McSack & Psycho Porra's excursion over the border into the Cape

Day 3
On Friday morning we are up early and while waiting for Josh to arise, we get our kit together, give the bikes a once over and have a cup of coffee. After our goodbyes to Josh, his wife and John, we head to the local garage to fill up before hitting the road via the back of Kirkwood towards Uitenhage.
As can be seen on the pictures, there weather was superb and no incidents except for the young lady in the Fortuner that stopped to ask if we are okay. Friendly bunch of people out here. Next stop is Uitenhage, then Elands Rivier and Patensie

1.jpg
2.jpg
3.JPG
4.jpg

Now as you know, I am in need of a brekkie but alas, Grant weaves through the Uitenhage morning traffic and no luck in finding a place to stop for breakfast. Thank goodness we did not stop as we then crossed a river and I got a nose full of that stench from the Swartkops river and nearly passed out. I honestly feel sorry for the WD's that stay there and have to deal with that. Needless to say my hunger was immediately gone and we made a quick getaway onto the Elands Rivier road.

All I can say is WOW, what an awesome ride with that scenery as we climbed higher and higher. I even decided to pass and"ballerina" McSack on my way. We passed so many wonderful getaways on the road and came across a bridge over the Sand Rivier when Grant and I looked left we were both puzzled by a "Bakkie" that was parked there. Not by the vehicle as such but by how they got it under that roof and in the middle of nowhere, very suspicious looking. Anyway not long after the Meadows 4x4 offramp we stopped so I could have a smoke break and let my numb backside have a rest. Phoned the Family to let them know I was still okay and that I missed them.
5.JPG
6.JPG
8.JPG
9.JPG

The people living out here are priveliged as the farms and area looks so serene and "rustig". Sal enige tyd daar wil bly
After the stop we headed further through Heynsrus, Houtkloof until we came upon a Tower up high on the mountain with spectacular views
12.JPG
10.jpg
11.jpg

Not long after that a young farmer and hs girlfriend/suster came up from the Patensie side with a "bakkie" fully loaded with tiny oranges and greeted as they passed. Now you know what it is like riding over "marbles", those small stones, well try heading down towards Patensie, through all those switchbacks and beautiful scenery whilst trying to avoid all these little "lemoentjies" as they are smooth, hard and can wipe you front wheel out from under you

Was amazed me about the Eastern Cape passes is that, while other passes in the country might also have those windy turns and switchbacks, the EC passes ascend and descend extremely quickly and not gradually. So one minute you up in the clouds enjoying a spectacular view and a couple of swithbacks later you down in the vinyards by Patensie. Too "bloody" fantastic nevertheless. All to soon we were stopped at the T-junction that would either take you to Patensie or The Baviaans. But first we had to stop for something to eat as my Stomach was not impressed with me by now:p
🤕

Josh had told us to stop at Padlangs Country Restaurant for a burger so off we headed to get our Chow on.
As we entered the parking lot at Padlangs we noticed a super clean CRF250 Rally, a T7 and a XR150 already parked there, all shiny and clean. Turns our Genie Dave C and Ultraflight (I think) were also enjoying something to eat. After introductions and ordering our food and espressos (YES, I did say espresso and not liquor) we enjoyed great conversation with these super clean and friendly gents. Great meeting up with you guys and still not sure why Dave had that camping chair strapped to his XR150, like a Winchester Rifle starpped to a saddle in the Cowboy films.

These fine young Gents then mounted up and headed towards the bash while Grant and i enjoyed our lunch and reminisced over the morning's ride. After lunch it was determined that Grant had left his plakkies and beanie in the Fortuner so off to PEP in Patensie we went and filled up with petrol as well.

Finally it arrived, I was heading into the Baviaans and man what a site and well worth the trip. I unfortunately did not take any pictures as I was too mesmerized by the sheer beauty of the place. WOW is all I have to say about the ride into the Baviaans. The road was not as bad as I thought and we passed a few gents on the way down.

i had just got into my "Zen" riding mode and was enjoying throwing JB around, which he just took in his stride when all of a sudden we came around a corner and I saw Grant enter the water and he must of blipped the throttle because Beastie popped his front wheel up and planted it down on the the other side of the twee spoor. By seeing photos on WD I instantly recognised Smitskraal water crossing and without a second thought blasted pasted Grant and flew through to the other side, parked JB on dry ground and waded back through he water to help Grant get Beastie up. With a bit of a push and pull we managed to get the AT through and onto dry ground
13.jpg
14.jpg

McSack proceeded to theseating area at the braai spot to remove his boots and socks to empty the water and sat down to dry his feet.

I did notice while helping him to pick his bike up in the water that he had left a somewhat of a "donga" on the path, hidden by the water so I decided to stand in the road to see if any other rider would land in it and low and behold it caught out 2 KLR's, one being Dutchman81 and the other being the black new shape fugly😈
:ROFLMAO:

Without any further incidents we made our way towards Doornkloof to meet up and enjoy a weekend with a good bunch of like minded folks. Albeit the last river crossing that nearly had me swimming due to the step up, which I heard later had claimed a little Toyota Rav from overseas number plate.

