Noneking said:Lem said:Thanks Hardy[emoji123]yes In the company of Husky 501s the Dakkie & KLR probably looks like boat anchors on Cadillac suspension. But they also do certain others things better...like not run out of fuel every 200 yards. So I’m quite interested to know how they coped on the rough stuff, because they can be ridden there & back as well[emoji1591][emoji108]
Lem, there was a lot of friendly banter on this trip about bike choice. I enjoy giving Hardy a bit of flack about the thumpers, but truth be told, they did great and managed everything the trip through at them (or they at the trip.... eepwall
Edit: Given the choice, I would do this trip on nothing else than a lightweight enduro bike, bearing in mind we did not to ride the bikes to Nam and back. I understand Hardy's concerns about reliability but honestly feel that a well maintained Austrian is a reliable bike as well. (There was a Honda XR which completed the trip on the bakkie with the BMWG450x afterall eepwall
Why would you not want to make it easier and more enjoyable for yourself? You just have to look at the videos above to see the difference. Dwerg is a very good rider and would most probably have cleared that climb on his 450, and so would most others.
If you don't mind duck paddling through sand and falling over on rocks, I guess the thumper will do
Hardy de Kock said:Noneking said:Lem said:Thanks Hardy[emoji123]yes In the company of Husky 501s the Dakkie & KLR probably looks like boat anchors on Cadillac suspension. But they also do certain others things better...like not run out of fuel every 200 yards. So I’m quite interested to know how they coped on the rough stuff, because they can be ridden there & back as well[emoji1591][emoji108]
Lem, there was a lot of friendly banter on this trip about bike choice. I enjoy giving Hardy a bit of flack about the thumpers, but truth be told, they did great and managed everything the trip through at them (or they at the trip.... eepwall
Edit: Given the choice, I would do this trip on nothing else than a lightweight enduro bike, bearing in mind we did not to ride the bikes to Nam and back. I understand Hardy's concerns about reliability but honestly feel that a well maintained Austrian is a reliable bike as well. (There was a Honda XR which completed the trip on the bakkie with the BMWG450x afterall eepwall
Why would you not want to make it easier and more enjoyable for yourself? You just have to look at the videos above to see the difference. Dwerg is a very good rider and would most probably have cleared that climb on his 450, and so would most others.
If you don't mind duck paddling through sand and falling over on rocks, I guess the thumper will do
Lem - Dwerg is 60cm tall and that is why he had to "adjust the clutch"
I was riding a thumper and had no problem getting up the hill. I am however 1,97m tall
Dwerg said:So is shitting your pants but some people prefer not to do it
Dwerg said:Hardy de Kock said:Noneking said:Lem said:Thanks Hardy[emoji123]yes In the company of Husky 501s the Dakkie & KLR probably looks like boat anchors on Cadillac suspension. But they also do certain others things better...like not run out of fuel every 200 yards. So I’m quite interested to know how they coped on the rough stuff, because they can be ridden there & back as well[emoji1591][emoji108]
Lem - Dwerg is 60cm tall and that is why he had to "adjust the clutch"
I was riding a thumper and had no problem getting up the hill. I am however 1,97m tall
Nice two digs in one sentence :thumleft:
I'll try to be kind when we get to the Twyfelfontein and Crater section ot:
Hardy de Kock said:Glenn
I know you have a few bikes - and I know you love your 950 SE very much. I also know you have a thing for old school thumpers, therefor your beloved DR.
Fact is you have to ride the bike that speaks to you. I have a thing for old school motorbikes with very little electronics and things that can go wrong.
I had a long conversation about this on the trip with several of the riders.
In all my years on tours I never needed to load a thumper - for the simple reason that they were reliable and simple to fix.
You sacrifice a few things for this reliability though.
I was very jealous of the Husky and it's capabilities though and would have loved to hit the sand with it.
I did not ride the speeds that Canzius did and for what we did, the XR's and the DR's were perfect.
As far as the XR on the back of the truck - Janco's bike snapped a Pivot bolt, something I have never seen. Apart from this, all went perfect.
Ek wou iets sê en dog toe hou jou bek heel!! :lol8:THROTTLE JOCKEY said:@ Hardy.
I know this is your back yard. But I Kak myself looking at you and Janco riding without helmets. I would hate to hear someone having to scoop your brains up off a rock after a silly fall in Namibia. Cant you at least wear a piss pot/ open face or Foot-ups helmet. Your Pip is important for the rest of your body to function. Just asking not telling!
ChrisL - DUSTRIDERS said:Ek wou iets sê en dog toe hou jou bek heel!! :lol8:THROTTLE JOCKEY said:@ Hardy.
I know this is your back yard. But I Kak myself looking at you and Janco riding without helmets. I would hate to hear someone having to scoop your brains up off a rock after a silly fall in Namibia. Cant you at least wear a piss pot/ open face or Foot-ups helmet. Your Pip is important for the rest of your body to function. Just asking not telling!
Open face helmets sal net so lekker ry Hardy. Net een verkeerde val in daai klip wêreld en dis oopkop vir die valler.
Hou jul skedels heel seblief!! :thumleft:
Hardy de Kock said:ChrisL - DUSTRIDERS said:Ek wou iets sê en dog toe hou jou bek heel!! :lol8:THROTTLE JOCKEY said:@ Hardy.
Open face helmets sal net so lekker ry Hardy. Net een verkeerde val in daai klip wêreld en dis oopkop vir die valler.
Hou jul skedels heel seblief!! :thumleft:
Moet darem byvoeg dit was 37 grade daar, maar verseker is julle reg. Gaan vir my so Harley nr soek.
Enter your email address to join: