Mariepskop Trip Report

BMW R1150GS Adventure

• Mariepskop Layout.jpg
    Mariepskop Layout.jpg
    83.8 KB
After hearing lots about the Mariepskop's view, Young One and myself did a quick trip up the beautiful mountain in Limpopo. Actually it was my work's end year function and we stayed at Swadini Forever Resort just down the road, but we managed to sneak  away while they spit braaied two sheep.

The D70 Road is just of the R531 - which splits of the R40 in turn. There is a nice little pub and small rural garage where the D70 starts.  The first 26km is a sweet gravel road with a few sandy spots, but not hectic. I did not see many if any villages on the way up, so there are few locals around to hassle you. Just keep right on the main gravel road - there are a few left turn offs, but Google maps will clearly show you the way and it is easy enough.

Excuse the photo quality, I had to make due with my phone.

• Start of D70 - gravel.jpg
    Start of D70 - gravel.jpg
    309.2 KB
  • Swadini Road.jpg
    Swadini Road.jpg
    196.1 KB
With the mountain on your right hand side, you start the 1300m climb to the top, gradually becoming steeper as you progress. I could see the road was recently graded as flooding/erosion signs were evident - the condition can change in the summer time with all the rain up here.

We stopped to drop our tire pressures when a bakkie with two people pulled up next to us and offered help. Don't know why - Young One must really have looked useless & clumsy deflating his tires. It turned out they work for Denel and were on their way to the Air Force radar base on top of Mariepskop. He inquired where we were heading and I mentioned Mariepskop etc.  It turns out civilians are not allowed onto the base, but the oke said he will instruct the guards to let us through.

• Young One deflating.jpg
    Young One deflating.jpg
    268.4 KB
  • Mariepskip - bottom view.jpg
    Mariepskip - bottom view.jpg
    255.6 KB
  • Swadini 2.jpg
    Swadini 2.jpg
    195 KB
Just before the 25km mark one passes through some local Forestry offices and buildings where you can rent some chalets or camp, but it does not look well kept.  After this you hit the security gate, if you can call it that.  Just a simple boom with a local out of uniform bored looking guard hanging around in da bush. On the immediate right you start to see remnants of the old Airforce base accommodation -  it used to be living quarters or housing of some sort, nearly like a skool koshuis. Everything is so overgrown as the bush is slowly claiming back the land.

The last 6km is the sweet Rohrbeck Road concrete road constructed in 1955-1957 and takes you all the way to the top. The lush green plants encloses the road on both sides. The absence of people is clearly visible with lack of trash and cattle around on the mountain, it's clean and nearly looks like a small piece of rainforest at one point. As you reach the top the trees disappear and give way to shrubs and rocks with stunning views of the escarpment.

• Rohorbeck Concrete road .jpg
    Rohorbeck Concrete road .jpg
    363.3 KB
  • Concrete Road - lush green.jpg
    Concrete Road - lush green.jpg
    354.2 KB
  • Concrete Road - on top.jpg
    Concrete Road - on top.jpg
    113 KB
  • Concrete Road .jpg
    Concrete Road .jpg
    203.8 KB
  • Concrete Road 2.jpg
    Concrete Road 2.jpg
    169.4 KB
  • Concrete Road 3.jpg
    Concrete Road 3.jpg
    118.3 KB
The Mariepskop Airforce Base is located at the very top with large radar towers and a few old looking buildings.  Here and there are old brown painted army trucks. One can see the place must have been buzzing in its heyday. The Denel guy greets us friendly and shows us around the facility a bit. We are not really allowed to be there or take pictures of the towers, buildings and radar masts, so we take a few of the view instead. Those buildings were seriously constructed with some walls up to 1m thick. Not easy trying to swing one of those steel doors shut.

Note: Excuse the bad quality pics - only had my cellphone with me at the time.

• Air Force Radar base.jpg
    Air Force Radar base.jpg
    243.3 KB
  • Air Force Base.jpg
    Air Force Base.jpg
    173.2 KB
We left the base and ventured further on the mountain towards the other non air force towers way at the end - reckon if I take out those towers it will stop polluting the Lowveld airwaves with rubbish like 7de Laan and Days of Our Lives etc., maybe even save a few housewifes. One passes the Mariepskop Tropo Stasie that must have been used for weather purposes, but only the naked stripped buildings are left - all the guts yanked out, just the walls and roofs left.  Spook town.

The views are sweet and you can see Hoedspruit and Phalaborwa from up there. Around the corner is the Blyderivierpoortdam being watched by the Three Rondawels. It recently rained so everything is green and lush.  It might be 30 degrees 1300m down below,  but it is cool on the mountain with a nice chilly wind sweeping through one's clothes.

• Tropo Station.jpg
    Tropo Station.jpg
    238.7 KB
  • Best pee location ever.jpg
    Best pee location ever.jpg
    123.4 KB
  • View point 2.jpg
    View point 2.jpg
    198.1 KB
  • View.jpg
    View.jpg
    193.5 KB
On the way down we stopped at the old Air Force base quarters and had some loud fun on the old walkways with the bikes, chasing each other and playing hide & seek with the GS's,  until the security guard heard all the commotion and came to investigate. We took a quick departure and headed down the mountain.   
Overall a nice trip, taking about 2-3 hours, depending how much time you spend on the mountain.  Beautiful views and a easy 1300m climb over 32km.