Duly arrived at the campsite and went to go report to the Kamp Kommandant and then proceeded to the bar to have my 1st of many Rum and Cokes and meet up with old buddies and meet new ones.

The venue, food and people were top class and it was great to put faces to all of you on this forum that were there. A few things that stood stood out for me wasWoody's sexy bakkie, Edgy's XR and how BigDom could arrive, park his Husky and dismount on the right of his bike. I also want to be tall like that.

As the night progressed some went to lay their heads down, while some proceeded to try burn the tree down along with T-Rex's bakkie and then there was Mapsource, Kgalagadi, Anton and Ball & Chain that were keeping the barman busy. The strange thing is that everywhere you turned he was there, the "skim" of the EC Bash AKA Gerrad. Man as jy jou gat gedraai het was hy daar en kyk jou net so op en af:ROFLMAO:

Needless to say as much as "die Skim" tried to keep Mapsource, Cocky and myself away from each other, we managed to end up at the bar together. Now in Mapsource's (Wind van Worcester) defence, he was not rowdy that night, he was simply conversing with me in his best soutie tale and man he had some big words in his vocabulary, words like flabbergasted and Bain marie, I was nogal impressed. Now for those that do not know what a bain-marie is, according to Pieta it is a staal bak virrie vleis man.

A good time was had by all and Sidpit and Gravelpit also eventually arrived at the bash after pub crawling all the way from Crowntown.

Although I didn't manage to get through Smitskraal with dry boots, it was definitely not the scariest of water crossings for me. There were one or two ponds which turned out to be way deeper than I remember them being on previous visits to Baviaans and I was for some reason proper tired by the time we got down into the valley.
I was actually quite surprised that Porra didn't find the deepest holes as that is usually his speciality.
Only regret for the day ...not stopping to take more pichas

Saturday was a rest day for Grant and myself, so we headed towrds the campsite, enjoyed a breakfast and spent the day chilling and getting tyre changing masterclasses from Kaboef and Ball & Ketting, while listening to the peanut gallery giving them tips. (Kaboef, ek wag nog op daai lees brille soos joune agter jou foon)
IMG-2749.jpg
IMG-2750.jpg

we also had a great chuckle at Jackie and Herman's expense when his bike would not start. We sent Jackie to source a battery from someone who would not be riding on Saturday so they could go on an outride but it turned out that it was just corrosion on the battery terminal and by loosening the terminal and tightening it again they bike fired up instantly. "Jackie come back from finding a battery and perculator, the bike is running again"

@ Boere - you raised a good lad and can be proud of him. So Brink (i think that is right) was a good samaritan on Saturday by going with the vehicle and trailer to fetch Toney the Boney's bike that was stranded somewhere as it would not start. So when they arrived back at camp late afternoon all the fundi's gathered around Toney's bike to try see what the problem was, only for Gavin (Peanut) to see that there was a loose wire. Wire hooked up correctly and Braap, the bike started up. Man I wish you could see Toney's face when he realised it was not going to be a R20000 fix job on his bike. I hope he has however invested in tyre changing goodies, who goes to a bash without any tyre levers, tubes or patches. Then again the man is a retired paint chemist so we will forgive him.

So the whole day I was watching Jan burn trees to make coals for the spit-braai and man was that spit lekker. I was eyeing one of those "skaap stertjies" the whole time and when I asked Jan for one he said that Woody and Crashvan had already claimed them. Well, this meant I needed to sweet talk one of them or bribe them to part with one. Woody was having nothing of it but I saw Bouwer (crashvan) looked as if he was a man to negotiate with so off I went and the Wealth Manager kindly said I could take his. (Bouwer, jy is 'n goeie man).

Now i was content, one of the 2 |skaap stertjies" had my name on it and Jan protected it like a hawk. Low and behold, along comes JaX and tries to steal my prise by giving Jan those puppy dog eyes and smile and I quickly put a end to that, sorry Jackie.

A great night was had by all with great food (did I mention those rooster koekies, mmmm) and once again the venue runs out of Red Heart rum, which is maybe a good thing, knowing what a day we would have the next day.
We left the campsite with our Uber (we were staying at the Farmer Barend's house) which was a tricky distance away from the campsite and had a good night's rest, my 1st but not last EC bash done.
IMG-2765.JPG
IMG-2767.JPG

No other photos were taken by myself, to protect myself and others from prosecution, but if you have any photos, feel frre to share them on this RR

Day 4

I woke up early on Sunday morning as I knew we had a long day ahead of us to "Die Hel". Went outside for a smoke and waited for the sun to show it's face.
1.jpg
2.jpg

Needless to say, I think the sun was with Mapsource at the bar the previous evening, so it took a while to rise.

After a lekker shower and kitting up, Grant and I made our way to the campsite to say goodbye to all and as approuching camp we passed Cocky, Mapsource and crowd hastily making their way out of there. Man, but they all looked either the moerin or scared because there was no wave back or acknowledgement from any of them besides Cocky.

I thought that maybe "Die Skim of the EC BASH" had given them a talking too, only to find the source of everybody making a hastily getaway from Doornkloof.

It turns out they all saw T-Rex coming out of his tent on his broom and in a "onezy". That would scare anything away. See and decide for yourself
0.JPG
:ROFLMAO: