My impression of BMW Motorrad Days 2015

Wat is fout met die mense ? Nie n croc of kortbroek in sig nie  ???

And on a somewhat related note: This is what the Free State sun does to an arm when you wear a jacket that isn't designed for motorcycling and short MX gloves.

• arm.jpg
    arm.jpg
    139.2 KB
Nee, o, f..., LS. I think BMW's are good bikes and most riders are good okes as individuals, but to be confronted by the Lifestyler group dynamic with a bit of hipsterism mixed in, will truly crack me. Also not a fan of the bands mentioned. I will pay not to attend. Added to the facts that the gentrified platteland does not appeal to me whereas most of the chicks in Clarens are spoken for by other women - as if I could pull any of any inclination at my age  ;D

Good and honest write-up though. Thanks.

Kameel said:
Ek gaan sit toe in die koffiewinkel en bestel iets. Ek het heeltemal uit gevoel. Die koffiewinkel was gepak met non-bikers. Tipiese Cape Town crowd,  hippies, trimmed beards, opgerolde denimkortbroeke, wit enkelhoogte AllStar sneakers, v-neck hempies, pompous hairstyles...weird.

Net my 2c.

Yup ... bietjie soos Grrrr... se Firemans  club maatjies  :pot: :peepwall: :ricky: :big grin:

Naaise writeup  :thumleft:

Nice to see a honest reply from a Journalist, I think most of the reports these days are not, because of the free bikes(long term loaners) and treatment the guys get................... Wonder how free press really is.................

Not my scene either, we did go there for the beer festival in FEB, and these towns is getting outrages with there prices.

1ougat said:
Kameel said:
Ek gaan sit toe in die koffiewinkel en bestel iets. Ek het heeltemal uit gevoel. Die koffiewinkel was gepak met non-bikers. Tipiese Cape Town crowd,  hippies, trimmed beards, opgerolde denimkortbroeke, wit enkelhoogte AllStar sneakers, v-neck hempies, pompous hairstyles...weird.

Net my 2c.

Yup ... bietjie soos Grrrr... se Firemans  club maatjies  :pot: :peepwall: :ricky: :big grin:

Naaise writeup  :thumleft:

:laughing4: :laughing4: :laughing4: :laughing4:

Well written and honest Report. I was there and the costs that I paid for the hosptality tent were a rip off. The ride there through Lesotho was awesome. I have no objection to paying as long as it is value for money. I will be back if they have the event again but will never buy hospality tickets again.
I had a great time with friends.

:sip: Nice report, but, was a bit shocked about the language of the Heuwels Fantasties, I learned something new, I always though the were a church choir from Centurion or Midrand, really.
Shows you how stupid we Capies can be.

LuckyStriker said:
And on a somewhat related note: This is what the Free State sun does to an arm when you wear a jacket that isn't designed for motorcycling and short MX gloves.

How did you burn through that jersey?  :imaposer:

I agree with everybody here, if you want to attract a specific type of person with a fee of R850 a head for a single or multiple entry, to an area the size of the square in Clanrence, count me out. The traditionalists and brand crazy will certainly pay those fees, but out of principal I will not.

What concerns me even more is the fact that this was done while all the industry is in danger due to financial pressures.

One way to attract people infuture to such an event under these conditions is by making specials available at the event. As you cannot refund people which already spend their money to obtain tickets.

Just my opinion

Ek kan net soooooo lank na 'n klomp bikes kyk, dan raak ek verveeld. Dan moet iets anders my aandag trek, en dit is nie 'n youngster wat kyk hoeveel hy kan vloek op die stage nie.

Klink my dit sou my tot Saterdag 8 uur gevat het voor ek genoeg gehad het. Bly ek het nie daai geld gaan mors nie

It has been said that BMW could put their badge on a turd, and it would sell.

Office full of idiots, factory full of fools. BTW, who knows where I got this last line from?

2StrokeDan said:
It has been said that BMW could put their badge on a turd, and it would sell.

Office full of idiots morons, factory full of fools. BTW, who knows where I got this last line from?

:imaposer: Yes, Look at All Those Idiots...

nielvn said:
..............if you want to attract a specific type of person with a fee of R850 a head .......

One way to attract people infuture to such an event under these conditions is by making specials available at the event. As you cannot refund people which already spend their money to obtain tickets.

Maybe I should buy my next bike there ..... pay R 850 to save R 30 k , and you can have a [ bit of ] a jol while saving money ...... That red GSA 2016 spec looks so good .....

great pictures thank u for sharing your thoughts

Bought 2 pairs of Double R gloves, one for me and one for the missus @ R745 a pair, they normally cost in the region of R3000 a pair, the saving paid for my weekend 

I also think your photos are amazing. :thumleft:

LuckyStriker said:
The only band that had a respectable turnout was Die Heuwel Fantasties, but they dropped the F-bomb so often that even I cringed a little. The Afrikaans tannies with their tidy hairstyles visibly shrunk whenever lead singer Pierre Greeff shouted “Fokken awesome, my bra! Jissis, maar dis lekker hier
I had to laugh.

:lol8: A couple of years ago I was on the governing body of my sons' school when they had Die Heuwels Fantasties perform at one of their festivals. Pierre Greeff got totally drunk before the gig and also swore on stage, much the same as described above. I got the instruction to write a letter to him afterwards to complain about his language and behaviour at a school function and to demand an apology. I thought we would get a letter from his attorneys in response, but in typical rocker style, he replied something to the effect that he was just enjoying himself and that we must be cool about it. I also had to laugh and decided to just write it off as school fees. My sons were glad we didn't take it any further.

They are definitely not a band for tannies and conservative types!   

cruizaman said:
:lol8: A couple of years ago I was on the governing body of my sons' school when they had Die Heuwels Fantasties perform at one of their festivals. Pierre Greeff got totally drunk before the gig and also swore on stage, much the same as described above. I got the instruction to write a letter to him afterwards to complain about his language and behaviour at a school function and to demand an apology. I thought we would get a letter from his attorneys in response, but in typical rocker style, he replied something to the effect that he was just enjoying himself and that we must be cool about it. I also had to laugh and decided to just write it off as school fees. My sons were glad we didn't take it any further.

They are definitely not a band for tannies and conservative types!   

Well, if you don't want that, you shouldn't book that. It is not like what you'll be getting is a secret. Same as the corporate who booked Jack Parow and halfway through the show asked him to stop swearing.