• Young One.jpg
    Young One.jpg
    176.8 KB
  • IMG-20121103-01539 (Medium).jpg
    IMG-20121103-01539 (Medium).jpg
    224.8 KB
  • Swadini.JPG
    Swadini.JPG
    214.2 KB
We had some fun on the stoepe - chasing each other like naughty kids with the LOUD resonance of the GS's exhausts in our ears. We went back the following week in my car with some friends and took more time to explore the old buildings. The next day we went down to the camping spot and spent the afternoon in the water and sun. I will post more pics about this soon.

• Young One Stoep Fun (Medium).jpg
    Young One Stoep Fun (Medium).jpg
    202.8 KB
  • macjohnw (Medium).JPG
    macjohnw (Medium).JPG
    317.2 KB
Some pics about the abandoned Air Force Base quarters. The valuables were removed and the place simply locked up about 8-10 years ago. 

• IMG-20121110-01592 (Small).jpg
    IMG-20121110-01592 (Small).jpg
    105.9 KB
  • IMG-20121110-01594 (Small).jpg
    IMG-20121110-01594 (Small).jpg
    110.7 KB
  • IMG-20121110-01596 (Small).jpg
    IMG-20121110-01596 (Small).jpg
    97.4 KB
  • IMG-20121110-01598 (Small).jpg
    IMG-20121110-01598 (Small).jpg
    145.7 KB
  • IMG-20121110-01599 (Small).jpg
    IMG-20121110-01599 (Small).jpg
    133.9 KB
  • IMG-20121110-01604 (Small).jpg
    IMG-20121110-01604 (Small).jpg
    162 KB
  • IMG-20121110-01605 (Small).jpg
    IMG-20121110-01605 (Small).jpg
    99.7 KB
  • IMG-20121110-01607 (Small).jpg
    IMG-20121110-01607 (Small).jpg
    140.7 KB
  • IMG-20121110-01609 (Small).jpg
    IMG-20121110-01609 (Small).jpg
    67.1 KB
  • IMG-20121110-01610 (Small).jpg
    IMG-20121110-01610 (Small).jpg
    67.9 KB
More pics.

• IMG-20121110-01611 (Small).jpg
    IMG-20121110-01611 (Small).jpg
    74.6 KB
  • IMG-20121110-01617 (Small).jpg
    IMG-20121110-01617 (Small).jpg
    69.7 KB
  • IMG-20121110-01625 (Small).jpg
    IMG-20121110-01625 (Small).jpg
    118 KB
  • IMG-20121110-01622 (Small).jpg
    IMG-20121110-01622 (Small).jpg
    47.4 KB
  • IMG-20121110-01619 (Small).jpg
    IMG-20121110-01619 (Small).jpg
    32.9 KB
  • IMG-20121110-01618 (Small).jpg
    IMG-20121110-01618 (Small).jpg
    74.6 KB
  • IMG-20121110-01615 (Small).jpg
    IMG-20121110-01615 (Small).jpg
    153.7 KB
  • IMG-20121110-01612 (Small).jpg
    IMG-20121110-01612 (Small).jpg
    77.3 KB
The camping spot next to the Blyderivier. Did not take any pics of the camp sites as such, but I reckon you get the picture. The water is not cold and swimming there was sweet. They even have a rope tied up high in a tree with which you can swing over the river and make bommies.

It's tucked away and quiet, no hassles from pierewaaiers.

• IMG-20121111-01627 (Small).jpg
    IMG-20121111-01627 (Small).jpg
    85.6 KB
  • IMG-20121111-01628 (Small).jpg
    IMG-20121111-01628 (Small).jpg
    120.5 KB
  • IMG-20121111-01626 (Small).jpg
    IMG-20121111-01626 (Small).jpg
    78.6 KB
Oh wow, tx for sharing.....the run down buildings gave me a bit of a scare....did 7 camps up there in the 80's, was / is a beautiful place! Had plenty of nothing to do when were up there for 2 /3 months at a time to explore...by foot  :-\ Cycads by the hundreds in the valley's  :thumleft:

Bring herrinneringe terug
'n Hele klomp jare gelede (dink 1995) saam met die Weermag se Hart-klub daar gaan stap
Toe was die basis nog werkend
In die kwartiere geslaap, in die menasie ge-ëet, posh plek gewees
Jammer om die plekke so te sien ten gronde gaan

Lekker trippie  :thumleft:

Memories.

Stayed in Hoedspruit in the Mid 80's .  Lot of chopper flights around Marieps Area.

Last year December on the way, till chain snapped at Middelburg.

Wonder how the road down to Hazyview along the  bottom  of the enscarpment are?

Thanx for sharing 

BEAUTIFUL PICS..  :thumleft:

Dankie vir die deel!