with it..... By wetting your bikes spirit.

We are and continue to have really good time. Thanks to your hospitality and friendship.

woody1 said:
Finish the ride and enjoy... THEN we demand to see ALL the fotos.   :deal:

You know how I like to photodump....

The thing is we all like different stuff, so I am always happy to just upload a lot and let people enjoy what they like.

Hopefully we will come and check out your machines next week and drink a coffee or two.

MINI, no really mini update.

Yesterday I spent half the day at Old Mutual and Standard Bank as well as signing documents for Sanlam ( there are all financial institutions for our foreign readers) as some of them are at times not very efficient.

Then we visited some of our aunts, did some grocery (well meat and booze) shopping for last nights awesome BBQ/Braai here at Jupiters place.

On Monday evening for the first time in my 36 years of riding, my back or kidneys forced me to pull over and take Turbo charged Paracetamol and some Ibuprofen about 70km from home.
So yesterday my brother who wears a kidney belt, insisted on buying me one as well, as we are only about 18% into this ride.

I hope that the guys who were here last night and took some pics, will post them up on here in this thread.

Last nights get together was awesome. Seeing old friends and meeting new.

Thanks to everybody who came around last night.

Deon and I really enjoyed meeting some of you guys face to face vs forum faces.

If any of you took pics, PLEASE DO POST IN MY RIDE REPORT THREAD  as I cannot upload or post yet.

I also want to make a special mention to two guys who maxed out on feeding my mad habit of number plate collecting.

Schaun "Tiger8" and Craig "Knucklehead" both had me personalized WD GRIZZ and GRIZZ EC plates made up. I was again blown away by the generous nature of guys on this forum, but also South Africans in general.

Thank you also to BigDom for sending me his original GSPOT EC plate that he replaced with a smaller more sensibly sized one.

Thanks to Jupiters network, my bike spent about 4.5 hours under the hands of Airhead Guru Martin Walker yesterdayand now feels tighter and actually idles below 1000rpm.

Today is Wednesday 10th, raining nicely.
Got a few things to do and visits to slot in as well as more deliveries of bits n bobs for UK people sending stuff here. My panniers are getting emptier as I deliver stuff but filling as fast with trinkets, number plates and other touristy treasures I buy along the way for my wife, kids and others.

Tomorrow is an early start up to Elliot, via Queenstown on some less than perfect roads.

I am waiting for the kuier here in Brakpan.... so when you get up here, just shout and we will make it happen.  :3some:

Thanks Jup and Lyn for the hospitality your shared with a bunch of rowdy misfits, it was a great evening  :thumleft:

Meeting the "Boys" was an experience, like meeting long lost friends. Grizz, Dozer was unforgettable guy's, ride safely and enjoy the road and the mates along the way, this is what Epic rides are made off, I wish I was riding with  :ricky:

Will check if any of the pic's I took were actually in focus or if you guy's are naturally fuzzy - I suspect the latter  >:D  :biggrin:

Hiya all

thanks to the host (Jupiter) for the venue and the lekka braai, was lekka to meet some new dogs and chat to some old. Attached a few pictures taken, some kay , some a little blurry..sorry...Grizz when u back in the UK i want a pic of the GRIZZ EC plate above the bar!!

Pictures:
1 - some short oke that came along  with dozer and grizz in the background  :imaposer:
2 - Jason, my laaitjie chilling with the ol man  >:D
3 - Grizz tuning the manne about the times he fell off his bike, i think the figure was five  :peepwall:
4 -  Watch out for the ceiling my china  :lol8:
5 -  Crab havin a dop .. aggh i mean a coffee  :pot:
6 - some of the talent at the pozzie  :thumleft:
7 - Jason taking lessons on coals from Jup...4 second rule i believe  :deal:
8 - Youngster chowing again  :bueller:

have a mooi ride lads..

• P1010417.JPG
    P1010417.JPG
    149.8 KB
  • P1010418.JPG
    P1010418.JPG