McSack & Psycho Porra's excursion over the border into the Cape

After some banter, it was established that Anthony and his group would also be staying at the Elephant's backpackers that evening. We all said our farewells and Grant and headed further direction towards Riebeek East.

We rode through what I presume was a lot of game farms surrounding the reserve, separated only by a gate and got to see quite a bit of game (zebras, giraffe, sable, etc). All to quickly, we were out of the reserve and taking a turnoff to Riebeek East. Man, you Eeaasstteernn Caape gys are spoilt when it comes to places to ride.

Now, I am quite heavy on fuel and generally it is either a 3/4 hour or 100kms, whichever comes 1st. Then I need to stop for a refreshment of sorts and as we rode into Riebeek East, i started looking for some place to stop, as they do not call me a Barfinder for nothing. Nothing, nothing, nothing in that town, even the cafe in town was closed and had a "For Sale" sign up. Kyk nou was ek so skyns verby befonk en dors. Nothing else to do except carry on and drink the water in my camelpak.

Now, a few kilometres on on we came upon a sight that blew my mind out of the park (dis nogals moeilik om te doen, want ek het net 2 breinselle). In the middle of nowhere we see a runway, but not just a runway. A moer of a long runway, that any pilot would be happy to land on and at the end of the runway, a "little" lear jet parked off to one side. WTF Nigel??

Dit moet lekker wees om geld se baas te wees en as vroulief de moer in is vir jou by wyse van "Russian TV" gee (beeld sonder klank), dan klim jy in jou jet en vlieg gou wildsplaas toe.

Anyway, back to the ride. Eventually we come to a crossing and I stop, remembering I have some Ballantines miniatures in my bag;)
IMG-2725.jpg

Grant gives me a quick rundown of where to next and insists I take Beastie (AT DCT) for a ride, seeing that I was looking very closely at the ones for sale at Bloem Honda. I climbed on his bike and the 1st thing that hit me, was "bliksem", this tank is huge and it felt intimidating. Man, all I can say is once I got going and made peace with that huge, menacing tank,it felt like I was riding on Gomma Gomma recliner on wheels, what a pleasure to ride and now understand why Grant does not mind doing distances in a day. Having said that, I just think Grant wanted to take Johnny Bravo for a spin and he seemed to be disappointed when I stopped him and said I want my bike back.

So remember when I said Grant is a liar of note. Well the next stop was going to be Ann's Villa pass and he says it is a dirt highway, he lied....again. The pass was full of loose rocks and pebbles, which was not a problem for me, as JB was gliding over them like a little "klipspringer" but man, was Grant working as Beastie just wanted to let loose and do his own thing. (Quest had prepared him for just these type of things though)
IMG-2725.jpg
IMG-2726.jpg
IMG-2728.jpg
IMG-2729.jpg

Made it to the top and I asked Grant how much further to a refueling stop (for me, not the bike) and he says "you see that ridge, just over it is the Zuurberg Mountain retreat". Did I mention that McSack is a pathological liar?
Anyway, i quickly forgave him, again because the ride and scenery made up for his lies.
IMG-2731.jpg

just as I was getting into my "zen" space, out of nowhere this big, ugly contraption appeared before us (I thought it was ablution facilities, only to be told it is a monument of sorts) and I then got the taste of a Rum and coke, deep in the back of my throat. Voggies, uiteindelik. We stopped at the Mountain Lodge and were treated to a spectacular view and amenities. Manne, vat julle se vouens soontoe, dis prentjie mooi
IMG-2732.jpg

Last edited:
No such thing as "In the next Chapter......", we still waiting for the next paragraph :ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO:

This is like being served Rum and Coke in shot glasses filled with ice !!!!!!

Or Ballantynes in miniature form.

Catching up and editing at the same time!!! For sure, Eastern Cape is blessed with great riding.

So after a few rum and cokes we get going again because now I am hungry and a certain "drol" mentioned a pichana steak on the braai, Elephant Backpackers here we come.

Arrived at The Turd's place and was welcomed by a friendly face...and John. Poured ourselves a long glass of Tea and sat back, catching up with Anthony and his crowd about our experiences of the day while John braaied and fed us a scrumptious dinner. Kyk, ek het nog nooit gesien hoe vinnig braaibroodtjies so kan verdwyn.

ZZ.jpg

Josh (Junior Turd) and his wife duly arrived on the XR in the background and this started a whole new conversation as Anthony makes aftermarket parts for XR bikes. With a full stomach, enough rum and an awesome day of riding and scenery, we made our way to Josh's house for a nightcap, hot shower and a pillow to lay our weary heads on.

Tomorrow we ride again and I am proper excited as I am going to be doing the Baviaans for the 1st time, but now I need do some work and will carry on later. Stay tuned😎

No such thing as "In the next Chapter......", we still waiting for the next paragraph :ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO:

This is like being served Rum and Coke in shot glasses filled with ice !!!!!!

Or Ballantynes in miniature form.

Catching up and editing at the same time!!! For sure, Eastern Cape is blessed with great riding.
Pniel, you missing us yet? Those Memel farmers want us to come visit again:ROFLMAO:
:ROFLMAO:

Tomorrow we ride again and I am proper excited as I am going to be doing the Baviaans for the 1st time, but now I need do some work and will carry on later. Stay tuned😎
Where do you think we are at the moment!!!??? How will I pass the afternoon now 😩

Hell...just noticing this thread after a rude reminder from my low-centre-of-gravity porra mate.
Will catch up and contribute sir

Daai Ann's Villa pas is regtig sleg, ek het self n bietjie ge huff en puff daar uit met die KLR
It was the roughest I've seen it. Norbs' pics don't do the baby heads up that first steep climb any justice

So after a few rum and cokes we get going again because now I am hungry and a certain "drol" mentioned a pichana steak on the braai, Elephant Backpackers here we come.

Arrived at The Turd's place and was welcomed by a friendly face...and John. Poured ourselves a long glass of Tea and sat back, catching up with Anthony and his crowd about our experiences of the day while John braaied and fed us a scrumptious dinner. Kyk, ek het nog nooit gesien hoe vinnig braaibroodtjies so kan verdwyn.

Josh (Junior Turd) and his wife duly arrived on the XR in the background and this started a whole new conversation as Anthony makes aftermarket parts for XR bikes. With a full stomach, enough rum and an awesome day of riding and scenery, we made our way to Josh's house for a nightcap, hot shower and a pillow to lay our weary heads on.

Turd (@Casting from Turd ) and his family are amongst the most generous and hospital bunch of people you will come across in spite of the old hillbilly's fierce outer facade.
Was great catching up with you and Josh again John

Last edited:
One or two pics from the ride to Orange Elephant

• IMG-20220518-WA0104.jpg
    IMG-20220518-WA0104.jpg
    90 KB
  • IMG-20220518-WA0133.jpg
    IMG-20220518-WA0133.jpg
    187.8 KB